London; – A British technology and Data Mining firm which claimed that politicians in Guyana had also used their services to achieve a particular elections result, is now under investigation in the UK after investigators accused the company of using voters information illegally.

A warrant was issued by a UK Judge last night, empowering investigators to search and seize information and computers from at least ten of the company’s offices in London, – an exercise which has begun several hours ago.

UK investigators are contending that the firm, Cambridge Analytica, used a number of technological methodologies to illegally store harvested user information particularly from Facebook, and then use that data to help sway the results of an election, in favour of the political party that hired them.

According to sources close to the investigations, the entity’s main methods are centered around harvesting user data from their Facebook account, along with their political preferences, and then use that data to push content and other particulars aimed at causing a person to change their political views.

For British investigators, the company’s data harvesting and mind manipulation strategy to target would-be voters, has worked.

But on the other side of it, they are contending that what the company has done in several countries, was illegal, since it principally manipulates a person’s private data and targets their mindset using that data, in an effort to achieve a particular election result.

However, Cambridge Analytica, the UK based election data harvesting company at the center of the investigations, is claiming that they had not done anything wrong.

In addition to two other South American countries, the company has acknowledged on its website and to investigators that it was also hired to do work for a political grouping in Guyana.

Since that political party in Guyana was not yet revealed by the UK’s Commissioner of Information, who is handling the investigation, there is currently no proof that the company was actually able to influence the outcome of any elections in Guyana, or if it did, then which one or how many.

https://www.guyanaguardian.com...s-elections-results/

Data analysis and micro targeting to the house level will always be with us. What is wrong with what this company did is it stole the date from facebook.

I knew the PNC had a data analytics firm but I did not realize this was it. They obviously spent a fair deal of money. We need election finance reform. It is something the PPP refused to do because they can use outside money and control the message by state media Well they were out maneuvered.

The PPP is now a victim of their own willingness to retain a corrupt system. Now they will be in purgatory for a few decades.

Data analysis and micro targeting to the house level will always be with us. What is wrong with what this company did is it stole the date from facebook.

I knew the PNC had a data analytics firm but I did not realize this was it. They obviously spent a fair deal of money. We need election finance reform. It is something the PPP refused to do because they can use outside money and control the message by state media Well they were out maneuvered.

The PPP is now a victim of their own willingness to retain a corrupt system. Now they will be in purgatory for a few decades.

I would not be surprised if the PNC sponsors in the CIA and Exxon (sanctioned by Obama) financed the operations not realizing it will come home to roost!  Many noted the PNC seemed well organized in the area of  social media.

March 22 2018

Cambridge Analytica in Latin America: What We Know So far

Cambridge Analytica worked on U.S. President Donald Trump's election campaign, and gained access to data on 50 million Facebook users in order to build voter profiles – including in Latin American countries holding elections.

1. Brazil

Cambridge Analytica Chief Data Officer Dr Alex Tayler and Managing Director Mark Turnbull told an undercover Channel 4 journalist that the company has been working in Mexico and was now targeting Brazil, among other countries.

"If you're collecting data on people and you're profiling them, that gives you more insight that you can use to know how to segment the population, give them messaging about issues they care about, and language and imagery they're likely to engage with," Tayler said.

"We use that in America and we use that in Africa, that's what we do as a company. We've done it in Mexico, we've done it in Malaysia, and now we're moving to Brazil… Australia, China."

Brazilian prosecutors on Wednesday opened an investigation into whether the London-based political consultancy acted illegally in Brazil, as controversy over the firm's data harvesting practices spread across the globe.

The firm is suspected of having illegally used the data of millions of Brazilians to create psychographic profiles through its partnership with Sao Paulo-based consulting group A Ponte Estratégia Planejamento e Pesquisa LTDA.

Ponte Estrategia allegedly asked to suspend the partnership with Cambridge Analytica, according to Bloomberg Business.

Brazil is Facebook's third-largest market, and Brazilians will be holding a major election in less than seven months.

2. Mexico and Colombia

As mentioned in the video above, the firm acknowledged having operated in Mexico, while Bloomberg Business shed light on PR material showing how it sealed a partnership with a phone application named Pig.gi and designed to provide free internet and phone credit in exchange for watching advertisements and reading sponsored stories.

"Pig.gi has already been hugely successful in Mexico and Colombia," said CEO Alexander Nix last year in a communique, when the app recorded 200,000 users. "We're thrilled to be partnering with the app so that their partners can get the right message to the right people at the right time."

Cambridge Analytica's vice president told Bloomberg last year that the partnership was transparently designed to influence the votes of younger Mexicans — as Mexico's general election is due on July 1.

BuzzFeed Mexico also reported that another Cambridge executive started last year to hire data analysts in nine states in Mexico, presenting the job post on LinkedIn as "the brain behind the Mexican elections."

In an Oct. 23 Facebook post to the page 'Foreigners in Mexico City,' ahead of governor elections, executives of Cambridge's Mexican branch such as Arielle Dale Karro were also reportedly in contact with members of the PAN conservative party, including Senator Ernesto Cordero.

Cambridge's webpage also mentions Colombia as one of its major operations centers, quoting Bogota Mayor Enrique Peñalosa (Green Party) as one of its advisors. The mayor's office denied any links with the company.

Colombian daily El Tiempo found that Peñalosa worked with Farrow Colombia S. A. S. in July 2017, a company linked with the app Pig.gi — which records 150,000 users in the country, aiming to reach 800,000 by 2018.

Colombian voters are bound for the polls on May 27 to elect a new president, about two months after the parliamentary elections held early March, with the victory of center-right and far-right parties.

3. Peru, Argentina and Guyana

According to a map published on Cambridge's website, the company has also operated in Guyana, Peru and Argentina, although little information is available about the extent of the operations.

In Argentina, authorities are not waiting for an official request, and the National Electoral Chamber of the judicial branch has opened an investigation into Cambridge Analytica's work in the country.

The issue is not only data collecting: Channel 4 confirmed participation in the Kenyan elections of 2013 and 2017, running incumbent Uhuru Kenyatta's campaign through the use of incendiary messages and false news: Cambridge ran "every element of his campaign."

He also discloses links to former MI6 agents and Israeli intelligence companies who provide Cambridge Analytica's clients with a report on "all the skeletons" in their opponents' closets.

The PNC will RIG and FRIG by any means possible BUT their FILTH HEADS here will cheer them on. Are these people simply STUPID, BRAIN DEAD or is it the RACISM, BIASES and IGNORANCE they were born with and learned at Sophia University????

I would not be surprised if the PNC sponsors in the CIA and Exxon (sanctioned by Obama) financed the operations not realizing it will come home to roost!  Many noted the PNC seemed well organized in the area of  social media.

CA is republican leaning and supported by the Mercers who are funders of republicans. Plus Bannon is a founding member. I am sure Obama was not a part of that. Plus Obama did not intervene where he ought to so it is remote he cared here.

Dat Merner man is a crazy. De man in kind conspiracy theory like Mr Balahoo Yuji/REV. De man believe in piss theapy. De gat thounds sample of piss to study. No joke. Hey hey hey...

And it was so written that the law of Karma never fails, for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. The Democrats paid for their dirty deeds.

You got the Karma action right about the democrat, check your patra find out much years the PPP dirty deeds will cost them, if they will ever get out of the hole their Karma got them into...

Last edited by sachin_05
Riff posted:

I am glad the PPP lost...they were doing some shady and teefing business...not that APNU much better

Do you have proof that the PPP stole ? The AFC/PNC audits proved ZERO, Nada.

What if I call you an accounting fraud without providing proof, how would you feel ?

Thank you. 

Riff posted:

I am glad the PPP lost...they were doing some shady and teefing business...not that APNU much better

Looks like yuh looking fuh government change in 2020 bai. 

Yuh gun need Granger to allow free and fair general elections first. 

Riff posted:

Do you have proof that the PPP stole ? The AFC/PNC audits proved ZERO, Nada.

What if I call you an accounting fraud without providing proof, how would you feel ?

Thank you. 

WHy do you have to make personal comments about members? Did I make a personal comment about you or did I give an opinion about the PPP?

I think the PPP are thieves...it's my opinion...if you feel different, that's ok

Who is getting personal ? This is a political discussion forum. If you make a false statement about PPP fraud better be able to prove it because a few hundred millions of audits proved ZERO, Nada.

Are you rejecting the findings of independent auditing firms ? You should know better.

SMH.

BTW, you are entitled to your opinion but please do not feel bad if members challenge your opinion. You are not an ultimate dictator where no one is allowed to challenge your opinion when you post as a regular poster.

Thank You.

Who is getting personal ? This is a political discussion forum. If you make a false statement about PPP fraud better be able to prove it because a few hundred millions of audits proved ZERO, Nada.

Are you rejecting the findings of independent auditing firms ? You should know better.

SMH.

BTW, you are entitled to your opinion but please do not feel bad if members challenge your opinion. You are not an ultimate dictator where no one is allowed to challenge your opinion when you post as a regular poster.

Thank You.

I repeat, I don't have a problem with you challenging my opinion...just don't get personal with me

I don't how many times I have to repeat this to you

Yuji, that suggestion about accounting fraud was uncalled for.

Given that I am a high school dropout, you are better off making that accounting fraud comment to me.  

Some people don't know when to stop.

Given that I am a high school dropout, you are better off making that accounting fraud comment to me.  

It is called diarrhea of the mouth. I now pronounce yugiski Sir LipsFlapLot.

Making such statement ,are you not getting personal with Yuji or this personal thing only applies to Riff Raff?

I agree that about Hypocrisy. Cain also tells member to F this and F that but that is all fine with his frenno.

BTW I never made a personal statement. Comprehension is not the first skill of some posters. I was stating an example.