Charles Ramson, Jr. for president, not just yet

by GHK Lall

Charles Ramson, Jr. for president has a new and different sound with a fresh appealing flavor to it.  This comes out of the blue and could pose a migraine for the PPP’s brain trust; and the party’s electoral base as well, long committed and intertwined with one man. The questions are these: Is young Mr. Ramson good for the leadership role?  More searchingly, is he the right man for the reins at this time?

He looks well on paper: the right credentials, the right words and positions carefully chosen.  Mr. Ramson, Jr. looks well in pictures too, which can only help with the female base. His political pedigree is sound, though there is the looming possibility of it being a handicap of sorts in some circles.  Junior is going to have to tread a careful line in distancing himself from seniors. That is, if he cares to make the distinction.

Nevertheless, his name presents party elders (and the established kingmaker) with a problem, a couple of significant problems:  Can he be maneuvered at will? Is he malleable and docile enough? Does he have the party’s interest first and foremost? And what about his Westernization?  Patrice Lumumba or Cuba he is definitely not. It would take a lot of persuasive powers on the part of Mr. Ramson, Jr. to ease and overcome those misgivings as to how much of a party animal he is; or how much personal ambition, a la the late Vincent, he is about?  In summary, do they really know this young man long enough and deep enough to commit?

Personally, I find this young Guyanese palatable.  But does he have what it takes to lead this boisterous, deformed, devastated entity that exists under the umbrella of a nation?  Does Mr. Ramson, Jr. possess all the wiles and guiles, strengths and subtleties, and creativity and constancy of character required?  I think not; Does he possess the political character to elevate to the issues that bedevil and above the determinedly ethnic and the hostilely partisan?  I think not; not yet. My emphasis should be made clear: Is Mr. Charles Ramson, Jr. ready now? I say no.

Although there is a distant outside chance that he could be the first oil president, he is seen as seen as too much of an apprentice, having not paid enough dues, and fodder for the political cannoneers.  To some, he runs the risk of coming across as a Young Turk in a hurry, and still to earn significant spurs. There is hesitancy in trusting him with such a sensitive weighty responsibility, especially by the party.  In the next instance, it would be serious test for Mr. Ramson, Jr. to mobilize in his favor a young hungry segment of his party; the disenchanted too. The latter would encompass those marginalized, denied, and angered by the now jilted third term aspirant.  Against all of this, it must be remembered that the main man calling the shots has almost total control. I do not see him reacting favorably to a likely upstart with his own head.

It is believed that Mr. Ramson, Jr. may have the book smarts, but there is skepticism that as to if he has the visceral sinews to challenge that solid oligarchy (cabal) within the party.  Its people fight dirty; they fight to the end. Here is another dilemma for the potential candidate: if he passes muster and is presented as the Prince of Wales being groomed for coronation, that could signify that the blessings of the big man were given (the one big one that matters).  That is not going to go down well with a keenly watching Guyana that wants nothing to do with a clone. That supposed blessing could end up being a fateful curse.

I think Mr. Ramson means well; he needs to learn more so as to position himself more formidably for later.  Shall we say, seven years hence….? Call it laying the groundwork and the grueling work of dues paying. So, although Mr. Ramson, Jr. represents fresh air, I don’t think that the powers in his party are ready for him yet.  And even if they were, Guyana is definitely not. I am not. I think that given the calumnies and stream of nightmares with another callow youth back then, who turned out to be a political monstrosity, both party and country fear what could be concealed.  Stated differently, who is the real man behind the public mask?

Pointblank posted:

Ramson announced that he intends to vie for the presidential post and Jagdeo immediately rebuked him.

And if Ramson turns out to be the Presidential candidate you will be among the first to start trashing him.  We will find out everything he never thief.  His father who was an MP would get a good trashing.  His grandfather who was a PNC MP might get saved since he was in the right party.

Pointblank posted:

Ramson announced that he intends to vie for the presidential post and Jagdeo immediately rebuked him.

And if Ramson turns out to be the Presidential candidate you will be among the first to start trashing him.  We will find out everything he never thief.  His father who was an MP would get a good trashing.  His grandfather who was a PNC MP might get saved since he was in the right party.

Well, at least Caribj will get an Indian with a name he can pronounce!  Him or Frank Anthony, Caribj and his Afro racists cannot complain about "Indian Names!"

Bharrat Jagdeo dozz gi dem sore throat!

But then again, they might get Anil Nandalal...more sore throat!

Pointblank posted:

Well, at least Caribj will get an Indian with a name he can pronounce!  Him or Frank Anthony, Caribj and his Afro racists cannot complain about "Indian Names!"

At what point did I complain about Indian names.   I complained about Indian racists like you who felt that you had a God given right to exclusively rule Guyana and exclude the remaining 60% of the population.

Pointblank posted:

At what point did I complain about Indian names.   I complained about Indian racists like you who felt that you had a God given right to exclusively rule Guyana and exclude the remaining 60% of the population.

You did, when Bibi had mentioned one of the Ramkarran sons, who carry Indian names!  And I asked you if Ramson would be acceptable!

And I ain't no racist bai, people here accuse me of being PNC cuz I give jack he jacket!

The PPP has no real leadership. Stifled by the Jagans then Bharrat Jagdeo.

If that bigot Granger got some smarts, he could do the indian population a favour and start putting some indians in key positions. And show he is a guyanese first and blackman after.

The PPP has no real leadership. Stifled by the Jagans then Bharrat Jagdeo.

If that bigot Granger got some smarts, he could do the indian population a favour and start putting some indians in key positions. And show he is a guyanese first and blackman after.

The Caribj clan in the PNC would never allow that!

Pointblank posted:

de wan yuh worship is doing dat no need for me to do that 

Pointblank

Charles Ramson jr would be a name neutral to the electorate, the ones that don't have TV and can't read would assume he is a blackman or a non coolie, but the quality he has that is relevant is he can't be accused of thieving , also he is young and handsome and well educated.As for experience, he is from a political stock.

Those of us that have the political pull should get involve and muster support for this NEW BLOOD, Jagdeo and those old bastards should move aside into the archives. The people in Guyana deserve better, much better than the same old, same old.

Starting from now I will do my best to bring change to the PPP,but I alone cannot succeed, We have to stop this military cover rule with leftovers of Burnham and Jagan, bring fair and free election at all level and in all parties.

It will be a hot few days in Toronto, I don't have time to banter on GNI, I will peep time and again but busy drinking something cool, keep cool!

If that bigot Granger got some smarts, he could do the indian population a favour and start putting some indians in key positions.

the wannabe klansman brays

nasty-minded racists like you will keep the PPP in the wilderness for a while

I have not been enlightened with an appropiate answer at the moment. Maybe, one will come later.

That was quick. I gat an answer for you. 

Your kith and kin was murdering us for years, we just returning ur racist natural attributes. 

We both racists. And Jagdeo is my Indo arch-racists klansman, the fearless coolie man.

U afraid of Kulie ppl. U should be with Jagdeo as our leader.

Boooo! Look for a place to hide.

Charles Ramson jr would be a name neutral to the electorate, the ones that don't have TV and can't read would assume he is a blackman or a non coolie, but the quality he has that is relevant is he can't be accused of thieving , also he is young and handsome and well educated.As for experience, he is from a political stock.

Those of us that have the political pull should get involve and muster support for this NEW BLOOD, Jagdeo and those old bastards should move aside into the archives. The people in Guyana deserve better, much better than the same old, same old.

Starting from now I will do my best to bring change to the PPP,but I alone cannot succeed, We have to stop this military cover rule with leftovers of Burnham and Jagan, bring fair and free election at all level and in all parties.

It will be a hot few days in Toronto, I don't have time to banter on GNI, I will peep time and again but busy drinking something cool, keep cool!

Ramson comes from an opportunist stock. No natural peoples skill, They are priviliged by connections to the PNC first and later to the PPP. At one point they had both camps covered with their presence.  

I have not been enlightened with an appropiate answer at the moment. Maybe, one will come later.

Your kith and kin was murdering us for years, we just returning ur racist natural attributes. 

We both racists. And Jagdeo is my Indo arch-racists klansman, the fearless coolie man.

antiman manifesto . . . juss lissen lil to yuhself

lol

next thing, it is going to be dropping of the panties.

Vulgarity is a black ppl ting.

Carry on smartly.

It takes real anti-man to buggah another man. 

decline to join you in the gutter

i am a Christian man

lol

Shyte Bro, I have been lissen 2 u for over 20 years on this site. Lissen like reading.  U so full of anti-indo sentiments u cant hide it. It comes out loud and clear, EVERY FRIGGING TIME.

next thing, it is going to be dropping of the panties.

Vulgarity is a black ppl ting.

Carry on smartly.

It takes real anti-man to buggah another man. 

decline to join you in the gutter

i am a Christian man

good 4 u. Have a blessed evening.

lol

Shyte Bro, I have been lissen 2 u for over 20 years on this site. Lissen like reading.  U so full of anti-indo sentiments u cant hide it. It comes out loud and clear, EVERY FRIGGING TIME.

20 years . . .?

you're more stupid than i thought

anyone who thinks i've been on this board for 20 years is either senile or a bloody fool!

the less said about the pillow-biting, screaming jackass who still thinks i'm TK, the better

U writing style yuh comaflouging from the real one, but ur words are the same. U wannabe blackman is no blackman. Yuh hiding behind black ppl. 

Yuh know much more about Indians in general than Guyanese Blacks.  Dem ppl dat doan even know the Indoes in the PPP by names muchless faces.

Dey pay that ethinc group no mind.

U writing style yuh comaflouging from the real one, but ur words are the same. U wannabe blackman is no blackman. Yuh hiding behind black ppl. 

Yuh know much more about Indians in general than Guyanese Blacks.  Dem ppl dat doan even know the Indoes in the PPP by names muchless faces.

dude, you just plain weird

Bai Siggy, you hit Antie Ronan real hard there.

Dance Antie Ronan, Dance.