Granger sworn in as President

David Granger was sworn in as President of Guyana on the balcony of Parliament Building at 2.19 pm today in the presence of a large, jubilant crowd. In his speech he referred to the symbolism behind holding the swearing in ceremony at Parliament. The oath was administered to him by the acting Chancellor the Judiciary, Carl Singh after the proclamation was read by Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission, Dr Steve Surujbally.

He lauded candidates who acceded to the 11th Prliament saying that he would never prorogue it. A reference to the controversial proroguing of Parliament last year by former President Donald Ramotar.

He called for all sides to work for unity and to put aside the electoral period. He pledged to be a president for all the people.

Granger said his government will refashion society so that women, old folk and young people can have better lives.

He extended the arm of friendship to Ramotar and the PPP to join with the unity movement.

Granger announced that APNU+AFC and the former government has set up a transition team to pave the way for the change in government and to ensure the stability of the state.

Joseph Harmon has been appointed as the temporary Head of the Presidential Secretariat.

Granger led the gathering in singing lines  from the patriotic song ‘Let us cooperate for Guyana’ and invited all Guyanese to the formal inauguration ceremony at the National Stadium on May 26, Independence Day.

Granger also announced that Moses Nagamootoo will be sworn in as Prime Minister when he is formally made a Member of Parliament.

Originally Posted by alena06:

'Granger said his government will refashion society so that women, old folk and young people can have better lives'

This ass can't even speak, what the hell does refashion mean...No wonder he declined to debate.

"Refashion" means to alter, change or modify. What exactly is wrong with the Brigadier's statement?

Originally Posted by Itaname:

'Granger said his government will refashion society so that women, old folk and young people can have better lives'

This ass can't even speak, what the hell does refashion mean...No wonder he declined to debate.

"Refashion" means to alter, change or modify. What exactly is wrong with the Brigadier's statement?

No one on the international scene uses an outdated term like refashion.  Gotta be an old, dunce Guyanese.

Wouldn't be my choice of words, but you are nitpicking His speech is a vast improvement over the "ahmmmmm ahmmmmmmms..." and other diplomatic blunders of the last 23 years. Class has been restored to Guyana's presidency.

They used to say the same thing about Cheddi, that he could not speak. Burnham used to out-talk him. alena06, It is not how you speak. It is what you do! Action, speaks louder than words. Therefore, you are the ass!

Chief why De sister crying.

She saying Granger refuse fuh debate....

when Ramotar was a No Show at University of Guyana

because he was in the toilet on more important Party business.

Ow Bhai wha yuh go do now.

Dis Remind me when yuh tek away de Bracelet....

Ow Bhai yuh prapa wicked...

same way da wan was crying.

Ow Bhai we aint hearing from Vishnu

Nor Article 163 of De Limacol Act.

Bhai Richmond Hill got some Funny Fellas

dat aint running fuh nothing ....

but them got Campaign Fund

and collect and fooling People.

Our friend George de Fire Marshall say so.

bitterness is bad fuh yuh health...hehehehehe

Originally Posted by Bourdaboy:

They used to say the same thing about Cheddi, that he could not speak. Burnham used to out-talk him. alena06, It is not how you speak. It is what you do! Action, speaks louder than words. Therefore, you are the ass!

Yup, he is good at playing 'war break'.  You are a moron.

The 69-year-old Retired Brigadier in the Guyana Defence Force took the solemn oath at an early afternoon ceremony held at Parliament Building in Georgetown on Saturday in the presence of members of the diplomatic core, political leaders and other dignitaries, as well as a large crowd of supporters that spilled into nearby streets.

Born in Georgetown, Granger attended Queen’s College like former Presidents; Forbes Burnham, Cheddi Jagan and Samuel Hinds and scholars; Walter Rod...ney and Rupert Roopnaraine. After leaving Queen’s College, where he was a member of the Queen’s College Cadet Corps, Brigadier Granger joined the GDF as an officer cadet in 1965, and was commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in 1966. He received his professional military training at the Army Command and Staff College in Nigeria; the Jungle Warfare Instruction Centre in Brazil; and the School of Infantry and the Mons Officer Cadet School, respectively, in the United Kingdom. The Historian also graduated as a Valedictorian from the University of Guyana with a clean sweep of several accolades from the Faculty of Social Sciences.

GR

Granger sworn in as President

Jagdeo still cannot speak like a President, he is crude and cuss  mode, Ramotar is a little better but Burnham was the Boss for speech.

You better learn to 'REFASHION' GNI as the admin, if not you are fired.

Man I wish Guyana had a Saturday nite live comedy show like we have here. 

Originally Posted by gogo:

Jagdeo still cannot speak like a President, he is crude and cuss  mode, Ramotar is a little better but Burnham was the Boss for speech.

Gogo.....now yuh go mek the Gal start pull out she hair ....all over.

Girl Alena Ramotar is the best speaker in the world...and he does win election too.....ask Cobra.

Don't know if you remember "NO BIG TING" on the radio years ago. That was guyana's version of saturday nite live.

Alena06 was one of those who swore that the PPP would never lose. She is about to renounce any identification with Guyana.

Yup, he is good at playing 'war break'.  You are a moron.

Yup, look up who was David in the Bible. He was a man of war. Granger would not be playing 'war break.' Moses and David will bring war to them PPP crooks. God Bless our Beautiful Guyana!!

Poor or not one need to know how to dress.

Chief...... Harmond and Luncheon working out the transition.

Luncheon ask he if he want a walker.

Luncheon tell Harmond ......

Bharat use to allow Kwame fuh use de Phone fuh order Burgers.

But he do not know if Granger would stop those perks...

Ow Bhai wha yuh think?

You sound like one old bitter bitch. You are too dense to understand that refashion means "make over". Don't take it personal when he talked about  old woman. As a matter of fact, I see you can do with a make over.

Calm down alena06, were the Link Show and No big ting still around you would be parodied meficlessly.

I spell checked refashion.  No issues.

Don't worry had the PPP won Alena06 would have been screaming landslide victory and encouraging the PPP to CONTINUE to ignore the part of the population which rejected them.

Alena life is a bytch.  Now all that the PPP did might be used against them! Poor Irfaan has already felt the impact of it by being tossed out of his  old ministry.