Certain officials need to explain their ‘extravagant’ wealth – Economist

June 14, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

– “It would be a crying shame should the previous administration escape scrutiny on this front.” While the APNU+AFC administration is currently engaged in conducting a series of forensic audits on several

Chartered Accountant, Anand Goolsarran

agencies, local financial experts are urging the government to ensure that certain officials of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) explain “their extravagant wealth.” Specifically, economist, Dr. Clive Thomas, said that it is important for this to be done while emphasizing that the legal procedures must be incorporated into that process. In an interview with this newspaper, he said, “This is something the new government must pursue. But in doing so we must show respect for the laws and procedures governing how we must go about this process. “Even though I know some of them stole I can’t just advise that they be locked up without due process, so we have to ensure we go through the procedures to legally challenge them for what they have done and how they acquired their assets through corrupt activities.” Dr. Thomas reminded that it was under the previous administration that Guyana became a signatory to the Inter American Convention Against Corruption and the United Nations Convention Against Corruption. He added, “We signed onto the conventions which demand of us certain obligations like rooting out corruption. So we don’t have to go and draft legislation to ensure that we hold certain persons accountable for their actions. The very conventions require this and since it was signed by the previous administration it puts the liability on them.” The economist asserted that the new government in taking such a step would only be enforcing an obligation Guyana took solemnly by signing on to the two conventions. He said that should Government pursue this, it would turn out to be a “win-win” situation for the nation. He said, “It would be a crying shame should the previous administration escape scrutiny on this front.” Also lending his voice to the matter was Chartered Accountant, Anand Goolsarran. The former Auditor General (AG) said that he agreed with the sentiments expressed by the economist. He noted, however, that it is not the PPP officials alone who have to explain their wealth. Goolsarran then said that the Integrity Commission Act lists the persons who are required to file their financial returns. The Chartered Accountant said that the new administration needs to get the Commission up and running through the appointment of a competent Chairman supported by a team of experts to scrutinize the returns and to carry out investigations where there is suspicion that a full and honest declaration has not been made. He stressed that the Commission would also help to a significant degree in exposing how officials acquired their wealth. Goolsarran reminded that the Act was passed in 1997. He said that it would be necessary for a fully functioning Commission to start its work with effect from that year. He highlighted that it therefore has a backlog of 18 years.

It looks like a permanent job for a truth commission of 7 men.

If you are a thief,  would you keep a paper trail?.

Rama audits have many angles at looking for stuff.  It is very difficult to hide stuff.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Rama audits have many angles at looking for stuff.  It is very difficult to hide stuff.

The PNC hid stuff by burning down the buildings.  I am not suggesting that...

Nobody did their integrity declarations required including APNU/AFC.

So we need to get serious about that.

The way they put Panday in jail for $$$ appearing in his bank account, we should be doing that here in Guyana.

Totally agreed. VVP

Forensic audits was designed to unearth gentlemen's crime (white collar).  It needs accounting, auditing and legal skills.

Who better than Chris Ram in Guyana?

With support from EY Canada?

The PNC hid stuff by burning down the buildings.  I am not suggesting that...

Even if yuh bun down a building yuh can still get ketch bai. 

Uncle Rama does not owe anyone any explanation for his massive wealth.  If they have the evidence that he got it by illegal means, then prosecute him and seize it.

Nice one, mittsbhai. I see you went to puja this morning..  You are a bad dresser, maan.