Cabinet awaits IDB feasibility study on Amaila Falls project - Minister Harmon

MINISTER of State in Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon, told reporters yesterday that a team from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) was yesterday expected to submit their findings on the feasibility of the Amaila Falls hydroelectricity project. “I am pleased to report that, as of now, the IDB Vice-President, Mr. Alexandre Rosa, and Manager for the Caribbean Department of the IDB, Mr. Gerald Johnson… are in the country and we expect that we will have some report on the status of the economic feasibility study of the project that was to be done by the IDB,” Harmon said.

While the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), and the Alliance For Change had given limited support to the project during the 10th Parliament (2011-2015), Harmon said this was due to the demand, by the two parties, for an economic feasibility study done on the project.

The content of that report, Harmon noted, will underpin Cabinet’s position on the project that has long been on the agenda of Guyana’s Parliament.

As an aside, Harmon was asked what mechanism was used by the Government to prioritise the reviewing of projects started under the former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government. He said those were “projects for which sums of money have been spent, [and those] on which we are paying fees to the international banks on these contracts itself.”

Meanwhile, Harmon disclosed that the Government of Guyana has until early July to submit a mandate letter to the IDB indicating its commitment to continue the Amaila hydroelectricity project.

The content of that report, Harmon noted, will underpin Cabinet’s position on the project that has long been on the agenda of Guyana’s Parliament.

Cabinet awaits IDB feasibility study on Amaila Falls project - Minister Harmon, June 24, 2015, Source

Hopefully, a decision will be made soon on this project.

This Burnham Hydro Engineer

Brain Dry-up

like the Amailia Hydro Falls

But de Dunce Keep insisting

AFC-APNU  must build Amillia Hydro

because Burnham Clap eee BT.

Like De Kabaka Hydro

Originally Posted by Wally:

What good is this waterfall if it stops running during certain times of the year.

If in theory there was enough generation during the period when water is available to be able to pay for the added cost of having to maintain supplemental generation when the fall is dry then maybe yes.  We will need to see a good study on this.  One of the major concerns is that the fall will be dry during periods when demand is greatest…hot dry months.

Originally Posted by VVP:

What good is this waterfall if it stops running during certain times of the year.

If in theory there was enough generation during the period when water is available to be able to pay for the added cost of having to maintain supplemental generation when the fall is dry then maybe yes.  We will need to see a good study on this.  One of the major concerns is that the fall will be dry during periods when demand is greatest…hot dry months.

What I meant here is if there was enough generation so you could supply our demand and sell extra to, Brazil for example.  But this is not the case here.  The Amaila hyrdro is only 165 MW, which can barley supply Guyana if current off-grid load is supplied from the grid.  Everybody know that electricity cannot be stored, correct?  Every time you turn on a light  some online generator has to supply that electricity.

There are numerous hydroelectric projects world-wide which were build on streams with limited flows. However, flows from other streams were used to augment the desired needs for the stream on which the project is built.

As noted on relevant topics on GNI, I was the Executive Coordinator for similar projects in Canada and have also advised on others in other parts of the world.

Succinctly, a stream does not need to have all the desired flows for a hydroelectric power project to be built.

There are numerous hydroelectric projects world-wide which were build on streams with limited flows. However, flows from other streams were used to augment the desired needs for the stream on which the project is built.

As noted on relevant topics on GNI, I was the Executive Coordinator for similar projects in Canada and have also advised on others in other parts of the world.

Succinctly, a stream does not need to have all the desired flows for a hydroelectric power project to be built.

What kind of plant you talking about less than 0.5 MW?  Why you using the word stream and not river?

It appears that the topic and issues are beyond your comprehension.

hahaha oh $$$ bai

DG, I thought you were better than this. The questions asked here are certainly reasonable and not disrespectful to you at all. Given your extensive background in this field why not simply answer the questions or contribute something of value so we can learn something. Why this combative stance on anything and everything?

Originally Posted by Itaname:

DG, I thought you were better than this. The questions asked here are certainly reasonable and not disrespectful to you at all. Given your extensive background in this field why not simply answer the questions or contribute something of value so we can learn something. Why this combative stance on anything and everything?

In time, things will become much clearer to you.

I would like to know why Amalia given it's lack of consistency with water? What happens when it dries up or starts to dribble like Rama Can't Pee's urine stream?

I would like to know why Amalia given it's lack of consistency with water?

Brief explanation already given in this thread about three hours ago, plus on others.

What happens when it dries up or starts to dribble like Rama Can't Pee's urine stream?

Statements/questions of this kind will not get any attention from me.

What happens when it dries up or starts to dribble like Rama Can't Pee's urine stream?

Statements/questions of this kind will not get any attention from me.

Suh yuh leaving the JACKASS to BRAY.

The maan don't trust me because one day I was "cross examining " him and he said that flood systems are designed for floods to occur 36 days a year when it should be one day in 10 years.  Since then he don't trust me because he think I am trying to trip him up 

So DG what you mean by the bold above.  No trick question man.  How you will get the "head" or you talking lil baby stuff.

The maan don't trust me because one day I was "cross examining " him and he said that flood systems are designed for floods to occur 36 days a year when it should be one day in 10 years.  Since then he don't trust me because he think I am trying to trip him up 

Blatant lies as those were your statements and views.

Again and quite simple ... there is a probability that flows could occur with, e.g., one in ten year, one in fifty year, one in a hundred, one in a thousand year occurrence. That simply means that the flows have a probability of 10%, 2%, 1%, 0.01% etc., to occur.  Again and as noted, the probability flows many not occur in every year.

So DG what you mean by the bold above.  No trick question man.  How you will get the "head" or you talking lil baby stuff.

You choice to understand issues.

My statement is correct and applicable to engineering works.

Blatant lies as those were your statements and views.

Again and quite simple ... there is a probability that flows could occur with, e.g., one in ten year, one in fifty year, one in a hundred, one in a thousand year occurrence. That simply means that the flows have a probability of 10%, 2%, 1%, 0.01% etc., to occur.  Again and as noted, the probability flows many not occur in every year.

Bai I copied the thing because I know you gun seh this one day.  I'll see if I can fine it.

I would like to know why Amalia given it's lack of consistency with water?

Brief explanation already given in this thread about three hours ago, plus on others.

I read your explanation here and it is inadequate. You do not address the central questions. To wit - in the Guyana context - what other "streams" do we augment Amalia with? Is the power generated even enough (VVP's question) and others.

Nevertheless, I'll abstain further. Clearly you're not interested in discussing anything so anything you post is inconsequential to me.

You choice to understand issues.

My statement is correct and applicable to engineering works.

No wonder them bais call yuh hydro seed engineer.