Court of Appeal rules 34 votes needed to pass no-confidence motion

March 22 2019

Guyana’s Court of Appeal by a majority on Friday struck down Chief Justice Roxane George-Wiltshire’s decision that the no-confidence motion was validly passed by 33 to 32 votes, ruling that an “absolute majority” of 34 votes was required to pass a no-confidence motion.

Chancellor of the Judiciary Yonette Cummings-Edwards said the Chief Justice’s calculation of 33 votes was for a “simple majority”.

Justice Dawn Gregory explained 34 votes were required after rounding up 32.5 to 33 and adding another vote to acquire an absolute majority of 34. She said using 33 votes was “flawed and untenable and is not the absolute majority”.

Justice of Appeal Rishi Persaud, in upholding the Chief Justice’s ruling, said the no-confidence motion was validly passed by 33 to 32 votes.

He said, with the greatest of respect to Caribbean constitutional expert, Queen’s Counsel Dr Francis Alexis, his argument that the no-confidence motion could only have been passed by rounding up 32.5 (half of the 65 seats) “does not accord with logic or commonsense” unless there is a stated formula.

Justice Persaud also rejected arguments that Article 70 of the Constitution of Guyana guarantees a five-year term, because other provisions provide for a proclamation and unless sooner dissolved.

He agreed with the Chief Justice that the President, as Chairman of the Cabinet, and Cabinet stand automatically resigned immediately after the passage of a no-confidence motion. Justice Persaud agreed that the President and government remain in office and prepare for elections.

“Notwithstanding the automatic resignation, the government shall remain in office to hold elections within a specified timeframe,” he noted.

Justice Persaud, however, refused an application by Christopher Ram for an election date to be named.

As regards the Canadian citizenship of then government parliamentarian Charrandass Persaud, whose vote had allowed for last December’s passage of the no-confidence motion, the Justice of Appeal agreed that there was no evidence to prove that Persaud had known that he had been ineligible to be a parliamentarian. “To ascribe such knowledge to Mr. Persaud is far-fetched to my mind,” he said.

Justice Gregory upheld the Chief Justice’s decision that Persaud’s vote was valid although he is a dual citizen. On the issue of whether Persaud ought not to have voted against the list, the Justice of Appeal said the Constitution allows for voting against the list under certain circumstances.

“My finding is that his vote was valid and effective and was the thirty-third of the votes cast for the motion,” Justice Gregory said.

These black people prappa dunce, When you minus 33 from 65 them get 34.

Let's see what the Carribean Courts have to say, the fight goes on.

This is total muckery of the judicial system.

Django and company won, congratulations. 

I hope buddy Django round up his dollar for his customers. 

So does this mean all the votes pass under this government is not valid. 

I hope them sk”@t return the 50% increase they approve. Tax payers should demand they repay. 

This case need to go there and go there fast.

Why?  By the time they get to it the election will be due.  They aren't going to drop every thing just because Jagdeo wants them to.

CCJ will overturn the fuzzy mathematics.  Now we know why Granger wasn’t calling the election date.  

Why should anyone have faith in this judicial system?  This is Congo Court, only Blackman MUST win.

These black people prappa dunce, When you minus 33 from 65 them get 34.

Let's see what the Carribean Courts have to say, the fight goes on.

This is total muckery of the judicial system.

Well you have a problem then as 4 out of 7 of the judges are also black.

CCJ will overturn the fuzzy mathematics.  Now we know why Granger wasn’t calling the election date.  

Why should anyone have faith in this judicial system?  This is Congo Court, only Blackman MUST win.

Most of the judges are black too so maybe they will behave as you think....blackman must win.

Maybe you all should have just taken the August vote as it doesnt look as if the election will be until next year, or at best (for you) much later this year.  It is now definite that there will be a House to House.

I hope them sk”@t return the 50% increase they approve. Tax payers should demand they repay. 

The PPP MPs also got this 50% increase.  You have to be hallucinating if you think that they are going to return it.

Most of the judges are black too so maybe they will behave as you think....blackman must win.

Maybe you all should have just taken the August vote as it doesnt look as if the election will be until next year, or at best (for you) much later this year.  It is now definite that there will be a House to House.

Blackman this and Blackman that is getting stale now.  Try something new. What you think about Putagee people?

Maybe you should vent your frustrations against kp.

Any way look at it this way, at least Jagdeo can cancel this Irfaan being president stuff and win your adoration back.

Take it easy, comrades. PPP doesn't get discomposed easily. One lost court case is not the end of the world. Jagdeo says our supporters must not feel demoralized. 

http://demerarawaves.com/2019/...o-confidence-motion/

Jagdeo knew all along that Yonnette Cummings Edwards sold her soul for 20 pieces of silver.

Take it easy, comrades. PPP doesn't get discomposed easily. One lost court case is not the end of the world. Jagdeo says our supporters must not feel demoralized. 

Jagdeo knew all along that Yonnette Cummings Edwards sold her soul for 20 pieces of silver.

Why his screams?  Charrandas did the same.  I guess he now knows what being betrayed by a Judas is all about.

This case need to go there and go there fast.

Why?  By the time they get to it the election will be due.  They aren't going to drop every thing just because Jagdeo wants them to.

Why?

Because I will love to see how the Carribean Judges will do thier Math.

Why I am not surprised that you are not being  reasonable in your thinking that you agree with the wrong math.

When filing sales taxes 50 cents rounded to 1 dollar.

Your student beat you, you thought him good maths.

Bhai Kp, lot's of students attained higher levels of education than their teachers. With that said credits are due to the teachers.

Why his screams?  Charrandas did the same.  I guess he now knows what being betrayed by a Judas is all about.

Ha..ha..I said this plot will backfire. There is more to come, take a cue from today demonstrations , lots of missing  PPP members.

Not true bai. 

Maybe you meant income taxes. That is rounded off.

Like I stated earlier tonight, I don't think there are any elections next year either.

Also, GECOM not going into any readiness mode. They going back to sleep as they were doing prior to not so long ago.

Ha..ha..I said this plot will backfire. There is more to come, take a cue from today demonstrations , lots of missing  PPP members.

Were you there? 

Not true bai. 

Filing total State taxable  and non-taxable sales is the same as rounding off income tax. I do that every month at the State website.

Were you there? 

Media coverage lies, right ?

Like I stated earlier tonight, I don't think there are any elections next year either.

Also, GECOM not going into any readiness mode. They going back to sleep as they were doing prior to not so long ago.

Them can't try that.

a dummy LIKE THAT DONT DESERVE A jILL. wHAT AN ass AND dunce SHE is!!!

Not true bai. 

Filing total State taxable  and non-taxable sales is the same as rounding off income tax. I do that every month at the State website.

Yuh throwing away yuh money bai. If your calculated sales tax is 22 cents, you collect and remit 22 cents. Here is part of the sales & use tax table for your state.

• mceclip0

Them can't try that.

I hear what you say but the PNC has to prove first that they have changed. Until then, I will continue to hold them in high suspicion and contempt.

Why I am not surprised that you are not being  reasonable in your thinking that you agree with the wrong math.

You need to know how to spell CARIBBEAN.

And the NCV was a fraudulent power grab by Jagdeo aimed at capitalizing on Granger's illness.  There was no necessity for it given that elections are due next year.

It was a waste of time and a waste of resources and of no benefit to anyone. NOT even the PPP it turns out. We will see how quickly the CCJ gets to this, but most likely not before end of next month, meaning that a House to House will be needed as the voter list will be invalid.

I hear what you say but the PNC has to prove first that they have changed. Until then, I will continue to hold them in high suspicion and contempt.

That is your right and for the same reasons I have exactly same opinion of the PPP. Glad that Jagdeo's plans have been quelled.

Not true bai. 

Yuh throwing away yuh money bai. If your calculated sales tax is 22 cents, you collect and remit 22 cents. Here is part of the sales & use tax table for your state.

Naah, example taxable labor charged $100.00 entered @ 6.35% sales tax at the State website,tax calculated $6.35 which you pay. I collect the tax from the customer at time of sale.

There are two fields I have to enter (1)  sales taxable and non taxale (2) non taxable sales , all calculations are done on website.

There is no paper filings for over two decades.

And the NCV was a fraudulent power grab by Jagdeo aimed at capitalizing on Granger's illness.  There was no necessity for it given that elections are due next year.

That's a fact !!!  the coalition gov't cornered him.

Correct, blacks must stick together at all cost to make up for injustices doled out to them all over the world. Fuzzy math will continue but it may come back to haunt them throughout the Caribbean, so better be careful when you set out to trample  on the Indo you may be trampling on future rulings for yourself. 

That is your right and for the same reasons I have exactly same opinion of the PPP. Glad that Jagdeo's plans have been quelled.

Jagdeo plans have not been quelled.  Stay tuned.

So Yonnette Cummings Edwards is using Connecticut sales tax calculation to determine the constitution of Guyana?

That's a fact !!!  the coalition gov't cornered him.

You guys may have cornered yourself.  Think of the implications beyond the orgasm!

So Yonnette Cummings Edwards is using Connecticut sales tax calculation to determine the constitution of Guyana?

It's known for tax purposes, at half of the dollar, its rounded to one dollar.

I found an interesting paper on 'absolute majority" don't think my teachers on GNI need it.