Caps on land for miners – Trotman

- vows to ensure transparency in mining

By , July 5, 2015, Source

Limits will have to be placed on how much of Guyana’s resources one person or one company can access, according to Minister of Governance Raphael Trotman, who has vowed to ensure transparency in the mining sector.

In an interview with Stabroek News on Mon-day, Trotman said he has spoken to Commissioner of the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) Rickford Vieira regarding managing the sector in a transparent manner and being more open to avoid incidents or the perceptions of corruption. According to Trotman, a lot depends on the attitude of policymakers and he is happy that President David Granger has retained the portfolio of natural resources and the environment. He said the knowledge of the President’s character and integrity will permeate and will be the hallmark of the management of the sector. “I’m just a trustee, a steward on his behalf,” he said.

“As I’ve explained wherever I’ve gone, nobody is gonna embarrass the president or this government with skullduggery and nonsense and we’re well aware of the perceptions and we’re well aware of the anecdotes and we’re well aware of the known cases of, I won’t say corruption, but areas in

Meaning perhaps that the PNC will have total control and decision on who will obtain lands.

Their land development schemes under Burnham was a mess.

YESSSSSSSSS....and it was so much BETTER after 23 years of PPP, eh? Gold miners digging out all the gold and polluting the rivers. Chinese forestry companies carting away all the logs etc. Wholesale rape and robbery by PPP FRIENDS for 23 fcking YEARS and now yuh come hay talking shit? Meanwhile yuh own indian mattee couldn't get a lil plot of land from Jagdeo to farm and feed he children!!!!

The absolute brazen, deceptive, liard teefing ways of indians like you gives me pause sometimes.