Originally posted by Errol Arthur:
Originally posted by Sheik101:
One last thing. these people were a mixture from canje and cumberland as I was told.
But what the hell do I know. I'm from georgetown. Was one bunch of happy guyanese having a great time. That's all that mattered flag

Cumberland is in Canje.
Like I said uncle errol. What do I know. Big Grin Big Grin
Originally posted by Bookman:
Thanks for sharing these pics, Sheik. I didn't know Canje has so many sons and daughters in New York alone.

The Canje picnic drew a crowd of over six thousand last year !

Easy Canje is made up of several communities including,Adelphi,Cumberland,Canefield,Reliance,Betsy Ground,Good Bananan Land,New Forest, etc....

At one time Betsy Ground was the bush rum capital of the general area.... Big Grin
Originally posted by Churchill:
Thanks for sharing these pics, Sheik. I didn't know Canje has so many sons and daughters in New York alone.

Easy Canje is made up of several communities including,Adelphi,Cumberland,Canefield,Reliance,Betsy Ground,Good Bananan Land,New Forest, etc....

At one time Betsy Ground was the bush rum capital of the general area.... Big Grin

Thanks for this info, comrade Churchill. Now I know that East Canje is a really big place. I was beginning to wonder if anyone was left in Canje. Wink
Speaking of which, I wonder whether the population of our national bird, the Canje Pheasant, is increasing or decreasing. dunno
B

My family used to sell cows to a butcher in Adelphi named Bhudoo. That was a long time ago and I cannot exactly remember where his butcher shop was.

Thanks for this info, comrade Churchill. Now I know that East Canje is a really big place. I was beginning to wonder if anyone was left in Canje. Wink
Speaking of which, I wonder whether the population of our national bird, the Canje Pheasant, is increasing or decreasing. dunno
You have to go up the creek to see them. Even when we were growing up in the 70's it was a rare sight to see one.

Sheet Anchor, No. 2 Village, and Palmyra are also part of East Canje. i have some very fond memories of that area.
Originally posted by Errol Arthur:

Sheet Anchor, No. 2 Village, and Palmyra are also part of East Canje. i have some very fond memories of that area.
I was about to say the same thing.

BTW thanks for taking care of my friend MC. I was away sailing with my sister for awhile. I am back.
Bannas, I was there from 1 PM. I won the Male dancing Competition.:-) I got so many digits but got to wait to go back to work to use Bossman phone.:-)
Originally posted by Sheik101:
At 6:05 PM all the women threw their Panties in the air and the DJ played " Open deh door leh dem man come in all ahwe ah one family" :-)

Yuh baxside really looking for a cut rass from dem canje people, eh, Big Grin
I was hoping to see two people. you and churchie.
Bhai, Yuh wicked yuh kno.:-) :-) And I went with female Friends from Canje but they are good Sports and have heard it many times before.:-):-)
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally posted by Nehru: At 6:05 PM all the women threw their Panties in the air and the DJ played " Open deh door leh dem man come in all ahwe ah one family" :-) :-).
If this didn't make it on the thread, change me name Big Grin Big Grin

Ah guess de afta 6 a'clack Canje gyurls ting is nat such a big secret afta aal Big Grin
Originally posted by Riya:
Originally posted by chameli:
very nice pics. looks like they had fun...gonna look n see if i see Ri there..she went on road trip Big Grin.

Sheik, nice to see u are back in NY...
have fun at Grove picnic wavey

Did you see me? Big Grin I was standing behind Sheik all the time Big Grin wavey
Hey, Riya. even though there was a large gathering as the pics showed, would you believe everybody know somebody who know somebody....I'm quite sure you might see someone you know as well.