Dear President Burnham,
When you died in 1985 a beleaguered, downtrodden, malnourished and poverty stricken nation breathed a collective sigh of relief, hoping and believing then that finally it was good riddance to very, very bad rubbish.
Now you are back…. you have changed your name but it is still seven letters long. Your hair is not as black as it was before neither are you as fat as you were back then, and even though you have changed your colour from purple to green and has tinkered with your modus operandi I know for sure that you are back, and with that knowledge the painful memories of your first sojourn here are returning and they are as fresh, (and frightening), as they were back then.
Back then the policies you implemented, the decisions you made and the manner in which you governed wreaked havoc on our nation. Democracy was dead, a dictatorship was alive and fear stalked the land. If what you did then was wrong then by no stretch of the imagination can what you are doing now be considered right.
I am only too aware, Mr. President, that ordinary people will only do the right thing when it is the easiest thing for them to do and that great people will always do the right thing when it is the right and proper thing to do. How you would like to be remembered this time around is entirely up to you but for now the signs (and the realities) are ominous (and harsh and uninspiring).
Back then it took you all of 21 years to complete your transformation from a brilliant and charismatic leader into a despotic tyrant. This time around it’s like the nation is being “rewound on fast forward” to the early 1980’s. In less than three years it’s déjà vu.
Back then you used the United Force led by Peter D’Aguair to oust the PPP government led by Cheddie Jagan out of office. This time around same stroke (though different folks), same result but in using the AFC and the smaller parties in the APNU you have proven to be smarter and wiser than you were the first time around.
In choosing to coalesce with the AFC in order to achieve your desired result you now have in your clutches a bunch of opportunists who do not understand how coalition governments work.
D’Aguair to his credit had higher levels of testosterone. Back then an unsuspecting nation learnt of Jim Jones and the People’s Temple after the fact, now we are learning of ExxonMobil and its crappy contract in similar way. Back then you had your image placed on exercise books, now its hundreds of feet higher… it’s plastered on kites.
Back then you had Rabbi Washington and members of the House of Israel go after the political opposition, now it seems as though SARU and SOCU are being made to do the same. Back then your mantra was “feed, clothe and house the nation “, now it’s “buses, boots and boats”.
Back then you spited Indo Guyanese by banning flour, potato, split peas etc, now you put sugar workers out of work by closing sugar estates. Please don’t get me wrong, for as well intentioned the thinking behind the decisions to ban then were, and to close now may be, both are perceived as anti Indian. Perception, Mr President, is everything.
Back then dissident voices were silenced, now attempts are made to shut up Lincoln Lewis and David Hinds. Back then mass games were a part of the school curriculum, now the ” mass games “, (for want of a better term ), that are being played out on a weekly basis by your administration have given rise to mass dissatisfaction, mass discontent, mass suspicion, mass disapproval, mass criticism, mass displeasure, mass discomfiture, mass distrust, mass disdain, mass disillusionment and mass disbelief. Back then you handpicked Harry Bollers as your chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission, now you have unilaterally appointed James Patterson to the same position.
Back then you rode tall in a saddle, straddling a horse whilst you trampled your nation. Now even as you continue to trample on the sense and sensibilities of your nation, there is no way I am missing the fact that you have traded that horse for a highly paid but inexplicably dumb jackass…there is no prize for guessing the name of that jackass.
Respectfully yours,
Reginald Sookram.

Burnham ah wan good and honorable man. He gi abie good edukshun but starve abie from dal and mek abie eat cassava marnin noon and nite.  And he mek abie line up all day fuh abie barrel from Merika!

Burnham never died, he is Jason from Friday the 13th.  Evil awaiting resurrection!

Can't rest in peace at the Mausoleum in the Botanical Gardens.

Is he really in there?  

Burnham never died, he is Jason from Friday the 13th.  Evil awaiting resurrection!

I got stop by the next time I visit Guyana to show my respect - take a pee after a six pack of banks...

He skont was wutliss so we guh kick he rass till we rass dead  💀 

sachin_05 posted:

I got stop by the next time I visit Guyana to show my respect - take a pee after a six pack of banks...

Bhai,visited one time with the family,had noting good to say about that despot.

Is he really in there?  

There are many who will be voting in 2020 who don't know him.  I would like to see them do away with the list of Candidates and go back to constituents and local authorities for the villages and districts like the way it was in the 60's and coalition after the general elections.

Is he really in there?  

Something looking like him.

Watch out for Burnham rice flour roti. 

With the increasing demand for gluten free foods, rice-flour can be a great choice. It's high in fibre and  may even protect the liver. It may lower blood cholesterol and keep blood sugar levels in check. Research is showing that it may even help minimize the risk of diverticular / colon disease, type-2 diabetes and hypertension. The rice maar contains choline.

This man should be given a Doctorate. 

Watch out for Burnham rice flour roti. 

With the increasing demand for gluten free foods, rice-flour can be a great choice. It's high in fibre and  may even protect the liver. It may lower blood cholesterol and keep blood sugar levels in check. Research is showing that it may even help minimize the risk of diverticular / colon disease, type-2 diabetes and hypertension. The rice maar contains choline.

This man should be given a Doctorate.  

Seems like lots of foods that Burnham denied Guyanese are actually good for our health. Trouble is that that did not seem to be his objective. Just like how a bank robber killing his accomplice while taking a shot at a police officer isn't heralded a hero, Burnham doesn't get credit for those now determined health benefits.

Back in Burnham days I could never understand how so many black people you run into was ready to chew your head off to defend his policies. They would put a twist on everything that they cannot defend to blame imperialist, opposition, America and everyone else. Today I am experience the other side - the coolies who would chew you ass to defend Jagdeo screw ups. I even get chew up from one of my own family trying to explain Jagdeo salary vs his assets accumulated during his rule dosnt jibe, he told me 'shut yuh rass, he wuk fuh da'  

sachin_05 posted:

Back in Burnham days I could never understand how so many black people you run into was ready to chew your head off to defend his policies. They would put a twist on everything that they cannot defend to blame imperialist, opposition, America and everyone else. Today I am experience the other side - the coolies who would chew you ass to defend Jagdeo screw ups. I even get chew up from one of my own family trying to explain Jagdeo salary vs his assets accumulated during his rule dosnt jibe, he told me 'shut yuh rass, he wuk fuh da'  

Maybe your relative's life/livelihood wasn't/isn't affected/depended on Jagdeo's actions like how so many deprived blacks were affected/depended by Burnham's actions. People don't generally lose sleep over what others do unless it affects them personally. In the political arena, people use the words/actions of politicians to advance their own ambitions. Look for instance how the AFC made all those promises to the people they accused the PPP government of abusing. Then they got into government and promptly proceeded to fill their own pockets completely forgetting those people they promised to look out for. Remember the promise to rice farmers? What about the salary raises they were going to give all Guyanese? What about not doing anything that even had an apparent conflict with good governance and integrity? See, I come here for entertainment. I really don't give a shit about Guyana. I sincerely don't think Guyana has anyone who is or will enter politics who is not in it for his own interest. And even if you forget about politics, Guyana has scoundrels in all walks of life who will have no qualms taking advantage of another weaker than them. People in Guyana rob and cheat others every day and lose no sleep over it.

Well said brother Kaz, Sachin is drank too much AFC could aid.

His daily rant is all about Jagdeo this and Jagdeo that while his AFC/PNC finds loot and rob the treasury. Some people prappa stupidy.

GFY.

sachin_05 posted:

You should listen to your SMART family, "shut yuh rass"

THE MAN ON HORSEBACK

There used to be a running joke about the late President of Guyana, Forbes Burnham and horseback riding. This was before the joke turned to reality in the 1970’s and 1980’s.
The joke stemmed from a gift of three horses which Burnham was said to have received on a trip to the United Kingdom after he became Prime Minister.
When he later visited the United States, it was said that the then President Lyndon Johnson presented him with a saddle, and the joke was that Burnham was told to go and ride the Guyanese people. Both countries of course knew that Burnham loved horseback riding and they feted his desire.
The joke about Burnham and horseback riding became a painful reality when Forbes Burnham devastated the economy of his country and left people who once enjoyed a comfortable living in dire deprivation while he went off on overseas trips with plane loads of officials.
But the lasting image of Forbes Burnham for many remains a leader who loved to ride around on horseback while his people suffered.
Those who still idolize Forbes Burnham wish to get rid of the image of the late dictator as a man who rode about on horseback looking down on his people. They wish to disabuse the country of the image of Burnham having office workers coerced to work on a plantation which he treated as if it was his own personal property.
Managers of government enterprises were forced to go to Hope Estate on weekends and do work that they would have otherwise consider beneath them. They were forced to literally step into the mud to weed coconut beds and clear drains while the dictator rode around like an overlord belching out orders. It was a most humiliating exercise for these state workers and many wish to remove that terrible memory.
More humiliating was that many of them could not refuse because to do so would be to invite dismissal. Many also went to be able to get to buy food items. It is an experience that is unthinkable these days. But an entire nation had to go through this because this was what the former dictator wanted.
Burnham did not get his feet muddy on the estate. He was high up on his horse. His feet hung over the sides of his horse and made a distinctive sight because of the striking leather riding boots which he loved to wear whilst riding.
But Burnham’s fascination with horseback riding preceded the Hope Estate experience. Burnham was a horseman. Just after he took power in the 1960’s he could be seen every morning riding his horse around the city, often with a bunch of children excitedly running alongside the horses.
Unlike many leaders who come down to the level of the people, Forbes Burnham loved to interact with the people from atop a horseback. He used to go through the city meeting his constituents while riding a horse. He would usually end his ride near to the Georgetown Seawall. So his love for horses dated back to his early days as Prime Minister and did not, as so many feel, develop during his latter years when his socialist experiment brought nothing but ruin to the economy.
When things dipped for the worse, food became short and Burnham responded with yet another of his thoughtless ideas. He decided that people should plant every available piece of land, including the parapets in front of their homes.
Instead of trying to deal with the problems of poor drainage facing farmers, Forbes Burnham decided to make every citizen a farmer. And so he used to go around on horseback every morning, often in the company of a senior police officer who was also a good rider. He used to go around sharing out cassava sticks and urging people to plant the parapets in front of their homes.
Not many took him seriously but from his position looking down on the suffering people, he did not notice the public indifference to his ridiculous idea.
While no one should ever deny that he was an anti-imperialist and was opposed to colonialism in Guyana and elsewhere, Forbes Burnham loved the trappings of monarchial power. He dressed like a colonist, enjoyed their pastimes and according to one political elder, spoke with Churchillian pauses.
And yes he did take Guyana for a good ride.

Source:

"They wish to disabuse the country of the image of Burnham having office workers coerced to work on a plantation which he treated as if it was his own personal property.
Managers of government enterprises were forced to go to Hope Estate on weekends and do work that they would have otherwise consider beneath them. They were forced to literally step into the mud to weed coconut beds and clear drains while the dictator rode around like an overlord belching out orders. It was a most humiliating exercise for these state workers and many wish to remove that terrible memory.
More humiliating was that many of them could not refuse because to do so would be to invite dismissal. Many also went to be able to get to buy food items. It is an experience that is unthinkable these days. But an entire nation had to go through this because this was what the former dictator wanted."

Thankfully not me. I was too ignorant to understand the ramifications of refusing to go to Hope Estate. Every time our boss tells us that we have to go, I would say that I am not waking up early on Sunday to go Hope. Everyone at work knew that I disliked Burnham. He was so wutliss that they would tell us on Saturday that we need to go on Sunday. That son of a bitch was the worst sore on Guyana. I know that he it rotting in hell.

"Unlike many leaders who come down to the level of the people, Forbes Burnham loved to interact with the people from atop a horseback."

Not always. There were times when he did come down to sell his New Nations newspaper at Kitty market. But even then he was crooked. His paper was sold for 10 cents. In fact it was worth much less. However, if you give him a dollar, he didn't give you back any change. A con man from day one.

"Unlike many leaders who come down to the level of the people, Forbes Burnham loved to interact with the people from atop a horseback."

Not always. There were times when he did come down to sell his New Nations newspaper at Kitty market. But even then he was crooked. His paper was sold for 10 cents. In fact it was worth much less. However, if you give him a dollar, he didn't give you back any change. A con man from day one.

he right fuh tek yuh dollar and doan give no change

why you buying in de 1st place?

sachin_05 posted:

You should listen to your SMART family, "shut yuh rass"

Is it your smarts or scraveness mek accompany yuh PNC buddy for free lunch, when them coolie serve yall the PNC shirtjack special - Dhall puri and duck curry lace with duck shit...ha! ha ha....

The koolaid is fuh the PPP losers ....AFC now serving Dom Perignon, you should try it sometime....

• mceclip1
sachin_05 posted:

The koolaid is fuh the PPP losers ....AFC now serving Dom Perignon, you should try it sometime....

The PNC gon lock up the AFC, ask Charrandass. Lucky to get koolaid in jail.

I never bought the New Nation paper.

uh huh