February 27 ,2020

As Guyana heads towards General and Regional Elections, the Carter Centre has noted that preparations are on track and adhering to the established timetable in all ten of the country’s Administrative Regions.According to the Centre’s report “ballot papers were printed under the supervision of two members of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) and arrived ahead of schedule, on February 7th. Arrangements for identification of appropriate polling stations have been finalized. For this election there will be 2,352 polling stations, a slight increase from 2015.”

REGISTRATION
With regards to voter registration, the Centre has stated that “the 2020 election process has been more complex than in the past, as GECOM has had to deal with two different sets of registration data: one from the existing National Register of Registrants (NRR) and the other from a truncated house-to-house registration exercise conducted by the commission in 2019. While the Carter Centre has not reviewed all changes made to the voter register, it is satisfied that preparations have been made in a professional manner within the existing legal provisions.”

CANDIDATE NOMINATION

Nomination Day constitutes the first step for the political parties to secure a spot on the ballot paper. The 2020 election will have the largest number of contesting parties in Guyana’s history.The representatives from the Centre who were present at the nomination ceremony indicated that the process was smooth. “Although some new parties raised concerns about the order in which parties were received by GECOM, all parties were given an opportunity to correct defects in their lists and were able to do so in the time allotted. GECOM eventually approved lists from 11 of the 13 political parties that applied for a place on the ballot.”

CAMPAIGNING
Long-Term Observers (LTOs) from the Centre have observed 23 campaign rallies and events and reported no major incidents during this important and sensitive period. Campaigning has largely proceeded peacefully, although observers have heard allegations of isolated incidents of harassment of supporters of both the ruling coalition and the opposition, as well as of destruction of campaign posters.
The Carter Centre noted that there has been an increase in rhetoric on the campaign trail.“The Center is encouraging political parties and candidates to refrain from the use of provocative speech to help guarantee a peaceful polling process. The Ethnic Relations Commission introduced a code of conduct that drew on the existing legal obligations of parties to comply with the Representation of the People Act and the Racial Hostility Act. The code calls on all parties to refrain from using any words or engaging in actions that might stoke tension or be offensive.”

TABULATION
The Carter Centre has been discussing the tabulation procedures with GECOM’s secretariat and feels that the procedures in place appear to follow the legal provisions. However, there are concerns that the procedures have not been made clear to key stakeholders. The Centre encourages GECOM to publicise and distribute existing procedures as widely as possible, including to all political parties, civil society organizations, media, and electoral observers, in order to clarify any misunderstandings and avoid disputes over the process.

According to the Centre, it conducts its election observation missions in accordance with the Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation and Code of Conduct for International Election Observers that was adopted at the United Nations in 2005 and has been endorsed by more than 50 election observation groups.The mission assesses the electoral process based on Guyana’s national legislation and its obligations for democratic elections under both regional and international agreements.

It first became involved in Guyana in the early 1990s. The 2020 elections will be the fifth that the Carter Centre has observed in Guyana since 1992.
Shortly before polling day, Aminata Touré, former prime minister of Senegal, and Jason Carter, chairperson of The Carter Centre Board of Trustees, will join the mission to serve as co-leaders of the observation delegation. They will be accompanied by Centre staff from Atlanta and additional short-term observers, who will observe polling, counting, tabulation, and the announcement of results.
The Centre will remain in Guyana in the weeks after polling to observe the resolution of any electoral disputes.

I agree Amral. The PPP cannot rely only on observers, they have to be vigilant and place their own observers to look at the process!!

And the Coalition cannot rely only on observers, they too have to take other measures

Totaram posted:

I agree Amral. The PPP cannot rely only on observers, they have to be vigilant and place their own observers to look at the process!!

And the Coalition cannot rely only on observers, they too have to take other measures

Absolutely! But they are the ones who from history and beyond that will be GUILTY of RIGGING and FRIGGING!!

I know it may come as a surprise to you but the PPP is also guilty of election skulduggery. I know a few of the ways they do it and if I tell you who told me about one of the methods you probably wouldn't believe me.  Let's say he was once among the top 5 leaders of the PPP.  

Totaram posted:

I know it may come as a surprise to you but the PPP is also guilty of election skulduggery.

I know a few of the ways they do it and if I tell you who told me about one of the methods you probably wouldn't believe me.  Let's say he was once among the top 5 leaders of the PPP.  

That is a fact , i have concluded the same ,especially in the 2015 Elections. It's easy to be done at Private Residences used as polling places. Damn Jagdeo mentioned in one of his press conferences ,put 4 ballots in ballot boxes at 2,000 polling stations,that's 8,000 votes. That's a give away ,does happen when you talk too much without thinking.

Totaram posted:

I know it may come as a surprise to you but the PPP is also guilty of election skulduggery.

I know a few of the ways they do it and if I tell you who told me about one of the methods you probably wouldn't believe me.  Let's say he was once among the top 5 leaders of the PPP.  

That is a fact , i have concluded the same ,especially in the 2015 Elections.

Thank you dfor admitting the PNC won because of Rigging. Case closed. Al Yuh know if it comes from him against the PNC the proof had to be crystal clear. Next topic!!

Totaram posted:

That is a fact , i have concluded the same ,especially in the 2015 Elections.

Thank you dfor admitting the PNC won because of Rigging. Case closed. Al Yuh know if it comes from him against the PNC the proof had to be crystal clear. Next topic!!

The rigging by the PPP didn't help .You got it mixed up.

Shut all you mouth !

Ever single election under the PPP was certified as free and fair by ALL international observers and the international community. The same cannot be said for the PNC.

Totaram posted:

I know it may come as a surprise to you but the PPP is also guilty of election skulduggery. I know a few of the ways they do it and if I tell you who told me about one of the methods you probably wouldn't believe me.  Let's say he was once among the top 5 leaders of the PPP.  

Now PNC will use same tricks.

Some of dem clowns are spreading fake news here at GNI. This nonsense has to stop. Let them prove that any international obeserver team or the international community stated otherwise.

Everything else is FAKE NEWS.

Shut all you mouth !

Ever single election under the PPP was certified as free and fair by ALL international observers and the international community. The same cannot be said for the PNC.

What happens if Coalition have a run away victory and the international community certify as free and fair?  So far they got away with everything and no ramifications. Meeks even agree the delay was unavoidable.

The USG and Exxon have the Coalition in their pocket.

Guyana’s oil is much sought after by US refineries. It’s light Sweet and close proximity.

We will cross that bridge when we get there.

I have some inside info in which a model predicts a PPP victory. This will be the test of independence of the international observers.

I don't disagree that Exxon favours the dunces in the coalition but the USG has not in any way indicated a preference and the ambassador is testimony to that. In fact, she is no friend of Granger. Investors also look for political stability as part of their investment strategy and an unstable Guyana does not bode well for investment.

Russia is sitting on the fence right now and the US knows that.

People need to understand the the PPP factored in the crookery as it relates to rigging but despite that, the PPP will win. 

Facts don't LIE ,the PPP started to loose votes from 2001.

Don't bring that BS into this conversation. Post LGE results which is the latest, most accurate info in predicting an outcome. Jagdeo crunched the numbers when he labeled NCV and buss PNC balls. He will buss it again.

Factor in a dead AFC and you get the big picture.

I predict that ANUS coalition might pick up one to two seats from the PNC as a result of independents who voted coalition the last election and will vote third party this time. They are a big threat to the PNC in GT.

PNC supporters are not energized. It's momentum which drives elections. Trump had momentum and won.

@ DJ

No. Its latest voting pattern and that's what maters.

LGE results and voters preference IS the latest info available. It was the deciding factor which triggered NCV. It was accurate then as it is accurate now.

Don't bring that BS into this conversation.

Post LGE results which is the latest, most accurate info in predicting an outcome.

Jagdeo crunched the numbers when he labeled NCV and buss PNC balls. He will buss it again.

I predict that ANUS coalition might pick up one to two seats from the PNC as a result of independents who voted coalition the last election and will vote third party this time. They are a big threat to the PNC in GT.

PNC supporters are not energized. It's momentum which drives elections. Trump had momentum and won.

Mixing apples with oranges .

At the recent LGE ,the Coalition Government win all the most populated areas in the country. Now factoring that to Regional and General Elections.

Wan good shock awaiting you !!! hopefully you stick around and don't run.

I am always confident and always tap my shoulders. That what all self confident people do.

Young and dissatisfied Blacks are moving in significant numbers toward the PPP. They are the new face of the PPP.

You are blind like a bat.

And still the PNC can’t find a way to get their rigging ways out of their way enough to trust the electorate. All they have done since 2015 is institute one rigging mechanism after another to avoid facing the verdict of the voters.

Don't bring that BS into this conversation.

Post LGE results which is the latest, most accurate info in predicting an outcome.

Jagdeo crunched the numbers when he labeled NCV and buss PNC balls. He will buss it again.

Mixing apples with oranges .

At the recent LGE ,the Coalition Government win all the most populated areas in the country. Now factoring that to Regional and General Elections.

Wan good shock awaiting you !!! hopefully you stick around and don't run.

A minister was just bribing the police with house lots to vote to get their votes.

GECOM remove most of the private polling station in PPP support areas 

The care take government giving out house lots for 50% discount and signing new contract which is illegal

APNU blocking PPP campaign trucks and destroying posters 

there is so much more ... all of the above means desperation . 

You still have hopes. Hope you have a good heart. 

Lowenfield is part of the PNC rigging machinery, illegally put in place by the illegal Patterson. 

This will be a tug of war and will test the patience of Guyanese who value free and fair elections.

Its a shame that Guyanese have to fight for free and fair election every time they have an Afro President. 

Stop ghotay dhall.

PNC loses unless they blatantly rig.

Free and Fair ,licks lika peas !!!

It is already not fair bai. The PNC controlled GECOM is making it almost impossible for many to vote by closing all those polling places.