The People’s Liberation Army (PLA) of the People’s Republic of China yesterday donated approximately $1.2 billion in equipment to the Guyana Defence Force, including ambulances, trucks and water tankers.

Speaking at handing over ceremony at the Coast Guard Headquarters, President David Granger said, “The Guyana Defence Force is entrusted with the protection of this country’s patrimony. The force however faces numerous challenges in safeguarding and superintending our national airspace, our land borders, our marine resources and our rivers.

“Infrastructural development is a top national priority. The Technical Corps of the GDF must be strengthened in order to allow the force to contribute effectively to national development and to execute its mandate of protecting our territory and preventing transnational crime.”

Granger pointed out that national defence is inseparable from national development and as such public infrastructure enables and ensures public security. Stressing the importance of transportation, communication and infrastructural development, he said the force must be able to ensure that it can effectively respond to medical and environmental hazards in any part of the country.

Recognising the need to enhance defence and development at the same time, the GDF decided in 2015 to put emphasis on the recapitalization of its Technical Corps. “The Defence Board sees the Air Corps as providing continuing surveillance over our coastland, over our maritime borders and over the approaches of our country,” he said, adding that the Air Corps and Coast Guard must be able to conduct rescue missions.

“The government therefore thanks the Government of the People’s Republic of China for its incomparable cooperation and its assistance for over four and a half decades. The donations will improve the capabilities of the entire GDF and we look forward to the continued support,” he said.

Chief of Staff Patrick West also thanked the PLA for the “extremely significant” donation, which he said would positively impact the country’s national development as it included machinery for the construction of roads and bridges.

“It is notable that this equipment will to a large measure have a total effect of helping the engineering battalion and the specialist battalion and it helps to satisfy the vision of effective transformation for total national defence,” he added.

Chinese Ambassador to Guyana Cui Jianchun also made brief remarks. “This year marks the 45th anniversary of establishment of diplomatic ties between China and Guyana,” he noted. “Over the past 45 years, no matter how international situations changed, the friendly relationship between China and Guyana has been developing closely and constantly.”

He said the Chinese government values the relationship between the PLA and the GDF highly and as such, stood ready to further broaden and deepen the interchange between the two forces.

“The handing over of military equipment is once again a testimonial of the friendly and practical cooperation between PLA and GDF.

I believe there will be more occasions like this and the PLA will continue its support for GDF. We will spare no efforts to push forward the relationship between the two armies and bring the China-Guyana relationship to a new high,” he added.

The donation comprised 31 pieces of equipment including: three wheeled dozers, two wheeled loaders, one large wheeled excavator, two wheeled graders, two vibratory rollers, two electric stone crushers, one mobile air compressor, four four-tonne tipper trucks, one low bed trailer, three water tankers (10,000 litres), three fuel tankers (2,000 litres), two off-road ambulances and one hauler truck.

The equipment that is seen here, I am certain, is not the only equipment that came.  They may be using this equipment for the media as a cover for the real stuff that came.

Ok, it's time for Tillerson to one up the communists and send in $1.3 billion of equipment.  Uncle Sam would not be too happy with this move.  Is Granger turning his back on his election friends like Burnham did?

Send that shit back Granger..it's probably made of the stuff they use for rice and baby formulas..plastic.

Now many jackasses ketching sense. Yall get fooled by the PNC rhetoric when they were in opposition. The rest of us warned you and now these warning are coming to fruition.  "Good thing PPP?????"

Bibi, remember what the D2s, Djangos, Caribjs and others said about PPP and Chinese??   Dis place gat Nuff Laff story.

You are truly a simpleton! I said BaiShanLin is dead. Everyone knows the PPP brought in some 5000 to pad their rolls. Even the BaiShanLin president had a guyanese passport.

China Trading on Rob street is not going anywhere. Bosai still exists and is not going anyplace China Railway is still in contracting. They are still pulling internet cable and placing Chinese routers on a western link to snoop on traffic. China is dumping these used vehicles as a bribe because they want a toe hole in Guyana.

If you read US strategic Planning you will grasp that Guyana is a direct link from the no man's land between Montevideo and Buenos Aires at the mouth of  the Rio de la plata and into the heart of south america to the Atlantic coast through Guyana.

The Chinese need to have toe holds in these places to magnify their global power. Granger also knows he does not want them but will take all the advantage they will use as lures to change his receptivity to them. I am sure the US has already planted a security worm in his ear. Plus he as a blackman can see their pillage of Africa that is as bad as the colonials. He has to balance his judgement also because the US is now our prime source to money with Exxon being the spigot

When the honorable Clement James Rohee was Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, he got a free Mercedes-Benz car from the Chinese. It was later rumoured that the Chinese had embedded an electronic eavesdropping device in the vehicle and were picking up Rohee's mouthings on his mobile phone.

The Chinese were supposed to be kicked out by the AFC/PNC skunks.

These chaps are a bunch of jokers and idiots. It is funny to watch them defend the Chinese now.

I strongly believe that this has the blessings of foreign powers who are in effect supporting the efforts to rig and have the PNC in there as long as oil  flows.This marks the beginning of the establishment of a military dictatorship.

The Chinese are just being used to supply Grainger's military needs for his rigging plans and they would not pass an opportunity to make a billion dollars.

Mr.T posted:

The PPP shitting in their pants. The Chinese sent boats to catch PPP drugs smugglers.

And now Al YUh believe me he is a FILTH HEAD??? I may be wrong, it has to be worst than that!!!!!!!!!!!

The Chinese are just being used to supply Grainger's military needs for his rigging plans and they would not pass an opportunity to make a billion dollars.

Bhai,who using the Chinese and want to make billions??

clear this up suh we can understand.

When the honorable Clement James Rohee was Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, he got a free Mercedes-Benz car from the Chinese. It was later rumoured that the Chinese had embedded an electronic eavesdropping device in the vehicle and were picking up Rohee's mouthings on his mobile phone.

This does not surprise me.  The American icon of a hotel, The Waldorf Astoria was sold to the Chinese.  Every single president of the United States since Herbert Hoover stayed there including Obama.  Last September when Obama went to NY to attend the UN General Assembly meetings he did not stay there because of the fear of cyber invasion.

The oil contracts are with Exxon and the ramifications of reneging on them would be enormous. I didn't like the mass influx of Chinese into Guyana because they were there for one reason, to exploit the resources. Get rid of the violators and keep tight reigns on the rest. I don't see anybody donating anything to Guyana. That equipment, especially the ambulances, will help tremendously. The GDF also needs more drug and smuggling enforcement equipment like those boats.

Guyana needs anyone who has money and is ready to invest in the country or it will suffer a major economic collapse.  China has the money and is ready, willing, and able to invest.  To date, this is one of Granger's best moves. 

Guyana needs anyone who has money and is ready to invest or the country or it will suffer a major economic collapse.  China has the money and is ready, willing, and able to invest.  To date, this is one of Granger's best moves. 

Exactly. Keep a watchful eye on them though and make your terms very clear. Local labor and produce for one. I had hoped Granger would turn things around. Maybe he'll surprise us after all.

Don't wait for no surprise from Granger.  This was not an economic move, it was an opportunistic and selfish move.  This is for the GDF.  Any right thinking President would have asked for supplies that will boost the economy - in healthcare or building the infrastructure.  They need help at GPH, that hospital is falling to pieces.

I am going to ask this again. All this happened over the last 2 years?

The donation of the equipment to the GDF happened recently.  Is that not what we are addressing?  Please clarify.

Sorry, I meant the conditions at GPH etc...

Ahhh she knows exactly what you meant, just need some time to concoct a nancy story.

I thought of that too especially after the logging fiasco. It might seem a nice gesture but when coming from that country brings me back to what we learned while studying Aromatherapy. 

In 16th century France, Catherine DeMedici Queen of France (wife of Henry ii ) was said to send gifts of gloves to those she wanted to do away with. The gloves were laced on the inside with poisons.

The donation of the equipment to the GDF happened recently.  Is that not what we are addressing?  Please clarify.

The PPP govt is capitalist, so they built Balwant Singh and other private hospitals

At least GPH had aspirins when PPP was in govt.  Hey, Some of your classmates are well known doctors in GT, you better go and put in a word.  PNC man, Surrendra, comes to mind!!!

Oi doc I bruk ma han

Here banna tek two aspirins.

Oi doc I feel me baby comin

Here gyal tek two aspirins.

Oi doc dis banna got shot up he bleedin bad bad.

Here gi 'e these two aspirins see if he able swallow em. If it fall through the bullet hole in e throat jus shove em back in.

The PPP govt is capitalist, so they built Balwant Singh and other private hospitals

At least GPH had aspirins when PPP was in govt.  Hey, Some of your classmates are well known doctors in GT, you better go and put in a word.  PNC man, Surrendra, comes to mind!!!

Exactly my point. The PPP let the hospital fall into disrepair under Jagdeo's watch because they were building private hospitals but  "Any right thinking President would have asked for supplies that will boost the economy - in healthcare or building the infrastructure" . Do the reasoning......

Last edited by GTAngler

I am not aware that Jagdeo left GPH to fall into disrepair.  I agree that more should have been done.  But the hospital was maintained.  I think he wanted better healthcare for Guyana but since the govt couldn't afford it he allowed the building of private hospitals in several parts of the country, including dialysis centers, health clinics, etc. 

So back to my original question, this all happened over the last 2 years? I am well aware of the private hospitals that were built. How many of these private facilities minus the ones run by volunteers from overseas are affordable to the poor? And why does Jagdeo not use medical facilities in Guyana even for a simple checkup?

Which private hospitals in Guyana are run by volunteers?  Jagdeo's "wife" is a medical doctor and she does all of his medical work. 

Don't volunteers from here go back to provide medical services in indigent areas? Let me rephrase that though. Which of these private facilities are affordable to the poor? And once again, why doesn't Jagdeo partake of the services?

Mr.T posted:

Which private hospitals in Guyana are run by volunteers?  Jagdeo's "wife" is a medical doctor and she does all of his medical work. 

So Kwame had a sex change?

Shut the truck up!!!!  You are here mouthing off shitttt all day with no evidence to back up what you are saying.

Mr.T posted:

So Kwame had a sex change?

Shut the truck up!!!!  You are here mouthing off shitttt all day with no evidence to back up what you are saying.

Look who is talking! The fact is that the PPP is feeling uneasy that the truth is being uncovered.