Forbes Burnham transformed Guyana from divided colony -Pres. Granger

President Granger in his remarks said that the late Forbes Burnham was the author of social cohesion and architect of national unity, who transformed Guyana from a divided colony to a more united and less unequal country.

Forbes Burnham transformed Guyana from divided colony -Pres. Granger

(MOTP) President David Granger, on Saturday morning, paid tribute to Guyana’s first Executive President and founder of the People’s National Congress (PNC), Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, O.E., S.C, on the occasion of the 31st anniversary of his death. The wreath laying ceremony was held at the Mausoleum at the Seven Ponds in the Botanical Gardens, where the former President was laid to rest.

President Granger in his remarks said that the late Forbes Burnham was the author of social cohesion and architect of national unity, who transformed Guyana from a divided colony to a more united and less unequal country.

“He established order out of chaos and conciliation out of conflict…he fought against the marginalisation and segregation of the colonial regime into which he was born and sought to create a society of equality and inclusivity for posterity. It was through his visionary leadership and wise stewardship that the foundation of a just and cohesive society was laid,” he said.

The Head of State made reference to a public broadcast made by Forbes Burnham in 1964 after he was sworn in as President during which he said that, “this Government holds that all the people of this country are equally important, whether they belong to a large group or a small group. To us, the Amerindians are important. To us, the Chinese are important. To us, the Portuguese are important. To us, the Europeans are important. To us, the mixed races are important. To us, the Africans are important. To us, the Indians are important. In short, all Guianese are important and valued members of our community and we cherish them and consider that, as a Government, it is our duty and privilege to guard, protect and further the real interests of all.”

Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 7.21.29 AM

President Granger said that the sentiments and precepts adumbrated in this statement by Mr. Burnham over 50 years ago are permanent and paramount today as his Administration proceeds along the path of national unity and social integration.

“It is our Government’s duty today, as it was fifty years ago, to protect the interests of all and not of some. The people cannot be imprisoned in ethnic enclaves. The people are not the property of one or other political party. Forbes Burnham’s ideas were for all time and for all Guyanese… We recall Forbes Burnham’s wise counsel of cohesion today, whenever the voices of divisiveness are raised; wherever the hand of hostility tries to hit and hurt our vulnerable citizens and by whosoever peddles the propaganda of separateness among our people,” the President said.

He said that Mr. Burnham was devoted to the task of rebuilding a society that was free of discrimination, distrust and disorder, determined to destroy the bastions of prejudice, social injustice and inequality, vices, which sustained a stagnant colony and dedicated to providing equal opportunities to all citizens to enable them to develop their talents.

Similar sentiments were expressed by Minister of Social Cohesion, Amna Ally, who, in a brief comment said Forbes Burnham always advanced the concepts of working together and of national unity. She said that a good example of Burnham’s policy on inclusivity is the coalition he forged between the PNC and the United Force.  Minister Ally indicated that there is greater awareness across the country, with regard to the need for social cohesion and credited this to the administration’s policy and the work of her Ministry, which   has embarked on a sensitisation campaign.

“They [Guyanese] have begun to see the importance of us working together. They have begun to see the importance of bridging the gaps so that we can foster social cohesion in our communities. They are seeing the benefits…” the Minister said.

Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 7.24.33 AM

She informed that her Ministry is currently engaged in a number of projects such as training programmes in the various regions. The Ministry is also working closely with religious organisations, youths and non-governmental organisations all with the aim of fostering a more cohesive Guyanese society.

Meanwhile, Alistair Sonaram, who was one of those who attended the wreath laying ceremony described the late President as a visionary, a fighter and a true leader. He said that he believes strongly that if Mr. Burnham was alive today, Guyanese would have been living in a more cohesive society rather than being segregated on the basis of ethnicity. He said that citizens need to stop looking at the colour of each other’s skin and see themselves as one. “Colour should not matter in our nation, we have lost our way in that sense and if we are to live together, we have to accept each other for who we are.”

Dakarai Griffith a member of the Guyana Youth and Student Movement said that growing up he heard a lot about Forbes Burnham’s ideologies and strict method of leadership. “He the foundation for Guyana and made Guyana what it is today and I believe that this Government will make Guyana the breadbasket of the Caribbean, which was Burnham’s vision,” he said.

Speaking about Mr. Burnham’s contribution to racial harmony in Guyana, Griffith said that the in a country with so many different ethnic groups, Guyana cannot afford to be divided. He said that he is currently in the process of setting up a non-governmental organisation to educate the young generation on Forbes Burnham’s ideologies and legacy.

Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham served Prime Minister of Guyana from 1964 and as President from 1980 until the time of his death in 1985 at the age of 62. He was a lawyer, a politician, a fierce freedom fighter and a father of six children.

alena06 posted:

From day one some of us saw the writing on the wall - GRANGER = BURNHAM.  Poor AFC were stupid enough to get screwed!!

Uncle Tom is not stupid BUT he is the best Neemakaram PARASITE on the Planet. It is about him despite being a SLAVE!!!!!!!!!!!

I do not agree that a situation of social cohesion existed between 1964 and 1992. But I know for a fact that thousands of Indians had deserted the PPP and openly supported the PNC regime. Only 5 years had passed since the PPP was removed from office when I joined the party. Immediately, some Indian friends and relatives in West Demerara tried to discourage me. Some said Jagan was old and should retire. Some said Jagan was flogging a dead horse [PPP]. Some said a bright young man like me must have ambition. As the years progressed through the 1970s and 1980s, while I was a PPP activist, leading PPP functionaries were crossing the floor and joining the PNC. As each had his own personal loyalists, each took lower-level PPP members along to the PNC. Teachers like Salahuddin from Wakenaam and Joshua Chowritmootoo from Berbice joined the PNC. Basdeo Bhaggan, Idris Deen, Mustapha Ally and other Berbicians did so too. Sattie Jaiserisingh, Zaheerudeen, Kayman Sankar, Basil Persaud, Harold Persaud, Manniram Prashad, Dr Hughley Hanoman and other prominent community leaders joined the bandwagon. PPP parliamentarians like Mohamed Safee, K. Zaman Ali, Vincent Teekah, Harry Lall, Ranji Chandisingh, Bhola Persaud and others made headlines in the press when they left the PPP. When I served as Secretary of the Georgetown PPP group in the 1980s there were only about 10 regular members at group meetings, 5 of whom were blacks. So, with a mass exodus to the PNC from PPP strongholds, it is easy to see why President Granger talks about social cohesion. He should recognize that most Indians had joined the PNC out of sheer opportunism and self-interest to get and protect jobs, business, security etc. They were not PNC members because they loved black people. Only a few of them joined out of conviction and a genuine desire to break down the race barrier.

Thanks Gilly bhai(Paccu).

Granger is lying to himself. His self deception is not our reality. Burnham was a racist. The international community acknowledged that. When he was organizing the bombing or Reo Cinema where women and children were murdered he was not thinking of racial harmony. His entire rule was illegal and oppressive.

Granger was part of this security forces which between military and paramilitary and reserve came to some 26 thousand people and all mainly of African descent.. That was not accidental and it alone is a reality Granger needs to take into account and reflect what the hell is he talking about.

It is good or him to ask the Europeans to apologize and yet he is here trying to re write history and also to resist apologizing to the Guyanese people for PNC wrongs. Note I do not ask for such and he should desist from insulting us with this crap of Burnam being race neutral. He was intractably a racist and came to power by practicing racism.

Social Cohesion crap - Why the Portugese, Chinese, and Indians began to flee in the sixties??? Why Amerindians never left their jungle home until the nineties? 

Funny thing this.  Between 1960 and 1970 the Indian population increased significantly.  The Guyana population was under 600k in 1960 and reached 700k by 1970.  Indians were LESS than 50% in 1960 and reached 51% by 1970.  The Indian population therefore increased at a FASTER rate than did other groups.

Now let us look at the PPP.  The Indian population not only dropped in relative terms from 49% in 1991 to 40% by 2012.  It also dropped in ABSOLUTE terms.

So clearly Indians fled the PPP?

Granger is lying to himself. His self deception is not our reality. Burnham was a racist. The international community acknowledged that. When he was organizing the bombing or Reo Cinema where women and children were murdered he was not thinking of racial harmony. His entire rule was illegal and oppressive.

Granger was part of this security forces which between military and paramilitary and reserve came to some 26 thousand people and all mainly of African descent.. That was not accidental and it alone is a reality Granger needs to take into account and reflect what the hell is he talking about.

It is good or him to ask the Europeans to apologize and yet he is here trying to re write history and also to resist apologizing to the Guyanese people for PNC wrongs. Note I do not ask for such and he should desist from insulting us with this crap of Burnam being race neutral. He was intractably a racist and came to power by practicing racism.

Fair comments, and Jagdeo was just as bad.  Except that the victims were blacks.  Now he screams and cries as if blacks under his rule lived in paradise and its only since last year that racism and ethnic exclusion resumed in Guyana.

Forbes Burnham rigged every election after 1964 and these activities were prominently revealed by independent international organizations and the said information are always available for anyone to review and learn of the instances and issues.

Free and independent elections were returned to Guyana in 1992.

However, there are indications that through David Granger and PNC group, free and independent election may cease for the 2020 elections.

David Granger is a strong loyalist of Forbes Burnham from the late 1960's when he was a in the army.

Burnham's rigging of the election was so blatant that he obtained about 80% of the votes and hence he then could unilaterally make the changes to the constitution for which now there are mass clamoring for those said changes to be removed from the constitution.

However, those changes can only be made with at least 66% of the MPs.

However, there are indications that through David Granger and PNC group, free and independent election may cease for the 2020 elections.

Why? Granger won the election.  And Jagdeo is determined to chase away every non Indian from the PPP.

Granger need not worry about the PPP until the PPP fixes itself. 

Jagdeo is in full warfare mode. AGAINST the PPP.

Do you not know that in 1973 Indians were the largest bloc at 50%.  But by 2020 they will be around 40%?

Carib already stole the votes of the Amerindians and Mixed in the 2020 elections. In the past, the East Indians votes were stolen to give the PNC a majority, but now there is no need to steal their votes.  They just have to steal the votes of the Mixed and Amerindian. 

I call on the Amerindian and Mixed Peoples to be vigilant against PNC electoral fraud. It's in the planning stage and will materialize in 2020. Amerindians must demand meaningful representation in government and not be treated as pawns in this battle between the forces of democracy and that of totalitarianism.

Carib already stole the votes of the Amerindians and Mixed in the 2020 elections. In the past, the East Indians votes were stolen to give the PNC a majority, but now there is no need to steal their votes.  They just have to steal the votes of the Mixed and Amerindian. 

I call on the Amerindian and Mixed Peoples to be vigilant against PNC electoral fraud. It's in the planning stage and will materialize in 2020. Amerindians must demand meaningful representation in government and not be treated as pawns in this battle between the forces of democracy and that of totalitarianism.

The mixed votes already go to the PNC, unless you can show how they get 41% of the votes, consistently when the African voting age population was 32% and the mixed was around 10%.  This was true consistently in the 1997, and 2001 elections.  In 2006 they split the mixed and black vote with the AFC.

One can look at the black+mixed population in Regions 2,3, 5 and 6 and figure out what the APNU and AFC vote will be.

The PPP LOST Lethem and tied with Mabaruma in the last LGE.  These should have been easy victories for the PPP. So cease your screams that I am taking the Amerindian votes.  They are going as the PPP doesn't own them and its clear that Amerindians support the government of the day as they sell votes to get patronage.  They don't like coastal people will not permanently ally with any one coastal party.  Those days ended with the UF.

All day you all PPP racists are screaming that Douglas are the result of a plot to contaminate Indians, that blacks are violent, lazy, spendthrift and useless and that Amerindians are primitive.  These groups have gotten the message from the PPP loud and clear.  While APNU AFC might be useless as least they don't harbor this hate towards these groups that the PPP does,

I suggest that you take a look at Mark Benschop, Raphael Trotman, Ministers Gaskin and Holder, and the mayor and deputy mayor of G/T when you scream about what mixed people should do.  These all fit under the PPP definition of "blacks" and were damned in that infamous Chronicle editorial in the same way as more fully African descended people are.

The PPP cannot scream Indianism and then act in shock when the 60% of the population which does NOT identify as Indian feel that the PPP rejects them. 

Funny thing this.  Between 1960 and 1970 the Indian population increased significantly.  The Guyana population was under 600k in 1960 and reached 700k by 1970.  Indians were LESS than 50% in 1960 and reached 51% by 1970.  The Indian population therefore increased at a FASTER rate than did other groups.

Now let us look at the PPP.  The Indian population not only dropped in relative terms from 49% in 1991 to 40% by 2012.  It also dropped in ABSOLUTE terms.

So clearly Indians fled the PPP?

Weak analysis bai. By 1991 through today, emigration has become a number one aspiration for every Guyanese. Not the same prior to the 1973 elections. It is now 15 months since the new government assumed office and I am sure the emigration trend has either remain flat or increased.

Weak analysis bai. By 1991 through today,..

Why?  If the PPP was as wonderful as some of you all scream that it is by now rates of emigration would have slowed.  And in fact there would even be some return migration.  You all forget that you all were in power for 23 years!  That is a GENERATION. More than enough time to reverse the huge demand for Guyanese to flee.

But what do we have here.  The same decade (2000-2010) that the US Embassy saw reduced visa issuance to the USA was the same decade which saw a decline in the population. 

Note that it was in this same post 2000 period when the Islanders' screams of being over run by Guyanese reached an even higher crescendo than ever before.  And to their chagrin, even as their economies slumped after 2008, and have yet to fully recover the presence if Guyanese is noted.  And among them are large numbers of Indians.

Apparently as the USA became more difficult to migrate to, desperate Guyanese, including PPP supporters, fled to the Caribbean, including some of the most remote coral reefs and volcanic peaks.  How come Guyanese discovered that an island called Saba existed.  Literally a volcanic crater.

Region 6 has seen a 25% drop in population since 1991.  No other region has seen as high a drop.  This being the most Indian of all of the regions.

So yes Indians fled the PNC, but they also fled the PPP.

Just as a side note. Hurricane Ivan hit Grenada just over 10 years ago.  Guyanese, as well as Grenadians who didn't support the then ruling party got no help.  The vast majority of homes on that island suffered severe structural damage. 

Jagdeo decided to invite the 4000 Guyanese living on that island to return home, promising free package.  A scant 400 did.  I will amuse myself with your excuses for Guyanese preferring to remain in Grenada in one of the most difficult times of that island's history.

I agree with Granger that Burnham was the architect or national unity. After all, even people who weren't even alive voted to make Burnham President for life.  

Jagdeo wished that he can do that, but those irritating blacks and the ABC nations prevent things like that.

No wonder the man is in a  bad mood, roaming the world speaking in code screaming " we gun tek back Guyana for Indians from dem blackman".  

This is after the "we" was defined as PPP supporters, so we know exactly who "them" is.  Yes the same ones who Jagdeo wailed would be spending all day raping and killing Indians and Amerindians if the PPP lost.

What amazes me is that with all of this abuse you all actually expect that blacks should vote PPP!

Why?  If the PPP was as wonderful as some of you all scream that it is by now rates of emigration would have slowed.  And in fact there would even be some return migration.  You all forget that you all were in power for 23 years!  That is a GENERATION. More than enough time to reverse the huge demand for Guyanese to flee.

But what do we have here.  The same decade (2000-2010) that the US Embassy saw reduced visa issuance to the USA was the same decade which saw a decline in the population. 

Note that it was in this same post 2000 period when the Islanders' screams of being over run by Guyanese reached an even higher crescendo than ever before.  And to their chagrin, even as their economies slumped after 2008, and have yet to fully recover the presence if Guyanese is noted.  And among them are large numbers of Indians.

Apparently as the USA became more difficult to migrate to, desperate Guyanese, including PPP supporters, fled to the Caribbean, including some of the most remote coral reefs and volcanic peaks.  How come Guyanese discovered that an island called Saba existed.  Literally a volcanic crater.

Region 6 has seen a 25% drop in population since 1991.  No other region has seen as high a drop.  This being the most Indian of all of the regions.

So yes Indians fled the PNC, but they also fled the PPP.

Just as a side note. Hurricane Ivan hit Grenada just over 10 years ago.  Guyanese, as well as Grenadians who didn't support the then ruling party got no help.  The vast majority of homes on that island suffered severe structural damage. 

Jagdeo decided to invite the 4000 Guyanese living on that island to return home, promising free package.  A scant 400 did.  I will amuse myself with your excuses for Guyanese preferring to remain in Grenada in one of the most difficult times of that island's history.

Still weak bai. No president of Guyana would make anyone give up the opportunity to live in the US or Canada or anywhere else better than Guyana.

I agree with Granger that Burnham was the architect or national unity. After all, even people who weren't even alive voted to make Burnham President for life.  

Jagdeo wished that he can do that, but those irritating blacks and the ABC nations prevent things like that.

No wonder the man is in a  bad mood, roaming the world speaking in code screaming " we gun tek back Guyana for Indians from dem blackman".  

This is after the "we" was defined as PPP supporters, so we know exactly who "them" is.  Yes the same ones who Jagdeo wailed would be spending all day raping and killing Indians and Amerindians if the PPP lost.

What amazes me is that with all of this abuse you all actually expect that blacks should vote PPP!

You have to stop obsessing over Jagdeo. He demitted office in 2011 while still alive. Only death could have plied Burnham away from that presidential post.

Still weak bai. No president of Guyana would make anyone give up the opportunity to live in the US or Canada or anywhere else better than Guyana.

And yet Grenada, T&T, Suriname, Barbados, Antigua, St Kitts Nevis, St Maarten and Tortola are PACKED with Guyanese.

So what is your excuse now.   I wasn't aware that these islands were located in North America.

Like I said, your excuses to avoid the fact that after 2000 there was a shift AWAY from migration to North America to the Caribbean would be hilarious.

LIAT has a flight called which I call the Guyana Express.  Flying from Guyana to Barbados, Antigua, St Kitts and Tortola. PACKED with Guyanese.

The Prime Minister of Antigua at a recent CARICOM meeting announced that up to 20% of that island's population (90k) is Guyanese.  Think about the fact that most of these Guyanese live around the capital meaning that only G/T and Linden are Guyanese towns with  populations of Guyanese larger than that of the greater St Johns area.

When cricket is played in Antigua and St Kitts MORE Guyanese show up than the locals!  You should see the stands with the Golden Arrowhead. Yes Guyanese who live on those islands plus those from the surrounding islands.

So keep me laughing with your pathetic attempt to avoid this fact.

Only a racist and dutty scoundrel would heap praise on a ruthless and racist dictator who raped democracy and whose hatred towards Indos is unimaginable.

Granger's comments are totally unacceptable and now shows the true colours of this Modern Day Burnhamite.

SHAME ON  GRANGER !!!!

SHAME !!! SHAME !!!

This should not be a surprise to you if you were following Granger's words and actions since who took leadership reigns from Robert Corbin.  Granger presented a paper at a conference in Santiago, Chile in which he claimed that Guyanese Indians were responsible for the biggest terrorist act in Latin America.  He was referring to Wismar.  At most of his meetings he reverred LFS as a hero. 

Why? Granger won the election.  And Jagdeo is determined to chase away every non Indian from the PPP.

Granger need not worry about the PPP until the PPP fixes itself. 

Jagdeo is in full warfare mode. AGAINST the PPP.

Do you not know that in 1973 Indians were the largest bloc at 50%.  But by 2020 they will be around 40%?

Your usual balderdash.

.Guyanese Indians were responsible for the biggest terrorist act in Latin America.  He was referring to Wismar.  At most of his meetings he reverred LFS as a hero. 

The PYO were responsible for Son Chapman.  MORE people died in that bombing than died in the two riots in Wismar.

Now do your Indo KKK screaming and deny this fact.  The dishonest and racist creep that you are probably had orgasms when you heard that so many blacks were MURDERED.

Yes the PYO killed 43 black people that day.  THAT was the biggest terrorist act.

Gilbakka Ramson Sr was a PNC man too.

That's right. Father of PPP AG Charles Ramson was a PNC MP. Sydney Sukhu, Jean Maitland-Singh, Rowena Bacchus, Philomena Rayman, Haroon Rasheed etc were all PNC MPs. 

Since the early '70s the number one act of almost all Guyanese is to migrate elsewhere regardless of their race or political affiliation or which party was in government. It is a weak analysis to use immigration as an element to quantify the performances of the different parliaments. 

Shit heads do that all the time.

.Guyanese Indians were responsible for the biggest terrorist act in Latin America.  He was referring to Wismar.  At most of his meetings he reverred LFS as a hero. 

The PYO were responsible for Son Chapman.  MORE people died in that bombing than died in the two riots in Wismar.

Now do your Indo KKK screaming and deny this fact.  The dishonest and racist creep that you are probably had orgasms when you heard that so many blacks were MURDERED.

Yes the PYO killed 43 black people that day.  THAT was the biggest terrorist act.

Since then more coolies have been killed by blacks.

In 1970 Indians were 51% of the population. BY 2012 they had dropped to 40%.  In 1970 the African population was 30% and is now 29%.

I think that there is reason to discuss massive Indo migration and the fact that the biggest drop occurred under PPP rule.

I continue to be amused by your ignoraing the fact that many PPP supporters, now long able to find paradise in the USA and Canada after 2000, went for their paradise in Grenada and St Kitts.

If the PPP was so great why did so many Guyanese flee to these small islands AFTER 2000?  That has NOTHING to do with migration to wealthy nations.

Now let us look at electoral politics in Guyana.

Blacks and mixed traditionally supported the PNC, and more recently the AFC. 

Indians traditionally supported the PPP.

Amerindians don't care much about the politics of the coast and since the collapse of the UF, sell their votes to the party in power in exchange for largesse.  So Region 9 overwhelmingly voted PPP when that party was in power, and with the LGE, with APNU AFC in power, the switch to the latter.

So based upon this with free and fair elections in 1992 the PPP won. The PNC was at 41% of the votes.  The black and the mixed was 44%. 

Given that the PNC got almost no East Indian or Amerindian votes in 1991 it means that it gobbled up over 90% of the black and mixed vote, a pattern which remains true today, even though the PPP had 23 years to build a base in those blocs.

Now as the Indo voting age population (assuming that higher migration rates end) is now projected at 43% at 2020, with over 90% of the black/mixed population voting against it, and with the Amerindian population swimming away from it.

Scream as you wish but the PPP is headed to defeat in 2020 unless it improves its performance among black/mixed voters!

By 2020 the black and the mixed voting age population will be 48%!

alena06 posted:

From day one some of us saw the writing on the wall - GRANGER = BURNHAM.  Poor AFC were stupid enough to get screwed!!

Burnham united Guyana after unleashing his pit bulls to go and commit genocide against indians.  He then capped it off with almost three decades of Aparthied rule.  Burnham was Guyana's uniter as mush as Pik Botha was in the RSA.

Granger has zero shame!!

ba$eman posted:
alena06 posted:

Burnham united Guyana after unleashing his pit bulls to go and commit genocide against indians.  He then capped it off with almost three decades of Aparthied rule.  Burnham was Guyana's uniter as mush as Pik Botha was in the RSA.

Granger has zero shame!!

And Jagdeo copied Burnham to the letter in his racist assaults on blacks.

So what is your ranting about.  You got your revenge and now others are having revenge against you.

In 1970 Indians were 51% of the population. BY 2012 they had dropped to 40%.  In 1970 the African population was 30% and is now 29%.

Maybe all this mean is that Indians were in a better position or more willing to facilitate the migration of their relatives than blacks were. Nonetheless, the number one objective of almost all Guyanese is to leave Guyana regardless of who is the government.

ba$eman posted:
alena06 posted:

Granger has zero shame!!

And Jagdeo copied Burnham to the letter in his racist assaults on blacks.

So what is your ranting about.  You got your revenge and now others are having revenge against you.

Is not Burnham got all alyuh Guyana Blacks holed up in alyuh lil corner running behind Black Lives Matter and dodging cops in the USA?.  Some dream realized! Surely, you must know that!