March 27 ,2021

Shrimp for processing (Ministry of Agriculture photo)

A huge Chinese processing plant that was commissioned here recently can utilise up to 40 tonnes of shrimp and 30 tonnes of fish daily.

This is according to Chief Fisheries Officer Denzil Roberts who responded yesterday to questions from Stabroek News.

The huge numbers will add to the growing concerns that this plant could trigger overfishing in the already stressed fishing grounds in Guyana’s waters. Furthermore, the large catches diverted to the processing plant for export to China will likely result in shortages of seafood here and higher prices.

The Ministry of Agriculture announced the opening of the plant operated by Grandeast Inc a wholly-owned subsidiary of Fuz-hou Hongpu Aquatic Products Co., Ltd. in Fujian, China last week.

A release explained that the company is already processing large amounts of shrimp. The amount according to Roberts equates to 40 tons/36 tonnes of shrimp and 30 tons/ 27 tonnes of fish daily.

This amount equals more than half of the 55 ton/50 tonnes of shrimp harvested daily in 2019.

Meanwhile, the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) is still to receive an acknowledgement of a letter written to Minister of Agriculture , Zulfikar Mustapha in December expressing concern that the approval of two trawler licences for the Atlantic seabob trade could lead to overfishing, the loss of trade certification and collapse of the industry.

“It is unfortunate that the letter made it into the public domain but that aside we have not received a response and are awaiting government’s next move,” WWF Public Relations Officer Kempton Daly told Stabroek News yesterday.

He related that it is his organization’s preference to work with government and other concerned parties through the fisheries working group.

Asked if the group had discussed the opening of the large Chinese-owned seafood plant or if his organization had been informed at all about the US$25 million investment, Daly said he was not in a position to say as the organization’s Marine Officer was currently on leave.

According to the 2020 Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) surveillance report seen by Stabroek News the harvesting of seabob in Guyana is limited to a maximum limit of 87 vessels in the fishery with each vessel currently limited to 225 days fishing per year.

The report adds that the maximum sustainable average catch rate was estimated at 630 kg/day while the economic catch rate after consultation with members of the industry was set at 600 kg/day. A catch rate of 540 kg/day was established as a “trigger point” at which concerns about overfishing would be raised and the number of allowable fishing days reduced.

In 2019, the total harvest for seabob in Guyana was recorded as 6,662 tonnes at a catch rate of 573 kg/day.

It is not clear how the operation of Grandeast Inc is affecting the availability of shrimp for the three other certified shrimp processors Pritipaul Singh Investment, Noble House Seafoods and Gopie Investment Inc. There is also no indication about the impact on the local availability of shrimp.

Also unclear is how the controversial issuance of extra licences last year is related to the establishment so soon afterwards of this plant.

On December 11, the WWF Guianas’ local office wrote to the minister seeking clarification on the context in which the licences were granted and expressed concern over the reported issuance of the new licences in a manner that could have “deep implications” for the country’s ability to maintain its MSC certification over seabob.

With the sector being regularised to operate in a sustainable manner, there is fear that the two new licences for operations will encourage practices that undermine conservation and sustainability efforts.

Aiesha Williams, Guyana Country Manager for the WWF Guianas pointed out that with Guyana listed by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) as the largest seabob exporter globally, it is already under international scrutiny over how it manages this fishery resource.

The seabob fishery is the country’s only certified fishery sector and the WWF, which has been working with the fisheries sector for several years, assisted the industry in obtaining its MSC certification.

In her letter, she informed the minister that a recent stock assessment of Guyana’s seabob population revealed that it is fully exploited and it is at the point where the population curve is at the maximum sustainable yield.

“Any further increase in fishing effort will lead to overfishing and possible collapse of the industry, since the removal of individuals (seabob) is equal to the number of recruits (offspring) entering the fishery (deaths = births), from a fisheries management context,” she explained.

@Prashad posted:

China Chinaman will strip the fish like how they did the timber. They only care about other Han Chinese.

Why shouldn't.they, Prash, if the PPP allows it? Their population has to be fed!

I read somewhere that the US.was.concerned about China's.fishing off the coast of South America! This seems to be.China's way of getting around.US objections with Jagdeo's connivance! Guyanese trawlers, not China's, will do the fishing, then the Chinese.company.will pack and ship to which market wants their product, China, of course! Why tf are they too clever.for their own good! Always the same dodging! Big trouble ahead! The US.will not be either fooled or.amused! They, too, have a large population to feed! Unlike dumb Guyana.and its fing 'leaders'!

The US can't do anything about China fishing in Guyana waters. If they are concerned they can't do anything about it.  After all, they need the China market.  China steals its technology and dumps its cheap goods on the American market.  Guyana is a sovereign country and they can give licences to fish to anybody. There is nothing conniving about that. It's good business. 

Guyana will likely lose its MSC certification and that could spell trouble in the seabob market.  Next time you're buying seafood look for the MSC label.  It means something to many consumers.

@Totaram posted:

Guyana will likely lose its MSC certification and that could spell trouble in the seabob market.  Next time you're buying seafood look for the MSC label.  It means something to many consumers.

Guyana ought to give up the certification. They should first feed the people before feeding foreigners.  WE don't need the MSC to fish in our own waters. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

The US can't do anything about China fishing in Guyana waters. If they are concerned they can't do anything about it.  After all, they need the China market.  China steals its technology and dumps its cheap goods on the American market.  Guyana is a sovereign country and they can give licences to fish to anybody. There is nothing conniving about that. It's good business.

We'll see, Rama! We'll see! I'm a pessimist.when David & Goliath fights.are pending! I, like my.mentor, Jesus, don't believe in Jewish BS! But then your vision.could.be.clouded by the Red.lenses you prefer to wear!

We'll see, Rama! We'll see!

The US will give Guyana whatever they asked for so long as they do not go back into the fold of the communist regimes. They need our oil and gas.  Say what you like, cost it what it will. We are our own bosses.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Guyana ought to give up the certification. They should first feed the people before feeding foreigners.  WE don't need the MSC to fish in our own waters.

This is not Kakakant writing....some coward is using his name.

STFU, Rama, you PPP infant! You can't even.begin to imagine.what the US is capable of now!

Go back into the Communist embrace? They're.helping.China NOW! Or don't you notice, so fixated on jobs from.whoever?

STFU, Rama, you PPP infant! You can't even.begin to imagine.what the US is capable of now!

Go back into the Communist embrace? They're.helping.China NOW! Or don't you notice, so fixated on jobs from.whoever?

The US is incapable of handlings Putin and Iran. 

The US has Zionist Israel, their alien.'god' of their Pentateuch.and.their familiar.spirits (djinni in the Quaran)! What do Putin and Iran have?

Putin has 27,000 warheads.   Iran has Jihadis.

I don't recall hearing any mention of this plant being built, was this done in secrecy, maybe something to do with the two licences (again in secrecy,) which caused an uproar?

@cain posted:

I don't recall hearing any mention of this plant being built, was this done in secrecy, maybe something to do with the two licences (again in secrecy,) which caused an uproar?

Because you didn't hear about the plant does not mean it wasn't built.

@cain posted:

@Ramakant-P posted:

Because you didn't hear about the plant does not mean it wasn't built.

Oh rant banna, do you always have a problem with comprehension? Point me to where I mentioned it was not built.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Putin has 27,000 warheads.   Iran has Jihadis.

You obviously don't know the.mischief a.djinn can.do! Warheads can be made to go in the wrong direction! In the direction of the brave but stupid jihadists, for instance! Zionist.Israel knows their war.plans before they implement them! That's the.real reason they can't beat.Israel!

Guyana is being sold to the highest bidder! Soon the days of poor country people throwing a net to catch some shrimp and fish to feed their families will be over. The rest of the world is seeking this simple life, and here is Fat Man and his cronies destroying it.

40 tons of fish and shrimp daily!!!! None of you PPP packoos see anything wrong with this? What about all dem po Indian people who duz mek a living off this?

Do you bytches actually think the lil pittance from the Chinese can compensate for the Chinese tekking all the fish and harming the water with the chemicals they use? You tink these poor people who rely on the lil fish and shrimp for daily rations are going to survive????

You bunch of dumb mudda effin PPP sycophants!

I read a story yesterday about a Chinese fishing company in Gambia destroying the fish stock, environment and livelihood of poor people.  In the case of Gambia the company was using the fish to make feed for aquafarms in China.  Is this what's in store for Guyana? 

@Totaram posted:

I read a story yesterday about a Chinese fishing company in Gambia destroying the fish stock, environment and livelihood of poor people.  In the case of Gambia the company was using the fish to make feed for aquafarms in China.  Is this what's in store for Guyana?

YES. This is exactly what's in store for Guyana. This is the record of the Chinese wherever they go. We saw what they did to our forests and the destruction of the drinking water for the Amerindans, the pollution of our rivers etc.

The same shit is going to happen here. They are going to decimate our sea life and in a few years they are going to pull up their operations and move on to the next victim. Guyana, a place of many resources, including seafood, will be left barren.

Yet these absolutely DUMB mudda effer PPP supporters jump up and scream "progress, progress" about the 200 measly jobs they "created" .

What a shit hole country

@Totaram posted:

Go ask Fat man and the Rat! They know what China tells them to know!

What I don't understand is.why.the.PPP is allowing this now that there is oil! China's people interests. come first with.the Chinese.government, which is as it should be! The same with the.other developed countries! Why is it different in Guyana?

@cain posted:

GREED!

That's one answer, sugah, but it could also.be socialist solidarity! Manuro is waiting Jag! Encourage more Venezuelans to come as 'refugees' and occupy 'their' land! The borders are porous and there aren't enough GDF to keep them out! As a matters of fact, there are.more Venezuelan troops to keep them IN!

Why doesn't the government set.up a refuge camp for them with.UN help? Before it's too.late?

YES. This is exactly what's in store for Guyana. This is the record of the Chinese wherever they go. We saw what they did to our forests and the destruction of the drinking water for the Amerindans, the pollution of our rivers etc.

The same shit is going to happen here. They are going to decimate our sea life and in a few years they are going to pull up their operations and move on to the next victim. Guyana, a place of many resources, including seafood, will be left barren.

Yet these absolutely DUMB mudda effer PPP supporters jump up and scream "progress, progress" about the 200 measly jobs they "created" .

What a shit hole country

China's national insect should be the locust but, unfortunately, they've eaten them all!

Shallyv, these things aren't true.  A few years ago I went to China.  People had said to me you'll see no birds there because they ate them all.  Of course, I saw many birds.  There was an abundance of food and the level of development was startling.  Shanghai is more modern than any North American city.  I am not seeking to justify Chinese plundering of the resources of developing nations, only stating facts.

@Totaram posted:

Shallyv, these things aren't true.  A few years ago I went to China.  People had said to me you'll see no birds there because they ate them all.  Of course, I saw many birds.  There was an abundance of food and the level of development was startling.  Shanghai is more modern than any North American city.  I am not seeking to justify Chinese plundering of the resources of developing nations, only stating facts.

I know, Tota! I was.just.poking fun at.their culinary skills at finding a way for cooking.and eating things most of.us would.gag at! But see.Acts 10: 15!

But they do eat.locusts! Ripley's Believe It.or Not has them eating cockroaches! I.asked a man from.mainland China.if.this was true? He asked.which, land.or.water? Perhaps he was.offended because.I'd innocently.asked and.was being sarcastic!

I know, Tota! I was.just.poking fun at.their culinary skills at finding a way for cooking.and eating things most of.us would.gag at! But see.Acts 10: 15!

But they do eat.locusts! Ripley's Believe It.or Not has them eating cockroaches! I.asked a man from.mainland China.if.this was true? He asked.which, land.or.water? Perhaps he was.offended because.I'd innocently.asked and.was being sarcastic!

Even the Chinese joke about it.  Our host at a dinner said they eat everything except the table legs.  When you think about it they have the correct approach.  In the West we waste too much.  If an animal is killed for food no part of it should be wasted.  The UN has recommended that for environmental reasons we should eat insects.  I know this is piecemeal but the general idea is that we waste too much. 

Well, you can tell.the U fing N, long pork is supposed to be very good! It's is in the.cannibal.fing cookbook! Fing know-it-all fing experts! I ain't that hungry.yet.and if.I ever get that hungry, instead.of me eating his fing insects, he'd better fing hide!

@Prashad posted:

Those china chinaman will ruin the shrimp industry.

Free Enterprise is all about competition and democracy.

You dumbos criticized the PPP for being a socialist Party even though all their supporters were capitalist. America and England colluded and legally overthrow the ruling party. The Coalition between The UF and the PNC was a disaster. Anything the PNC put their hands on turned sour.

Jagdeo turned Guyana into a free state with a free market enterprise system. And now you still want to kill the PPP. If you don't know what is going on just ask and it will be told to you. Just don't ask those anti-coolies who gave up their wives for a loaf of bread.