AP | 15 August 2011

By DAVID McFADDEN

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Jamaica's government signed over its three remaining sugar estates to a Chinese company in a privatization deal Monday that has been a long-standing goal of Prime Minister Bruce Golding's administration.

Under the agreement, China's Complant International Sugar Industry Co. Ltd. will be leased roughly 18,000 hectares (44,478 acres) of cane fields for the next 49 years and will own the three sugar estates and their surrounding properties.

Complant paid $9 million for the Monymusk, Frome and Bernard Lodge factories and control of surrounding sugar cane lands under the lease. The deal also calls for the Chinese company to rehabilitate the sugar mills.

Golding said Complant's total investment should come to roughly $166 million.
"We have been very careful to ensure that the critical assets of Jamaica are protected and therefore the ... acres of land which have been earmarked for sugar will be leased to the company," Golding said.

Agriculture Minister Robert Montague said Jamaica expects the Chinese company "will play its role in other areas and aspects of the Jamaican economy."

The chief of the Complant group of companies, Tang Jianguo, said Jamaicans will still participate in management of the three sugar estates and promised to "set up collaborations with Jamaican counterparts to promote the development of the whole industry."

The divestment comes some three years after the global financial crisis forced the Brazilian corporation Infinity Bio-Energy to drop a multimillion-dollar deal to take over Jamaica's debt-ridden sugar company.

The Caribbean island's government in 2007 began efforts to sell the five companies that made up the Sugar Company of Jamaica because of mounting financial losses and years of rising debt.

In 2005, officials announced a plan to restructure the sugar industry to focus production more on ethanol and molasses. But the majority of the Caribbean nation's cane fields remain focused on sugar.

Like other Caribbean nations, Jamaica was squeezed by deep cuts in sugar subsidies by the European Union for producers in the Caribbean, Africa and the Pacific.

In recent years, Trinidad and St. Kitts both abandoned their centuries-old sugar industries, blaming high production costs and cuts in subsidies for sugar imports.

http://farmlandgrab.org/post/view/19086

Originally posted by Nehru:
Bhai Ray like you just woke up. DEm Snakeoil Salesmen call the PPP all kind of names because they said they may hire Indian or Chinese to manage the Guyana Sugar Industry. Go back and look at the Posts.

I woud prefer Booker Tate vs dem Chinese or Indians...Chinese just out to rape the place
Big Company with a few failures in some african states but growing fast . Owns stakes in all sorts of other companies which support their main objectives. Problem is one has to ensure agreements are airtight or else these chinese companies can become a problem. If I am not sure i think their investments in a leather company I think in Benin failed and caused Benin some serious financial problems . What happened to Brazil buying Jamaica's factories ? why did that fall through ? One would have thought they would keep it regional .
But The british DOGS already RAPED iour beautiful Guyana. Why let them do it again??
Originally posted by raymond:
Bhai Ray like you just woke up. DEm Snakeoil Salesmen call the PPP all kind of names because they said they may hire Indian or Chinese to manage the Guyana Sugar Industry. Go back and look at the Posts.

I woud prefer Booker Tate vs dem Chinese or Indians...Chinese just out to rape the place
But The british DOGS already RAPED iour beautiful Guyana. Why let them do it again??

well...ah prefer dem British Dogs to dem Chinese dogs...
I agree and EVERY Govt of Guyana, this one and any in the future MUST have contracts that guarantee that the Guyanese People money are well spent. There should be no excuse. If you have to hire a Foreing Law Firm, then go ahead and do so.
Originally posted by kidmost:
Big Company with a few failures in some african states but growing fast . Owns stakes in all sorts of other companies which support their main objectives. Problem is one has to ensure agreements are airtight or else these chinese companies can become a problem. If I am not sure i think their investments in a leather company I think in Benin failed and caused Benin some serious financial problems . What happened to Brazil buying Jamaica's factories ? why did that fall through ? One would have thought they would keep it regional .
You are aware that the Indians have a very vibrant and efficient Sugar Industry, right?

Correct, and Guyana had it also. The Indian's run their industry, not foreingers. Why should we take comfort from the fact that the Jamaicans cannot run theirs? Do we pander to the lowest common demoninator to excuse away out failings?

I say then let the Brits and US do it as they are our customers or influence our customers. Tell me, who does Guyana sell it's sugar to?
Originally posted by Mr.T:

Absolutely not true. Guyana was still a paradise when the British left. The PNC and PPP turned it into a big dustbin, where aids is officially approved and begging now has its own ministry.

Actually Guyana was NOT a paradise when the British left. It was so bad that it was considered a hardship posts for colonial officers who behaved badly. They tried desperately to be transferred to Barbados, Trinidad or Jamaica.

It is however true that what ever good teh PPP and the PNC did was more than offset by the bad.
Originally posted by baseman:
Why should we take comfort from the fact that the Jamaicans cannot run theirs?

Sugar is marginal to Jamaica. Keeping the industry aliove is for the benefot of poor workers who need empployment, and the agroindustrail sector which need access to sugar and molasses.

The PPP will tell you that sugar is vital to Guyana.

I say then let the Brits and US do it as they are our customers or influence our customers. Tell me, who does Guyana sell it's sugar to?

Still pandering to the white gods, are you? Even a worshiper like yourself would acknowledge that they would have the same challenges: el nino, la nina, high fuel cost, labor shortage, the need for cheap labor and the list goes on. The white gods will not come from the sky and make everything fine. Note how they subsidize their own farmers in their respective nation, encouraging inefficiency and wasting taxpayers money. hahahaahh
Originally posted by caribj:

Sugar is marginal to Jamaica. Keeping the industry aliove is for the benefot of poor workers who need empployment, and the agroindustrail sector which need access to sugar and molasses.

The PPP will tell you that sugar is vital to Guyana.

In fact sugar is a front in Jamaica for the drug trade. Drugs and tourism keep the economy going. Guyana don't have the latter but they making the best with the former. hhahahahahhah
The divestment comes some three years after the global financial crisis forced the Brazilian corporation Infinity Bio-Energy to drop a multimillion-dollar deal to take over Jamaica's debt-ridden sugar company.

I keep telling the aFC dunces that the supposed Brazilian investors in ethanol were only interested when gas prices appeared to be ready to take off through the roof. When it pulled back they backed off like any good business person.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
In fact sugar is a front in Jamaica for the drug trade.

Where did you get this from? I am looking forward to this. You do know that with densely forested mountain ranges there are many better places to go ganja than on a sugar estate. Especially when Jamaica exports little sugar and almost none to the USA, the main destination for its drug shipments.

I keep telling the aFC dunces that the supposed Brazilian investors in ethanol were only interested when gas prices appeared to be ready to take off through the roof. When it pulled back they backed off like any good business person.

I belive their withdrawal is because Brazilian ethanol cn now be exported DIRECTLy to the USA, whereas before Brazil was trying to take advantage of Jamaica's ability to do so under CBI.

In any acse Jamaica has a large domestoc market to sustain its industry and no longer needs EU given reduced output. We dont. So whats region 6 going to do WHEN sugar collapses?

Dude get the F off your victimization horse and f ing grow up . The British were in Guyana long before East Indians were brought to Guyana as indentures . Guyana to them was an enterprise just as it is for any super power today and emerging power today including India and China. Fact is , Guyanese administration f'ed up the sugar industry so you can put that in your pipe or your a55 and smoke it .

I would take a british or american dog over a chinese or indian dog anyday anytime .
I agree and EVERY Govt of Guyana, this one and any in the future MUST have contracts that guarantee that the Guyanese People money are well spent. There should be no excuse. If you have to hire a Foreing Law Firm, then go ahead and do so.

the reason why law firms and lawyers in Guyana are not ofay with interntaional trade agreements is simply because Guyana's economy is still public owned and controlled . The private sector which possess the capacity to grow expand and become international by creating partnerships with internationals are curbed by the f ing backward narrow minded f ing politics . The PNC and PPP have f ed guyana so badly I am amazed that people still support them , vote for them and expect the country to [progress under their leaderslessness . It is a f ing cancer of the entire f ing country .,
Originally posted by caribj:
In fact sugar is a front in Jamaica for the drug trade.

Where did you get this from? I am looking forward to this. You do know that with densely forested mountain ranges there are many better places to go ganja than on a sugar estate. Especially when Jamaica exports little sugar and almost none to the USA, the main destination for its drug shipments.

caribj just another a55hole partner of yours with skewered views thoughts and opinions .
You can push this up your stinking ASS: The Guyana Sugar Industry IS Alive and well but yes it is going through a rough patch. Guyana Sugar Industry will be around for another 100 years. A lesson for you, The British raped our Natural Resources, packaged them and then sold us a very high Prices. Lesson #1. If you need more let me know.

Dude get the F off your victimization horse and f ing grow up . The British were in Guyana long before East Indians were brought to Guyana as indentures . Guyana to them was an enterprise just as it is for any super power today and emerging power today including India and China. Fact is , Guyanese administration f'ed up the sugar industry so you can put that in your pipe or your a55 and smoke it .
You can push this up your stinking ASS: The Guyana Sugar Industry IS Alive and well but yes it is going through a rough patch. Guyana Sugar Industry will be around for another 100 years. A lesson for you, The British raped our Natural Resources, packaged them and then sold us a very high Prices. Lesson #1. If you need more let me know.

well that f*$king a55hole CBJ and c*&t janet jagan never understood the markets and hoped the USSR would suck their d1cks but they found out too late that they were making a f@%king mistake . Let me ask you a55hole ? where were/are the largest consumer markets for sugar and who controls them ?????????????? okay ! so take some time to ;pull your head out of jagan a55hole ! Most certainly the sugar industry will be around for another 100 years in fact I say for f#@king ever but where does Guyana stand in this matrix ???? what a f#@king moron !
Originally posted by cain:
To what we're hearing,it's coke.

Coke is an import, but I don't expect a duncified goat to understand this. ahahhahah

Import and export, Guyana is known as THE HUB. Who's the duncified goat here?

Ow bai, nah insule goat, dem mek good curry. dunno

well that f*$king a55hole CBJ and c*&t janet jagan never understood the markets and hoped the USSR would suck their d1cks but they found out too late that they were making a f@%king mistake . Let me ask you a55hole ? where were/are the largest consumer markets for sugar and who controls them ?????????????? okay ! so take some time to ;pull your head out of jagan a55hole ! Most certainly the sugar industry will be around for another 100 years in fact I say for f#@king ever but where does Guyana stand in this matrix ???? what a f#@king moron !

Hahaha, uncle nehur finall broke with tradition (one-liners) and he put his hoff in his mouth. Diss is one wutliss response.

these morons got sh1t smeared all over them and telling everyone is peanut butter ! gotta get livid with this ongoing delusional bull! Sometimes ignoramuses does only understand statemenst laced with expletives especially these PPP morons .
yOU ARE THE ONE EXPOSING YOUR ignorance and stupidity. gO GROW A BLOODY brain idiot!!!

these morons got sh1t smeared all over them and telling everyone is peanut butter ! gotta get livid with this ongoing delusional bull! Sometimes ignoramuses does only understand statemenst laced with expletives especially these PPP morons .