Former Petroleum Advisor to President David Granger Dr Jan Mangal

The margin in the 2015 election was in the range of noise. It is unlikely an incumbent Government, somewhat bruised after five years in power, will benefit the same way it did when it was new, untested, and full of promise.”

Those were the words of former Presidential Advisor on Petroleum to Guyana, Dr Jan Mangal who in a post on social media expressed his belief that the chances that the incumbent APNU/AFC Administration has to be re-elected to office are low based on a number of factors.

According to Dr Mangal, a lot of what the coalition Government does now and how it plans for the future, particularly as it relates to the oil and gas industry, will determine whether or not it can be re-elected to office.

He also pointed to some areas where the incumbent Administration could improve, stating that it must assume that the chances of being re-elected were slim.

Dr Mangal said the Administration’s manifesto promises of making Government accountable would form part of the decision.

The David Granger-led Administration has failed to fulfil key promises, chief of which is ensuring constitutional reform. Also, while the coalition has made a commitment to creating jobs, it has instead fired thousands of sugar workers countrywide.

“Assume first oil by 2020 will not be a big factor with the voters in the 2020 election … Assume the voters would like to see the Government negotiating a fair deal with Exxon which maximises the benefit to the people of Guyana over the long term,” he advised.

Again, the Government has been staunchly criticised for the deal it inked with the US oil giant. Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo had flayed the Government for the less-than-favourable terms it negotiated on Guyana’s behalf in the oil contract.

Jagdeo made it clear that despite Guyana holding all the cards when it sat down at the negotiations table, the end product was a contract heavily favouring Exxon.

He did not attack the oil company, as he noted it was Government’s duty to properly negotiate with the company, which no doubt had its eyes on profit maximisation and cost reduction.

The deal was also not well received by civil society groups and other citizens.
Meanwhile, Dr Mangal said the Government must also bear in mind that voters would be looking to see if it set up an oil industry that was free of future mismanagement and corruption.

However, this remains a widespread concern, especially since the Administration was focused on making the Finance Minister a key manager of how the funds were spent and saved.

Jagdeo has long criticised the Petroleum Commission Bill, saying it was both “oily” and “slick”. He is against full ministerial control of the Natural Resources Fund also. Although the Government has catered for a representative from the Opposition to sit on the committee governing the Fund, Jagdeo has objected to this proposal, stating that politicians should not be included.

The former Presidential Advisor on Petroleum said Government must also assume the voters would like to see some national development prior to 2020 in the form of infrastructure, education, and health care, etcetera, which would require borrowing.

He is suggesting that robust long-term strategic and tactical plans for developing Guyana using oil revenue should be implemented. Dr Mangal said he would like to see these plans include a significant pay raise for all sectors’ employees; making the University of Guyana the preeminent university in the Caribbean; and extensive infrastructural and agricultural development.

Also, he said focus should be placed on making Guyana (and Iwokrama) the leading centre for research into rainforest and green issues; making Guyana a test case and leading research centre for dealing with rising sea level; and finally, making Guyana a cultural and commercial link between the Anglo-Caribbean countries and Latin South American countries.

While some economists, accountants and analysts have mixed views on how the oil revenue should be spent, most of them have concluded that Guyana’s rising debt was something to also consider.

Guyana’s total public debt has been increasing over the last three years – going from $317.7 billion in 2015 to $344.9 billion in 2017, according to the Public Debt Annual Report of 2017.

• mceclip0

This is a bogus article...designed only to fool people like Dave, KP and Skeldon-Man. 

1. The title of the article has nothing with the content....read it, dont take my word. 

2. This guy is discussing the politics of oil, not the politics of the 2020 election.

3. He offers no political analysis of the 2020 election...which is not going to be all about oil...there are other more important determining factors..race, for instance.

4. The LGE election makes the PPP look good, but national elections are different...the stakes are higher.

AND...how many working people in Guyana care about the oil deal and the foreign debt?

Jan Mangal may have lived in ABC countries for too long. The PNC don't need to be in power to have real power. For instance, Felix was promoted by the PPP but he is PNC, Collins promoted by PPP he is a PNC, Slowe promoted by PPP he is a PNC, Best promoted by PPP he is a PNC. The only way PPP will ever have real power is if they are an integral part of Prashad's Independent Sovereign Country Inniative.

PPP’s biggest mistake was trying to please so many of those blacks who turned on them. PPP needs to focus on what is good for the party and they demonstrated that at LGE. Your homeland may become a reality only if the PNC refuse to demit office after they are kicked out by the Guyanese people and their elected representatives.

"Prashad's Independent Sovereign Country Initiative".

Go back to the drawing board. Examine "Independent" and "Sovereign". Sever one. Choose "Prashad's Sovereign Country Initiative (PSCI)" or "Prashad's Independent Country Initiative (PICI)". Carry on.

PPP’s biggest mistake was trying to please so many of those blacks who turned on them.PPP needs to focus on what is good for the party and they demonstrated that at LGE.

Oh well straight out of the horses mouths.All the while my thoughts are the PPP as a party focus, is what is good for the people and country.

Wondering how many folks are duped ?

Shut you rass and let the PPP do what the PPP has to do. 

You got skinned up !!!

The new fellas are about party and themselves using the people to get in power to continue the kleptocracy.

alena06 posted:

Bai, you prappa dunce. 

Doesn’t take much to sell ole parts in a lil shap. 😀🇬🇾

How does that come in the conversation ? stick to the topic.

Ya got any more info on dis "Independent Sovereign Country Initiative"?

And who leading this country?

Ya got any more info on dis "Independent Sovereign Country Initiative"?

And who leading this country?

Watch out bai.   Prax wukkin’ wid dem bad ass Chinee bais to set up di ting. Ayuh gah fuh apply fuh visa to get in.   No caravan stchupitness!  He guh be wuss dan di Trumpster!

This is a bogus article...designed only to fool people like Dave, KP and Skeldon-Man. 

1. The title of the article has nothing with the content....read it, dont take my word. 

2. This guy is discussing the politics of oil, not the politics of the 2020 election.

3. He offers no political analysis of the 2020 election...which is not going to be all about oil...there are other more important determining factors..race, for instance.

4. The LGE election makes the PPP look good, but national elections are different...the stakes are higher.

AND...how many working people in Guyana care about the oil deal and the foreign debt?

@Vish . There is no production factories in Guyana, except a few rice mill. The only hope for Guyana economy is the promise oil.

government officials went into Buxton and Express hope of sharing $5000. US per year to poor homes from the oil profit - people of all races already banking on this $5G. figure out the madness to come if Government can’t deliver. 

Most Guyanese don’t want to work. And  the average Guyanese don’t think practically. 

Example. 

Two  weeks ago, an employee of ours asked for a tap up ( was not pay day- he’s out of money). Did not teturn to work until last Wednesday.

Excuse - boss man, had a Embassy Appointment for interview Monday

bossman - What happened Tuesday. 

employee - bass I had some drinks Monday after the embassy to bless the embassy visit and it spill over Tuesday 

employee - when I draw down me last pay month end , me nah come back.

boss man - why? 

Employee - sister put on fo abe.. abe a go foreign, this place too hard. 

boss man - when you flying out.

employee - don’t know yet, Embassy will send visa but abe got to sell out them things we have and visit families, you know how it goes , we gon hold a lil party for we neighbors and thing. 

Bassman - good luck, ayo rass think money grows on tree at Uncle Sam 

employee - come on bass, abe a get barrel every two month and you see how shine them look me sisee and Pinckney a look , me niece gat she own car and me a ride bicycle hay. 

"Prashad's Independent Sovereign Country Initiative".

Go back to the drawing board. Examine "Independent" and "Sovereign". Sever one. Choose "Prashad's Sovereign Country Initiative (PSCI)" or "Prashad's Independent Country Initiative (PICI)". Carry on.

I prefer Prashad's Insane Sovereign State (PISS) Initiative. My humble suggestion .....

I second that!

Goes well wid all dem hindutva drunkies he recruitin'. All ah dem pissin' drunk in de nation of PISS (Prashad's Insane Sovereign State)

@Vish . There is no production factories in Guyana, except a few rice mill. The only hope for Guyana economy is the promise oil.

government officials went into Buxton and Express hope of sharing $5000. US per year to poor homes from the oil profit - people of all races already banking on this $5G. figure out the madness to come if Government can’t deliver. 

Most Guyanese don’t want to work. And  the average Guyanese don’t think practically. 

Example. 

Two  weeks ago, an employee of ours asked for a tap up ( was not pay day- he’s out of money). Did not teturn to work until last Wednesday.

employee - bass I had some drinks Monday after the embassy to bless the embassy visit and it spill over Tuesday 

boss man - why? 

employee - don’t know yet, Embassy will send visa but abe got to sell out them things we have and visit families, you know how it goes , we gon hold a lil party for we neighbors and thing. 

employee - come on bass, abe a get barrel every two month and you see how shine them look me sisee and Pinckney a look , me niece gat she own car and me a ride bicycle hay. 

With all that negativity and contempt you hold, why hurt your head and try to do business there?  Just get rich in Canada. 

True, there is that element of workforce however, it’s in the menial labor force.  Not sure what you do to be dependent on them so bad. 

I have lots of relatives who operate business there and the one big challenge is migration to CARICOM.  Skilled people leave due to safety and general quality of life.  

The guys running the IT operations cannot hold good people for over a year, they get jobs and leave the country.  They however, do find it difficult to get people to do menial work.  If you pay well though, they do find.  

Maybe you pay slave rates so you scraping the bottom of the barrel?

Example. 

boss man - why? 

With all that negativity and contempt you hold, why hurt your head and try to do business there?  Just get rich in Canada. 

True, there is that element of workforce however, it’s in the menial labor force.  Not sure what you do to be dependent on them so bad. 

I have lots of relatives who operate business there and the one big challenge is migration to CARICOM.  Skilled people leave due to safety and general quality of life.  

The guys running the IT operations cannot hold good people for over a year, they get jobs and leave the country.  They however, do find it difficult to get people to do menial work.  If you pay well though, they do find.  

Maybe you pay slave rates so you scraping the bottom of the barrel?

Bhai, we’ve been asked the same questions many times - why not close the doors. 

It’s a family operation (5). Some have hopes of a boom after 2020. Personal, I don’t see that happening.  Non of the kids wants to be part, so eventually, that decision to fold operation will come. 

Personally, I have diversified into rice operation, tilipia and cattle rearing supplying milk to most businesses in GT. 

Workers salary - some of our workers have been around over 26 years and have seen them opening small shops and their family growing. We took  a group of our workers for visa ( two years ago ) and 70% receive. 

We never hire couples or immediate family, except at the farm where we have houses and their entire family is living. 

Nothing is full filling to the heart when you help someone and see their lives evolve. We came into this world empty handed and so we shall return. Material gains can vanish from us in a twinkle of an eye.

Felix was dumped by the PPP and Best was a PPP when he was selected by Jagdeo.  Reports are that they had "sweaty discussions" behind closed doors and a lovers' fight that led to Best leaving the PPP.

Try again.

PPP’s biggest mistake was trying to please so many of those blacks who turned on them. 

I agree and so was Burnham mistaken when he did so much for Indians.

You see Indians think that they are "experts" on what life for blacks was under the PPP as are blacks who think that they are "experts" on Indian life under the PNC.

So based on this "expert" analysis the Burnham era was BETTER for Indians than it was for blacks, or so do many blacks think.

 Government can’t deliver. 

Most Guyanese don’t want to work. And  the average Guyanese don’t think 

People dont migrate to the rest of CARICOM for safety, except maybe to Barbados, and even that island suffers from growing crime.

They leave because salaries are higher and public services are more efficient, and the corruption is less blatant. And many left during the PPP era. Yes many of them Indians, even as many of the Indo KKK scream "black man cyant run mauby shop".

 Government can’t deliver. 

Most Guyanese don’t want to work. And  the average Guyanese don’t think 

People dont migrate to the rest of CARICOM for safety, except maybe to Barbados, and even that island suffers from growing crime.

They leave because salaries are higher and public services are more efficient, and the corruption is less blatant. And many left during the PPP era. Yes many of them Indians, even as many of the Indo KKK scream "black man cyant run mauby shop".

I agree. That’s why I said general quality of life.  

I second that!

Goes well wid all dem hindutva drunkies he recruitin'. All ah dem pissin' drunk in de nation of PISS (Prashad's Insane Sovereign State)

I remember after the 1997 post election violence many threatened to abandon Georgetown to "black man" and move to their little Indian fiefdoms.  Funny since then Region 4 population has grown and that of Region 6 collapsed and G/T remains the center of economic and political life.

Prashad's people aren't going to go to any Indesh.  Its where the greatest concentration of Guyanese (region 4) is where they will live, if they remain in Guyana, because that is where the economic opportunities are.  Yes even though the African/Mixed population is larger than the Indian.

Prior to the PPP most Guyanese who went to those places were those who had grand parents from there, meaning that the majority were blacks.

It was under the PPP that an explosion of Indian migration to places like Barbados and Nevis occurred.  Yes "black man cyant run a mauby shop!"

....even as many of the Indo KKK scream "black man cyant run mauby shop".

Nah man, don’t knock yuh own people suh bad.  In my village the best cassava pone, salara and bitter mauby was from a shap run by a Black woman!  She was popular and successful!

alena06 posted:

Folks don’t need advisors to tell them AFC and PNC will lose the elections. LGE was just the start of things.

Use your considerable mathematical skills to argue why with 30 percent voting in elections that never mattered means something to the general elections where participation is always twice that? Consider also that black people are motivated to hold keep their own in office and the PPP's base is already less than what is available to the APNU minus the amerindian vote. Mixed races will vote and have voted for the APNU.  On pure numbers alone the LGE could speak to enthusiasm for local elections but not for the general where more is at stake. The general elections have always been an ethnic struggle for the state as a prize. It will not change in 2020. The outcome is not clear as the pundits and you eager beavers are wont to conclude. It is and will be a struggle and I am sure the APNU have a plan b for it also. If anything these results would be more conclusive to the APNU working twice as hard to get their base out

alena06 posted:

Folks don’t need advisors to tell them AFC and PNC will lose the elections. LGE was just the start of things.

Use your considerable mathematical skills to argue why with 30 percent voting in elections that never mattered means something to the general elections where participation is always twice that? Consider also that black people are motivated to hold keep their own in office and the PPP's base is already less than what is available to the APNU minus the amerindian vote. Mixed races will vote and have voted for the APNU.  On pure numbers alone the LGE could speak to enthusiasm for local elections but not for the general where more is at stake. The general elections have always been an ethnic struggle for the state as a prize. It will not change in 2020. The outcome is not clear as the pundits and you eager beavers are wont to conclude. It is and will be a struggle and I am sure the APNU have a plan b for it also. If anything these results would be more conclusive to the APNU working twice as hard to get their base out

Looks like you can be Guyana's next black president.

Prior to the PPP most Guyanese who went to those places were those who had grand parents from there, meaning that the majority were blacks.

It was under the PPP that an explosion of Indian migration to places like Barbados and Nevis occurred.  Yes "black man cyant run a mauby shop!"

Under the PPP there was no foreign exchange control, so that allowed them to travel and vacation to other countries.

....even as many of the Indo KKK scream "black man cyant run mauby shop".

Nah man, don’t knock yuh own people suh bad.  In my village the best cassava pone, salara and bitter mauby was from a shap run by a Black woman!  She was popular and successful!

Aah.  In fact YOU were the man who used to scream that blacks eat ants, that without Indians Guyana would be like Haiti, and that blacks should kiss the toes of Indians in gratitude.

I know that those days shame you and you are too embarrassed every time I remind you.

alena06 posted:

Looks like you can be Guyana's next black president.

The impossibility being I am not black! but you have already colored me according to your bias. The above did not speak to color but to reasoning.

Under the PPP there was no foreign exchange control, so that allowed them to travel and vacation to other countries.

What nonsense are you babbling about?  We aren't talking about vacations.

We are talking about Indians going to Barbados to do the low paid jobs that Bajans didn't want to do.  That accelerated after 2000 and guess who was in power then?

 It is and will be a struggle and I am sure the APNU have a plan b for it also. If anything these results would be more conclusive to the APNU working twice as hard to get their base out

They already have a plan B and that is using the same politics of ethnic fear that the PPP have become adept to.

In 2015 when the PPP lost it screamed "we gun tek back Guyana" clearly implying "from black people".  

Now Volda and Harmon are telling blacks that if they dont vote "coolie gun tek over".

Lord help Guyana!

 It is and will be a struggle and I am sure the APNU have a plan b for it also. If anything these results would be more conclusive to the APNU working twice as hard to get their base out

They already have a plan B and that is using the same politics of ethnic fear that the PPP have become adept to.

In 2015 when the PPP lost it screamed "we gun tek back Guyana" clearly implying "from black people".  

Now Volda and Harmon are telling blacks that if they dont vote "coolie gun tek over".

Lord help Guyana!

But blacks are not racists people in Guyana.

Lord help Guyana!

Please post the link to this. They would be stupid to do that since they need some 10k coolie to defect again to be in the safe zone. I noticing they were playing jiggery pokery with some of the electoral districts but they need more than that.,