Canada ‘advises’ Irfaan Ali not to travel; asks him to respond to SOCU charges

Is this an opening for Bibi bai Nandlall?  Why saddle the party with this burden? I wouldn't be surprised if the US follow suit shortly. 

ALi don't look ready for prime time

I wonder if Anil and Persaud back in the game. You would thing that the committee who voted for Ali would have considered the risk with his suspicious education and pending charges. I suppose they decided that his personality would overcome all obstacles.

I remember the Police Chief was out of the country on business and upon his return his vehicle had an accident on the East Bank road. Well, he was in Trinidad and met with the Canadian High Commission.

I hope the PPP is not jumping the gun. Nandall is looking good.

I remember the Police Chief was out of the country on business and upon his return his vehicle had an accident on the East Bank road. Well, he was in Trinidad and met with the Canadian High Commission.

I hope the PPP is not jumping the gun. Nandall is looking good.

Is that true ?

Breaking: Canada blocks Irfaan

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
PPP/C presidential candidate Irfaan Ali

…raises questions over 19 criminal charges
The presidential ambitions of Irfaan Ali has hit a snag with the Government of Canada blocking his travel to that country owing to the 19 criminal charges against him for his role in the sale of lands in the Pradoville 2 Scheme.
This development is viewed as a major blow to Ali whose controversial selection as the party’s candidate was roundly condemned by rank and file members. Ali was scheduled to travel to Canada for a round of engagements commencing from today. He was to be accompanied by Canadian citizen, Gail Teixeira.

In a release, Ali said he has noted what he described as “mischief being peddled on the social media in relation to my visit to Canada.” According to him as was publicised, “I have a series of meetings and events with the Diaspora planned in Toronto, Canada. I was scheduled to leave Guyana, on Tuesday, January 29, 2019, at 10:20am, via Caribbean Airlines: BW 0600 flight.”

Ali said on Monday, January 28, 2019, at 4:05pm, he received a correspondence from the High Commission of Canada, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, advising him of a report in relation to the 19 charges by SOCU. “In the correspondence, they advised me not to travel and gave 30 days to respond to the correspondence,” Ali’s statement read.
According to him contrary to social media reports, “I am in possession of a valid passport and visa to Canada.

I have also since contacted the Canadian High Commissioner, in Georgetown, Guyana who is looking into the matter. As I await the outcome, I assure all Guyanese in the Diaspora of my utmost respect and regard for them and the circumstances surrounding my travel to Canada at this time is beyond my control,” Ali said.

Charges by SOCU
Back in November last year Ali was slapped with 19 charges for alleged conspiracy to defraud the state of some $174M for his role in the notorious Pradoville land-sale scandal. He had appeared before Chief Magistrate Ann McLennan and was released on self-bail, claiming that the charges “…have made me stronger.” Ali, 38, of Sea-spray, Leonora, West Coast Demerara, was not required to plead to the indictable charges.
The charges read that between the year 2010 and 2015, Ali conspired with persons unknown to defraud the Government of Guyana when he acted recklessly in presenting the value of 19 plots of state land situated at Plantation Sparendaam and Goedverwagting, East Coast Demerara and sold the said lands at a grossly undervalued price without first obtaining a valuation to determine the true value of the lands.

Ali is accused of defrauding the state of over $174M after selling the land at an undervalued price. The former minister of housing is accused of selling the lands to former President Bharrat Jagdeo; former Cabinet Secretary Dr. Roger Luncheon; and former ministers Priya Manickchand, Dr. Jennifer Westford, Robert Persaud and Clement Rohee; Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Shalimar Ali-Hack, and former army head Gary Best and Fortune Developers Inc., Guyana.

He also sold lands at the locations to former General Manager of the Guyana Gold Board and daughter of former President Donald Ramotar, Lisa Ramotar; former President of the Private Sector Commission, Ramesh Dookhoo; the son of former Labour Minister Dr Nanda Gopaul, Dr Ghansham Singh; former Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) Chief Executive Officer Rajendra Singh; former president of the Caribbean Development Bank, Compton Bourne; Andrew Bishop, former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission; former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Water Inc (GWI) Shaik Baksh, Safraaz Khan and George Hallaq.

Presidential candidacy
Two weeks ago Ali was chosen as the PPP’s presidential candidate beating out the likes of Anil Nandlall, Teixeira, Dr Frank Anthony and Dr Vindyha Persaud. Immediately upon the announcement, social media exploded with an avalanche of criticisms.

Canada is interfering in the internal affairs of Guyana.  This is a domestic issue and it's for the GoG to curtail the travel of anyone accused of a domestic infraction.  No wonder the Saudis told pretty boy to take a hike.

When the PPP wins, they should pour cold water on any Canadian investments into Guyana!  The PPP should also curtail non-diaspora Canadians from visiting Guyana.  Do what the Brazilians did to the US after the US made it difficult for their citizens.

This current Canadian admin is punching way over their weight class!

Y'all can gloat. Irfaan will have the last laugh. Worse than he have been allowed to enter Canada. Wait and see.

Seems like you are keeping hope alive....this is what what happens when this is the BEST the PPP can offer the nation...its a shame that it comes to this.

Canada is interfering in the internal affairs of Guyana.  This is a domestic issue and it's for the GoG to curtail the travel of anyone accused of a domestic infraction.  No wonder the Saudis told pretty boy to take a hike.

When the PPP wins, they should pour cold water on any Canadian investments into Guyana!  The PPP should also curtail non-diaspora Canadians from visiting Guyana.  Do what the Brazilians did to the US after the US made it difficult for their citizens.

This is pay back for the Charrandas fiasco, escorting him to the plane without informing the Guyanese government.

Vindyha, Anil, Gail and Anthony must be laughing lakka rass and Jaggy stewing. 

You renting again?

Bai wan invalid lakka me nah need fuh rent, dem does give good benefits hey in de US to the disabled. Ask cribby, he too riding de gravy train. 

This is pay back for the Charrandas fiasco, escorting him to the plane without informing the Guyanese government.

So they covering their tracks by digging a hole!

Don't sound like payback, sound like Canada not happy with PPP's choice or maybe they capitulating to the powerfull PNC as a beg pardon for the Charrandas incident. 

It becomes Canadian business when the candidate, and a potential president, has a background that can potentially render criminality, and wants to enter Canadian territory. Other countries have done this, Rohee was denied a visa to the US, PM Modi of India was denied entry until the Obama Admin decided to change course.

Canada has a right to dictate to Guyana, especially when they have a very liberal immigration policy that benefits Guyanese and they provide aid to Guyana...

It becomes Canadian business when the candidate, and a potential president, has a background that can potentially render criminality, and wants to enter Canadian territory. Other countries have done this, Rohee was denied a visa to the US, PM Modi of India was denied entry until the Obama Admin decided to change course.

Canada has a right to dictate to Guyana, especially when they have a very liberal immigration policy that benefits Guyanese and they provide aid to Guyana...

Wrong!!

Canada has NO right to dictate to Guyana.  Their liberal immigration is their business.  Guyana could care less!

The PPP should retaliate when they get into office!

Don't sound like payback, sound like Canada not happy with PPP's choice or maybe they capitulating to the powerfull PNC as a beg pardon for the Charrandas incident. 

Once again, that's an internal affair!

The more you post, the more you sound/read like not you!

Vish M posted:

This is just SOCU getting ahead of itself

He is not a flight risk. It is just another attempt to damage this Youngman 

The Canadian Guyanese must get their elected officials engaged

I agree.  If he is a flight risk, it's for the GoG to act, not the Canadians!

Vishnu, how can you damage a young man when he is damaged already by Jagdeo? He is a member of the Jagdeo evil empire. Things cannot get any worse than what is it right now. 

Wrong!!

Canada has NO right to dictate to Guyana.  Their liberal immigration is their business.  Guyana could care less!

The PPP should retaliate when they get into office!

Then Jagdeo should not be briefing the Canadians about the illegality of the government following the NC vote...nor should they call on Canada to send election observers.

PPP should retaliate??? Like Priya and her "feral blast"? The PPP does not understand the notion of geopolitics...Jagan with his communism surely did not....

Its an advisory from the Canadian government...not an internal interference in the election process.

It is possible that the Guyana government is also working behind the scenes to keep the Canadian government apprised of the charges....politics at play.

Its an advisory from the Canadian government...not an internal interference in the election process.

It is possible that the Guyana government is also working behind the scenes to keep the Canadian government apprised of the charges....politics at play.

They better hope Canada and US dont follow suit

When was Rohee denied a visa to the US?  He travels to the US frequently.

When I was just settling in wid Mr. Ali! I concluded he was the best choice putting aside the PNC government case on him. Those other Presidential hopefuls demonstrated the lack of courage to stand up to Jagdeo. How can they ever be up against the PNC.

Jagdeo needs to be in control and select another Presidential Candidate, if he has to.

Y'all can gloat. Irfaan will have the last laugh. Worse than he have been allowed to enter Canada. Wait and see.

Seems like you are keeping hope alive....this is what what happens when this is the BEST the PPP can offer the nation...its a shame that it comes to this.

Irfaan Ali has been charged but not yet tried and convicted. Until then the principle of presumption of innocence should be honoured. The Guyana Government has not impounded Ali's passport so he is free to travel abroad. Ali is not coming to Canada to live. The Canadian authorities know he plans to spend a short time with the Guyanese community here. Ali has no criminal record so far. There are suspected war criminals from Europe and elsewhere in Canada. Why bar Irfaan?

Maybe to appease the minister of foreign affair. He did, lash the Canandians over the exit of Charrandas.

Maybe the Americans have something to do with it. Look at the Chinee lady held in Vancover.

These negative publicity is NOT good for PPP. Instead of building on Credibility, the PPP is face to defend negative tsunami waves from all angles. 

Mr Jagdeo to be blame for this... yet again 

Mr Jagdeo...Guyana and PPP is NOT about you. 

You don’t take back a country and align yourself with questionable Caractor.. 

What is Jagdeo teaching to aspiring leaders of the PPP. 

These negative publicity is NOT good for PPP. Instead of building on Credibility, the PPP is face to defend negative tsunami waves from all angles. 

Well say Mr Dave. 

Maybe Yugi can help his good buddy Roti Ali....

Wait till Nehru come on and cuss up dem Canadians

The Canadians are very serious about convicted individuals entering their Country. Here, they are overreaching, assuming the man is guilty. I have to believe something is not right here.

Ayoo see what hustler, huckster, pusher mentality do to Guyana and dem coolie peopkle? Jagdoe muss tek blame foh dis. Foh Cyanada do dis yuh gat to be wan scamp. And de scampishness musse bigger dan juss fakin yuh certificate. Coolies what ayoo going to do? Ayoo gat to rebel against Bharrat. 

Well say Mr Dave. 

Thank You. 

alena06 posted:

PNC must have reached out to the Canadian Embassy.  Could also turn out to be a blessing in disguise for the PPP to get a better candidate.  

It seems the Guyaa "Dalai Lama" loves controversy. There were clearly other Candidates with less or no negatives. Sometimes you have to wonder about the Wisdom of some Leaders!!!

The PNC sold off lands and properties at rock-bottomed prices to individuals and businesses while they were in office.  Nobody was ever charged.  C. Jagan forgave all of them upon taking office in 1992. 

weren't you on your knees just the other day, starting a whole thread hollering

GO COMRADE IRFAAN GO!!

now you wringing yuh haan and blaming it ALL on "Mr Jagdeo"

antimanism writ large

smfh

The PNC sold off lands and properties at rock-bottomed prices to individuals and businesses while they were in office.  Nobody was ever charged.  C. Jagan forgave all of them upon taking office in 1992. 

So why there was no charges ?

Are you trying to tell me that there was no evidence to bring a case against the PNC for corruption?  You iknow the Carter Center negotiated free elections which included no recrimination for anything the PNC did in the past. Stop playing dumb and innocent.

Simply asked why there was no charges, went of on a tangent. Typical of Idiots who talks for talk sake.Educate us on the agreement with the PPP and Carter Center not to penalize the PNC.

When cornered , you ask silly questions. You are the one that would say, use the internet and google. Who is the IDIOT now.

GO COMRADE IRFAAN GO!!

antimanism writ large

smfh

A person is proven guilty until convicted by a court of law... that hasn't happen yet to Irfaan… but time is NOT on PPP side.

1. I am on record saying Jagdeo makes bad decision, but that doesn't mean I hold back my support for PPP. 

Support for Irfan .. "Go Comrade Irfan Go" is on the context of Getting the PPP in office as he is the chosen candidate. 

My comments this morning is to highlite the negativity myself as well as others has been saying … PPP don't need baggage to go into a election, and these developing situation the  PPP don't need.

When cornered , you ask silly questions. You are the one that would say, use the internet and google. Who is the IDIOT now.

Seeing you chime in, tell us why PPP didn't charge any PNC officials for wrong doings when they came into office in 1992. Help out to present the agreement between the Carter Center and the PPP not to penalize the PNC.

Django,

You are the biggest hypocrite on GNI when you say your political views are neutral.  

PPP delegation in T.O. roti shop minus Fraud Ali.

I only recognize Gail. Who are these people?

Far right is Haro Shivrattan 

Other male on the left, close to the table is Manni of Association Of Concern Guyanese Canada .

Dr Jagan wants Peace and Harmony, and decided not to file charges, you have to be ignorant to say PNC did not steal .

the Justice system was corrupted with PNC appointee . 

PPP delegation in T.O. roti shop minus Fraud Ali.

I only recognize Gail. Who are these people?

Far right is Haro Shivrattan 

Other male on the left, close to the table is Manni of Association Of Concern Guyanese Canada .

Is he we one and only balahoo who seh how he rich like rass and eat sushi? Hey hey hey...

Dr Jagan wants Peace and Harmony, and decided not to file charges, you have to be ignorant to say PNC did not steal .

I never said that.

Tell us the massive scale kleptocracy of the PNC, that's all i am asking.

Carter Center negotiated free elections which included no recrimination for anything the PNC did in the past.

This explains its self, to secure Free and Fair election which was utmost importance to the PPP, they had to forego any charges against the PNC.

Carter Center negotiated free elections which included no recrimination for anything the PNC did in the past.

This explains its self, to secure Free and Fair election which was utmost importance to the PPP, they had to forego any charges against the PNC.

Another research to find the facts.

So Free and Fair elections were utmost to PPP and not the people ?

Not everyone was for Free and Fair election.. 

the PNC don’t believe in democracy and Free and Fair election and that percentage include you..  

I never said that.

GNI site will crash if I begin to tell of the massive scale. 

Take your head out your Arss, you knows what PNC did. 

Is this an opening for Bibi bai Nandlall?  Why saddle the party with this burden? I wouldn't be surprised if the US follow suit shortly. 

Does Canada prevent Granger from flying there?  No.

Why is it that its only PPP officials who are treated this way?

Yes I know the PNC controls Ottawa, DC and London.

And when I said this you screamed that I am an anti Indian racist.

GO COMRADE IRFAAN GO!!

antimanism writ large

smfh

Canada is sending a message to the PPP.

In fact the PPP did wreak revenge against the PPP cleaning out the offices of blacks in decision making positions.

This is why Jimmy Carter stopped dealing with them.

I never said that.

Yes I will like to know because what is very evident about these PNC folks is that they were broke before 2015.  So they couldn't have stolen that much before.  The corruption then was of the petty variety. 

Its the PPP which developed the high art of mass theft.  Even today they remain quite rich.

Because Cheddi Jagan played Jesus Christ and forgave the PNC. He said: comrades, we have to move forward, not waste time on the past. 

Not everyone was for Free and Fair election.. 

the PNC don’t believe in democracy and Free and Fair election and that percentage include you.. 

Why don't you haul your a@ss. You were running in short pants, when i was supporting Jagan and the PPP.

Because Cheddi Jagan played Jesus Christ and forgave the PNC. He said: comrades, we have to move forward, not waste time on the past. 

It can be concluded, there was no agreement with the Carter Center to penalize the PNC ?

Brother, I cannot answer that question because I don't know. I know Jagan said what I paraphrased above. Admittedly I myself might have mentioned that "promise" to Carter but it was based on second-hand information.

ges ?

Cheddi so "forgave" the PNC that he fired every single black top official that he could lay his hands on.  This including those who had no PNC connections. Take a look at what he did at Foreign Affairs as an example, or when he fired black customs officers even though the Indian ones were no less corrupt.

You can live in your world about the PPP but people have memories and much of the animosity of APNU is revenge for the acts carried out by Cheddi.

Brother, I cannot answer that question because I don't know. I know Jagan said what I paraphrased above. Admittedly I myself might have mentioned that "promise" to Carter but it was based on second-hand information.

Cheddi also implied that blacks were second rate and then pretended that he was referring to US blacks when caught in that lie.

Another Cheddi act that hasn't been forgotten.  Yes the PPP was beginning to promote the lie that blacks were not qualified to be hired into top posts.

Thank you !!!

With all due respect to Irfan Ali followers. When i glanced at this article yesterday i was busy and did not grasp the entirety of the reason why the Canadians advised said Ali not to travel. I thought he might have been a danger to the plane itself.  After all, it is no easy feat trying to load a bull cow on a 737 on a trip to Canada.

Bai Sheik, you rass wicked.

Cheddi also implied that blacks were second rate 

Is that why he picked Benn over BS Rai?

and Benn went on to attack CBJ in all spheres during the PPP years in the wilderness. When PPP won in 1992, CBJ resurrected Benn to the Ambassadorship to Canada.

Robeson Benn knows good ppl, that is why he supports Jagdeo . 

I thought he might have been a danger to the plane itself.  After all, it is no easy feat trying to load a bull cow on a 737 on a trip to Canada.

NO. If that was the case he would have gotten a call from Prime Minister Rowley warning him not to destroy the property of the people of Trinidad & Tobago.  Failing that the pilot would have detected a weight problem prior to take off and then told IrFAT that he cannot be accommodated as a result.

Benn was a communist stooge so was exempted.   

But you are a Indo Nazi so reveled in the "purification of blacks" campaign mounted by the PPP. I remember you screaming that blacks are incompetent and unqualified.

Benn was a communist stooge so was exempted.   

But you are a Indo Nazi so reveled in the "purification of blacks" campaign mounted by the PPP. I remember you screaming that blacks are incompetent and unqualified.

You always making things up. You do have a lot of noise in your head. I don't think that I ever said that blacks are incompetent and unqualified. I do remember saying that blacks who suffer and live in substandard conditions are responsible for their conditions. You are losing your mind because I refuse to provide an excuse for laziness and irresponsible behavior. I continued in that same statement that everyone regardless of race is responsible for their condition. You just picked up on the comment about blacks because you are inclined to make excuses. I am not.