Originally Posted by VVP:

Gil,

What was DR. Jagan position on Stalin vs Trotsky?  

I think it is fair to say he was Marxist-Leninist, but this Stalinist argument seems to be guilty by association.  Would Jagan be considered a dictator by giving critical support to Burnham?

Although  I was never heavily involved in politics my brother was and I never picked up from him that Jagan was a Stalinist.  I know my brother hated Stalin and a lot of his opinions where formulated from Cheddi.  I will keep an open mind and would like to hear from Odeen if he is reading this.

You said "Police searched PPP members homes and found books written by Stalin and PPP May Day posters with Stalin's portrait. Check the newsreels videos in British Pathe website." I read something on the Internet that the Stalin portrait during the May Day parade was a set up to make Cheddi look bad by elements within the PPP....I'll see if I can find it again.

Stalin Photo was shipped around to PPP cells in the country. In particular, it was sent to our home. Instructions to my father-the Governor was to arrive at the Rosignol Train Station, he was to protest with the huge portrait of Stalin hung around his neck. He did as requested. The following morning,about 3.30, the Colonial Police(3 lorries) with guns and bayonets surrounded the house. With a warrant they searched. As soon the mischief was carried out, the portraits would transported elsewhere.    

Did the instructions come from Dr. Jagan?  If I am reading Odeen's article above correct it looks likes there was a faction "Martin Carter, Lionel Jeffrey, Rory Westmass, and Keith Carter" that could be the ones involved.

Gil,

I think it is fair to say he was Marxist-Leninist, but this Stalinist argument seems to be guilty by association.  Would Jagan be considered a dictator by giving critical support to Burnham?

Although  I was never heavily involved in politics my brother was and I never picked up from him that Jagan was a Stalinist.  I know my brother hated Stalin and a lot of his opinions where formulated from Cheddi.  I will keep an open mind and would like to hear from Odeen if he is reading this.

You said "Police searched PPP members homes and found books written by Stalin and PPP May Day posters with Stalin's portrait. Check the newsreels videos in British Pathe website." I read something on the Internet that the Stalin portrait during the May Day parade was a set up to make Cheddi look bad by elements within the PPP....I'll see if I can find it again.

Stalin Photo was shipped around to PPP cells in the country. In particular, it was sent to our home. Instructions to my father-the Governor was to arrive at the Rosignol Train Station, he was to protest with the huge portrait of Stalin hung around his neck. He did as requested. The following morning,about 3.30, the Colonial Police(3 lorries) with guns and bayonets surrounded the house. With a warrant they searched. As soon the mischief was carried out, the portraits would transported elsewhere.    

Did the instructions come from Dr. Jagan?  If I am reading Odeen's article above correct it looks likes there was a faction "Martin Carter, Lionel Jeffrey, Rory Westmass, and Keith Carter" that could be the ones involved.

He was closely connected to the Jagans-Janet was more the revolutionary.

For all the mischief he was requested to carry out, it earned him 9 months at Mazaruni in 1954. 

I know PPPites pay a lot of importance to jailing of Cheddie and Janet. But there were others. Jailed for longer periods of time. In the history of the Freedom Movement those individuals are unimportant-but they are ones who broke the suspension laws, intimidated others, carried out subversive acts. distribute communist material and held pubic meeting when it was unlawful to do those things.

It can all be read on the Internet-O. Ishmael has it on there.

Gil,

I am picking up this conversation at this point.

To VVP, I won't say Jagan was a Stalinist in practice. He was an admirer of Stalin in his early political life, no doubt about about that. The PPP system of democratic centralism was started by Stalin's predecessor Lenin before the 1917 revolution when the Bolsheviks were a small semi-secret party. In practice, the emphasis was more on the centralism part. In the PPP, Jagan used to consult with other members of the Central Committee. Some party members felt he should have consulted with the entire membership. The counter-argument was that leaders have to lead.

Regarding Trotsky, Jagan followed the Soviet line. Stalin killed Trotsky in Mexico and then blacklisted his name in Russia for decades.

I was an admirer of Trotsky but I couldn't say that at Freedom House.

Hey bai

What about two black fowl? Dem haags is fuh personal use only. Me nah guy waste some perfectly good haags pin wan daag

Why the two of you don't take your feeding bottles and go suck them somewhere else?

I have every right to be at dis Jaganistani Havana as a half Hindu. I call upon my chammar ancestry to witness my love of all tings Jaganistani

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

This is not nice, VVP. Please don't do it again.

There are very sound reasons why we use nicknames. The Internet is more dangerous than the Wild West, Gaza Strip and Yemen combined.

If you know someone's real name, please keep it to yourself. Thanks.

Hey bai

What about two black fowl? Dem haags is fuh personal use only. Me nah guy waste some perfectly good haags pin wan daag

Why the two of you don't take your feeding bottles and go suck them somewhere else?

I have every right to be at dis Jaganistani Havana as a half Hindu. I call upon my chammar ancestry to witness my love of all tings Jaganistani

Are you Farouk Samaroo?

This is not nice, VVP. Please don't do it again.

There are very sound reasons why we use nicknames. The Internet is more dangerous than the Wild West, Gaza Strip and Yemen combined.

If you know someone's real name, please keep it to yourself. Thanks.

I didn't know his name.  Now I know it though.  I  thought we had decent people here but maybe not.  

I always remember that my brother used to say that Guyanese suffer because they are weak and selfish.  This is very true.

As individuals, Guyanese do exceedingly well outside of Guyana. We have no corporate spirit as nation. So the comment is true, "we selfish". That applies to every Guyanese-that means every race. It comes down to "them" and "us". There is no "we" in the near future.   

Siggy, when last did you hear the refrain: Guyanese are friendly people?

I can't remember the last time I heard that. There was a time when it was repeated a lot.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:
This is a serious post Shaits....if you have nothing useful to say, except your usual self-hating coolie nonsense, youshould take Ramjattan's advise and "haul yo arse".

Vish

...at the end of the day both y'all will be dry humping each others legs fuh Jagdeo. "Daag fuh daag". To call Shitty a self hating whatever can only mean:

a) You're clueless about Shitty's indocentric views OR

b) YOU ARE Shitty. The "straight guy" in the comedy routine of Shitty playing wid he self, guffawing loudly that he using 2 alias fuh set up he master dem positions.

Ah tink it's b).