https://s1.stabroeknews.com/images/2020/01/cartercenterlogo1.png

January 14 2020

The US-based Carter Center today announced that it had launched its observer mission here for the 2020 general elections.

A statement from the Center follows:

Carter Center Launches Mission to Observe Guyana’s 2020 Election

ATLANTA (Jan. 14, 2020) — Following an invitation from the government of Guyana, The Carter Center has launched an election observation mission to observe the March 2 general election in Guyana.

The mission will observe and examine key aspects of the electoral process, including the pre-electoral environment, status of the Guyana Elections Commission’s preparations for elections, and campaigning. Teams of long-term observers are currently deploying across the country and will later be joined by short-term observers and high-level leadership to observe voting, counting, and tabulation procedures. The Carter Center will also follow the post-election process, including the tabulation of results and resolution of any legal disputes. The international election observation mission will build upon the work done by four fact-finding delegations deployed by the Center in 2019 in the lead-up to election.

Throughout election season, The Carter Center will issue periodic statements on key findings. At the end of the mission, it will provide an independent assessment of the electoral process and its compliance with the country’s international commitments, national law, and standards for democratic elections. All statements and reports will be available at www.cartercenter.org.

The Center has launched a Twitter account especially for this election observation mission – keep up with mission statements and activities @CarterGuyanaEOM.

The Center’s election observation missions are conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation, which provides guidelines for professional and impartial international election observation. The declaration was adopted at the United Nations in 2005 and has been endorsed by more than 50 election observation groups.

Carter alone cannot be trusted. The last time he claim Beelywuk and ran. OAS, UN and others must also be there. Also, a team from England, Canada , Sweden and Germany!! The thieves are ruthless and they are called PNC!!

Most will be there ,don't know about Canada.

It's better than no one there. Carter indeed was sick. The man had a brain tumor. I will always trust him.
I agree that they need more than the Carter Center.

PNC already stacked the deck with Haitians.  Only a massive turn out of PPP constituents will save the day.  

PPP needs to appeal that all rum shops in their strongholds be shuttered from the 1st and reopen offer polls close on 2nd. And only serve liquor to those with ink on their fingers.

Carter Centre coming is good news for democracy. If they show up and suddenly leave them we know that rigging will take place. Plain and simple. 
America wants to see democracy in Guyana. Remember, a Republican president is good for PPP and democracy. 
PPP will have to worry if it was a Democrat President because it was all Democrats who allowed rigging in Guyana.

PNC already stacked the deck with Haitians.  Only a massive turn out of PPP constituents will save the day.  

PPP needs to appeal that all rum shops in their strongholds be shuttered from the 1st and reopen offer polls close on 2nd. And only serve liquor to those with ink on their fingers.

I agree with you 100 %. Close all rum shops. 

Yuh saying Obama was looking out for his brothers?? Nah Bhai Was the FAT PIG Ambassador

Carter Centre coming is good news for democracy. If they show up and suddenly leave them we know that rigging will take place. Plain and simple. 
America wants to see democracy in Guyana. Remember, a Republican president is good for PPP and democracy. 
PPP will have to worry if it was a Democrat President because it was all Democrats who allowed rigging in Guyana.

Two Democrat presidents were in office when coolies had to give up power. Obama and Kennedy. I hope Sean by the mud pond is right. If not, I am coming fuh you rass.

And when me and meh neighba done vote weh deh Rass we gun knack we lil grag?????

Yuh saying Obama was looking out for his brothers?? Nah Bhai Was the FAT PIG Ambassador

Two Democrat presidents were in office when coolies had to give up power. Obama and Kennedy. I hope Sean by the mud pond is right. If not, I am coming fuh you rass.

Kulies will thank Trump after the election. The current US ambassador is watching the PNC like a hawk. She didn’t take Shyte from Granger when she presented her credentials to him. She is tough as nails. 
Unlike the Democrat fat boy ambassador who supported the PNC and assisted in toppling the PPP 

And when me and meh neighba done vote weh deh Rass we gun knack we lil grag?????

Banna, I said only serve who gatt ink pon dem finguh.  Wazz di mattah?