Originally posted by politikalamity:
I think in the 90’s at some point it was agreed verbally that the three major parties would share the mayor’s position of Georgetown, however, when it was the PPP’s candidates’ turn the other parties reneged.

Can the opposition parties candidates for speaker and assistant speaker be trusted this time around to be fair?

when has the PPP shared any poistion with anybody. Interesting that they always demand a share when the oppoistion ha sit but forgoet when it is their turn.

I mean they could have offered a ministry or two to APNU, but they didnt. Yet they want APNU to concede to the PPP all leadership poistions in parliament.
Originally posted by caribj:

when has the PPP shared any poistion with anybody. Interesting that they always demand a share when the oppoistion ha sit but forgoet when it is their turn.

I mean they could have offered a ministry or two to APNU, but they didnt. Yet they want APNU to concede to the PPP all leadership poistions in parliament.

that is not what I am asking...please stick to the question asked..focus ..focus please...
I think in the 90’s at some point it was agreed verbally that the three major parties would share the mayor’s position of Georgetown, however, when it was the PPP’s candidates’ turn the other parties reneged.

Can the opposition parties candidates for speaker and assistant speaker be trusted this time around to be fair?

Trust. Now there's a word that we haven't heard mentioned in any speeches or promises from the PPP since Guyana was established as an independent country. Funny that you should bring such a word up when referring to the opposition. In the absence of any previous references, do you know what the word trust means?

that is not what I am asking...please stick to the question asked..focus ..focus please...

So you wish me to agree with the PPP that the opposition is not working with them by awarding control of parliament to the PPP, when the PPP has done NOTHINg to share the executive branch with either APNu or AFC?

If the PPP is not interesting in inclusion...and they definitely werent between 1992 and 2011, then why should teh opposition trust them?

What has the PPP done to show good faith. Most Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP so it is appropriate that parliament not fall into PPP hands. They already control the executive branch.

This is all the answer that you deserve. Neither you nor the PPP have any right to make any demands of any one until you all show good faith, which the PPP has yet to do.

THEY LOST CONTROL OF PARLIAMENT!!!!! The people spoke and the PPP should learn from this.
Caribj: What has the PPP done to show good faith. Most Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP so it is appropriate that parliament not fall into PPP hands. They already control the executive branch.

Didn't more Guyanese vote against APNU than those who voted against PPP? And as you have stated before only 10% voted for AFC. So clearly most of those who voted preferred PPP to APNU or AFC.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Most Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP so it is appropriate that parliament not fall into PPP hands. They already control the executive branch.

Incorrect -- unless you are stating that AFC and APNU/PNC are united.

PPP/C === 32 seats
APNU === 26 seats
AFC ==== 07 seats

The statement is CORRECT!! Your 'condition' is irrelevant . . . focus

[B]Most Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP [/b] so it is appropriate that parliament not fall into PPP hands. They already control the executive branch.

Incorrect - - unless you are stating that AFC and APNU/PNC are united.

PPP/C === 32 seats
APNU === 26 seats
AFC ==== 07 seats

32+26+7 = 65. Therefore, out of 65 seats, the PPP got 32 seats out of 65 seats, which leaves 33 seats the PPP never got.

The won 32, lost 33.

So, is you wrong.

You larn something today eh?
AFC had the unique opportunity to stay clearly away from this specific election to demonstrate their initial stance of not being aligned with any political party for the development for a NEW Guyana.

The AFC has shown clearly its preference for, and hence are bound with, the PNC to became the Speaker of the National Assembly.
AFC had the unique opportunity to stay clearly away from this specific election to demonstrate their initial stance of not being aligned with any political party for the development for a NEW Guyana.

The AFC has shown clearly its preference for, and hence are bound with, the PNC to became the Speaker of the National Assembly.

AFC = PNC

Da prablim fa AFC, dem coolies get cast aside, da PNC a back up dem PNC clan in da AFC so coolie gatt demself in da UF situation. All dem who bin cuss da PPP now glad da PPP in powah and natt da PNC. At leat dem ga lil hope. Mi daady alway seh, in politics nevva cuss yuh mattie, nevva trust da Afro man. Mi tell yuh, abie foget dem early lessons abie get in da PNC dazz. Mi hope alyuh kech sense. Thank gaad da PPP hold donk da fort an' hold aff dem barbarians. Abie coolie bin done, me bin gafa run TT wid ma wife an' pickney an' dougla gyaal.
Originally posted by Nuff:
You PPP stalwarts fail to realize ... THE OPPOSITION IS COMPRISED OF ALL PARTIES EXCEPT THE PPP.

Face the facts folks! Did the PPP try to tie bundle with anyone when they were the majority?

Alyuh a celebrate da con-jab alyuh pull pon abie coolie bruddahs, datt was sly, but da a waan trick pony. You see, diss time nah lang time, is nah laka UF dayz bai, da PPP in powah an' all dem coolies a goa "go home" nex time. Da PPP gon geh 60% caazz Ramotar nah BJ. Abie gon give da man a chance. Me tell Ramotar fa focus pon abie coolies in Bbce diss time. Nah cut he nose an' nah tek shame face an' shake cocobae hand.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
APNU does not have a majority in Parliament.

They cannot run things as if they are the Governmnet.

One day when you sober up, you will come to know that the oppostion have the majority. Ask Jack Daniels or Captain Morgan.

Is there any time that you have written a post which makes sense? very soon you will be joining your alcoholic ajaa..
Originally posted by Mitwah:
APNU does not have a majority in Parliament.

They cannot run things as if they are the Governmnet.

One day when you sober up, you will come to know that the oppostion have the majority. Ask Jack Daniels or Captain Morgan.

Is there any time that you have written a post which makes sense? very soon you will be joining your alcoholic ajaa..

lol Look how me gat de GNI drunk to talk to de man in de mirror. yippie
Originally posted by Spice Girl:

Didn't more Guyanese vote against APNU than those who voted against PPP? And as you have stated before only 10% voted for AFC. So clearly most of those who voted preferred PPP to APNU or AFC.

Spice girl I know you are enraged that the PPP doesnt control all aspects of life in guyana but accept it. More Guyanese voted AGAINST them than for them...So why should either PPP Nagamootoo or PPP Ramkarrahn be the Speaker?

After all thanks to Granger the AFC has a Speaker.

Most Guyanese voted AGAINST the PPP so it is appropriate that parliament not fall into PPP hands. They already control the executive branch.

Incorrect -- unless you are stating that AFC and APNU/PNC are united.

PPP/C === 32 seats
APNU === 26 seats
AFC ==== 07 seats

26+7 is greater than 32.
The election results does not necessarily reflect bad governance as much as it reflect a power struggle within the PPP for leadership. Those who voted for the AFC are Jaganites who prefer Moses over Ramotar and not AFC over the PPP. This is little setback for the ruling party but it can adjust and come thundering over the opposition once again. Let the boys enjoy themselves. The party will be over soon with Moses going home power sober