City Magistrate’s abusive husband

sentenced to jail

December 18, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

The husband of a City Magistrate who was recently charged with assaulting her was yesterday found guilty and will serve four months behind bars.
Chief Magistrate Priya Sewnarine-Beharry presided over the matter and before delivering her decision, affirmed that there is a need for the courts to send a strong message against domestic violence.

Aboo McGusty

Aboo McGusty was last week arraigned and appeared before the Chief Magistrate at the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court to face two charges whereby the prosecution claimed that he assaulted and used threatening language towards his wife on December 9 at John Street, Werk-en-Rust.
He, however, had refuted the prosecution’s allegations. Yesterday afternoon in the same courtroom, McGusty was represented by Attorney at Law Latchmie Rahamat who stated that since her client was found guilty, they will plea in mitigation.
She said that her client wished to address the court, and in an extremely silent courtroom, the accused humbly rose to express remorse over the situation.
Neatly decked in a jeans and checkered shirt he fixed his eyes on the Chief Magistrate and said, “Over the past week, I’ve had a terrible experience where I was found guilty and embarrassed my family, the court and myself.”
“At this state, I am humbly asking the court to be lenient with me” he continued.
“I apologised to my wife and in her absence, and in front of everyone who is within the environment, I promise you that from today I will not be standing in this position again.”
McGusty begged the court for forgiveness, saying that he is sorry and claimed that his actions will not recur.
“I won’t do anything like that and I will get my act together.”
The lawyer then told the court that her client is a 38-year-old contractor who has been married to the Magistrate for the last 19 years. She said too that from their union, they have four children.
Rahamat lamented that during their 19 years together, this is the first time that McGusty has been charged and placed before the court for abusing his wife, in addition to the threatening behaviour charge.
She also implored the court to show him mercy and told the court that her client is remorseful. She said that from the facts, it was clear that alcohol played a major role in the incident.
The lawyer recalled that McGusty said that he doesn’t really know what happened and asked that the presiding Magistrate take into consideration the effects of alcohol.
Rahamat continued her plea and said that McGusty will respect the Protection orders and bargained that if a non-custodial sentence is imposed, he will reside at his mother’s house at Paradise, East Coast Demerara.
According to the lawyer, the man is willing to accede to counseling since he has an alcohol problem. She said that her plea is also one to consider that he has minor children who are asking for their father.
The lawyer even begged for a suspended sentence and said that he is willing to be fined.
However, the Chief Magistrate was stern in her response. She maintained that the man is 38 years old and as such should know the consequences of his actions. She said that she considered the fact that domestic violence is prevalent in society and affirmed that the court needs to send a strong message against it.
The Chief Magistrate said that during the hearings, it was learnt that McGusty has a history of violence. She said that on this occasion, he hit the woman to her left side temple and threatened to kill her in the presence of her children. She added that he even threatened a person who tried to intervene.
Magistrate Beharry added that during the incident he threatened to damage his wife’s property – saying that he would have driven her vehicle into the seawall.
Consequently, he was sentenced to four months imprisonment on each charge, and was informed that that they will run concurrently.
The Magistrate added that the lawyer has the right to appeal and the attorney gave the court an oral notice of her intent to appeal the sentence.

Neatly decked in a jeans and checkered shirt he fixed his eyes on the Chief Magistrate and said, “Over the past week, I’ve had a terrible experience where I was found guilty and embarrassed my family, the court and myself.”
“At this state, I am humbly asking the court to be lenient with me” he continued.
“I apologised to my wife and in her absence, and in front of everyone who is within the environment, I promise you that from today I will not be standing in this position again.”

NB He get to apologised, and a cooling off period as well, we all learn from out mistakes.

For a Magistrate, she must be more careful in picking her man, not any man is a husband.

Jail his back side for 40 years for hitting mother Lakshmi.

For a Magistrate, she must be more careful in picking her man, not any man is a husband.

After 19 years and four children, he is getting a chance as he will only spend about 3 months, and that 3 months is like a lesson that he did not learn earlier, hope that when he gets out, he will be making love to the magistrate intead of beating her up.

Originally Posted by asj:

After 19 years and four children, he is getting a chance as he will only spend about 3 months, and that 3 months is like a lesson that he did not learn earlier, hope that when he gets out, he will be making love to the magistrate intead of beating her up.

The word on the street is the lady got a male lawyer friend already, no time fuh his licks.