....Any rank guilty of unofficial searches will be fired – CANU Head

Two Georgetown families are now sleeping with one eye open as they remain on the alert, following a raid to their homes last Wednesday evening by persons claiming to be Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) ranks.

Carlene Kishna

The still-traumatised residents of Independence Boulevard, La Penitence, Georgetown, recently related their frustration to Guyana Times , noting how afraid they still were.
Sheneza Bacchus, 41, of Lot 241 Independence Boulevard, told this publication on Monday that 10 alleged CANU ranks, two of whom were females, barged into her home about 17:00h on Wednesday last.
Bacchus said she was at home with her two daughters and her son when she saw a van pull up in front of her yard and the men started kicking down her gate. The woman said she ran to her two girls, who were eating, to inform them of what was going on and by the time she got to her back door, a man approached her and demanded that she step aside.
The frightened woman said she questioned the ‘officers’’ intentions when she was told they were CANU ranks who received reports that the family had drugs. The startled woman told this newspaper that she informed the men that her family was not involved with anything illegal and even requested a search warrant, but she was pushed aside.
According to the woman, the men proceeded to her children’s room before ransacking the home. A female rank, Bacchus said, even demanded that she and her daughters strip.
“The female rank, she tell me that I have to go in the room and strip, me and my two daughters. She stripped my big daughter first and then I said how can you strip a little girl? she is only 15, so she said okay and she didn’t touch us or anything like that. She took off her top and when they finish with those two, I tell her that ‘I am unclean, I cannot do this’, she said ‘no, you have to go through with this’, so I didn’t take off my clothes completely, I just pulled down my skirt and my top and that was it,” the woman recalled.
Following the strip search, Bacchus said the female rank told the male officers that “everything was clear”.
According to her, the men said they believed she had something to hide and went into the bottom flat of the house and continued with their search. After nothing was found, Bacchus said one of the men from the group said he was sorry for what happened as they were just doing their jobs.
The group then proceeded to the home of Carlene Kishna, who lives a few houses away from Bacchus, who also shared her experience.
Kishna told Guyana Times that the same group of men entered her home about 17:30h on Wednesday after finding nothing in her neighbour’s home.
The woman, who almost had tears in her eyes, explained that she was home with her sickly husband, two children and grandchildren when the men claiming to be CANU ranks went into her home and flashed what was supposed to be an identification card in front of her face while saying that they received reports that she too had drugs and guns in her home.
The mother told this publication that she requested a search warrant, but she was told that they were CANU ranks and did not require one.
“When we go upstairs, one of them turn to me and say ‘(if) you have jewellery and hundreds of thousands of dollars in here, bring it out’. So I said ‘where am I going to get that sort of money from; I don’t have no money. We is poor people; we just mind two cows to survive’,” she recounted.
Kishna told this publication that after the men searched for about 45 minutes, one shouted from the top flat of her home to abort the search.
“When they finished I ask them what about our character and so, because this is what we gun got to be living (with), people gun got to be thinking like if we involved in some sort of illegal things … we really, really scared about this. I am calling even on the President to look into this matter, because is not right. We can’t continue living in fear like this. My children are traumatised. I am traumatised,” she added.
The frustrated woman said she suspected that a neighbour, who was an ex-CANU rank, might be the one behind the searches, since they are involved in a land dispute.

No record of search
The two determined housewives, desperate to get justice, on Monday visited the CANU head office and requested to speak to the Head of the agency in relation to the matter. They were, however, unable to meet with the Head.
According to Kishna, the ranks told her that they have no records of such a raid in the said area. She noted too that she was told that she could not make a report at the Police Station, because it involved CANU ranks.
The Head of CANU, Michael Atherly, when contacted by this newspaper, said that he has no record of such a raid. He, however, noted that should any of his ranks be implicated in the unofficial search, they would be immediately dismissed.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/canu...la-penitence-family/

Folks, I Spend app 1-2 weeks per month in Guyana. This current government is worst than Burnham.

Indians are at the mercy of the people who runs congress place. 

Quote - from Vola Lawerence recently at a public meeting at Stabroek market.

Comrades, well I want to say to them that they can do whatever they like because even if I fall down here, Comrades, another Rasta will going come and take my place, Comrades, so you ain’t doing nothing. You can’t stop progress. The APNU is here to stay, Comrades,” said Lawrence.

In clear reference to the PPP and Alliance For Change (AFC), she  urged attendees to reject candidates from those two political parties. “Don’t let us waste time. Tell them you voting for APNU, comrades. Tell them not to waste time. Don’t bring the red and don’t bring the yellow. We voting for the green,” she said.

Folks, I Spend app 1-2 weeks per month in Guyana. This current government is worst than Burnham.

Comrades, well I want to say to them that they can do whatever they like because even if I fall down here, Comrades, another Rasta will going come and take my place, Comrades, so you ain’t doing nothing. You can’t stop progress. The APNU is here to stay, Comrades,” said Lawrence.

In clear reference to the PPP and Alliance For Change (AFC), she  urged attendees to reject candidates from those two political parties. “Don’t let us waste time. Tell them you voting for APNU, comrades. Tell them not to waste time. Don’t bring the red and don’t bring the yellow. We voting for the green,” she said.

This is election rhetoric. Nothing new here. I am sure the PPP is doing the same and saying the same to its supporters.

If the story is correct, then it is frightening. It means that the police are lying. There are procedures to follow when conducting a search. These were not followed. Additionally, there are few recourses open to such individuals. The Police complaint authority is slow, non functional and access to the courts are expensive. 

Z

They are now using this an instrument to humiliate Indo Guyanese women.

Why dont you ease up with your racist tropes. This is apparently a criminal gang who is using a new tact at home invasion in our society.

I is her job to sell her party. The PPP does it as well. 

Zed posted:

If the story is correct, then it is frightening. It means that the police are lying. There are procedures to follow when conducting a search. These were not followed. Additionally, there are few recourses open to such individuals. The Police complaint authority is slow, non functional and access to the courts are expensive. 

Indeed they would be subject to severe condemnation if they did this. However, the claim of CANU is this was no raid authorized by their officers. 

Thank you for sharing and letting the world know Indians are at the mercy of the scums at Congress Place!!

The frustrated woman said she suspected that a neighbour, who was an ex-CANU rank, might be the one behind the searches, since they are involved in a land dispute.

No record of search
The two determined housewives, desperate to get justice, on Monday visited the CANU head office and requested to speak to the Head of the agency in relation to the matter. They were, however, unable to meet with the Head.
According to Kishna, the ranks told her that they have no records of such a raid in the said area. She noted too that she was told that she could not make a report at the Police Station, because it involved CANU ranks.
The Head of CANU, Michael Atherly, when contacted by this newspaper, said that he has no record of such a raid. He, however, noted that should any of his ranks be implicated in the unofficial search, they would be immediately dismissed.

alena06 posted:

Thank you for sharing and letting the world know Indians are at the mercy of the scums at Congress Place!!

where was your venom when all of us here were condemning similar oppression of black folks under the PPP. The reality is you hypocrites hide behind race and sacred victimization in lieu of impartiality and contribute to the decay of the society by ethnic strife. An Amerindian woman was robbed, raped and strangled yesterday. Was that congress place acting against Amerindians as policy or just simple incompetence in maintaining law and order?

This crime was not by the CANU. They believe it is a new criminal tactic. While the government is to be blamed for the high levels of crime their failures was preceded by failures of no lesser magnitude in the PPP era.

To break out of this cycle means one admonishes the elites equally as failure to provide a fundamental service. Simply yelling Indians are having it bad is self defeating. The poor of Guyana are all suffering equally with the failure to maintain law and order. 

Zed posted:

Lead a delegation and  picket Ramjattan's  office and/or the Police Commissioner's office.

Last edited by Mitwah
alena06 posted:

where was your venom when all of us here were condemning similar oppression of black folks under the PPP. The reality is you hypocrites hide behind race and sacred victimization in lieu of impartiality and contribute to the decay of the society by ethnic strife. An Amerindian woman was robbed, raped and strangled yesterday. Was that congress place acting against Amerindians as policy or just simple incompetence in maintaining law and order?

This crime was not by the CANU. They believe it is a new criminal tactic. While the government is to be blamed for the high levels of crime their failures was preceded by failures of no lesser magnitude in the PPP era.

To break out of this cycle means one admonishes the elites equally as failure to provide a fundamental service. Simply yelling Indians are having it bad is self defeating. The poor of Guyana are all suffering equally with the failure to maintain law and order. 

Dave posted first hand information that he observed, he  is there often.  FACTS.  An idiot like you has to resort to name calling ‘hypocrite’ to get your point across.

alena06 posted:

Dave posted first hand information that he observed, he  is there often.  FACTS.  An idiot like you has to resort to name calling ‘hypocrite’ to get your point across.

The point is clear that the PPP as consummate crooks and perniciously lazy fellows let our country decay into the depths of crime and criminality. Those in power presently do no less and the reality is the persistence of decay is a consequence of pitiful ethnic sheep like you . Whatever a measure of smarts of takes to be a knee bender is what you have...no more no less. Dave's information is always delivered in flourishes by his tainted racist views. He cannot help it neither can you.

alena06 posted:

BS. PPP did more for blacks than Indian. Why don’t you visit all the blacks village and enquire when their standard of living was lifted. Now they are screaming for survival waiting of the $5000 US promised by their leaders from the oil revenues.

I will invite you to accompany me on a tour and we can live stream the views of residents in black villages on GNI. 

alena06 posted:

The point is clear that the PPP as consummate crooks and perniciously lazy fellows let our country decay into the depths of crime and criminality. Those in power presently do no less and the reality is the persistence of decay is a consequence of pitiful ethnic sheep like you . Whatever a measure of smarts of takes to be a knee bender is what you have...no more no less. Dave's information is always delivered in flourishes by his tainted racist views. He cannot help it neither can you.

I delivered the facts... their is a difference between me and most of you on this site. I live most of the time in Guyana and travel once per month in all the villages with my Sales rep. 

I sit and eat with all races and hear their views. 

I delivered the facts... their is a difference between me and most of you on this site. I live most of the time in Guyana and travel once per month in all the villages with my Sales rep.  I sit and eat with all races and hear their views. 

Living there does not make you less racist. The reality is that crime is an equal opportunity practice as long as there is lucre to be gained. To say the government is orchestrating these crimes to punish Indians as the OP is framed is fermenting hate. Sitting and eating with all races should temper your vituperative postings. I am yet to see any hint of that  ethnic magnanimity you claim exist in that poisoned heart.    

alena06 posted:

BS. PPP did more for blacks than Indian. Why don’t you visit all the blacks village and enquire when their standard of living was lifted. Now they are screaming for survival waiting of the $5000 US promised by their leaders from the oil revenues.

I will invite you to accompany me on a tour and we can live stream the views of residents in black villages on GNI. 

Dave,

what are the oppression the East Indian population are facing under this current gov't ?

Is it the political rhetoric by gov't politicians during the current  LGE campaign,that can be construed as oppressive ? noticeably to back your claims, a paragraph of a campaign speech was presented.

I is her job to sell her party. The PPP does it as well. 

Where did she claim affiliation to a political party .. show us. 

Ms Lawrence was not participating in the exercise to elevate political quackery for nothing.  

alena06 posted:

Dave,

what are the oppression the East Indian population are facing under this current gov't ?

Is it the political rhetoric by gov't politicians during the current  LGE campaign,that can be construed as oppressive ? noticeably to back your claims, a paragraph of a campaign speech was presented.

I will give you 2 for starters.

1. Region 4 RDC took away the garbage tractor and its servicing Bachlor Adventure/ Buxton. The residence of Enmore / enterprise/ Bladen Hall has to paid fropm their pocket to private contractor to haul their garbage away. Its a know fact, Indians pay more taxes that afro.

2. The cattle catcher, runs only in Indians neighborhood. In some cases, they guide the animals into Buxton Line top towards the backdam.. figure the rest. 

I delivered the facts... their is a difference between me and most of you on this site. I live most of the time in Guyana and travel once per month in all the villages with my Sales rep.  I sit and eat with all races and hear their views. 

Living there does not make you less racist. The reality is that crime is an equal opportunity practice as long as there is lucre to be gained. To say the government is orchestrating these crimes to punish Indians as the OP is framed is fermenting hate. Sitting and eating with all races should temper your vituperative postings. I am yet to see any hint of that  ethnic magnanimity you claim exist in that poisoned heart.    

You can call me what racist you want ... i say it as it is. The current government was behind the crime when the PPP was in government.. crime to destabilize the country. It now comes back to haunt them. 

Dave,

1. Region 4 RDC took away the garbage tractor and its servicing Bachlor Adventure/ Buxton. The residence of Enmore / enterprise/ Bladen Hall has to paid fropm their pocket to private contractor to haul their garbage away. Its a know fact, Indians pay more taxes that afro.

2. The cattle catcher, runs only in Indians neighborhood. In some cases, they guide the animals into Buxton Line top towards the backdam.. figure the rest. 

So these are instances that are occurring in a particular NDC and you conclude there is a wide spread phenomenon of oppression against East Indians in whole country.

There seems to be some form uncooperative management in that NDC.

Dave,

So these are instances that are occurring in a particular NDC and you conclude there is a wide spread phenomenon of oppression against East Indians in whole country.

There seems to be some form uncooperative management in that NDC.

These are what I know and witness and have heard of similar and other issues facing Indians in other villages.

You can call me what racist you want ... i say it as it is. The current government was behind the crime when the PPP was in government.. crime to destabilize the country. It now comes back to haunt them. 

Ignore the Sakawinki parrot shaman. He is high on piwari. He never sees Indians as good people. Too bad he had to hate the whole race when one Indian woman scornfully dumped him for a whiteman. She must have left him penniless while the white man was enjoying his sweat.

Dave where is your proof that the strip search was done by Canu ranks?

Didn’t the lady seh she suspected a neighbor they have a land dispute with?   People like jump the gun too qik.  But fuh a lil kuntry, dah place lawliss no ass!!!!

I don't think Dave took the time to read the story before posting it from that unreliable source.

Ignore the Sakawinki parrot shaman. He is high on piwari. He never sees Indians as good people. Too bad he had to hate the whole race when one Indian woman scornfully dumped him for a whiteman. She must have left him penniless while the white man was enjoying his sweat.

Hey Skelly, it's cold up here and very damp today. It will be very cloudy all day.

If I post like what you posted above, I would get suspended. Go figure. 

Where did I say there is evidence to nail CANU ranks. 

In Burnham days, wasn’t similar stuff done against Indians and the police commander behave he was clueless. 

I was detained along with other PPP members and was moving from station to station and police commanders claim they knew nothing. 

Having said all the above. What’s your view about strip searching Indian women.. is there a reason why you didn’t comment. 

I don't think Dave took the time to read the story before posting it from that unreliable source.

Unreliable media source” didn’t you tell Gill Demwave is not creditable when they were the first and only media to publish Granger medical issues and going to Cuba. 

Yes I did. I still consider it as a bird cage liner. Please read what you post.

Hey Skelly, it's cold up here and very damp today. It will be very cloudy all day.

If I post like what you posted above, I would get suspended. Go figure. 

It's cold up here and cloudy too. If you look at the man's posts, he never has anything positive to say about Indians. He admitted on this site that his Sri Lankan wife living in RH left him for a white man. Hence his reason to be bitter. Anyway, me kankee and his plantain foo foo don't boil.

Where did I say there is evidence to nail CANU ranks. 

In Burnham days, wasn’t similar stuff done against Indians and the police commander behave he was clueless. 

I was detained along with other PPP members and was moving from station to station and police commanders claim they knew nothing. 

Having said all the above. What’s your view about strip searching Indian women.. is there a reason why you didn’t comment. 

Take off your myopic racist lenses and read my question again. Comprehension does not seem to be your forte. 

I do not know anyone in GUyana to be good people. I always have my eyes on my own kin. 

You alone know this indo woman who dumped me.  I had one Guyanese indo girlfriend in the US and I doubt she would say she left me. My Indian baby mama is from Goa and is still my friend. We just came back from a 3.4 mile stroll together so I think you are living in a world of pissed of imaginings about me.

And I was never penniless. On my worse days there were still a few million in assets available. My sister made us millionaires when she was only 25.  

It's cold up here and cloudy too. If you look at the man's posts, he never has anything positive to say about Indians. He admitted on this site that his Sri Lankan wife living in RH left him for a white man. Hence his reason to be bitter. Anyway, me kankee and his plantain foo foo don't boil.

So you are giving me a shri lankan woman!...sorry...I never lived in RH. I had business there but commuted. 

You folks spend too much time dreaming up shit to comfort yourselves in your jaundiced imaginings. 

Once again...married once...to the same woman since she was nineteen. She is now 54...was no perfect  husband but she is still here controlling my  errant impulses!