Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin, has reportedly resigned as a parliamentarian amid a raging debate over politicians and the issue of dual citizenship.

Business Minister Dominic Gaskin

On Sunday, Gaskin, the son-in-law of President David Granger, reportedly met with top executives of his party, the Alliance For Change (AFC) which is the smaller faction of the Governing Coalition.
Sources said that Gaskin, who was born in the United Kingdom, reportedly opted to keep his dual citizenship and offered to resign as a Member of Parliament for the government.
Kaieteur News was told that the AFC decided to accept the resignation.
He will likely be replaced in the National Assembly by Donna Mathoo, a senior official of the party, who heads up the NCN operations in East Berbice.
Yesterday, Minister Gaskin declined to comment, and would not entertain questions denying or confirming.
Former AFC leader, Khemraj Ramjattan, the current Minister of Public Security, also said he had no comments.
“I am surprised that we are discussing this matter,” he said.
However, several sources confirmed that it happened.
The resignation would come after the High Court ruled earlier this year that persons who have sworn allegiance to foreign powers, holding two passports, are in breach of the Constitution of Guyana.
The ruling was sparked by a historic, shock no-confidence vote that was tabled by the Opposition and deemed carried by the House.
The vote, by government parliamentarian, Charrandass Persaud, according to the Constitution should have triggered early elections within 90 days. However, the Government has challenged the legality of the vote in court with the fact that Persaud had dual citizenship.
Hours after that vote, Persaud, under the protection of the Canadian High Commission, left Guyana for that North American country.
Government is also challenging the 33 votes that were carried, arguing that for such a vote, an absolute majority is needed.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...signs-as-mp-sources/

Dondadda posted:

Good....Harmon next, and all the Opposition MPs

Did you deliberately forgot Carl Greenidge or are you saying Carl can stay?

All coalition dual-citizenship MP's have resigned !!

Gaskin has done the practical and expedient thing, if not the principled thing. Why give up his priceless UK citizenship when he knows father-in-law Granger's days in government are numbered?

Dondadda posted:

Did you deliberately forgot Carl Greenidge or are you saying Carl can stay?

Karl should go....anyone with dual citizenship should go...unless they change the Constitution to allow it

What is IRFAAN is a dual citizen????

That might open the door for Nandalall...

BTW...did Irfaan find his BA degree yet???

bend over ' look up and see.

Senior, that's not a nice way to talk to a junior. The young man is curious, as we were in our youth. Be tolerant.

Gaskin has done the practical and expedient thing, if not the principled thing. Why give up his priceless UK citizenship when he knows father-in-law Granger's days in government are numbered?

And if the PNC is back in power, he could be retained as an advisor.

Irfaan can be considered as a dual citizen based on the girth of his dhall belly. He print up he Master's certificate but like he fuhget he had to do the Bachelor's first. That's the man who said that he would "correct the facts" fuh dem bhais.

Now the ball is in the PPP’s court. It is not practical to be an MP and still pledge allegiance to another country. Unless if that country is Israel.

Shut yuh rass. We prezzy here pledge allegiance to Russia.  And  he still serving America interests 

Now the ball is in the PPP’s court. It is not practical to be an MP and still pledge allegiance to another country. Unless if that country is Israel.

Shut yuh rass. We prezzy here pledge allegiance to Russia.  And  he still serving America interests 

The first part is correct, second half nah suh true.

Like you gat one a dem fake degree eh?...high school before elementary??

Irfaan can be considered as a dual citizen based on the girth of his dhall belly. He print up he Master's certificate but like he fuhget he had to do the Bachelor's first. That's the man who said that he would "correct the facts" fuh dem bhais.

Is he still using a pencil to add up dem numbers??

Gifted,skipped school.

Is he still using a pencil to add up dem numbers??

Why you having good grades in school. 

Gifted,skipped school.

Let me see...can you tell what that dude (he might be DrugB) doing wrong here???

Image result for school for the gifted pushing door instead of pulling

Gifted,skipped school.

Let me see...can you tell what that dude (he might be DrugB) doing wrong here???

Image result for school for the gifted pushing door instead of pulling

How can you pass, when you only have questions and NO answers. Don't push but pull the door.

Harmon is a hard nose black fella, same category as Lumumba. Most likely to give up dual citizenship. 

At least 4 coalition MPs have resigned. We state await Lumumba to do so.  Of course the PPP is pretending that Gail is the only dual citizen that they have.  I guess Jagdeo is scared to pee off Lumumba because that ex Hammie thug provides "vital" services to the PPP whenever violence is needed.  He and Joe Hamilton boast about their behavior in the '70s.

Do advisors get paid more than Ministers?

PNC advisors will be paid more than non-PNC Ministers. 

Wasn't Dominic in QC around your time there? I know he had another brother named Marcel who was there.

Sunil
Sunil posted:

Wasn't Dominic in QC around your time there? I know he had another brother named Marcel who was there.

Dominic was there after Mars.

Sunil posted:

Dominic was there after Mars.

Eh eh, you up posting with Baseman!   People guh the we waking up together!!  Yuh know how gossip does start!

Sunil posted:

A couple years after me. I think he was in the same year as my younger brother. 

Sunil posted:

A couple years after me. I think he was in the same year as my younger brother. 

Dawling Bibi done ansa fuh you. You can go back and get your beauty sleep 😴!