http://www.trinicenter.com/Tri...TobagoNews/2001/Aug/

Dual citizenship dilemma
Interpreting Section 48 (1)

• Whether the question of a second citizenship or being under a declaration of allegiance of another country disqualifies a Member of Parliament from sitting in the House of Representatives. (The Chief Justice and Justice Nelson agreed that a person was disqualified if they held dual citizenship but Justice Sharma disagreed.)

There was a similar case in Trinidad and Tobago where two Candidates  held foreign citizenship.

Guyana's Case

Court can hear dual citizenship case

…insist lawyers challenging validity of Charrandass’ ‘yes vote’

lots of people can be disqualified using that as the criteria...even the current Govt can be disqualified because of this

Like you want upset Django now.  PNC always right.

What the r@ss PNC got to do with this thread.

There are similarities to Berbice farmer Compton Reid challenge to MP Charrandass Persaud dual citizenship.

Berbice farmer Compton Reid challenge to MP Charrandass Persaud who has been found to have dual citizenship following his vote with the opposition.

https://guyanachronicle.com/20...ual-citizenship-case

http://www.trinicenter.com/Tri...TobagoNews/2001/Aug/

Dual citizenship dilemma
Interpreting Section 48 (1)

• Whether the question of a second citizenship or being under a declaration of allegiance of another country disqualifies a Member of Parliament from sitting in the House of Representatives. (The Chief Justice and Justice Nelson agreed that a person was disqualified if they held dual citizenship but Justice Sharma disagreed.)

There was a similar case in Trinidad and Tobago where two Candidates  held foreign citizenship.

Guyana's Case

Court can hear dual citizenship case

…insist lawyers challenging validity of Charrandass’ ‘yes vote’

Bai, don't lose sleep Googling this dual citizenship issue. Let the judges decide. If they rule that the Charandass vote was invalid, then all dual citizens of the PNC, AFC and PPP votes are invalid. All the bills passed and signed into law are invalid. One more thing: They cannot hold on to the $18 mil. This might give them some shittings.

Not loosing sleep bhai, how do you think we will learn, if something comes to mind and don't try find out.

I am always curious.

Not loosing sleep bhai, how do you think we will learn, if something comes to mind and don't try find out.

I am always curious.

Is Guyana's constitution the same as Trinidad's. I doubt it. Ruling against Charandass would open a can of worms. How will the judge determine the man's allegiance strength to Canada or Guyana?

I am always curious.

Is Guyana's constitution the same as Trinidad's.I doubt it. Ruling against Charandass would open a can of worms.

How will the judge determine the man's allegiance strength to Canada or Guyana?

Both Countries Constitution have similar clause barring foreign citizenship.

Your last sentence is jokey.

I am always curious.

Is Guyana's constitution the same as Trinidad's.I doubt it. Ruling against Charandass would open a can of worms.

How will the judge determine the man's allegiance strength to Canada or Guyana?

Both Countries Constitution have similar clause barring foreign citizenship.

Your last sentence is jokey.

Why do the PNC and AFC allow dual citizens to participate in parliament? You mean a dual citizen is not allowed to vote "yes" in a no-confidence motion against it's own party but can do so against the opposition? Is this written in the constitution?

Ban all dual citizens from voting.

Why do the PNC and AFC allow dual citizens to participate in parliament?

You mean a dual citizen is not allowed to vote "yes" in a no-confidence motion against it's own party but can do so against the opposition? Is this written in the constitution?

Not only PNC and AFC, the PPP also allowed the same, seems like you forget. Me thinks this court ruling will clean house.

The Constitution barred holders of  Foreign Citizenship to become MP's

You mean a dual citizen is not allowed to vote "yes" in a no-confidence motion against it's own party but can do so against the opposition? Is this written in the constitution?

Not only PNC and AFC, the PPP also allowed the same, seems like you forget. Me thinks this court ruling will clean house.

So when the house is cleaned there will be more incompetents running the country.  

Bai like you forget I mentioned the PPP also.
Here is the statement to revive your failing memory: If they rule that the Charandass vote was invalid, then all dual citizens of the PNC, AFC, and PPP votes are invalid.

Bai like you forget I mentioned the PPP also.
Here is the statement to revive your failing memory: If they rule that the Charandass vote was invalid, then all dual citizens of the PNC, AFC, and PPP votes are invalid.

Arright you chalk one up, have to get some fish oil for the noodle.

So when the house is cleaned there will be more incompetents running the country.  

Finally coming to senses, i mention a bunch of misfits running the country.The ones who are capable are being shut out.

What happen deh Bhai, you smoothly shifting your stance, hope you are not standing on ice, maybe Skelly is doing a good job at convincing you who is the better of the two evils. Anyway Welcome home.

Court decision on citizenship -- MPs with dual citizenship -- should not be confined to the extreme narrow view of ONLY ONE person; but it must be decided on the broader view of ALL current MPs.

Panday says Guyana gov’t collapse cannot happen in Trinidad

" />

Former prime minister Basdeo Panday

(Trinidad Newsday) THE collapse of the David Granger-led government in Guyana after a no-confidence motion could not happen in Trinidad & Tobago, because of the differences in the two countries’ political systems.

That’s the word from former prime minister Basdeo Panday, who, in a telephone interview yesterday, also predicted that elections due in 2019 and 2020 will witness the two main parties (the ruling PNM and the Opposition UNC) play “musical chairs” in Parliament, unless constitutional reform becomes a reality.

Local government elections are due in 2019 and a general election in 2020. Panday predicted, “If there is no change in the political system, what will happen here will be a continuation of musical chairs in the Parliament, where either one of the racial groups or blocs will be in office.

“It will be as simple as that. It has been happening for, what, 46 years, and will not change unless there is constitutional reform.” Panday said this was his message at a function hosted by Chaguanas West MP Ganga Singh in Chaguanas last week.

“The call for unity that I have made is a call for people to be united – not necessarily parties, but people – to be united in a struggle for constitutional reform. “That is the call that I have made. It may have been misinterpreted, but the call is not a call for parties to be united. Whether that happens or not that is another matter.”

“This is a call for people who are dissatisfied with the system to unite so that we can change the system.” Panday said he had not received any calls from any political party or individuals about his call for unity. Asked whether “unity” meant the formation of a new political party, he said, “Yes, it may mean that, yes.” He did not elaborate.

On the collapse of the Granger government, Panday said the Guyanese constitution possessed “allowances” for those scenarios. “Democracy is at play, I guess, because whatever has happened has happened in accordance with their constitution, and their constitution has provided for this kind of change when people want change.

“Something like that cannot happen here, because of our political system. (Under) our political system, the party will put the whip out and force the members to vote in a particular way. So it cannot happen here because of the differences in the political system.” Panday said his Christmas wish is for TT to “become a happy place for all of us to live in.”

HOW SYSTEM WORKS IN TT

TT had a dead-heat election result in 2001 – 18-18 – which was resolved when President Arthur NR Robinson selected PNM leader Patrick Manning as prime minister over the incumbent, Panday. However, the Parliament could not elect a Speaker, as the PNM did not have a majority, and fresh elections had to be called in October 2002.

In 2007 the number of constituencies was increased to 41 to avoid a hung Parliament.

There have been coalition governments, when the UNC combined in 1995 with the two NAR Tobago MPs, and the People’s Partnership coalition of 2010.

Before debating in Parliament, local parties caucus to discuss a bill and reach agreement in advance on how they will vote, though there is a rudimentary “whip” system.

In the original Westminister system the numerous whips ensure that MPs are either present for important votes or “paired” with opposition MPS who will also be absent. In a three-line whip, MPs must be present to vote along party lines. On some topics at Westminster a free vote is permitted.

Last week UK Prime Minister Teresa May survived a no-confidence motion by 83 votes (there are 650 MPs at Westminster) over the plan to take Britain out of the European Union (“Brexit”).

BEDLAM AND CUSS

There were chaotic scenes in Guyana’s Parliament last Friday when what was supposed to be a routine defeat of the Opposition Peoples Progressive Party’s (PPP) no-confidence motion against the David Granger-led A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) government was turned on its head by govt back-bencher Charrandass Persaud.

As Clerk of the Assembly Sherlock Isaacs called for “Mr C Persaud” to cast his vote, shock reverberated through the chamber when Persaud voted “yes.”

A shocked Volda Lawrence and David Patterson, who sit directly in front of the AFC backbencher, spun in their seats, while to Persaud’s left, an equally shocked Jermaine Figueira lashed out, demanding, “What the f–k you doing?”

Recognising that he had incorrectly addressed the MP, Isaacs instead called on “the Honourable Charrandas Persaud,” who after calmly sipping from a glass of water, softly said, “Yes.”

In voting yes, Persaud had ignored Figueira who directed that he should, “do the right f—ing thing”. In reply to Rajkumar’s advice that: “You can vote again, say, ‘No,’” Persaud responded. “Buddy, I already vote.”

This led to APNU member Rajkumarie Bancroft’s lament: “Charrandass, no! No, no, no, no. Correct yourself, correct it. No! No! No! No. What wrong with Charrandass? Charrandass, no! Oh my God.”

Persaud repeated at least four times that he was in favour of the motion when Speaker Dr Barton Scotland had the process restarted. The vote was then concluded and the no-confidence motion succeeded 33 to 32, meaning the government had fallen.

The collapse comes at a particularly precarious time.with President David Granger and the chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission both being unwell.

Who are the capable ones Django? 

I see Congress Place cutting yo rope. 

This is of utmost importance for the nation, Why this delay by the Justice, is this a ploy for buying time for the PNC . This decision would be a political one and we can all know who will benefit. I think this will cause more confusion and as Prince said it will go to the Supreme Court, just kicking the can along the way. No one wants to take the onus of making a wrong decision that will be in the History Books.

Points to note which stand alone and are paramount ---

By a majority of votes, government was defeated on December 21, 2018.

Government then remains in office specifically to effect elections within three months --- by the end of March, 2019.

There is nothing in the constitution which speaks to and specifically delays or restricts the process that elections must not be held by March 2019.

REFERENCE

Guyana Constitution  -- Sections 106, parts (6) and (7)

Source -

-- http://www.oas.org/juridico/sp...guy_constitution.pdf

(1) There shall be a Cabinet for Guyana, which shall consist of the President, the Prime Minister, the Vice-Presidents, and such otherMinisters as may be appointed to it by the President.
(2) The Cabinet shall aid and advise the President in the general direction and control of the Government of Guyana and shall be collectively responsible therefor to Parliament.
(3) Cabinet Meetings shall be presided over by—
(a) the President;
(b) in the absence of the President, the Prime Minister; or
(c) in the absence of the President and the Prime Minister, such Minister as the President may designate.
(4) The Cabinet may act notwithstanding any vacancy in its membership or the absence of any member thereof.
(5) At the invitation of the President or of any person presiding at a meeting of the Cabinet, a Minister who is not a member of the Cabinet may attend that meeting and participate fully in the proceedings as if he were a member.
(6) The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.
(7) Notwithstanding its defeat, the Government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two-thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly determine, and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election.”

DG, have you quoted the constitution when Granger appointed Justice Patterson as GECOM Chairman, and the  Supreme Court rule that Granger appointment was fit and proper?

The PNC and PPP interpretations came from the same Guyana constitution. How can you rely on quoting the Constitution for justice? 

DG, have you quoted the constitution when Granger appointed Justice Patterson as GECOM Chairman, and the  Supreme Court rule that Granger appointment was fit and proper?

The PNC and PPP interpretations came from the same Guyana constitution. How can you rely on quoting the Constitution for justice? 

Were you perhaps way way waaaay far from GNI, it would then be obvious that you would have missed my post on the matter.

Succinctly ...

Opposition Leader MUST submit a list of candidates to the President for consideration and eventually select  a candidate.

President returns the list to the Opposition Leader to resubmit a list if no candidate is is acceptable.

The ONLY time the President can UNILATERALLY and independently appoint GECOM Chairman is when the Opposition Leader FAILS to submit a list of candidates.

President UNILATERALLY APPOINTED the GECOM Chairman despite the list submitted by the Opposition Leader.

Opposition Leader in all cases submitted a list of candidates.

The pertinent sections of Guyana Laws specifically states that if the Leader of Opposition FAILS to submit a list of candidates, then and only then the President can select a candidate of his choice.

Of Note --- David Granger was on two lists; submitted by the then PNCR when in opposition; for consideration as Chairman of GECOM.

Check Congress Place and Freedom House, some capable there.

What happen deh Bhai, you smoothly shifting your stance, hope you are not standing on ice, maybe Skelly is doing a good job at convincing you who is the better of the two evils. Anyway Welcome home.

That's meant to be past and present.

you posted a comment and should provide supporting information, what kind of “ Duncified  Goat “ answer is that.

So you just throwing PNC Shit around eh . 

lots of people can be disqualified using that as the criteria...even the current Govt can be disqualified because of this

Like you want upset Django now.  PNC always right.

What the r@ss PNC got to do with this thread.

There are similarities to Berbice farmer Compton Reid challenge to MP Charrandass Persaud dual citizenship.

Berbice farmer Compton Reid challenge to MP Charrandass Persaud who has been found to have dual citizenship following his vote with the opposition.

https://guyanachronicle.com/20...ual-citizenship-case

Hope against hope.  DJ, stop wasting your time and pissing up-wind!  Nothing will be done retroactivele, if anything will be done.  You and Snowy like Alice in Wonderland!

you posted a comment and should provide supporting information, what kind of “ Duncified  Goat “ answer is that.

So you just throwing PNC Shit around eh . 

Do names  of the capable ones have to be mentioned ? coined your own adjectives, no need to copy. What  PNC  poop, I am throwing here ? have i condemn any of your post. Some of you here need some self check, any one who disagrees are linked to the other side.