You shudda register as Huge Organ, you sure wudda get couple PMs!!!

I'm sure, but from dem antiman hay. People like KP would spit he black pudden out he mouth fuh run to he computa and come PM meh. No thanks.

Yes what is most interesting on GNI is the more some folks register public hatred for blacks the more that the lust for them behind closed doors.  Look at druggie advertising his lust for big black baigan and yuji and others getting excited at that prospect.

Caribny, thank you for your contribution. I grew up in the periods you mentioned and can relate to your personal frame of reference. Hope Vish finds it useful. 

Just ignore those two fellas. One of them pretends to be a racist while he is married or living with a black. Go figure.

Are you honest?

All of us have our stories. I do not know his Guyana or your Guyana. I know it from my perspective and it was not as depressing as you folks remember. Granted I came a little later than both of you. I do have memories across the race and class spectrum so may have a broader view. 

I'm sure, but from dem antiman hay. People like KP would spit he black pudden out he mouth fuh run to he computa and come PM meh. No thanks.

Yes what is most interesting on GNI is the more some folks register public hatred for blacks the more that the lust for them behind closed doors.  Look at druggie advertising his lust for big black baigan and yuji and others getting excited at that prospect.

Caribny, thank you for your contribution. I grew up in the periods you mentioned and can relate to your personal frame of reference. Hope Vish finds it useful. 

Just ignore those two fellas. One of them pretends to be a racist while he is married or living with a black. Go figure.

Are you honest?

All of us have our stories. I do not know his Guyana or your Guyana. I know it from my perspective and it was not as depressing as you folks remember. Granted I came a little later than both of you. I do have memories across the race and class spectrum so may have a broader view. 

I HAVE NEVER SAID IT WAS A DEPRESSING ERA. I had the greatest time growing up in Rosignol. And lots of Guianese remember happy times. I do not know where some ppl grow up in Guiana, the 50's and 60's are like a golden era.

I know a lot of educated Black folks and few Indians as well and a great many not so well to do ppl. During colonial times, they lived in harmonous way.

Nothing happened to me to dislike any race of ppl of Guianese. Bad ppl in the country can be found in any race, but not like those who demonize the whole Indian race of Guyana.

Are you honest?

Absolutely. I refused to convert to Christianity to get a teaching job. That was one good change that Jagan made.

Mrs. Ali never became a Christian.

Mr. Abdool Annief never became a Christian.

Miss. Baboolall never became a Christian.

and host of others in the late forties and fifties. Where was Cheddie Jagan during that time and his anti-christian sentiments. 

Did someone ask you to convert in order to get a teaching job? If it is denominational school then they have all right to only employ ppl of their faith. Try getting a job at a madrassah, like today.

Ask any white person where British Guiana is and they will say South America. Ask them where Guyana is and they will say Africa and that is the country where Jim Jones killed himself and followers.

Older whites might know BG because they know that there are three weird South American countries all connected to Europe and apparently too backward to have become independent.

Its not that BG was that well known or regarded. It was seen as a miserable, malarial, mosquito and snake infested swamp and a place where no sensible person would want to visit. You might know that we were once called "Mud Heads" by the Islanders for this reason.  British colonial officials received a hardship allowance to compensate being posted to BG and they were also given time to periodically "recuperate" in Barbados.

Most of my father's paternal line  are white or mixed with Indian and white, They loved Guyana, lived there and did everything every other person did. I assume because their parents were white they had education and got good jobs or business opportunities but I cannot say they hate Guyana. Even today most that are alive still reminisce  about their home. 

My life was different from you and if marked by any sentiment of disdain it was for the racism of both sides of the power vacuum and also for the Burnham regime. I became a teenager in the seventies and saw a bit of his horrible political construct. I met burnham once in Jamaica at the Guyanese embassy. He was old and fat and somewhat of a clown but by then I was an adult and all I had for him was contempt. He was quite nice to me I must say. That was sometime in the early eighties...82 or 83

Once, I was introduced to a Comrade Vi in person. Years after, I would come to know it was Mrs. Viola Burnham. Very ordinary lady, we had a long chat and she arranged an appointment with a kooolie sknot named David Singh. That prick had me waiting for an hour, went out the side door of his office and informed his secretary to tell me to come back later. 

Never returned, leff note, "f off skont." 

Are you honest?

Absolutely. I refused to convert to Christianity to get a teaching job. That was one good change that Jagan made.

and host of others in the late forties and fifties. Where was Cheddie Jagan during that time and his anti-christian sentiments. 

Did someone ask you to convert in order to get a teaching job? If it is denominational school then they have all right to only employ ppl of their faith. Try getting a job at a madrassah, like today.

This happened under the British Rule.

Ask any white person where British Guiana is and they will say South America. Ask them where Guyana is and they will say Africa and that is the country where Jim Jones killed himself and followers.

Older whites might know BG because they know that there are three weird South American countries all connected to Europe and apparently too backward to have become independent.

Its not that BG was that well known or regarded. It was seen as a miserable, malarial, mosquito and snake infested swamp and a place where no sensible person would want to visit. You might know that we were once called "Mud Heads" by the Islanders for this reason.  British colonial officials received a hardship allowance to compensate being posted to BG and they were also given time to periodically "recuperate" in Barbados.

Most of my father's paternal line  are white or mixed with Indian and white, They loved Guyana, lived there and did everything every other person did. I assume because their parents were white they had education and got good jobs or business opportunities but I cannot say they hate Guyana. Even today most that are alive still reminisce  about their home. 

My life was different from you and if marked by any sentiment of disdain it was for the racism of both sides of the power vacuum and also for the Burnham regime. I became a teenager in the seventies and saw a bit of his horrible political construct. I met burnham once in Jamaica at the Guyanese embassy. He was old and fat and somewhat of a clown but by then I was an adult and all I had for him was contempt. He was quite nice to me I must say. That was sometime in the early eighties...82 or 83

Once, I was introduced to a Comrade Vi in person. Years after, I would come to know it was Mrs. Viola Burnham. Very ordinary lady, we had a long chat and she arranged an appointment with a kooolie sknot named David Singh. That prick had me waiting for an hour, went out the side door of his office and informed his secretary to tell me to come back later. 

I believed everything but not the last sentence.

Sig, I don't know about you but if I wanted a job and a man told me to come back later then I am coming back later until I hear no.

They were strip of that right, since it was the general population paying their salaries. Many converted just for the jobs. Many became stronger Hindus after wards. Many of us went to the Sunday schools for the cookies, crayons and drawings. LOL! 

I am not qualified to work at a madrassah.

Prashad admits to being pounded like fufu by black / mixed race woman at home, thus his hatred of blacks and wanting to start his own country to get away from her.

Druggie is not too far off. He too is probably abused by a vastly superior and more educated black woman and told what to do, when to do it and how to do it either at home or work or at chuch. 

Shamed by his family and contorting from the daily intellectual beatings she puts on him and having no other recourse than to internalize his anger, he then arrives here to spew his hatred of black folks.

She whips him and so he writes about Africans being whipped; loving rice but not allowed to eat it, he screams and yells Africans had nothing to do with its cultivation. You get the point. This is what drives his writing here.

Black sisters easily rule these weak minded clowns.

Look Carib, don't tek your eyes and pass me before I gave you big brown baigan. Like you obsessed with brown baigan ? I have been civil with you so keep your antiman talk to yourself. 

....threatening to screw another man  (give them baigan) confirms what we knew all along. You are an antiman. Now all the screaming, bleating, whining, flouncing around and suggestive posing you do can be put into its proper context.

Bish Panday,Ronald Reece and myself worked together. Ronald is the owner of Fly Jamaica I met him about a month ago, I heard he was the pilot when the plane crash landed I phoned but no answer for now.

...the man knows you bummin' fuh lil pork fried rice suh he won't answer the phone.

Bish Panday,Ronald Reece and myself worked together. Ronald is the owner of Fly Jamaica I met him about a month ago, I heard he was the pilot when the plane crash landed I phoned but no answer for now.

...the man knows you bummin' fuh lil pork fried rice suh he won't answer the phone.

I wonder if you deserve a reply, naaw you are low class, grow up then come back little gay reptile.

Are you honest?

This happened under the British Rule.

all i can go by, is what i know was the case at the time. There were government schools back in the forties and not only blacks and christians had teaching jobs. During the latter days of slavery and after emancipation, churches took up the task of eduacting emancipated children in basic education. After, indentured indians sent their children for schooling, it was the christian church schools that educated them. With Blacks being educated, they filled just about all government sponsored jobs. The colonial government developed an educational program and built schools, which employed teachers of all faiths. In many indo communities, church schools continued their effort, paying teachers wages and the maintanance of the schools.

All this is in Bacchus's Thesis, "The Educational System of British Guiana."  

Prashad admits to being pounded like fufu by black / mixed race woman at home, thus his hatred of blacks and wanting to start his own country to get away from her.

Druggie is not too far off. He too is probably abused by a vastly superior and more educated black woman and told what to do, when to do it and how to do it either at home or work or at chuch. 

Shamed by his family and contorting from the daily intellectual beatings she puts on him and having no other recourse than to internalize his anger, he then arrives here to spew his hatred of black folks.

She whips him and so he writes about Africans being whipped; loving rice but not allowed to eat it, he screams and yells Africans had nothing to do with its cultivation. You get the point. This is what drives his writing here.

Black sisters easily rule these weak minded clowns.

Yugli, stop your antiman runnings and get educated here. Would you teck up with a black sista that is 10 years your senior?

http://education.stateuniversi...TORY-BACKGROUND.html

The Republic of Guyana, formerly British Guiana, lies between Suriname and Venezuela on the northern coast of South America. Brazil lies on the southern border. More than 90 percent of Guyana's population of almost 800,000 people occupy an arable coastal range 40 miles wide. Guyana's ethnic mixture and educational system are the result of the country's colonial economy.

Early plantation owners brought in African slaves. When slavery was abolished in 1838, indentured workers became the main source of cheap labor. The largest number came from India, and their descendants now comprise nearly half the population. Afro-Guyanese make up a third of the population, and the remainder consists of Amerindians, Asians, and Europeans. Nonetheless, Guyana's official language is English.

Public schools, operated by religious organizations, began to appear in the early 1800s. Elementary schools flourished under the direction of the London Missionary Society, and in 1876 primary education became compulsory for children aged 6 to 14. Textbooks were prepared in the United Kingdom favoring continental history and literature. All the examinations were given in Great Britain. Technical education was not available. Trades were learned solely from an apprenticeship to a journeyman. Until the University of Guyana was established in 1963, those seeking higher education had to attend universities abroad.

The educational system underwent major reform in 1961, when the government assumed control of the schools and established the Ministry of Education. Gaining independence in 1966, the country inherited a well-established educational system, but its curricula and educational aims were patterned after the British system. The government introduced changes to align the schools with the country's political goals, ethnic blend, and economic needs.

In 1976, private education was abolished and education became free from nursery school through the university. Anyone, no matter their income, could attend school. The Constitution of 1980 guaranteed everyone the right to continuous education and training. Those attending high school would choose between academic, academic and technical, and vocational high schools. The government also established trade schools, which offered job training in such fields as engineering and construction.

With these improvements in place, the literacy rate rose above 95 percent, but conditions in the schools were far from ideal. In the 1970s, schools became overcrowded, and teachers who resisted government efforts to make all teachers teach loyalty to the government and its socialist objectives were fired. Truancy and illiteracy increased. As teachers departed and conditions deteriorated in the schools, scores on the Caribbean-wide examinations vastly dropped.

Guyana's economic troubles in the 1980s, combined with the government's commitment to finance free public education, led to underfunding of the schools. The quality of education declined even further. The school structures were neglected, educational materials became scarce or nonexistent, and equipment deteriorated. Teachers' salaries were poor, and as supply budgets dwindled, so did the number of trained teachers, many of whom sought positions out of the country to escape political oppression and job insecurity. In 1989, the government introduced an Economic Recovery Program, turning from a state-controlled, socialist economy toward a free-market system. By 1999, improvement in education was among the government's top priorities of the government. Teachers' salaries have been raised and new schools are being built, reflecting an upturn in the country's struggling school system.

I wonder if you deserve a reply, naaw you are low class, grow up then come back little gay reptile.

Yuh sharpenin' yuh teeth fuh lil FREE pork fried rice and de man won't answer de phone and yuh getting mad at me? Yuh reputation fuh freeness precedes yuh. LMAO

all i can go by, is what i know was the case at the time. There were government schools back in the forties and not only blacks and christians had teaching jobs. During the latter days of slavery and after emancipation, churches took up the task of eduacting emancipated children in basic education. After, indentured indians sent their children for schooling, it was the christian church schools that educated them. With Blacks being educated, they filled just about all government sponsored jobs. The colonial government developed an educational program and built schools, which employed teachers of all faiths. In many indo communities, church schools continued their effort, paying teachers wages and the maintanance of the schools.

All this is in Bacchus's Thesis, "The Educational System of British Guiana."  

...There were entire schools that were all Indian teachers and vast majority Indian students. Indians Education Trust College which was run by "Big Singh" pon he motobike. Muslims Education Trust. My sister went to St Roses - indian teachers were there. My high school also had Indian teachers.

However, in the 50's those upper echelon catholic schools may not have accepted Hindu teachers. I get that. But there were schools with Indians teaching, many were mentored by blacks who were the first to enter the ranks.

The British were masters at brainwashing. Analysis of demographic data of the colonial era showed that throughout the Caribbean mass poverty was a fact of life.  Living standards had scarcely improved from the post slavery era and yet most West Indians looked up to them and loved the Queen.  You will see throngs of people cheering as she passed, even as hunger, poor sanitation, miserable wages, and open abuse was their lot from the colonial authorities.

I heard the same from my parents. The Queen was an object of worship. Many even sang "rule Brittania". Also heard same as what Seignet said - that the 50's and 60's were considered a good era as far as quality of life was concerned. My folks did the best then, and I surmise that was the connection to the love of the Queen and British rule. We were GT people.

However, my Indian friends from the countryside would also agree with the 50's and 60's being a good era. Their lives were not the same as we in GT but their recollection of "simpler times" and the simplicity of country life is it's own treasure.

Look Carib, don't tek your eyes and pass me before I gave you big brown baigan. Like you obsessed with brown baigan ? I have been civil with you so keep your antiman talk to yourself. 

I never get into brown baigans.  I merely wonder why some with brown baigans spend all day obsessing about the black ones. Now we learn about what a black pudding really is.

I think I figured out who Iguana is.  

..y'all too much into personalities instead of views. Iguana is Quantum. Iguana is D2. Iguana is Stormborn. Iguana is Redux. Iguana is Ronan. Iguana is some guy named Leslie.

And now I seh I'm from GT - "ah know who iguana is". yeah, one of the thousands of black people who is from GT. sheeesh.

Carib do you know  why the Blacks were given Teaching and nursing jobs? because they  all converted to Christianity and the Whites rewarded them for doing so. 

You got the story backwards.  The blacks converted to Christianity when it became evident that there would be advantages to do so.  That is why there was a very strong correlation between education and Christian denominations.  Providing education was a way to recruit people to various Christian denominations. 

In fact in the late days of slavery the Congregationalists had begun to provide literacy to the slaves.  Its these educated slaves, and their kids who provide the core of BG's first cadre of primary school teachers.

The church also provided an avenue for upward mobility, as not only were teaching jobs awarded based on religion, but even certain civil service jobs.

BG was a backward country outside of GT, New Amsterdam, McKenzie and the sugar estates (not where the workers lived).  I remember red dirt roads where 4 lane roads exist now.  I remember that in the rural areas they used kerosene lamps, and the trench was a source of more water than the filthy condition would indicate (given that sewerage often ended up there). 

For a while, god was an englishman. Never has been so few dominated so many on this planet.

And you are dead wrong about your opinions on British Guiana. New Amterdam had electric lights since in the late forties.  

Its a pity that literacy isnt an attribute of yours.  In fact I specifically mentioned New Amsterdam among urban areas.

What % of the Indian population were prosperous business people? Few!

I think I figured out who Iguana is.  

..y'all too much into personalities instead of views. Iguana is Quantum. Iguana is D2. Iguana is Stormborn. Iguana is Redux. Iguana is Ronan. Iguana is some guy named Leslie.

And now I seh I'm from GT - "ah know who iguana is". yeah, one of the thousands of black people who is from GT. sheeesh.

What you wrote above sounds like a dude on the old thread Django just reposted. Ok, I'm done now.  Back to politics. 

..no clue what you're talking about and not going to pore over something from 16 years ago. I know who I am and I wasn't here before. Think whatever you want. Everyone "sounds" like someone else. Seignet tells me I "sound" like Leslie from 20 years ago. Now you come with the same "sounds like" criteria from a thread in 2002, some 16 years ago.

Worth noting that Django is part of the su su clan here. No different from Yugi whom he criticizes.

Banna,better is expected from you, certainly you made my hand fall.

I am here a long time,from time to time posters will privately reach out.Is that considered su..su.

Banna,better is expected from you, certainly you made my hand fall.

I am here a long time,from time to time posters will privately reach out.Is that considered su..su.

When they are obsessed with who is who and get you to do their dirty work then YES! You are a su su man! 

Banna give it a rest,

some folks here are jine family, some have relatives in my neck of the woods whom are known.By the way most of the folks here known, some are from the same Region and some know my friends.

None of the the posters here asked, to dig up info on any one, never.

Your white folks came from the estate society and in that era were the closest thing to God that existed. Especially if connected to BG.  Or maybe they were adventurous type.

Ordinary British civil servants didn't enjoy those amenities, nor have their sense of adventure.

They were strip of that right, since it was the general population paying their salaries. Many converted just for the jobs. Many became stronger Hindus after wards. Many of us went to the Sunday schools for the cookies, crayons and drawings. LOL! 

I am not qualified to work at a madrassah.

Yes the church schools were all state supported so the reference to a madrassah is irrelevant as no non Christian educational entity would have received such support.  In those days one was either a Christian or a pagan.

However, in the 50's those upper echelon catholic schools may not have accepted Hindu teachers. I get that. But there were schools with Indians teaching, many were mentored by blacks who were the first to enter the ranks.

The issue isnt whether Indians were allowed to teach or not.  It was that if they weren't Christians, or refused to convert it became more difficult as most of the education was provided through Christian run schools.  Yes alternatives did exist.

- that the 50's and 60's were considered a good era as far as quality of life was concerned. My folks did the best then, and I surmise that was the connection to the love of the Queen and British rule. We were GT people.

However, my Indian friends from the countryside would also agree with the 50's and 60's being a good era. Their lives were not the same as we in GT but their recollection of "simpler times" and the simplicity of country life is it's own treasure.

Colonials were brain washed, "knew their place" so didn't even know what they were missing.  If a black person wanted to be a banker the very black people would have wondered what's wrong with him, that is "white people wuk", and that he should aspire to be a teacher, doctor, or lawyer.  I even heard not engineer as Bookers and Demba would never hire him and even the colonial gov't would rather an expat from the UK.

Now if these limitations represent better quality of life power to those who think so.  I do not think that modern Guyanese would tolerate this. But in colonial Guyana black folks were content with these limited options.

Where quality of life has deteriorated will be higher crime, the decline in the extended family, reducing social support networks, and a coarsening in how people interact with each other.  But then this is the world as I bet in the UK itself they will say the same.

Yes bathing in the trench, using a kerosene lamp, walking distances to get water and using the bush as a bathroom.   Those Guyanese who live like this today certainly don't celebrate that lifestyle.  That they might have thought it OK 60 years ago is because they didn't think that they deserved better. 

Such was the effectiveness of British colonial brainwashing.  So powerful that even its first colony to break away (the USA) still harbors the belief of British superiority.  Americans are way more interested in the British royal family than are the English.

The fact is that quiet resentments did exist which is why the early 60s became so explosive.  Blacks and Indians (the non elites) wanting what the other groups had, and feeling sure that each would prevent the other from attaining this.  Elite blacks and Indians wanting a say in the governance, not allowed during the colonial era, but again fearing what the other would do.

Your white folks came from the estate society and in that era were the closest thing to God that existed. Especially if connected to BG.  Or maybe they were adventurous type.

Ordinary British civil servants didn't enjoy those amenities, nor have their sense of adventure.

I am not denying the colonial attrition on Guyanese. I am saying that culture and race always played a part in our society and to our detriment. I am bit tired but I will try to explain it as I see it through my family later.