CANU unearths ganja, ecstasy, crystal meth during raids

…suspect nabbed in high-speed chase

A high-speed chase between ranks of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) and a motorcar along the West Coast Demerara (WCD) Public Road led to the arrest of one man and the seizure of almost 31 kilograms of cannabis that was being transported inside of the vehicle he was driving. According to CANU, the seizure took place on Thursday at about 23:00h.

The ganja which was found by CANU

The driver of the car, a 30-year-old from Zeeburg, WCD, which had three other occupants, has since been taken into custody.

The 100 ecstasy pills weighing 56 grams

Although the driver attempted to evade the CANU ranks, the car was eventually intercepted in the De William Village, WCD, where the large quantity of cannabis was discovered. When the substance was weighed, it totalled 30.902kg.
The three persons who were inside the car managed to escape. According to the CANU, they are in search of the trio.
Meanwhile, nine hours later in the ancient county of Berbice, Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne), another man was arrested by CANU ranks after 100 ecstasy pills and a quantity of ‘crystal meth’ were found inside of his haversack moments after he arrived from Suriname.

The 254 grams of ‘crystal meth’

The man, of Norton Street, Georgetown, had just disembarked a speedboat at about 08:00h on Friday at the “Golden Gloves Speed Boat Service” commonly called the “BackTrack Speed Boat Service” in Springlands, Corentyne, Berbice.
One hundred ecstasy pills weighing 56 grams and 254 grams of crystal meth were discovered hidden between pieces of clothing inside of the man’s bag.

Guyanese man held at Suriname border with ecstasy, crystal meth – CANU

Collis Burrowes

A Guyanese man of Norton Street in Georgetown on Sunday remained in the custody of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) after he was arrested Friday shortly after he arrived from Suriname with a quantity of ecstasy and crystal meth, the anti-drug agency said.

CANU identified him as Collis Steve Burrowes. The agency said he was arrested Friday morning at Golden Gloves Speed Boat Service in Springlands, Corentyne, Berbice.

“[The] Suspect was an incoming passenger from Suriname when he was searched by a CANU rank at the Golden Gloves Speed Boat Service and a quantity of suspected Crystal Meth and Suspected Ecstasy were uncovered in clothing in a haversack he was carrying,” CANU said.

The agency said the crystal meth weighed 254 grams and the 100 ecstasy pills amounted to 56 grammes.

Guyanese authorities have reported that these drugs are finding their way into a number of schools.

Zeeburg man busted with over 68lbs ganja, three others on the run

Dec 7, 2019

https://newsroom.gy/2019/12/07...e-others-on-the-run/

A high-speed chase Thursday night by ranks of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) resulted in the arrest of a 30-year-old resident of Zeeburg, West Coast Demerara (WCD) who was caught with just over 68 pounds of marijuana.

A statement from CANU Saturday night revealed that the bust was made at around 23:00hrs at De Willem Village, WCD.

https://i1.wp.com/newsroom.gy/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/Ganja.jpg?resize=1024%2C618&ssl=1https://i1.wp.com/newsroom.gy/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/Capture.jpg?resize=750%2C430&ssl=1

In custody is Azim Ali called ‘Boyo’ of Zeeburg, WCD, who was the driver of motorcar PPP 7790 which was transporting 30.902 kilograms of marijuana.

Three others who were in the car managed to escape, CANU said and a police hunt is in progress.

According to the statement, Ali’s car was chased by CANU ranks and was eventually intercepted when the narcotics were discovered in the vehicle in tightly wrapped parcels.

A high-speed chase between ranks of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) and a motorcar along the West Coast Demerara (WCD) Public Road led to the arrest of one man and the seizure of almost 31 kilograms of cannabis that was being transported inside of the vehicle he was driving. According to CANU, the seizure took place on Thursday at about 23:00h.

The driver of the car, a 30-year-old from Zeeburg, WCD, which had three other occupants, has since been taken into custody.

Meanwhile, nine hours later in the ancient county of Berbice, Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne), another man was arrested by CANU ranks after 100 ecstasy pills and a quantity of ‘crystal meth’ were found inside of his haversack moments after he arrived from Suriname.

The man, of Norton Street, Georgetown, had just disembarked a speedboat at about 08:00h on Friday at the “Golden Gloves Speed Boat Service” commonly called the “BackTrack Speed Boat Service” in Springlands, Corentyne, Berbice.
One hundred ecstasy pills weighing 56 grams and 254 grams of crystal meth were discovered hidden between pieces of clothing inside of the man’s bag.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/canu...l-meth-during-raids/

This is how the rag does report news from Guyana, comparable to other News Media.

So now is an Indo guy busted...does this mean PPP fund raising hit a snag?

The rag GuyanaTimes hides the identity of the two miscreants. Saw the news yesterday.

Knowing KP traits on GNI , he jumps to post news when Afro Guyanese are involved in crimes.

He was hired by PNC operatives. He was the driver of the car. The man has to feed his family. He did not know the contents of the man's luggage. If every hire car driver examines the luggage of every passenger getting into his car, he might as well beg for a living.

Kerr yuh r@ss !!!

Why? Isn't that logical?

This has nothing to do with funding raising. This is the norm. Guy pushing his weed and making his money. Happens all over the world. No political spin here.

Now the crystal meth thing...this is a problem. A game changer. That it is finding its way into school is indeed cause for concern. 

Kerr yuh r@ss !!!

Why? Isn't that logical?

Plausible , factor in, don't think the Indo boys are saints.

In Guyana, everyone hussles to make a living. Can't blame the people to hussle. Punishment ah bruk rass and people like daag eat daag. Guyana has one f'ed up political system.

The rag GuyanaTimes hides the identity of the two miscreants. Saw the news yesterday.

Knowing KP traits on GNI , he jumps to post news when Afro Guyanese are involved in crimes.

Shut your sorrow ass. I post what I want and not what I am told to post. Look If you are related to Afros and quick to defend them I don't care a Rats ass, OK. I expose all criminals.

Everytime something of this nature pops up, the first question asked is; is it a coolieman or a blackman. Does it matter?

I hope when Cain re-migrate to Guyana and plant up a few good acres of Ganga he get this much attention.

The big drugs pusher has nothing to do with race, majorities are Indians and Africans. 

It’s unfortunate that some Indians are like crabs, we have a few right here on GNI. they don’t question the Afro about their wealth or PHD degree .. some will go so far to investigate  what colour underwear the man has to his size of dick  .. poor S.O.B&TCHES.

Shut your sorrow ass. I post what I want and not what I am told to post.

Look If you are related to Afros and quick to defend them I don't care a Rats ass, OK.

I expose all criminals.

Did Django ask you to care ? do you put food on Django and their table ?

You don't expose all criminal , you pick and choose.

The big drugs pusher has nothing to do with race, majorities are Indians and Africans. 

It’s unfortunate that some Indians are like crabs, we have a few right here on GNI. they don’t question the Afro about their wealth or PHD degree .. some will go so far to investigate  what colour underwear the man has to his size of dick  .. poor S.O.B&TCHES.

Classic post , that describes , your mentality.

In Guyana, everyone hussles to make a living. Can't blame the people to hussle. Punishment ah bruk rass and people like daag eat daag. Guyana has one f'ed up political system.

so now you advocating for drug runnings?

Great job CANU

Banna like the cap fits you bhai,  too bad it affects you mentally. 

This is a manifestation of hardships under PNC. Dem pushers pushing Meth now. PNC mekkin another record with Meth. 

Some folks can be spotted from a distance , ayuh ah them dutty kind in my book.

By the way nothing affects Django , no words can pierce his faculty.

Some folks can be spotted from a distance , ayuh ah them dutty kind in my book.

By the way nothing affects Django , no words can pierce his faculty.

And here you are with your own morals attacking those imagined ones that think differently. What makes you any different or better? 

And here you are with your own morals attacking those imagined ones that think differently.

makes you any different or better? 

Pandering to ethnic identity in multi-ethnic societies, are different thinking !!!!

so now you advocating for drug runnings?

Great job CANU

Nah! It's called Charles Darwin's Theory: Evolution, the battle for the survival of the fittest. Granger will ban CANU if they continue intercepting the PNC supported domestic products and destroy them.