Three arrested for harassing doctor on her caste, driving her to commit suicide

The three doctors were named by the victim’s family for harassing her on her caste

Published:  May 27, 2019 15:02 Last updated:  May 29, 2019 12:41Huda Tabrez, Community Web Editor

Dr Payal Tadvi

HIGHLIGHTS

• Dr Payal Tadvi, a Mumbai-based gynaecologist at BYL Nair Hospital, committed suicide on May 22.
  • Her family had accused three senior doctors for harassing her and using casteist slurs against her. The junior doctor belonged to a scheduled tribe and had joined the hospital on a reservation quota.
  • The three accused have been arrested by police authorities.

Dubai: Three female doctors in Mumbai, India, have been arrested after they were accused of driving a junior doctor to suicide. They have been sent to police custody until May 31.

Image result for Ankita Khandelwal

The victim, Dr Payal Tadvi, allegedly committed suicide after facing sustained harassment and abuse because of the caste she belonged to.

According to a news report by Indian news channel, India today, the Agripada police arrested Ankita Khandelwal, one of the three accused on Wednesday morning. Previously the police had arrested Hema Ahuja on Tuesday night and Bhakti Mehere on Tuesday afternoon. News agency ANI reported that the three were likely to be produced in court today.

Dr Payal Tadvi had committed suicide on May 22, and the case brought to light the issue of caste-based discrimination in India. Many Indian social media users campaigned to get justice for the doctor and her family using the hashtag #JusticeForDrPayal.

The suicide had created a furore online, after it was reported that the death was a result of caste-based harassment. 

The harassment

Her husband, Dr Salman Tadvi, was quoted in the Indian newspaper The Hindu: “When she came to Nair Hospital for her postgraduation, she was asked to temporarily share a room with Dr Hema Ahuja and Dr Bhakti Mehere. The two began harassing her soon.... The two doctors would go to the toilet and wipe their feet on her mattress and litter it. When she would be away, they would taunt her that she was spending time with her husband.”

According to Mumbai Mirror, the two doctors, along with another doctor, allegedly made fun of her caste and posted derogatory messages on a Whatsapp group. Tadvi had joined the college on a reservation quota.

Historically disadvantaged castes and tribes receive a quota for minimum representation in schools, universities and government jobs, as per the Indian Constitution. This is termed as ‘reservation’.

Her mother, Abeda Tadvi, had filed a written complaint to the head of the department in the hospital but she alleged that no steps were taken. Dr Tadvi committed suicide on May 22.

“Whenever she used to speak to me on the phone, she would say that these three people torture her as she belongs to a tribal community, use casteist slurs on her. We want justice for her,” Dr Tadvi’s mother told the news agency ANI.

She also told reporters that Payal was harassed over "petty issues" by the doctors who "threw files at her" in front of her patients.

According to a report in the Indian newspaper Mid-day, she said: “Had the authorities acted swiftly and shown sensitivity, my daughter would have been alive today.”

Action taken

The report also stated that hours before she died, Dr Tadvi told her mother that she was unable to bear the torment from the three doctors, who have been absconding since they learned about her suicide.

The Maharashtra Association of Resident Doctors has cancelled the memberships of the three accused, according to news agency ANI. In their response, the accused urged the association to conduct a fair investigation, referring to their heavy workload in letter: “You all are aware of the workload in residency and do you all really believe burdened with the workload is ragging?”

The Negro caste a thief like rass to. Jagdeo seh dat Broomes thief and give she chirren $ 20 million. Caste Guru Grain Jaw tell dem to full dem packet before they got kick out.

Why not?  That is what the PPP did and you know it.  Before the last election the Indo KKK were screaming "me want an Indian to win, even if dem is a big time tief".

Look story here, caste Guru Cribby seh dat de Negros caste can steal, loot, fete, wine down and Ruin de country. This negro caste na gat shame.

Same shite in Guyana. The Negro Scheduled Caste is penalizing the Indo Caste and Ronan is the Crusader.

That is pure bigotry. That you can take a tragic issue about caste prejudice in India and transform it into a derogatory comment about Afro-Guyanese is symptomatic of this very serious disease or of an adled brain.

All three of those foolish brown women would be seen as people of colour in North America and may be kicked by the white man and woman.

Not only that but also individuals like the Chief will show up and tell the lower caste people to join with the white Arabs and they will show you paradise. He is not going to tell them that they will get kicked in their behinds by the white Arabs also.

All three of those foolish brown women would be seen as people of colour in North America and may be kicked by the white man and woman.

Not only that but also individuals like the Chief will show up and tell the lower caste people to join with the white Arabs and they will show you paradise. He is not going to tell them that they will get kicked in their behinds by the white Arabs also.

It seems impossible for coolies to make any comment about the rampant discrimination among their own kind without dragging someone else into it.

antabanta posted:

It seems impossible for coolies to make any comment about the rampant discrimination among their own kind without dragging someone else into it.

Look at this clown. There was never caste based discrimination among Indos in Guyana. 

Wow. Your brain is seriously beyond repair. Please read the article that started this thread. Better start planning your hiatus from GNI. You know I'm going to rip you apart now.

Look story here, caste Guru Cribby seh dat de Negros caste can steal, loot, fete, wine down and Ruin de country. This negro caste na gat shame.

And here we go.  Now I can say that you justify Indian alcoholism, suicides and spousal abuse.  But you see I will not do so.  That will be descending to your level.

And large numbers of young Indos are at these "wine down" events.  

Ow bai, look at the fete and wine down celebrations at the PNC built Bruk down stadium which cost billions. How many young Indos were present ?

Who was having a big fete again ?

antabanta posted:

Same shite in Guyana. The Negro Scheduled Caste is penalizing the Indo Caste and Ronan is the Crusader.

That is pure bigotry. That you can take a tragic issue about caste prejudice in India and transform it into a derogatory comment about Afro-Guyanese is symptomatic of this very serious disease or of an adled brain.

Yeh, I know. I iz a wicked chap. Funny no razz. The Colony of Guiana was a beautiful place with beautiful people until that Scheduled Caste Negro Burnham f'ck it all up. As for Cheddie, that fella belonged to a brand new caste, he formed the one that despised prominent progressive Indians and marginalized the impoverishment into his following of the caste of Indo KKK. Just asked Caribj.

antabanta posted:

India has a thousands of years problems. Guyana just started that shit, shut  the f'ck up and tell your bruddahs to compare their actions and deeds to India. We going down the same road, I believe that is how it alll got started back thousands of years ago in India.

That woman was wrong to take her life. She should have reasoned to herself, that considering her tribal-is a proud association to India. Her ppl were there at the beginning of time. Those nomads couldn't find a place of their own but she has a God given birthright.

And here we go.  Now I can say that you justify Indian alcoholism, suicides and spousal abuse.  But you see I will not do so.  That will be descending to your level.

And large numbers of young Indos are at these "wine down" events.  

imitating black culture? Asking the question. Or, from reading your comment, the question begged to be asked.

antabanta posted:

yuh done know

antabanta posted:

Yeh, I know. I iz a wicked chap. Funny no razz. The Colony of Guiana was a beautiful place with beautiful people until that Scheduled Caste Negro Burnham f'ck it all up. As for Cheddie, that fella belonged to a brand new caste, he formed the one that despised prominent progressive Indians and marginalized the impoverishment into his following of the caste of Indo KKK. Just asked Caribj.

Siggy, I agree. Those two chap screwed up Guyana for good. AFC PNC said good things and made all sorts of promises and then lost all of the goodwill shown by Guyanese of all races. 

PPP will win the next election and the tit for tat may continue. Guyana is cursed and oil will become another curse. 

Only a trustworthy third party will keep these two devils in check. Satan has a foothold in Guyanese politicians hearts and minds. 

The reality is that there is all kinds of prejudice all over the world. These are four doctors which means that they are well educated but the prejudice that was there long before they took their first set of oxygen is much stronger. These also lead to bullyism which is rampant in the world today. I suspect that these conditions improve a bit but will never go away.  

The colony of Guiana was a slave to its imperial master. You should have been around then to know how beautiful it is to live in a logie and have the white master take your women at will. Freedom from the imperial yoke was imperative.

India has a thousands of years problems. Guyana just started that shit, shut  the f'ck up and tell your bruddahs to compare their actions and deeds to India. We going down the same road, I believe that is how it alll got started back thousands of years ago in India.

That woman was wrong to take her life. She should have reasoned to herself, that considering her tribal-is a proud association to India. Her ppl were there at the beginning of time. Those nomads couldn't find a place of their own but she has a God given birthright.

How stupid can you be to consistently insist on missing the point? The coolie suicide has nothing to do with my bruddahs. Thousands year old India has had ample time to fix its thousands year old problems. You sftu until you have something sensible to say.

Siggy, I agree. Those two chap screwed up Guyana for good. AFC PNC said good things and made all sorts of promises and then lost all of the goodwill shown by Guyanese of all races. 

PPP will win the next election and the tit for tat may continue. Guyana is cursed and oil will become another curse. 

Only a trustworthy third party will keep these two devils in check. Satan has a foothold in Guyanese politicians hearts and minds. 

GNI's witless.

The reality is that there is all kinds of prejudice all over the world. These are four doctors which means that they are well educated but the prejudice that was there long before they took their first set of oxygen is much stronger. These also lead to bullyism which is rampant in the world today. I suspect that these conditions improve a bit but will never go away.  

We can condemn this incident for the prejudice that it is without any reference to prejudice elsewhere.

antabanta posted:

I have to agree with Seig on this. Indians living on the north Sentinel Islands are the original Indians and they don't look like those three brown ladies.

antabanta posted:

The colony of Guiana was a slave to its imperial master. You should have been around then to know how beautiful it is to live in a logie and have the white master take your women at will. Freedom from the imperial yoke was imperative.

You do not know wah deh hell yuh talking about. I see on one of dem Threads yuh wrote a lil thing and enquired about comment. That is an excellent thing you are attempting. Down that road, as yuh research more for your writing yuh will uncover many documentations that will leave you pondering. You will end up changing your present perceptions. 

antabanta posted:

How stupid can you be to consistently insist on missing the point? The coolie suicide has nothing to do with my bruddahs. Thousands year old India has had ample time to fix its thousands year old problems. You sftu until you have something sensible to say.

I hope you change, is there any chance in that.

Instead of commenting of the odium of educated women harassing one of their own to the point of suicide you like them took the tact to express your own bigotry. 

You are here over 20 years and are exactly as when we met you...

You do not know wah deh hell yuh talking about. I see on one of dem Threads yuh wrote a lil thing and enquired about comment. That is an excellent thing you are attempting. Down that road, as yuh research more for your writing yuh will uncover many documentations that will leave you pondering. You will end up changing your present perceptions. 

I don't need to do much research. That particular story is fact-based, facts that I personally experienced. Which present perception do you think needs changing? It might suit the people you're accustomed to dealing with to make unsubstantiated statements but in certain circles you have to show why you think someone doesn't know what they're talking about. I have always backed up my arguments. Give it a try.

Former Member posted:

PPP will win the next election and the tit for tat may continue.

You're right given that the PPP started it when some screamed "apan jhat" and Cheddi laughed with glee knowing that race based voting under the system in place at the time guaranteed his victory.

Burnham left the PPP and when he did he knew fully well that he needed some Indo support.  Not denying that his departure was due to his immense ego and disrespect for Cheddi (maybe because of his alleged seawall activities with someone very close to Cheddi). 

Burnham knew fully well that even if every single black person voted for him he would still lose as blacks were the majority in only a few seats whereas Indos dominated the rural seats and the UF controlled the interior (aside from Bartica and McKenzie).  He also knew that the Portuguese/mixed North G/T wasn't going to vote for him either.

So he made sure that he left with some Indians, who failed because they couldn't beat back the "apan jhat" vote.