Burnham’s son-in-law appointed new CEO of GWI

GWI CEO, Dr Richard Van West-Charles

Former Health Minister and a son-in-law of the late President Forbes Burnham, Dr Richard Van West-Charles has been appointed as the new Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Guyana Water Incorporated (GWI).

He will replace former Water and Housing and Education Minister Shaik Baksh who was sent on accumulated leave after the new A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Government took office.

On Monday, GWI in a statement said that a new CEO and new Board of Directors have been appointed for the agency. It stated that Dr Van West-Charles will be focusing on the accessibility and quality of water as well as GWI’s financial viability.

Dr Van West-Charles served as Health Minister under the Burnham Government until his father-in-law died in 1985. The newly-appointed CEO is a doctor of medicine with a Master of Public Health from the University of Michigan and also holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from McMaster University, Ontario, Canada.

GWI Director Nigel Hinds

Addressing the GWI corporate management team on Friday last, the new CEO stated that access to safe, potable water was a priority on his list of areas for attention.

“Without a healthy society we cannot achieve the Guyana we are hoping to build,” he stated, adding that “paramount to maintaining good public health is access to safe water.  Hence, this area along with water quality and GWI’s financial viability are key issues I will be addressing immediately”.

Meanwhile, Nigel Hinds was appointed Chairman of the GWI Board. He possesses experience in Guyana’s financial sector as the founder and Chief Executive of Nigel Hinds Financial Services.

The other appointed members of the Board of Directors are Charles Ceres; Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Communities, Emil McGarrell; David Dewar; Christina Bissessar; Savitri Singh Sharma; Ryan Belgrave; Samantha Fedee and Deputy Mayor Patricia Chase-Green.

In 2009, Dr Van West-Charles challenged for the leadership of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), claiming that the party’s support base was “totally demoralised, cut off, disenchanted and couldn’t care less about the current PNC leadership”. At the time, former Opposition Leader Robert Corbin was heading the party. Van West-Charles’s supporters had accused Corbin’s faction, including General Secretary Oscar Clarke and stalwart Aubrey Norton, of underhand tactics to block their foray among party members and groups.

Jobs for the BOYS!!!  Hey, don't forget Granger created a new Minister position for his son-in-law Dominic Gaskin.  He is in the list of people getting new salary too.  Along with a house to live in and cars for his wife and each kid to go school - GDF driven!!!! 

All abbey a wan family!!!!

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Jobs for the BOYS!!!  Hey, don't forget Granger created a new Minister position for his son-in-law Dominic Gaskin.  He is in the list of people getting new salary too.  Along with a house to live in and cars for his wife and each kid to go school - GDF driven!!!! 

NEPOTISM is in the PNC Blood and the 2 House Slaves are no better.,  God be with Guyana. 

This appointment is a-hell-of-lot better than Ramotar's son spending billions on a fiber system, that completely failed.

Wha rass was his experience and qualification, jus getting out of diapers.

Wha dem going to do with all the failed erected towers, hang Jagdeo underwear ?

Another repeated Skeldon white-elephant.   

This appointment is a-hell-of-lot better than

Is this your Philosophy??

Nehru, tell us about Ramotar son's fiber project na.

How its benefitting all Guyanese, for the US$12K/month he was making.

Another Jagdeo failed brainwave, like Skeldon.   

Originally Posted by Tola:

If you were reading there would not have been any reason to ask such questions.  Ray can probably help you to look at old Posts.

You see, dis is our problem though Nehru. Me know where to look.

Some talk about a present failed government, but they don't address the challenges left behind, by the past government.

Issues are never cut and dry. One is often liked with another and I believe the present government has many challenges left by the past government.

This is not a PPP/APNU thing, its how different governments operate.    

He is a doctor of medicine with a masters in public health ( and all from reputable universities) so he cannot be wanting this job for the money. He obviously desires to serve his country.

Why has the incestuous family and friends in the PPP not produced similar consternation as is expressed here by you PPP knee benders? It is terrible how you are all slaves of this corrupt regime all on account of some sense of fealty to misguided ethnic pride. The PPP has completely damaged the reputation of the culture if you see them as representatives of it. 

Some talk about a present failed government, but they don't address the challenges left behind, by the past government.

Issues are never cut and dry. One is often liked with another and I believe the present government has many challenges left by the past government.

The point is I have discussed ramotar's son and Skeldon in details on many occasions.  I can ALWAYS raise my head high.

Jobs for the Sweet-Homan!!!

And what Jagdeo Create for Kwame?

was kwame De Sweet-human-in Law?

The point is I have discussed ramotar's son and Skeldon in details on many occasions.  I can ALWAYS raise my head high.

Yes Nehru agree with us....

Both Ramotar and Jagdeo

thief & waste Guyana resources.