Former government MP Charrandass Persaud (at right in foreground) after his stunning vote in favour of the PPP/C’s motion of no-confidence against the government. (Stabroek News file photo)

October 18 ,2020

Former parliamentarian Charrandass Persaud, who was responsible for the crucial vote that led to the passage of the December 21st, 2018 no-confidence motion against the former APNU+AFC administration, has returned to Guyana.

Sunday Stabroek was reliably informed that Persaud returned here on October 9th.

A source told this newspaper that since his return, Persaud has been asked to keep a low profile until he settles in.

After Persaud, then an APNU+AFC parliamentarian, voted in favour of the then opposition-sponsored motion against the former government, he was subjected to attacks on his character by both his former APNU+AFC colleagues and their supporters.

He left for Canada the day after the vote on the motion, which was passed 33 to 32 after he voted with the PPP/C, which was then the opposition. The PPP/C returned to office on August 2, following a five month impasse over the results of the March 2nd general and regional elections.

While Persaud said he voted according to his conscience, last year January then Commissioner of Police Leslie James had announced that he was the subject of an investigation stemming from a report of bribery and possible plans to move gold out of the country.

Months after, then Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan had said that the investigation into Persaud would only continue once “other witnesses” come forward. This disclosure was made months after Ramjattan had said that the investigation was stalled and there is no “solid” evidence to have Persaud extradited.

Persaud has denied the allegations made against him and has filed a multi-million dollar libel suit against Ramjattan.

@kp posted:

That guy is Black and Ugly and not to mention he is a traitor.

He is so much more handsome than you plus he was a better real estate agent than you.  You are trying to bring the man down and that is because he is above you. Have a nice day.

@Mitwah posted:

He is so much more handsome than you plus he was a better real estate agent than you.  You are trying to bring the man down and that is because he is above you. Have a nice day.

Chandradass has nowhere to go except into the PPP's fold. If he looks like me he must be very handsome. Don't you think?

@Mitwah posted:

Errol is no different than you, opportunist.  If you don't know he was first a PPP then an AFC and finally APNC dog. The PPP will be sorry to accept him, he is not to be trusted. In some circles he is a coward and traitor.

He is a better lawyer and real estate agent because I am in neither profession.

Ps. I expressed by views of Errol to the PPP . Once bitten twice shy.

@kp posted:

Errol is no different than you, opportunist.  If you don't know he was first a PPP then an AFC and finally APNC dog. The PPP will be sorry to accept him, he is not to be trusted. In some circles he is a coward and traitor.

He is a better lawyer and real estate agent because I am in neither profession.

Ps. I expressed by views of Errol to the PPP . Once bitten twice shy.

Yuh is waan ugly raas. At open houses, you scared away prospective buyers. Why would PPP trust a well known notorious ex PNC goon who used to harass coolies fuh likkle fried rice? Gwan suh. heheheheheheheheheh.

@Mitwah posted:

Yuh is waan ugly raas. At open houses, you scared away prospective buyers. Why would PPP trust a well known notorious ex PNC goon who used to harass coolies fuh likkle fried rice? Gwan suh. heheheheheheheheheh.

Me hear you used to feed Burnham pigs at the ministry of agriculture