The Ministry of Education has issued a memo to all Secondary Schools in Georgetown banning Christmas parties, a headteacher has confirmed to the News Room.

In the memo from the Principal Education Officer (ag) titled ‘Christmas Luncheon’ it was stated that “Christmas parties in many schools have moved away from the spirit of the season to one of inappropriate behaviours and activities by students.”

The Ministry said further concerns were shared about the dress code, kinds of music played and a large number of uninvited persons attending the parties.

As such, the Ministry has taken a decision for the schools to host Christmas Luncheons based on ten strict guidelines.

According to the guidelines, all students are to be dressed in their uniform; the luncheon should be conducted per class in respective classrooms and organised by class teachers who will be with their students.

The Ministry instructed that Christmas Carols can be played within the classroom and should be properly monitored while no student should be seen loitering in school during the activity.

A dismissal time was set for no later than 14:30hrs and the Ministry is urging students to desist from loitering on the roadways, parks or malls.

Class teachers are required to check their students bags to ensure there are no weapons, alcohol or illegal drugs and no strangers or visitors should be allowed to visit the activities.

According to the memo, security guards and teachers must check all students entering to ensure that they are current students of the school.

Additionally, the schools are permitted to have a well-organised Christmas Concert showcasing the religious aspect of Christmas.

This new measure was criticized by former Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand who noted that it is a clear indication that the Ministry is incapable of managing the secondary school students.

Meanwhile, some teachers are calling for this measure to be implemented countrywide and not just in Georgetown.

One teacher has told the News Room that it has become difficult to deal with teens who are sneaking alcohol and drugs into the school on a regular basis.

https://newsroom.gy/2019/12/03...n-secondary-schools/

In the memo from the Principal Education Officer (ag) titled ‘Christmas Luncheon’ it was stated that “Christmas parties in many schools have moved away from the spirit of the season to one of inappropriate behaviours and activities by students.”

The Ministry said further concerns were shared about the dress code, kinds of music played and a large number of uninvited persons attending the parties.

This new measure was criticized by former Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand who noted that it is a clear indication that the Ministry is incapable of managing the secondary school students.

Do you recall , Priya did the same [No Christmas Parties] under her tenure as MOE.

Some folks have short memories.

Do you recall , Priya did the same [No Christmas Parties] under her tenure as MOE.

Show the proof,I can't remember.

I agree with this...too much lawlessness by some of these teens

things getting outta hand

Bai, let the ministry provide proof na. 

The PNC are a bunch of idiots in breaking a Christmas tradition which dates back as far back as most Guyanese living can remember. 

These Hapless PNC people are pissing off the youths now. 

I agree with this...too much lawlessness by some of these teens

things getting outta hand

Bai, let the ministry provide proof na. 

The PNC are a bunch of idiots in breaking a Christmas tradition which dates back as far back as most Guyanese living can remember. 

These Hapless PNC people are pissing off the youths now. 

These leeches can drink the best whiskey while at work, eat the best food and throw the rest away but cannot let children celebrate Christmas.

Yes, that’s PNC for you. They are now pissing off students and their parents and were wondering why the got kicked at LGE and why their support base did not turn out to vote for them. 

yall don't live in Guyana...so rest yall selves...even Dave seems to agree with this

You don't live in Guyana either. When last did you visit? I did last year.
No oil money for you.

Show the proof,I can't remember.

Use your skills you will find it .

True. Just like how some people said that they stand firmly for law and order but quickly abandoned that stand when the Coalition started violating laws and orders. 😀

yall don't live in Guyana...so rest yall selves...even Dave seems to agree with this

No oil money for you.

I see plenty youtube videos how dem young people in GT acting...good fuh dem, they need some discipline

No oil money for you.

I see plenty youtube videos how dem young people in GT acting...good fuh dem, they need some disciplin

You tube is your source for news ? O rass bai, you need to open up your eyes and view see the world from a broader perspective. Sad, very sad. 

True.

Just like how some people said that they stand firmly for law and order but quickly abandoned that stand when the Coalition started violating laws and orders. 😀

What laws was violated ? state the violation in details , we can go over it again.

True.

Just like how some people said that they stand firmly for law and order but quickly abandoned that stand when the Coalition started violating laws and orders. 😀

What laws was violated ? state the violation in details , we can go over it again.

You have short memory. 

Here is one for starters.

- The ruling of the CCJ affirmed the validity of the no-confidence vote on June 18, 2019, and called on President, David Granger, to call national elections in keeping with the Constitution and the rule of law. 
So Djanjo, wasn’t the rule of law violated with the no confidence motion. 

- Currently Cabinet is appointing board of directors, and they are a care taker government. 

And I can go on and on. 

“ Take of your blinders and live in reality. “

Politicians like Pryia helps contribute to a lawless society. 

They should not be holding public offices.. just my thoughts. 

Same homan wuh cry Rape Rape Rape on TV 📺 in braaaad daylight?  She’s an incompetent manipulator!

Na go too hard on DJ. He will threaten to take time off.

I thought he announced a time off

Django is like a rum jhumbie who seh he quitting, but everyday he has to pass the rum shop to get home! 

Schools do not need to have Christmas parties, leave that for when with family and friends at home time. No problem lightening the students work load, play games etc. That is what we did with no problem.

True.

They are currently violating the laws and constitution but you prefer to shut your eyes tightly on them. At least I don’t claim to be fair and balanced. I have stated enough times that I will never support the PNC unless they first go through a complete exorcism.

True.

You have short memory. 

- The ruling of the CCJ affirmed the validity of the no-confidence vote on June 18, 2019,

and called on President, David Granger, to call national elections in keeping with the Constitution and the rule of law. 

- Currently Cabinet is appointing board of directors, and they are a care taker government.

And I can go on and on. 

That what the CCJ  said in the ruling ? 

Bhai , when i am away , this forum is boring with out opposing views , most of the posters here does be in agreement with each other.

True.

You have short memory. 

- The ruling of the CCJ affirmed the validity of the no-confidence vote on June 18, 2019,

and called on President, David Granger, to call national elections in keeping with the Constitution and the rule of law. 

And I can go on and on. 

The CCJ emphatically stated that elections must be held within 90 days of the successful passage of the NCV and while there were delays pending clarification of the vote, the judgement on June 18th is clear and must be abided with. Anyone with a basic command of the English language would have no problem understanding that elections must be held by September 18th. Except that the PNC refused to abide by it. And while the PNC actions are shameless, you have rendered yourself even more shameless by appeasing them. Unfortunately you are like Devin Nunes. I am biased but as terrible as that is, it is still not as bad as hypocritical my brother. It is less burdensome to openly say you are a PNC supporter. That is your choice and everyone is entitled to their choice.

Bhai , when i am away , this forum is boring with out opposing views , most of the posters here does be in agreement with each other.

Yes!! Most posters are in agreement because it’s  factual. 

The opposing views are propaganda.  

Yes!! Most posters are in agreement because it’s  factual. 

The opposing views are propaganda.  

Propaganda for you !! let the readers be the judge.

Every rebuttal to the one sided posts are backed with credible sources not from the backers of political parties.

True.

You have short memory. 

And I can go on and on. 

The CCJ emphatically stated that elections must be held within 90 days of the successful passage of the NCV and while there were delays pending clarification of the vote, the judgement on June 18th is clear and must be abided with. Anyone with a basic command of the English language would have no problem understanding that elections must be held by September 18th. Except that the PNC refused to abide by it. And while the PNC actions are shameless,you have rendered yourself even more shameless by appeasing them. Unfortunately you are like Devin Nunes.

I am biased but as terrible as that is, it is still not as bad as hypocritical my brother.

It is less burdensome to openly say you are a PNC supporter. That is your choice and everyone is entitled to their choice.

As claimed to be BIASED , that's  your interpretation of the CCJ ruling .

With regards to myself , your biased views reeks , and please my views  are burdensome to some of the posters , who thinks they can run away with their party propaganda, hence the assumption of who or which party i am supporting.

It got derailed when Django took the opportunity to use Priya to carry the current decision to not have them burden. The brother has chosen to look past the current malfeasance seeking comfort in what the PPP did or said.