Good morning.

I have seen this video before Gilly.

Prashad anyone who can memorize the Quran has the ability for secular education as well.

The attitude that Prashad displayed there is not uncommon when it comes to the actions of a Muslim. This has been going on forever. Take for instance, When we fast in Ramadan, the comment is why bother if we will be back to eating everyday after Ramadan. Or the classic, "well ya'll eat enough to make up at nights in Ramadan anyway". Or when we pray, why bother if we are still scamps anyway. Nothing good a Muslim do impresses those whose impression of Muslims is bad. There is a Pakistani dude who passed some 50 subjects not so long ago and it was not all about religion http://www.dawn.com/news/1039680  but bias and prejudice is difficult to combat.

It would have been nice to have subtitles so I can understand what the kid is preaching.

For me, the lack of subtitles did not detract from the obvious confidence and commitment of little Hyder, not to mention the evidence of deep spiritual knowledge. I managed to pick up a few words like "mohobat" and so on and I gather that he was relaying a positive message.

It would have been nice to have subtitles so I can understand what the kid is preaching.

For me, the lack of subtitles did not detract from the obvious confidence and commitment of little Hyder, not to mention the evidence of deep spiritual knowledge. I managed to pick up a few words like "mohobat" and so on and I gather that he was relaying a positive message.

I agree that you could understand a few words. As one who is ignorant of Hindi, I would like to know the full message of his sermon. Does he preach love for all human kind or for a particular group?

Skelly, I too am "ignorant of Hindi" but all my life I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to Hindi/Bollywood music. I cannot answer your question. Come to think of it, I never thought of asking a question like: Do Bollywood love songs apply to black people or only to Indians?

Bollywood songs: Even black and Chinese type people watch the movies and listen to the music. I know the Somalis, Kenyans and SE Asians do. Almost everyone watch and listen Indian movies.

Good morning.

Prashad anyone who can memorize the Quran has the ability for secular education as well.

The attitude that Prashad displayed there is not uncommon when it comes to the actions of a Muslim. This has been going on forever. Take for instance, When we fast in Ramadan, the comment is why bother if we will be back to eating everyday after Ramadan. Or the classic, "well ya'll eat enough to make up at nights in Ramadan anyway". Or when we pray, why bother if we are still scamps anyway. Nothing good a Muslim do impresses those whose impression of Muslims is bad. There is a Pakistani dude who passed some 50 subjects not so long ago and it was not all about religion http://www.dawn.com/news/1039680  but bias and prejudice is difficult to combat.

Kwzama you keep that nonsense for them white man. It is a Guyanese koolie you talking to here. I love my Guyanese East Indian muslim brothers and sisters. What I am saying is this. If you don't take your Education seriously but just religion then you risk turning yourself into an ideological and political pawn for the people who has the bucks

Good morning.

Kwzama you keep that nonsense for them white man. It is a Guyanese koolie you talking to here. I love my Guyanese East Indian muslim brothers and sisters. What I am saying is this. If you don't take your Education seriously but just religion then you risk turning yourself into an ideological and political pawn for the people who has the bucks

I don't disagree with your argument but my point is that the only reason you took the step to be concerned with his math and science skills is because he is a little Muslim boy. Had he been a Pandit or Priest progeny it would not even cross your mind to be concerned about his math and science skills. That is the demon which you have to deal with yourself. It is no different from when that 13 years old Indian boy was getting ready to enter med school back in the early '90s. The outcry from many Americans was that his parents were cheating him out of his childhood. This outcry came while Doogie Houser was being glorified on tv irrespective of Doogie Houser being just a tv show. 

Listen here kazama I know first hand what could happen to these people who take religion too seriously some of them will end up on the frontlines fighting people like me. I have always condemn all people who take religion too seriously. 

Dude, there is a higher probability that your non-Muslim neighbor will harm you first so your paranoia is totally unfounded.

Listen here kazama your ancestors were slaughterd on the battlefields of India that is why today you preach reform Christianity. It is the deal some of your ancestors made with the battlefield executioner after their defeat. Read about your history instead of coming here to parrot reform Christianity.

Listen here kazama I know first hand what could happen to these people who take religion too seriously some of them will end up on the frontlines fighting people like me. I have always condemn all people who take religion too seriously. 

Dude, there is a higher probability that your non-Muslim neighbor will harm you first so your paranoia is totally unfounded.

Dude you don't bring that nonsense to me. When did I say Muslims are going to harm me. If you rely on religion only and don't develop the skills to be critical thinkers then you are putting yourself at risk of being manipulated by others who hold the strings of religious power by political and economic means.

Can you brothers return to a discussion of young Hyder Ali? Isn't it admirable that he is devoted to his religion at such a tender age? Personally, I wish my parents had encouraged me to attend temple services and learn Hindi during my childhood. The Muslim kids in our street were frequenters of the mosque and every weekday evening after regular schooling they donned white clothes and proceeded to the madrasa to learn Urdu. I envied them. Truly I speak. 

Listen here kazama your ancestors were slaughterd on the battlefields of India that is why today you preach reform Christianity. It is the deal some of your ancestors made with the battlefield executioner after their defeat. Read about your history instead of coming here to parrot reform Christianity.

I don't know why you think my ancestors were slaughtered on the battlefields of India and then they made a deal with their executioners when my grandfather was a Hindu in Guyana in the early '30s. I do think you are confused though.

Can you brothers return to a discussion of young Hyder Ali? Isn't it admirable that he is devoted to his religion at such a tender age? Personally, I wish my parents had encouraged me to attend temple services and learn Hindi during my childhood. The Muslim kids in our street were frequenters of the mosque and every weekday evening after regular schooling they donned white clothes and proceeded to the madrasa to learn Urdu. I envied them. Truly I speak. 

Well said Gilly.  Muslim kids are no better or worse than other kids. There are good and bad in every community.

I don't know why you think my ancestors were slaughtered on the battlefields of India and then they made a deal with their executioners when my grandfather was a Hindu in the early '30s. I do think you are confused though.

The Mughal invaders of india were very clear if you choose to fight them or steal from them (like what the ancestors of one of the founders of Pakistan did) then you face the executioner or convert to save your life.

Gillbaka I totally agree with you. Every Guyanese East Indian child should learn English, Urdu and Hindi.

I don't know why you think my ancestors were slaughtered on the battlefields of India and then they made a deal with their executioners when my grandfather was a Hindu in the early '30s. I do think you are confused though.

The Mughal invaders of india were very clear if you choose to fight them or steal from them (like what the ancestors of one of the founders of Pakistan did) then you face the executioner or convert to save your life.

That doesn't apply to me though because in the 1930 in Guyana, my Hindu grandfather became a Muslim. No Mughal invader executioner had any role in his decision. Try not to think you know everything about everyone.

I see Skeldonman and Gilly speak as though the kid is Hindu, isn,t he Muslim?

Ayou coolie people confusion dis putagge baie here, not to mention the other confused one Prashad,hehehe

Actually, Cain, the issue between da bai and Gilly has to do with not understanding the language. Gilly is Hindu and assumes da bai is Hindu too, hence the reference to Bollywood songs which are in Hindi chiefly. 

Personally, Cain, I don't necessarily need to know a foreign language in order to appreciate, say, a Russian or Senegalese video on YouTube. What my ears don't pick up my eyes grasp and my 6th sense works it out and bruk um down into fine change. 

If he serves humanity through his religious preachings then it is all fine.  When I say serves humanity I also mean respect for others who share a different faith. Planet earth is so small and its resources are dwindling to keep us alive.  We have to work together and work scientifically to keep this planet from being destroyed.  So many species of plants and animals are on the brink of extinction.  Lets share this planet and stop the fighting.  Humanity have had many messiahs who informed us of our maker.   We need to work together and continue our reliance on science for answers to many of our problems.  Perhaps we might find another planet with life or capable of sustaining life that we can migrate to .  

Kazama what about your maternal ancestry you did not mention anything?

That is my maternal ancestry dude. My mother's father changed from being a Hindu to a Muslim. My father's grandfather came to Guyana from South Africa and while I am still a Muslim because my father was a Muslim when he married my Muslim mother, her parents asked him to marry her. He was in Georgetown working, studying and boarding at a complete stranger so my mother's parents only had some indication of his attitude, honesty and ambition. Had my mother been a Hindu at that time, there is hardly a chance that her Hindu parents approach an almost stranger who is not a Hindu to marry their daughter. The same would be true for a Muslim family not choosing a non Muslim to marry their daughter. Inter-racial/religious marriages generally come from people who fall in love irrespective of their race/religion. Back in my parents' days, married develop love after marriage.

You just have to temper your tendencies to think you know what people should or should not be/do. The best approach is to live your life the best you can and don't lose sleep over what others are doing.

If he serves humanity through his religious preachings then it is all fine.  When I say serves humanity I also mean respect for others who share a different faith. Planet earth is so small and its resources are dwindling to keep us alive.  We have to work together and work scientifically to keep this planet from being destroyed.  So many species of plants and animals are on the brink of extinction.  Lets share this planet and stop the fighting.  Humanity have had many messiahs who informed us of our maker.   We need to work together and continue our reliance on science for answers to many of our problems.  Perhaps we might find another planet with life or capable of sustaining life that we can migrate to .  

That is just your prejudice speaking there. Take Guyana for instance. Do you know that Muslims in Guyana celebrate Christmas, Easter, Phagwah, Diwali, etc.? Can you name one Muslim holiday that non-Muslims in Guyana celebrate?

Look in the mirror dude. I not so long ago partook in the Hindu rituals of my two parents in law and me and my Muslim household is observing a one year lent in accordance with Hindu tradition. Because my daughter has 360 degrees vision, she was more detailed in the requirements for the funerals, cremations and spreading of the ashes than her other cousins. All from taking the time to read about it within a very short period and under all the pressures that come from the lost of loved ones. What have you done that is Muslim related that makes you think you have more respect for those who share the Muslim faith?

THANK YOU. I REST MY CASE.

Among other things, one particular thing I admire Muslims for is their fantastic MEMORY. They can retain large amounts of texts in their brains for long periods of time. Not even stage actors and movie stars can do that. The memorization drill starts at a young age when the mind is most impressionable. Next to Muslim kids, I've observed that chess-playing children in Russia and Eastern Europe are more likely to become grandmasters and/or champions. It is not unusual for a Muslim to know the Holy Qur'an verbatim by heart.

Gilly, Allah stated in the Qur'an that he revealed it in stages so that it is understood and remembered. There are millions of Muslims who can recite the Qur'an verbatim by memory. Some of those as young as 5 years old. I don't have that skill because I am a Lagu bagu.

I'm willing to bet you one plate of sirini that Chief can recite the entire Qur'an word for word. Wanna bet? If I lose you can collect the sirini from Chief.

Gilly, Allah stated in the Qur'an that he revealed it in stages so that it is understood and remembered. There are millions of Muslims who can recite the Qur'an verbatim by memory. Some of those as young as 5 years old. I don't have that skill because I am a Lagu bagu.

I'm willing to bet you one plate of sirini that Chief can recite the entire Qur'an word for word. Wanna bet? If I lose you can collect the sirini from Chief.

I prefer parasad. Mek it parasad and you have a bet.

There is a reason why Chief is the Chief.