Cheddi and Janet Jagan must be turning in their graves – says daughter at memorial

April 4, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

Ms Jagan-Brancier speaking to the audience

“My parents were probably the most incorruptible people you would ever find; their honesty and integrity were of very high standards, but unfortunately do not exist or I don’t see it in many of the leaders of the party and government.”
The comments came from the daughter of the late Guyanese leaders Dr Cheddi Jagan and Mrs Janet Jagan. She said that the current leaders of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) and government lack “the very, very, very high moral standards” which her parents embodied when they were alive.
Mrs Nadira Jagan-Brancier scolded the party for putting out platforms using her parents’ name— particularly her father’s— and not living up really and truly to what her parents had stood for. “It is not enough to go out there and make lovely speeches about who my parents were, what they did and the legacy that we’re carrying on”.
She said that her parents fought for sugar workers, the poor and down-trodden in Guyana and in the world. “That’s who they stood for, and again, I think the party has moved away— not the party but certain elements in the party— from these very, very important values that held the party together and what makes the PPP what it is and so for me, when I look at some of the things happening, my parents must be turning in their graves— but they must be churning up in the waters of the rivers (in which their ashes were sprinkled)”.
She said that if the PPP is saying that it is following Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide, “the only way you can follow them is to return to basics, return to who this party is which is the working- class party, obviously you have to support other people, but the base of this party is a working- class party, get back to being a non- corruptible party, so people can’t point a finger and say ‘there is so much corruption, why should we worry?”
The daughter of the late leaders then pleaded with the PPP/C leaders and members to get back to the high and moral values. “If the leaders don’t show the moral values then people won’t do it, and you’re children won’t grow up with moral values. And if your families don’t show moral values, then society as a whole will lose that”.
“Their lives were involved in politics so their time for me and my brother was very limited…They weren’t there the amount of hours that most people would have their parents around, but the times that they were, it was what they called quality time, not quantity…so the times they spent with us— memories that I will have for the rest of my life”.
She noted that her parents were very normal, simple, and humble people and a “very, very loving couple”. She recalled sitting down for breakfast in the mornings around the family table and listening to the news from Guyana or the BBC “and you weren’t allowed to talk”.
She noted that they lived very simple lives and told the gathering that the house in which her parents once lived, is now open to the public. “The house is there and I really encourage people to use the opportunity to go in Bel Air and see the house where they lived…They lived a very simple life; they didn’t have big ostentatious homes that you see nowadays that government officials and party officials have, which is a very sad thing, personally”.
Ms Jagan- Brancier also encouraged persons to visit the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre in Kingston. “This was when my father was Premier from 1961 to 1964”.
“Most people think of my mom as only writing for the Mirror and other political things; my mom wrote a lot of children stories— I hope that people who have children would know this. She was also a poet and wrote some beautiful poems.”
Mrs Jagan’s prison diary, she said, are all important documents that Mrs Jagan-Brancier urged persons to read. The Cheddi Jagan website is also another feature that she urged the public to access information www.jagan.org “and on this website, you will find information”.

Nothing wrong for members of the PPP to improve their standard of living. But is how fast dey do it and what ethical methods they employed.

If the Jagans had aspired for a better standard of living during their living days, perhaps the whole nation would have aspired for the same. By demonstrating a Ghandian style of false beliefs for Guynaese, they enslaved the whole nation into bondage to the present day emperors of the PPP.

As leaders, they failed to impart courage to the downtrodden. It suited their cause very well.

My country has lost it way since the days of the first PPP. Those group of men and women destroyed every pillar of the once glorious society.

They were hoodlums with education and power.

Is it any wonder that the present day Guyana is overwhelmed with thiefing, no moral standards and corruption in high places.

Let us hope better days are ahead, otherwise we are lost forever.

The young lady has a right to express herself. The Jagans standards were very very HIGH and I do expect her to think that everyone else would be of the very HIGH standard her Parents displayed. However, I will NEVER condone illegality in any form. THE PPP GOVT needs to be open and transparent in their governance. I believe that would put a stop to the Propaganda, lies and induendous that Snakeoil Sellers are peddling.

Just as Joey Jagan did not speak for his parents, neither does Nadira. She want us to believe that the Jagans were not corrupt, I submit that they were the worse and that is why Cheddi did nothing to halt corruption during his tenure as president. Corruption in the PPP did not start after Jagan died, it was nurtured under his tenure as he proved to be an inefficient weak leader. 

BERA NANCY STORY.Originally Posted by BGurd_See:

Just as Joey Jagan did not speak for his parents, neither does Nadira. She want us to believe that the Jagans were not corrupt, I submit that they were the worse and that is why Cheddi did nothing to halt corruption during his tenure as president. Corruption in the PPP did not start after Jagan died, it was nurtured under his tenure as he proved to be an inefficient weak leader. 

-------------

Oh my God! The logic of some people. I hope you went to church on the Good Friday. 

Perhaps you can give an example of corruption under the Jagans or withdraw your scurrilous statement.

Just as soon as you give examples of corruption under the present administration. Remember Jagdeo whom the AFC boys claims to be corrupt was hand picked by the Jagans to carry on their legacy. Don't play stupid and embrace the Jagans as thought they were angels. hhahah

Every normal guyanese can easily see this as a slap in the face of the PPP.....

Cheddi  Jagan Daughter exposing the thieves who using her father and mother name to fill ther pockets......this is very bad news for  “De Ramotar / Jagdeo  Cabal.”

Big_seed we understand U carryng around a Big Godie …..so U are not normal.....

BigCD  U differ from most of us here on GNI....including De Bossman …..and Cheddi Jagan Daughter Nadria who is not afraid to expose the thiefing.

Only De Godey Fellas will continue to defend De Prostitutes, De Pimps & Parasites. And carry their baggage.

Nehru,Albert from Monkey Mountain and De New Cat in town all shame and hiding now behind “De Godey-man”

Anyone draging around "Jagdeo & Ramotar Go-deeeeey" will refuse to admit to the widespread Corrupton and Thiefing in the PPP and Govt.

And Big CD if u are not careful ......soon....U might be de only one carrying de load.

Jalil, Gerhard and Mara, you guys will notice how these fellows will use Nadira's words " the very, very, very high moral standards" and turn it around and use it as a cop out (by saying it was very hard to follow because it was too high) to explain their corruption.

Dem Jagans wah "good" peeple, but dem palitiks mess up Guyana baad baad.  Yuh cyant goa wah dem pikney seh, pikney nah neceassary gatt same view from parents.  Dem wazz spile an' protected.  Abie coolies bear da brunt ah Jagan sh1tty palitiks.  Blackman bin beat, kill, tieff, rape an' do all dem baad ting pon abie, naat pon dem Jagan pikney.

De Prostitutes, Pimps and Paracites .....now saying Jagan mess up Guyana.

De Prostitute needs to tell us if Jagan thief Govt money and build mansions in Pradoville ONE and Pradoville TWO.

Did Jagan (or AFC) change the laws to pay "Jagdeo & Ramotar and De PNC Leader" big pension and retirement package.

How Jagan Mess up Guyana?

with Aunty-men and Hookers?

With fake Bamboo  Wedding????  

With Manni as Frist Lady????

By getting rid of Moses, Khemraj,Bissesar and Navin.....and replacing them with PNC Black Thugs like Lamumba, McCoy, Bynoe, Hamilton, Nascimento, McClean & McCoy who can only Boast of Thiefing, Beating Jagan Indan Supporters, Rape & Bu66ering????????

By Hiding Kwame Bu66ering ????

By Covering up De Com of Police Rape????

By thiefing de Money (90 Million) that should have paid the Police???

By giving Fip 15 Million US Dollar ?????

By signing secret contract to build Hydro????

By signing secret contract to build Mariot Hotel?????

By signing secret Deal to Expand de Airport????

By signing secret deal to build ethenol plant??????

By Building a 200 Million US Dollar white elephant at Skeldon??????

By overcharging dem poor Berbicians to cross on the Bridge?????

By the Law Book Scandal????

By De Dolphin Scandal????

BY de Lap-Top Scandal???

By the Electricity Corp Scandal????

or by DE Stellng dat float away?????

and Dem New Bridge and New Roads that Breaking up all over de place????

Maybe De Garmmont Graduates can enlighten us

STOP BEING A PROSTITUTE, PIMP or PARASITE

Change De Who-ring habits.