Source:  http://caribnewsdesk.com/news/...-earnings-nagamootoo

Govt Ministers deserve higher salaries to avoid reduced earnings- Nagamootoo

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo speaking at a news conference on Wednesday, October 21, 2015.Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo speaking at a news conference on Wednesday, October 21, 2015.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo on Wednesday said elected office holders deserve higher salaries to avoid a loss of income prior to their appointments.

β€œYou have a number of lawyers in the Cabinet who had shut down their offices or leave their practice to come into Cabinet and, therefore, you have to take recognition as we did when bauxite was nationalized, when sugar was nationalized- the promise on the agreement is that the workers would have no less favourable condition that they had enjoyed prior to the nationalized,” he said.

Nagamootoo, who had served under a β€œlean and clean” then People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) government as Information and Local Government Minister, reasoned that elected officials must be expected to give their service, commitment and loyalty in no less favourable conditions the day before they were sworn in.

β€œSeeking elected office anywhere in the world carries a salary. It could be more or it could be less but nowhere in the world do you see someone walk into an office and not expecting to be remunerated because they still have to live,” he said.

Acknowledging that government did a poor job in explaining why the increased salaries for ministers were necessary, he explained that a decision was taken to address an β€œanomaly” among senior and junior ministers and members of the judiciary.

β€œIt’s not that we changed. It’s that we wanted to put in a system that would allow us to govern better and it’s not the quantity of the money. It β€˜s the principle of correcting the anomalies that had existed,” he said.

While that explanation has been already provided by Finance Minister Winston Jordan, the Prime Minister said that was not a good approach because certain ministers would be involved in negotiating wages and salaries with trade unions.

Seeking to escape criticism by the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) that he had said that he had forgone salary increases in the past unless the nurses and teachers could have been paid more, Nagamootoo smarted from questions about what has changed today. Instead, he said he would have been satisfied with any pay hike. β€œWhen we were dealing with this issue, any numbers could have been agreed for me, for the Prime Minister and it would have been fine,” he said.

The Prime Minister said he received a 10% percent increase, the President 5% while Junior Ministers’ salaries remained lower than the Permanent Secretaries. He said the three Vice Presidents did not receive increased salaries because a new pay structure was set for them.

Reacting to critics who charged that government ministers paid themselves just a few months after taking office, he said β€œI don’t believe that those who are saying that we have come into public office with an expectation that we will earn less ought not to seek office because if that is what happens ine every sector, no one would want to be a judge because you will tell the lawyer when you become a judge you will get far less than perhaps what you dream of getting as a lawyer,” he said.

The Prime Minister’s taxable salary of GUY$1.5 million has been increased by 10.7 percent while the GUY$579,000 salary for a junior minister has been increased by 12.5 percent and for senior ministers by 50 percent. Vice Presidents have gotten a 60 percent hike on the GUY$579,000. The Attorney General’s salary of GUY$1.6 million has been increased by five percent.

The PPP plans to table motions at Thursday's sitting of the National Assembly to reverse the pay hike and get parliamentarians to publish their income tax returns for the past 10 years.

Red Thread, Guyana Teachers Union and the Guyana Trades Union Congress have criticised the salary increase. In the case of the Trades Union Congress, it wants the ministers' pay hike to be used as the "barometer" for wage and salary negotiations.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo speaking at a news conference on Wednesday, October 21, 2015.Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo speaking at a news conference on Wednesday, October 21, 2015.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo on Wednesday said elected office holders deserve higher salaries to avoid a loss of income prior to their appointments.

β€œYou have a number of lawyers in the Cabinet who had shut down their offices or leave their practice to come into Cabinet and, therefore, you have to take recognition as we did when bauxite was nationalized, when sugar was nationalized- the promise on the agreement is that the workers would have no less favourable condition that they had enjoyed prior to the nationalized,” he said.

Nagamootoo, who had served under a β€œlean and clean” then People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) government as Information and Local Government Minister, reasoned that elected officials must be expected to give their service, commitment and loyalty in no less favourable conditions the day before they were sworn in.

β€œSeeking elected office anywhere in the world carries a salary. It could be more or it could be less but nowhere in the world do you see someone walk into an office and not expecting to be remunerated because they still have to live,” he said.

Acknowledging that government did a poor job in explaining why the increased salaries for ministers were necessary, he explained that a decision was taken to address an β€œanomaly” among senior and junior ministers and members of the judiciary.

β€œIt’s not that we changed. It’s that we wanted to put in a system that would allow us to govern better and it’s not the quantity of the money. It β€˜s the principle of correcting the anomalies that had existed,” he said.

While that explanation has been already provided by Finance Minister Winston Jordan, the Prime Minister said that was not a good approach because certain ministers would be involved in negotiating wages and salaries with trade unions.

Seeking to escape criticism by the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) that he had said that he had forgone salary increases in the past unless the nurses and teachers could have been paid more, Nagamootoo smarted from questions about what has changed today. Instead, he said he would have been satisfied with any pay hike. β€œWhen we were dealing with this issue, any numbers could have been agreed for me, for the Prime Minister and it would have been fine,” he said.

The Prime Minister said he received a 10% percent increase, the President 5% while Junior Ministers’ salaries remained lower than the Permanent Secretaries. He said the three Vice Presidents did not receive increased salaries because a new pay structure was set for them.

Reacting to critics who charged that government ministers paid themselves just a few months after taking office, he said β€œI don’t believe that those who are saying that we have come into public office with an expectation that we will earn less ought not to seek office because if that is what happens ine every sector, no one would want to be a judge because you will tell the lawyer when you become a judge you will get far less than perhaps what you dream of getting as a lawyer,” he said.

The Prime Minister’s taxable salary of GUY$1.5 million has been increased by 10.7 percent while the GUY$579,000 salary for a junior minister has been increased by 12.5 percent and for senior ministers by 50 percent. Vice Presidents have gotten a 60 percent hike on the GUY$579,000. The Attorney General’s salary of GUY$1.6 million has been increased by five percent.

The PPP plans to table motions at Thursday's sitting of the National Assembly to reverse the pay hike and get parliamentarians to publish their income tax returns for the past 10 years.

Red Thread, Guyana Teachers Union and the Guyana Trades Union Congress have criticised the salary increase. In the case of the Trades Union Congress, it wants the ministers' pay hike to be used as the "barometer" for wage and salary negotiations.

As I posted previously, every time they try to justify the raise, they make marries worse for themselves.

Z

It is a known fact that public servants often take a pay cut when they transfer from the private sector.  They select THEMSELVES to run.  This is NOT a case of some one, with seriously needed skills, having to be wooed to work for government.

If they don't want to take a pay cut then they can stay where they are.

And before the PPP chorus starts to sing Anil Nandlall set a precedent when the salary for the AG was set above that for the PM.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

NAGAMOOTOO: "Acknowledging that government did a poor job in explaining why the increased salaries for ministers were necessary, he explained......."

Funny that Nagamootoo thought that his explanation corrected the clumsiness of the poor ones given by the government.

Come on.  Ramjattan had to close down his lucratibve law practice so the least that APNU/AFC could do is add a new VP position, and then use that to offset what he used to make.

This folks are really sad.  I heard that they weren't bright, but damn......this is BAAAAD!

Originally Posted by ksazma:

NAGAMOOTOO: "Acknowledging that government did a poor job in explaining why the increased salaries for ministers were necessary, he explained......."

Funny that Nagamootoo thought that his explanation corrected the clumsiness of the poor ones given by the government.

Come on.  Ramjattan had to close down his lucratibve law practice so the least that APNU/AFC could do is add a new VP position, and then use that to offset what he used to make.

This folks are really sad.  I heard that they weren't bright, but damn......this is BAAAAD!

That is why I stated the other day that they are hapless. It is almost like they weren't prepared for the questions that would follow the increases.

The government probably did not consider the backlash from their supporters. Maybe, with the Indo support of the PPP, Granger believed anything he would do would get the approval of the PNC. He now know otherwise. Afro-Guyanese have demonstrated their intolerance for self serving interest of Granger and his gang. 

Only if and only if the country had a charismatic leader, he could build on that and sway the Indo minds.

If Granger doan come up wid the plan for Linden, he will never visit Linden again. 

Damn opportunists. Return to alyuh private practice. Too may blasted lawyers in politics.

It looks like the PNC is bribing the TWO HOUSE SLAVES to do their nasty work.Moses is now blatantly defending the 50% PAY ROBBERY , And Rumjaat is now MINISTER to dictate Religion in Guyana. Rumjaat already screw the crime situation in the country, he failed, he is a total failure and as for Pigamooto he is the BIG FAT PIG of Guyana, using the taxpayer money as his own piggy bank.

Nehru was right to call Ramjattan and Nagamootoo house slaves. They doing all the dirty work for Granger, explaining and justifying what the masses disagrees with. Every time they speak, they look more doltish and out of touch with reality.

Agreed Cobra Bhai. 

Ramjattan has the nerve to change the date of one of Hindu's most scared holidays.

Ramjattan is playing god with a bottle in his hand.

There is no one in the AFC/PNC who are there to look after the interest of Indos in Guyana.

Nehru was right to call Ramjattan and Nagamootoo house slaves. They doing all the dirty work for Granger, explaining and justifying what the masses disagrees with. Every time they speak, they look more doltish and out of touch with reality.

Agreed Cobra Bhai. 

Ramjattan has the nerve to change the date of one of Hindu's most scared holidays.

Ramjattan is playing god with a bottle in his hand.

There is no one in the AFC/PNC who are there to look after the interest of Indos in Guyana.

Yuji do not cry....Next year have Pundit Kwame contact Ramjattan Early fuh Aya.

Originally Posted by kp:

It looks like the PNC is bribing the TWO HOUSE SLAVES to do their nasty work.Moses is now blatantly defending the 50% PAY ROBBERY , And Rumjaat is now MINISTER to dictate Religion in Guyana. Rumjaat already screw the crime situation in the country, he failed, he is a total failure and as for Pigamooto he is the BIG FAT PIG of Guyana, using the taxpayer money as his own piggy bank.

PM says former gov’t

illicitly transferred $500m

to NCN, GINA

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo today said that nearly $500M was transferred to the National Communications Network and the Government Information Agency by the former administration without parliamentary approval.

β€œI am stunned, I have just seen a document where purportedly the former government transferred almost $500M to NCN and GINA and in all the reports I have for a certain period I am still trying to figure out where this money gone,” Nagamootoo stated during the post cabinet briefing at the Ministry of the Presidency.

The Prime Minister who is also the Minister of Information said that NCN was a government entity that was in need of fine-tooth scrutiny.

as he alluded to findings in the still to be public NCN Parmesar report into financial irregularities which implicated top officials at the state broadcaster in 2012. Nagamootoo also addressed his Office’s most recent troubles with definitively pronouncing on the millions worth of uplink equipment found in an NCN storeroom a few weeks ago.

β€œThis is one entity that needs a lot of scrutiny, needs a big brush to clean it up,” the Prime Minister stated.

Originally Posted by Django:

All the third world politicians are in for money

and status,the people are the stupid ones who

elect these parasites.In Guyana the are the are

peas of the same pod,all of them are crooks.

It looks like the corrupt system is ingrained for corruption to continue, by even honest people.

How do we even attempt to change the  system of corruption ?

Its the same with selfishness, disrespect and discourtesy, its so ingrained in the attitude of the people, how do we change it ?

Most people in Guyana are like sheep, they seem to get influenced easily, to just follow, without thinking for themselves.

Maybe a higher education and intellect might create change.     

Originally Posted by Tola:
Originally Posted by Django:

All the third world politicians are in for money

and status,the people are the stupid ones who

elect these parasites.In Guyana the are the are

peas of the same pod,all of them are crooks.

It looks like the corrupt system is ingrained for corruption to continue, by even honest people.

How do we even attempt to change the  system of corruption ?

Its the same with selfishness, disrespect and discourtesy, its so ingrained in the attitude of the people, how do we change it ?

Most people in Guyana are like sheep, they seem to get influenced easily, to just follow, without thinking for themselves.

Maybe a higher education and intellect might create change.     

tola, look how many lawyers and bright ones in the previous and this government, and we still have to deal with issues of corruption, greed, etc. It happens in other places, not only Guyana. Look how the nationalist, anti colonial movement degenerated into dictatorships. Corruption, etc. I think we need people of integrity, who bring to government a strong sense of public service, transparency in any matter in which the public money is spent, effective integrity mechanisms, and long jail terms for anyone found to be corrupt. A lot of people here in Guyana are on the hustle, some behaviour seem to be the norm rather than the exception. Many voters vote for a particular party even though they know that they are doing corrupt things.

we need to bring back some basic values to politics. Need to change the way political decisions are made, need to harness community resources and local wisdom in government, need to hold our politicians feet to the fire so that they perform in the best interest of the nation, need efficient and effective government, need recall legislation when governments break their word so that we do not have to wait for six years, need effective legal system that cannot be corrupted, need an effective education system that that turn out thinking students who are prepared to deal with the issues they will confront,  need political discussions to be centred around issues instead of being name calling brawls and race baiting, need our people's eyes and hearts be in and on Guyana instead of living and working in Guyana but their eyes and hearts abroad, need an efficient public service that produces value for money and not corrupt, state agencies that are efficiently managed and a police force that is not corrupt, need less politicians and more public spirited people, need people to live within their means, need people to be more spiritual than material, etc.

Z

Good points above! Ya also need to change da constitution to put in checks and balances so that power is not concentrated in the hands of a few. The Ministers should be elected positions - not appointed.  And Tola made a good point about the culture and attitude of the people.  How that will change me nah know. But we can start with education and see what happens.

Nehru, the last four posters contributed positively to this topic.

Without a  doubt, I believe you were dropped on you head when you were born. Something is not right up there.

Some people see themselves and make changes, but most of your post makes you look more stupid, than anyone around.

Did Jagdeo train you too ?

Also, without a doubt, I can see your response, because you are without logic and predictable.

If you can respond without swearing, there might still be some hope for you.   But other dan dat, you rass kok duck.      

Without a  doubt, I believe you were dropped on you head when you were born. Something is not right up there.

Some people see themselves and make changes, but most of your post makes you look more stupid, than anyone around.

Also, without a doubt, I can see your response, because you are without logic and predictable.

If you can respond without swearing, there might still be some hope for you.   But other dan dat, you rass kok duck.      

Your House Slave is excellent doing his duties as a House Slave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you Nehru, that was nicely put.

The government has a responsibility, but at the grass-roots level, spirituality and attitude seems to be big issues. An initiative  could create significant change, but how we do this with inadequate leadership ?

Many young people are set in their negative ways, treat others with disrespect and seldom attend a place of worship.

We spent nine years in Guyana working with youth and some of the school dropout graduated from university/high school and are  teaching at the schools from where they dropped out.

This is only a small number, how do we create change for a larger number of the population, especially  the youth ?

Is there something similar the government can do nationally ? What ? 

It would seem it has to be national effort, to crate significant change.       

Originally Posted by kp:

Unknown

• Unknown
Originally Posted by kp:

Unknown

Posting your pic doesn't scare me, I jus feel so sorry fo you.