China lift 700M out of poverty, Guyana can’t lift 700,000

Sep 28, 2019 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, Kaieteur News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...na-cant-lift-700000/

China got de most modern, de most extravagant airport in de world. It so big that in one day it can land and take off more planes than some countries can’t even land and take off in a year.

When people see this airport some of dem does think how China got so much money that it can waste it on one airport. De thing that got dem boys talking is that China tek four years to build such a monstrous airport.

De same Chinese send contractors to build de airport in Guyana. That one start in 2011. Eight years come and gone and de airport ain’t finish yet. Dem boys seh in China dem people wuk day and night because is dem own. In Guyana dem wuk and rest and complain.

But people know that China is a power house. Just de odda day de Chinese ambassador report how he country lift 700 million people out of poverty. That is half de population of China. He seh Guyana should tek a page out of China book but dem boys want to know how.

Guyana got 700,000 people. Guyana can’t even lift 70,000 of dem out of poverty. But Guyana got big eye. It see dem country building structures and dem want to do de same. But that ain’t all. It got de Chinese building a road pun de East Coast.

Dem got people hopping because dem boys talk. Dem dig up de whole East Coast road suh people got to struggle to travel. And dem know that if anybody talk dem gun lef de road just how it deh.

Anyhow, Guyana got a plan, or at least dem boys got a plan. Dem plan to open some cook-up shops right next door to dem Chinese eating houses. Dem expect de competition gun mek de Chinese see that Guyanese ain’t so docile.

Talk half and force Guyana to do like China

Couldn't agree more 50 combined years of the useless PNC and just as useless PPP. And look who they've got championing there cause Granger looks like he has one foot in the grave and Irfaan a man who can't chew gum and walk at the same time.

The trouble is that the cook-up shops wouldn't be able to compete with the Chinese restaurants either in taste or price. So de China Chinaman will still end up being de flying dragon.

• mceclip0
Dougla_80 posted:

Couldn't agree more 50 combined years of the useless PNC and just as useless PPP. And look who they've got championing there cause Granger looks like he has one foot in the grave and Irfaan a man who can't chew gum and walk at the same time.

This is more reasons why Clive Thomas and Eric can start their Skip the dishes small business.

Guyana’s economy is too small and corrupted to move on to greatness.  Even with oil coming up there is no framework in place for development.  There is no transparency or plans to train a skilled workforce.  In a few years when Exxon moves on to the next best thing we will back to the dry coconut business.

Bibi what Guyana has to worry about is inflation and the oil syndrome.  Inflation with the money coming in and people depending too much on oil not on agriculture and other important industries like what happened in Venezuela and Libya. Just before Gaddafi was overthrown in Libya they had an unemployment rate of 20 percent because of declining oil prices.  Gaddafi was giving the population oil money cheques from royalty investments to keep them surviving.

Correct.  The economy must be diversified.  Inflation is a big worry.  Right now Guyana central bank is buying currency from commercial banks to keep the economy afloat.  There is a serious decline in foreign exchange as a result of the depletion from revenue coming in from sugar.  It’s one of the reasons the PPP subsidized the sugar industry.  It was a much needed source of foreign exchange.  

What really happened to make investors flee after Granger took over?  I saw lots of building construction halted half finished all over GT.  

Lost of confidence in the Coalition especially since they gave themselves large salary increases even before they started doing any work.

Guyana’s economy is too small and corrupted to move on to greatness.  Even with oil coming up there is no framework in place for development.  There is no transparency or plans to train a skilled workforce.  In a few years when Exxon moves on to the next best thing we will back to the dry coconut business.

There is even a shortage of dry coconuts.

And hard guava, in the pnc hard guava season.

It’s great to see you retained some of the knowledge I imparted in you when we were belly to belly. 

On that, unfortunately the PPP never articulated this case properly to the Guyanese people. In fact, even at the NY event where the question came up, BJ made it sound like a case of Social Responsibility as opposed to sound economic justification.  This feeds into the arguments of the PNC that it’s a drain.  

On economic diversification true, that’s badly needed however, your boy BJ choose to double-down on sugar with the EU money. That money should have been used to convert some of the capabilities to other viable export oriented crops.  

In the end, the sad fate of the sugar workers lie with both the PPP and PNC.  The PPP used them as a political tool and the PNC abused them to get back at the PPP. There are no heroes just victims!

It’s great to see you retained some of the knowledge I imparted in you when we were belly to belly. 

On that, unfortunately the PPP never articulated this case properly to the Guyanese people. In fact, even at the NY event where the question came up, BJ made it sound like a case of Social Responsibility as opposed to sound economic justification.  This feeds into the arguments of the PNC that it’s a drain.  

On economic diversification true, that’s badly needed however, your boy BJ choose to double-down on sugar with the EU money. That money should have been used to convert some of the capabilities to other viable export oriented crops.  

In the end, the sad fate of the sugar workers lie with both the PPP and PNC.  The PPP used them as a political tool and the PNC abused them to get back at the PPP. There are no heroes just victims!

Look at this dumb ass piece of shit who never even finished high school.  

Oh dawling. I’m so proud you remember what I taught you. You should let BJ know how to sell the point. But it’s too late, PNC moved!

Not surprised. Guyana is the land of many waters and yet they always have water shortages. And mark my words, when the oil start flowing, Guyana will still have oil shortages.

Guyana's greatest asset might surely turn out to be the people in diaspora rather than the rich oil reserves in the Atlantic.  We ain't a resource curse as many fear oil might just turn out to be. We in many ways help sustain the local and national economy with our remittances which amounts to hundreds of millions. 

Banna, I take it you are joking or playing devil’s advocate!!

Bai, try convincing people in Guyana who have depended on remittances since the 70s that he is joking.