Justin Trudeau, now the prime minister of Canada, appears in dark makeup on his face, neck and hands at a 2001 Arabian Nights -themed party at the West Point Grey Academy, the private school where he taught.

Justin Trudeau, now the prime minister of Canada, appears in dark makeup on his face, neck and hands at a 2001 "Arabian Nights"-themed party at the West Point Grey Academy, the private school where he taught.
TIME
By Anna Purna Kambhampaty , Madeleine Carlisle and Melissa Chan
Updated: September 18, 2019 9:15 PM ET

Justin Trudeau, Canada’s prime minister, wore brownface makeup to a party at the private school where he was teaching in the spring of 2001. TIME has obtained a photograph of the incident.

The photograph has not been previously reported. The picture was taken at an “Arabian Nights”-themed gala. It shows Trudeau, then the 29-year-old son of the late former Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau, wearing a turban and robes with his face, neck and hands completely darkened. The photograph appears in the 2000-2001 yearbook of West Point Grey Academy, a private day school where Trudeau was a teacher.

Earlier this month, TIME obtained a copy of the yearbook, The View, with the photograph of Trudeau in brownface from Vancouver businessman Michael Adamson, who was part of the West Point Grey Academy community. Adamson was not at the party, which was attended by school faculty, administrators and parents of students. He said that he first saw the photograph in July and felt it should be made public.

Speaking to reporters Wednesday night, following TIME’s publication of the photo, Trudeau apologized: “I shouldn’t have done that. I should have known better and I didn’t. I’m really sorry.” When asked if he thought the photograph was racist, he said, “Yes it was. I didn’t consider it racist at the time, but now we know better.”

This is a critical moment for Trudeau, who began his re-election campaign on Sept. 11 under the cloud of a scandal over whether he pressured his then-attorney general to drop corruption charges against a large Canadian engineering firm. The Liberal Party leader has championed minority groups during his nearly four years as prime minister and made his embrace of Canada’s many cultures a major part of his leadership. At least seven of the 35 members of Trudeau’s cabinet are from ethnic minorities.

Trudeau has previously garnered regular media attention in the Canadian and global press for his choice of attire. In 2018, he was mocked for the elaborate Indian garb that he, his wife and their three children wore during a visit to India.

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and wife Sophie Gregoire pay their respects at the SSikh Golden Temple in Amritsar on Feb. 21, 2018.

Narinder Nanu—AFP/Getty Images

Anthony did not respond to multiple requests for comment about the photo and the event.

Trudeau taught classes, including French, until he left after the spring of 2001. West Point Grey Academy is currently among the most expensive private day schools in Vancouver, with annual tuition ranging from just under $22,000 to about $23,500. During his 2015 election campaign, Trudeau downplayed his experience at the private academy, instead focusing on his time teaching at a public school in Vancouver.

The United States has a long and painful history of white performers darkening their faces to demean and dehumanize African-Americans—a practice made popular by minstrel shows in the 19th century. Blackface continued into the 20th century in Broadway shows and Hollywood movies.

In February, Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam first apologized for, and then denied he was in a 1984 medical school yearbook photo that surfaced earlier this year showing a man in blackface and another in a Ku Klux Klan hood. Despite criticism, Northam declined to step aside. Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey also apologized this year after a radio interview from the 1960s surfaced in which she was described as wearing blackface.

Write to Anna Purna Kambhampaty at Anna.kambhampaty@time.com and Madeleine Carlisle at madeleine.carlisle@time.com.

There is a difference. First, he played a part of a dark person and far as I am concerned it is not demeaning.  That being said, he still apologized which is something Trump knows nothing of.

People too sensitive.  That’s why I like Trump.  He will put on black pot and if you reprimand him, he will say “haul yuh ass!”

The PM was probably trying to be as authentic as possible. People too sensitive nowadays. I see nothing wrong with his costume there.

He was playing a role so not sure why he apologized.  It was not like he making fun of anyone!

The PM was probably trying to be as authentic as possible. People too sensitive nowadays. I see nothing wrong with his costume there.

On Canadian Television:

One White guy said nothing wrong in what he did, he was acting the part.

Another White guy said, good day for the Conservatives

A Negro Black woman, deeply offended.

Three Middle Eastern men, very pissed off. He must apologised to the offended ppl. I think they are upset because Justin painted himself Black. Alladin was Middle-Eastern, suh he wasn't a black person. The Three fellas wants an apology for that, bcz dey is white ppl.

Some Sikhs are upset and some sikhs are okay with the PM being in black face, depends on their political views.

All in all, Justin is an ugly chap if he was truly black. 

Any body noticed whey the man blackened hands are resting pan the ME woman. 

He was playing a role so not sure why he apologized.  It was not like he making fun of anyone!

Everyone wants an apology for every shit nowadays.

On Canadian Television:

One White guy said nothing wrong in what he did, he was acting the part.

Another White guy said, good day for the Conservatives

A Negro Black woman, deeply offended.

Three Middle Eastern men, very pissed off. He must apologised to the offended ppl. I think they are upset because Justin painted himself Black. Alladin was Middle-Eastern, suh he wasn't a black person. The Three fellas wants an apology for that, bcz dey is white ppl.

Some Sikhs are upset and some sikhs are okay with the PM being in black face, depends on their political views.

All in all, Justin is an ugly chap if he was truly black. 

Any body noticed whey the man blackened hands are resting pan the ME woman. 

We don't know that. Many ME people today are of Negroid ancestry. If the man had a part to act, I do not see anything wrong. I would wear an Afro wig and paint myself if I had to play that part. People need to lighten up.

Base , you do not lose sleep or wealth when you apologize

So you saying I cannot dress up like a Blackman any longer?  

You don't get whats sensitive about black face, here is why....

This Justin never seen a white Arab. He better contact Prashad and read GN&I. Better yet he can also contact the chief and keffer. They can spot a brother White Arab faster than Caribj can shout "koolie racist ".

Leave our PM alone, he apologize, he has class. Worry about the Pervert in the White House, a house that Black slaves built.

All said and done ,he will win the next election next month.

He may possibly win with a Minority Government. But he is also a liar. In his acceptance speech on the night he won with a huge majority, he told the Nation that “this will be the last time elections will be held under the first pass the post system”. He vowed to bring in a system of Proportional Representation for the coming election. He then singlehandedly killed it. It is because of his pompousness that his party may be reduced to a minority. This is only one example not to mention the SNC Lavalin matter.

Dondadda posted:

Leave our PM alone, he apologize, he has class. Worry about the Pervert in the White House, a house that Black slaves built.

All said and done ,he will win the next election next month.

He may possibly win with a Minority Government. But he is also a liar. In his acceptance speech on the night he won with a huge majority, he told the Nation that “this will be the last time elections will be held under the first pass the post system”. He vowed to bring in a system of Proportional Representation for the coming election. He then singlehandedly killed it. It is because of his pompousness that his party may be reduced to a minority. This is only one example not to mention the SNC Lavalin matter.

SNC Laval it is alleged paid Gaddafi son over 100 million dollars in bribes plus 30 thousand dollars to sleep with Canadian hookers. What if Gaddafi son only received a fraction of that bribe money and most of the bribe money was split up between company executives. If that is the case then if it comes out in a public enquiry it may destroy the company.