The afc/apnu have found creative ways of circumventing the bidding process. D2, caribJ, Mars, Cain, Tola, Gilbaka, Mitwah, Jalil, what say you now? Or are you going to settle for the status quo now that your party is in power?

Gov’t Minister allegedly creates 20 companies to bid for contracts – PPP/C

Lack of transparency continues:

BY EDWARD LAYNE

The integrity of the A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Government is again coming in for scrutiny, and now the opposition People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) has said it is in receipt of information which shows that a Minister of President David Granger’s Cabinet formed some 20 new companies which are being handed lucrative Government contracts.

“We have heard about some 20 companies that have been created… one particular minister is busy creating these companies and they are now given contracts… we have one case [where] the person told me… he will get the contract if he promises to appoint as sub-contractors, these people, these newly created companies. This is a major shift and it’s all being done quietly with very little scrutiny,” Leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo told a news conference Friday, but was hesitant to name the Minister, noting that his Party was still examining the matter; and will make further disclosures in due course.

The Opposition Leader however put on notice “all the offending parties” that the PPP/C is paying attention to this development and urged public officers who are involved in evaluation of bids not to allow themselves to be pressured.

“We want to urge them [public officers] not to be pressured into making particular recommendations or to expose when they come under pressure to change recommendations, because a lot of this is happening now. It is something that is big on our horizon now. We have just started exploring it and it’s quite shocking that in such a short period of time so much is being done in this regard,” Jagdeo posited.

No Objection Clause
Meanwhile, Jagdeo revealed that Cabinet’s No Objection Clause in the public procurement process is now being interpreted “differently” by the APNU+AFC Government.

“The No Objection Clause, prior to it being put in place, Cabinet uses to approve contracts and then we changed the Law and said the Cabinet can only offer a No Objection. So the recommendation that goes from the Tender Board, if the Cabinet disagrees with that recommendation, it has to inform the Tender Board that it disagrees and the reason why. They cannot change the award. We have heard that this Cabinet is interpreting the No Objection as the ability to change the awards, so they have gone back, contrary to the Law, to now approve contacts,” he explained.

It is important to note that both APNU and AFC, while in opposition, had lobbied for the removal of Cabinet’s “No Objection” role in the procurement process.

Tender Boards
Jagdeo also chastised the coalition for “stacking” the various regional, ministerial and other tender boards with party activists, many of whom he said do not fit the bill, calling on the media to do its own investigations into who are now the members of these boards and compare them with previous members

“This Government that says it believes in transparency has surreptitiously, insidiously appointed a lot of these tender boards and put a lot of party members on these boards, many of them not qualified, across the country, who will now be adjudicating contracts,” Jagdeo highlighted.

While in opposition, both APNU and AFC had continuously accused the PPP/C Government of appointing “political hacks” in various key positions in state agencies and vowed to “depoliticize” these agencies, should it gain political power.

But after assuming office following the May 11 General and Regional Elections, the APNU+AFC Administration has been blatantly appointing party candidates and supporters to a number of key positions, particularly state boards.

Looks like Granger et al are filling their pockets in creative ways, this is a new breed of criminals that now occupy the government. You folks taught that the PPP were bad, this group of afc/apnu is a super charged version of the PPP. 

https://www.globalwitness.org/...-government-budgets/

HOW ANONYMOUSLY OWNED COMPANIES ARE USED TO RIP OFF GOVERNMENT BUDGETS

Since the financial crisis, we have heard a lot about the revenue governments lose to tax avoidance and evasion, but what about the losses resulting from corruption of governments’ procurement processes? Around the world governments spend $9.5 trillion each year on public works, goods and services. It should be no surprise that fraudsters, and the corrupt, take advantage of this. According to research by the United Nations, corruption may amount to as much as 25% of government procurement budgets. The results of such fraud are harm to all of us in the form of lower quality infrastructure and services, higher prices, wasted tax dollars and decreased trust in government.

Criminals who are ripping off public budgets need to hide what they’re up to. Anonymously owned companies, or those whose owners are hidden, have proven to be a common facilitator of fraud in public procurement.

Today we’re adding new cases that demonstrate this problem to our online interactive map that tracks the abuse of anonymous company ownership around the world.  They include:

• Defense contractors used a UAE-based anonymous company to overcharge the U.S. government in a $48 million scheme to supply food and water to troops in Afghanistan.
  • American conspirators used sham companies from North Carolina, Nevada and Tennessee to steal more than $2 million from subcontractors that they tricked into fulfilling U.S. procurement contracts.
  • Three senior Angolan officials hid their interests in companies that were awarded lucrative stakes in the impoverished country’s oil sector, despite the company’s lack of any previous experience in the industry.
  • A Texas-based company paid $132 million to an anonymous Gibraltar company that it intended to use, in part, for bribes to win contacts to build a liquefied natural gas plant in Nigeria.

In order to address the issue of fraudsters using anonymous companies to rip off governments, governments should require that a company bidding on government contracts disclose the real people who own or control them (often called “beneficial owners&rdquo.

However, the collection of beneficial ownership information in procurement alone is not enough.

To increase transparency and accountability in procurement, open contracting must also be part of the solution—beneficial ownership information should be made public, while award and contract information should be made publicly available for free and in an open data format. In fact, statistics have shown a reduction in costs, fraud and corruption related to the contracting process when linked to open contracting.

In a positive step toward this end, starting in 2015, the U.S. Treasury Department must instruct the U.S. executive directors of each international financial institution (IFI), such as the World Bank and IMF, to seek to require that such institution collect, verify, and publish, beneficial ownership information for privately held companies, which receive U.S. funding through their IFI. It is critical that this important provision is robustly implemented.

In recognizing the high risks of corruption in government contracting and subsequent direct, negative impacts on the public, Global Witness will continue to shed light on cases involving anonymous companies in procurement. It is essential to demonstrate the need for legislation that mandates the collection, and publication, of beneficial ownership information in government contracting. This is critical because companies with hidden owners are one of the most important vehicles for bribery, money laundering, tax evasion, sanctions busting, drug trafficking, and other forms of crime and corruption around the world.

“We have heard about some 20 companies that have been created… one particular minister is busy creating these companies and they are now given contracts… we have one case [where] the person told me… he will get the contract if he promises to appoint as sub-contractors, these people, these newly created companies. This is a major shift and it’s all being done quietly with very little scrutiny,” Leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo told a news conference Friday, but was hesitant to name the Minister, noting that his Party was still examining the matter; and will make further disclosures in due course.

The awarding of contracts by the government is published so why can't Jagdeo come up with the names? Usual PPP propaganda BS, the kind we're used to Coounscie writing on GNI for the past few years. I heard somebody say but I can't reveal the names right now. BGurd, you said a couple of days ago that the Coalition Government is awarding contracts to the same old PPP contractors so where is Jagdeo inventing this crap from now? 

Originally Posted by Mars:

The awarding of contracts by the government is published so why can't Jagdeo come up with the names? Usual PPP propaganda BS, the kind we're used to Coounscie writing on GNI for the past few years. I heard somebody say but I can't reveal the names right now. BGurd, you said a couple of days ago that the Coalition Government is awarding contracts to the same old PPP contractors so where is Jagdeo inventing this crap from now? 

Like I said, we need the evidence and names. 

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Like I said, we need the evidence and names. 

Sounds familiar, this is exactly what the PPP supporters on this board was asking the AFC/APNU supporters when similar allegations were made against the PPP. But this strategy worked very well as we see the afc/apnu got into power. Set the seed of distrust without evidence and sit back and watch it flourish. 

A BIGGER AND MORE SHAMELESS BUNCH OF THIEVES. I STILL CANT UNDERSTAND HOW THE GUYANESE PEOPLE VOTED FOR THIS BUNCH WITH A LONG HISTORY OF CRIMES, INCOMPETENCE, VIOLENCE, INTIMIDATION AND PARTY PARAMOUNTCY!!!  SOME GUYANESE ARE SHIT HEADS.  AL YUH DEAL WITH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

. BGurd, you said a couple of days ago that the Coalition Government is awarding contracts to the same old PPP contractors so where is Jagdeo inventing this crap from now? 

What druggie meant to say is that PPP supporters are forming fake companies.

. But this strategy worked very well as we see the afc/apnu got into power. Set the seed of distrust without evidence and sit back and watch it flourish. 

And yet even many ordinary PPP supporters thought that the PPP leadership was quite corrupt.

When men who were paupers suddenly build huge mansions, all that is needed is to find evidence that will be credible in a court of law.

Given that APNU/AFC have just gained power, you really have no idea of any cotrrupt acts (aside from the salary increase).

Put it this way. In Feb 1993 most folks were not jumping up and down screaming about the PPP. In fact many blacks said "ge dem collie a chance". 

At that point no one was talking about any PPP corruption, and in fact many blacks used to come out to listen to Cheddi.  I even recall a meeting in Manhattan, arranged by Afro Guyanese business people, who wanted to hear what Cheddi had to say.

Pity you Indo KKK folks are so filled with hatred that you make accusations when you have no evidence, aside from the salary fraud. And even in this the PPP isn't blameless, when we consider;

1.  Jagdeo is taking his pension, even though he is actively in government, and this pension is the SAME as Grangers CURRENT salary, inclusive of the perks.  Since when do people earn the same income, once retired, that they did while working.

2.  The PPP paid Anil Nandlall a huge salary as AG to offset income lost by closing down his law office. Why the screams when APNU/AFC folks do the same.  I think that it is reprehensible in BOTH instances. But you cheered the PPP, so should see nothing wrong with APNU/AFC doing the same.

Here is the main screaming.

1.  The PPP business elites fear that the cozy deals that they fashioned with Jagdeo will be unravelled.

2. The same business elites fear that their money laundering games, tax evasion will be uncovered by the banks having to reveal assets to the GRA.

The poor rice farmers were just as screwed by the PPP as they are currently being screwed.  Berbice fishermen were being attacked by INDIAN pirates under the PPP, as they are being presently attacked. And crime has been on the increase for many years now. 

The PPP didn't care one hoot about that.

. But this strategy worked very well as we see the afc/apnu got into power. Set the seed of distrust without evidence and sit back and watch it flourish. 

And yet even many ordinary PPP supporters thought that the PPP leadership was quite corrupt.

When men who were paupers suddenly build huge mansions, all that is needed is to find evidence that will be credible in a court of law.

Given that APNU/AFC have just gained power, you really have no idea of any cotrrupt acts (aside from the salary increase).

Put it this way. In Feb 1993 most folks were not jumping up and down screaming about the PPP. In fact many blacks said "ge dem collie a chance". 

At that point no one was talking about any PPP corruption, and in fact many blacks used to come out to listen to Cheddi.  I even recall a meeting in Manhattan, arranged by Afro Guyanese business people, who wanted to hear what Cheddi had to say.

Pity you Indo KKK folks are so filled with hatred that you make accusations when you have no evidence, aside from the salary fraud. And even in this the PPP isn't blameless, when we consider;

1.  Jagdeo is taking his pension, even though he is actively in government, and this pension is the SAME as Grangers CURRENT salary, inclusive of the perks.  Since when do people earn the same income, once retired, that they did while working.

2.  The PPP paid Anil Nandlall a huge salary as AG to offset income lost by closing down his law office. Why the screams when APNU/AFC folks do the same.  I think that it is reprehensible in BOTH instances. But you cheered the PPP, so should see nothing wrong with APNU/AFC doing the same.

Here is the main screaming.

1.  The PPP business elites fear that the cozy deals that they fashioned with Jagdeo will be unravelled.

2. The same business elites fear that their money laundering games, tax evasion will be uncovered by the banks having to reveal assets to the GRA.

The poor rice farmers were just as screwed by the PPP as they are currently being screwed.  Berbice fishermen were being attacked by INDIAN pirates under the PPP, as they are being presently attacked. And crime has been on the increase for many years now. 

The PPP didn't care one hoot about that.

Stop detracting from holding the afc/apnu accountable. Tell us how and when they will turn the country around from its current decline both economically and with regard to crime.

.that.

Stop detracting from holding the afc/apnu accountable. Tell us how and when they will turn the country around from its current decline both economically and with regard to crime.

People who loved the PPP when they engaged in whole scale theft aren't really interested in "turning Guyana around".

.that.

People who loved the PPP when they engaged in whole scale theft aren't really interested in "turning Guyana around".

Step out of the past and in to the future, you are in charge now and are accountable for the state of the nation in a mere 5 months you turned a thriving economy into a ghost town. 

.that.

Why are you blaming people who loved the PPP for the stupid PNC not capable of doing their jobs and keeping their promises.  It must be difficult to understand why the PNC/AFC  cannot be trusted.  You must be feeling very stupid to support an alliance which cannot govern the country, honestly.   When are you going to start blaming kakamootoo?