Charrandass Persaud willing to take lie detector test on ‘Yes’ vote for no-confidence motion; admits negotiating gold purchase

Malaika Clarke asking a question at the Town Hall teleconference meeting with Sasenarine Singh and Charrandas Persaud

Former government parliamentarian Charrandas Persaud, who voted for an opposition-sponsored no-confidence motion that has triggered steps for early general elections, has admitted that he had been in contact with gold dealers, but said he is willing to take a lie detector test to prove that he never sold his ‘Yes’ vote to the People’s Progressive Party (PPP).

“Yes, I will submit to it and I’ll tell you that they cannot – the lie detector, no matter what they do with it-will not find that I accepted bribe because nobody has given me any money up to now to say ‘look I’m bribing you to vote.’ I vote because I wanted to vote,” he said. “I will submit to the lie detector test and it will not be. It cannot be positive so I wouldn’t have to worry what if it is,” he added.

Persaud added that his main reason for voting for the no-confidence motion was to remove members such as Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo of the Alliance for Change, and Amna Ally and Joseph Harmon.

Fearing that he could be locked up and killed while in detention, Persaud said he would most likely return to Guyana after the next general elections.

Against the backdrop of Police Commissioner Leslie James saying the law enforcement agency was probing a “matter of national security” involving Persaud, the former legislator for the first time acknowledged that he had been in communication with other persons about purchasing gold for export. “I have clients, who are still looking for gold and so I was negotiating with a couple of dealers, finding out the price, what it will take if you buy it in Guyana and if they ship it and we pay for it and we receive it in Canada. That is what I was doing so I went to two dealers,” Persaud said. He said investigators went to one of the dealers on Robb Street. “They take the man’s computer and everything. What the ass are they investigating? What is wrong with making enquiries?”, he said.

He shrugged off reports in sections of the media that he had been paid US$1 million in raw gold to vote for the Bharrat Jagdeo-sponsored motion on December 21, 2018 that has since put the country in a political and legal tailspin over the validity of his vote because he is Canadian and the mathematical accuracy of the 33-32 seat approval of the motion. “No, I did not take a bribe. Nobody even offered me a God-damn dollar,” he said on a telephone link-up with Financial Analyst, Sasenarine Singh in front of an in-house audience at a Town Hall meeting held at Queen’s, New York.

Under Guyana’s Constitution, general elections are to be held within 90 days which expires on March 21, 2019, but after House Speaker Barton Scotland refused to reverse the vote and left it to the Court to resolve all related issues, the government, opposition and its advocates have filed legal actions.

Responding to a question from Malaika Clarke on the floor at the town hall meeting about whether he was “truthful” to Guyanese when he had praised the government in his contribution to the 2019  National Budget debate, Persaud acknowledged that the governing coalition improved several roads but thousands of sugar workers were laid off. “I will say this publicly. I don’t lie. When I spoke in favour of the budget, I spoke particularly on Region Six and over a three and a half year period, they did do roads, they did put lights, not all over the place. They worked in Region Six. They had to give us something..What I said was the truth….My mind was made up the day before that. At that stage I said ‘this is enough’ and at that stage I decided I would support the no-confidence motion,” he said.

Fomer Region Six Regional Executive Officer (REO), Dr Veerasammy Ramayya, noting that Persaud “followed the protocol” and praised the 2019 budget instead of expressing his real concerns in the House. “He was playing a little game if you want to put it that way but he did the right thing at the right moment because the government was going back to where they were – 28 years- that is how I saw it. But I spoke against the government while I was working for them as the REO and I left the job because I will not follow that protocol so I had the guts to walk away from them.

“He supported the budget, was not a bad budget but if he had done something contrary in that budget, they could have replaced him… and this is what people don’t understand, sometimes you have to play the games to know where they are going and this is what politics is all about,” Ramayya added.

Persaud, meanwhile, ruled out joining the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) because he was not interested in holding any political office. Previously, at a Hindu mandir, Persaud had stopped short of telling congregants that they should vote for the PPP, saying they should not vote for A Partnership for National Unity or the Alliance For Change (AFC).

hmmmm . . . ?

first it was the "even if I was paid . . ." plea . . . now this

dis fraud MP acting like he hearing 'footsteps'

I would like to meet that gold miner who would give Charrandas one million US in raw gold to vote Yes. I got a thousand dollars in silver to exchange with him for a hundred thousand dollars in raw gold. 

Guyanese people just like to overstate their importance.

Instead of Mr. Jagdeo letting Charandas get his one million Us dollars in raw gold for a yes vote he should have taken that one million US dollars in raw gold for himself and pay off that huge mortgage that he has to pay for that house of his.

I would also like to meet these people who believe that Charrandas received that one million US dollars in raw gold. Prashad got the Berbice bridge to sell to them.

The PPP is not that foolishness to bribe someone who then needs to go to the local market to convert it to gold, then try to export it.  

I don’t believe it has to do with anything. 

hmmmm . . . ?

first it was the "even if I was paid . . ." plea . . . now this

dis fraud MP acting like he hearing 'footsteps'

LOL....maybe de man hearing your footsteps stalking him...

Obviously not the brightest banna with words, Charandass does come off as believable...there is no evidence to suggest otherwise...its hard to believe someone will be so foolish as to bribe him with $1m gold...those kinds of things are traceable

...Ramjattan on the trail...but ah been hearing that Ramjattan might be a citizen of the US

The more this fella opens his mouths, digging the hole deeper.

Then you have Ramayya , saying why there was no negativity in Charandass 2019 Budget speech.

“He supported the budget, was not a bad budget but if he had done something contrary in that budget, they could have replaced him… and this is what people don’t understand. Sometimes you have to play the games to know where they are going and this is what politics is all about,”

Then you have Ramayya , saying why there was no negativity in Charandass 2019 Budget speech.

“He supported the budget, was not a bad budget but if he had done something contrary in that budget, they could have replaced him… and this is what people don’t understand. Sometimes you have to play the games to know where they are going and this is what politics is all about,”

We talking bout lie detector.  How you gaan till a budget now?

Dat Ramayya dude presenting himself as a "Doctor"

....I am guessing he is another fakester like Dr. Vishnu Bandhu, Dr. Peter Ramsaroop, ....and soon  Dr Mammed Irfaan Ali  (dat dude already submitted his dissertation, apparently WITHOUT even taking the requisite courses leading to the PhD...!)

Guyana gat too many con artist running around...ah wonda if there is a thing like "bush doctor" in Guyana....maybe dem can form a DOCTOR POLITICAL PARTY 

....I am guessing he is another fakester like Dr. Vishnu Bandhu, Dr. Peter Ramsaroop, ....and soon  Dr Mammed Irfaan Ali  (dat dude already submitted his dissertation, apparently WITHOUT even taking the requisite courses leading to the PhD...!)

Guyana gat too many con artist running around...ah wonda if there is a thing like "bush doctor" in Guyana....maybe dem can form a DOCTOR POLITICAL PARTY 

What are the requisite courses for a PhD?

We talking bout lie detector.  How you gaan till a budget now?

Too difficult for you !! Tell we a little, you know i am far away, about the new Indian Hero, parading in Queens NY, with his outbursts  one after the other on Social Media, Town Hall meetings, will that help the PPP win the coming Elections ?

By the way was Nigel Hughes there ?  read Sasenarine Singh was in front a house attended the meeting via teleconference.

Dats one loaded question...Irfaan might be better equipped to handle that one...

In any case, it depends on what de person want to specialize in.... checked Ramsaroop's some time ago...things not adding up with his resume...

But then again....dem charlatans dont expect Guyanese to vet them....

Ask  Irfaan Ali.

Dats one loaded question...Irfaan might be better equipped to handle that one...

In any case, it depends on what de person want to specialize in.... checked Ramsaroop's some time ago...things not adding up with his resume...

But then again....dem charlatans dont expect Guyanese to vet them....

Looks like you run in to a dead end. his files probably ducked.

Is Peter Ramsaroop Faking His Military Service Record? Does He Even Have Any?

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/i...oes-he-even-have-any

Ask  Irfaan Ali.

Or Ramsaroop, or Ramayya....or BJ.....

Ask  Irfaan Ali.

He is only one step away from getting it. When is Miss Phagwali getting her PhD?  The one that Guyanese taxpayers are paying for.

Miss Phagwali....

Ah who dat ?

Ask  Irfaan Ali.

Nicolette Odella Henry
 - Minister of Education.

Hon. Nicolette Henry Minister of Education

Nicolette Henry (born 15 February 1970) is a Guyanese politician and former military officer who has been appointed a Minister as of May 2015.

Minister Henry has over twenty (20) years of managerial experience and thirteen (13) at the senior professional level.Before her ministerial appointment, she served as Public Health Specialist (Prevention) for the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)for nine years.

In the capacity of Public Health Specialist, Minister Henry functioned as the technical lead for HIV Prevention,Adolescent Development, Gender, Safe Water and Blood Safety to scale up prevention activities using best practices from the field of behavioural science and economics with the aim of universal access.

Minister Henry also has the distinction of serving her country as a Commissioned Corps Officer (Captain), in the capacity of Officer Commanding the Medical Corps- Guyana Defence Force.

She also brings to her portfolio continued commitment to advancing excellence and equity for all. Her exceptional programmatic capacity and experience in closing gaps,creating linkages and reducing disparities in service delivery are well suited to championing Guyana’s journey to first class education, fifty plus years after independence.

Her publications include Transfusion Medicine transcript on: “The computerize tracking system for resource limited settings - The example Georgetown, Guyana”

Ms. Henry’s honors and special awards include the United States Government - Honor Award (June 2014), Eagle Award (September 2012) and Meritorious Honor Award for the extraordinary and exceptional performance of duties (December 2010).

Minister Henry’s life story epitomizes the extraordinary power of education. In her early years, she attended Berbice High School and New Amsterdam Multilateral and later advanced in her studies and is now a Pharmacist with a Master’s in Public Health.

Additionally, Ms. Henry is currently a Dr. PH (Candidate). Her belief in service and the importance of quality education for all have root in her own experiences of overpowering the odds and going on to become a Doctoral Scholar and Minister of Education for the Co-operative Republic of Guyana.

https://www.education.gov.gy/w...e/education-minister

From where Irfaan getting his Phd ??

Read about the Miss Phagwali, are there any fake qualifications ??? If there is any please point it out.

You can ask the Eastern European trained Engineer, who got free schooling, for help.

Charrandas is having a Meet and Greet at Tropical  Nights  Restaurant in Scarborough  right at this moment being taped by CBC and will broadcast 29th January. 

Is this happening now 

Ask  Irfaan Ali.

Nicolette Odella Henry
 - Minister of Education.

Nicolette Henry (born 15 February 1970) is a Guyanese politician and former military officer who has been appointed a Minister as of May 2015.

Minister Henry has over twenty (20) years of managerial experience and thirteen (13) at the senior professional level.Before her ministerial appointment, she served as Public Health Specialist (Prevention) for the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)for nine years.

In the capacity of Public Health Specialist, Minister Henry functioned as the technical lead for HIV Prevention,Adolescent Development, Gender, Safe Water and Blood Safety to scale up prevention activities using best practices from the field of behavioural science and economics with the aim of universal access.

Minister Henry also has the distinction of serving her country as a Commissioned Corps Officer (Captain), in the capacity of Officer Commanding the Medical Corps- Guyana Defence Force.

She also brings to her portfolio continued commitment to advancing excellence and equity for all. Her exceptional programmatic capacity and experience in closing gaps,creating linkages and reducing disparities in service delivery are well suited to championing Guyana’s journey to first class education, fifty plus years after independence.

Her publications include Transfusion Medicine transcript on: “The computerize tracking system for resource limited settings - The example Georgetown, Guyana”

Ms. Henry’s honors and special awards include the United States Government - Honor Award (June 2014), Eagle Award (September 2012) and Meritorious Honor Award for the extraordinary and exceptional performance of duties (December 2010).

Minister Henry’s life story epitomizes the extraordinary power of education. In her early years, she attended Berbice High School and New Amsterdam Multilateral and later advanced in her studies and is now a Pharmacist with a Master’s in Public Health.

Additionally, Ms. Henry is currently a Dr. PH (Candidate). Her belief in service and the importance of quality education for all have root in her own experiences of overpowering the odds and going on to become a Doctoral Scholar and Minister of Education for the Co-operative Republic of Guyana.

Read about the Miss Phagwali, did you see any fake qualifications ???

You have short memory Django 

Education Minister adopts title of ‘Doctor’, but is yet to be conferred with PhD

The Ministry of the Presidency website profile of Nicolette Henry, Minister of Education.

Minister of Education, Nicolette Henry, has accepted the title of ‘Doctor’, although she is yet to complete her PhD, which is being funded by taxpayers’ dollars.

The Ministry of the Presidency website has listed the Cabinet post of Education Minister as ‘Dr. Nicolette Henry’.

In the academic world, such practice is frowned upon and is seen as a dishonest representation of one’s qualifications.

“My current status is that I am a doctor of scholar and that has been the case for a few years now. When that changes you will be duly notified,” Henry told Kaieteur News.

The Minister explained that everyone knows that she is a doctoral scholar registered at a Laureate University in the United States.

Asked why the Ministry of the President would list her as Dr. Henry, she replied, ‘It wouldn’t be wrong or right to use it’. It is the Minister’s view that in academics, once someone is a doctoral scholar, it is accepted that they are referred to as a doctor.

Henry was among a list of Ministers and Government affiliates who were receiving scholarship funds directly from Government. In late 2016, it was disclosed that the Minister’s studies had racked up $3.3M for a doctorate in public health.

The Minister was told that it is not acceptable to use the title before being conferred.

She said, “I would want to wait after I would have been so conferred to use it appropriately.”

It appears that there was some indication that Henry had already obtained her PhD because in mid-2016 while she served as a Minister within the Ministry of Education with responsibility for Culture, Youth and Sports, official press releases referred to her as Dr. Henry.

Several professionals advised Kaieteur News that some persons tend to use the title PhD candidate to indicate that they are awaiting conferral, which means that one is either a PhD candidate or conferred with PhD, a postgraduate academic degree awarded by universities.

Henry has made a number of gaffes since becoming a Minister of Government when the Coalition came to power in 2015. In December last, the Minister told the House of Assembly that she is not a Kshatriya (Guyanese say Chatree) and so may not know when there is Diwali or Phagwah. Earlier in 2017, Henry repeatedly confused the Hindu holidays, Diwali with Phagwah.
Many found her Kshatriya reference offensive. She never apologised for using the term.

What's your point, the discussions are about Nicolette Henry,Educational Background, comparable to the questionable Advanced Education  of Irfaan Ali.

When alyuh will stop fooling the East Indian people ???

that gyal is wan mediocrity, another Harmon protege, and is held as such even by supporters of APNU

however, unlike Irfaan (i work in pencil only) Ali, she is not a tap dawg candidate for President of Guyana

What's your point, the discussions are about Nicolette Henry,Educational Background, comparable to the questionable Advanced Education  of Irfaan Ali.

You know if dis phagwali lady is a citizen of Amrika?

The word for you today is “Hypocrisy “. 

Ask  Irfaan Ali.

Nicolette Odella Henry
 - Minister of Education.

Read about the Miss Phagwali, are there any fake qualifications ??? If there is any please point it out.

You can ask the Eastern European trained Engineer, who got free schooling, for help.

Can you tell me where is she studying for her Phd, I see the only institution she attended is Berbice High School and N/A Multilateral. Those schools issue Masters Degrees????

“I have clients, who are still looking for gold and so I was negotiating with a couple of dealers, finding out the price, what it will take if you buy it in Guyana and if they ship it and we pay for it and we receive it in Canada. That is what I was doing so I went to two dealers,” Persaud said. 

Yeah, right! Fools will believe your Anansi stories. 

I don’t believe he was fencing for himself.  However, one wonders what his clients doing looking for bullion.  Sounds like laundering or tax evasion!

BTW, this was one of the tactics the old PNC guard used to smuggle money out of Guyana back in the day!

Have to say, that Banna could become toxic.  There is a balance that’s missing!

I don’t believe he was fencing for himself.  However, one wonders what his clients doing looking for bullion.  Sounds like laundering or tax evasion!

BTW, this was one of the tactics the old PNC guard used to smuggle money out of Guyana back in the day!

He's looking to buy $US one million in gold just before the NCV and take it to Canada and it's for a client. Does he have a license to deal in gold? Hahaha. Jagdeo said that the text messages were fabricated, now Charrandass said the text messages were real. Ramsaroop claimed he didn't know that Charrandass would vote yes and Charrandass said that he told Ramsaroop that he would vote yes. They can't get the stories straight. It's no coincidence that Ramsaroop was chosen by the PPP to provide security for Charrandass. They are fooling no one, only the ones who think that bribing Charrandass is OK once we get rid of the black man from power. 

You too faass !

He was also looking to sell he car and house. He also put deposit on a new house in Toronto and went car shopping this past weekend.

Everything will come out.

It is no secret that Guyana raw gold is being used by organized crime to launder money to Dubai. But to send it to Canada that would be traceable and foolish. Charrandas business was probably to facilitate the buying of raw gold in Guyana cheap and to process it in Canada and sell it at a higher price.  That is what those Arabs and Chinese are doing all over Africa. They pay the African gold miners US cash at the mining camp location and take the raw gold back to the Middle East and China then process it.

that gyal is wan mediocrity, another Harmon protege, and is held as such even by supporters of APNU

however, unlike Irfaan (i work in pencil only) Ali, she is not a tap dawg candidate for President of Guyana

If she received her pharmacy degree in the US she is not dumb. Pharmacy is one of most intensive degree program in undergrad. It is usually a five year program

well, she didn’t receive a Pharmacy degree from any recognized US university and, to the best of my knowledge, she never made such a claim

and no one said that she was dumb . . . she is simply not qualified to be Minister of Education

i am not talking about paper qualifications either

she has done well for herself and it is not my intent to bash her since, as far as i know, she is not a thief or otherwise corrupt

well, she didn’t receive a Pharmacy degree from any recognized US university and, to the best of my knowledge, she never made such a claim

and no one said that she was dumb . . . she is simply not qualified to be Minister of Education

she has done well for herself and it is not my intent to bash her since, as far as i know, she is not a thief or otherwise corrupt

Just reporting what was said here in the link avoce. "

Additionally, Ms. Henry is currently a Dr. PH (Candidate)."

Just reporting what was said here in the link avoce. "

Additionally, Ms. Henry is currently a Dr. PH (Candidate)."

she is a graduate of the Dip. Pharmacy program at UG