One hundred days is almost up. Crime remains a major issue affecting the quality of life of Guyanese. Whereas the economy is dependent on external factors (gold prices, demand for rice etc), crime can be addressed by  Granger and the Coalition right now. It appears the police force is capturing or killing more criminals but are still reactive rather than proactive for a variety of reasons.

Mr. Granger ought to bring back capital punishment as a stiff deterrent to crime. Specifically:

1) Drug imports/exports - Any person caught importing or exporting more than X grams/ounces of Y types of drugs faces a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

2) Drug dealing - Any person with possession of X grams/ounces of Y types of drugs faces a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

3) Gun running - Any person caught importing guns illegally meeting X criteria gets a mandatory death sentence upon conviction. Same for those caught selling guns illegally. Before going into effect allow a grace period for people to return their guns.

4) Any person found guilty of murder, kidnapping, ransom, receives a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

Just to start. You legal scholars can fill in the details. We need a deterrent and to send a message to hardcore, violent criminals that they will pay with their lives if caught. For example - the ring leader who master minded the murder of businessman Ramlall should hang in Lot 12 Camp Street.

My suggestion. Feel free to opine.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

One hundred days is almost up. Crime remains a major issue affecting the quality of life of Guyanese. Whereas the economy is dependent on external factors (gold prices, demand for rice etc), crime can be addressed by  Granger and the Coalition right now. It appears the police force is capturing or killing more criminals but are still reactive rather than proactive for a variety of reasons.

Mr. Granger ought to bring back capital punishment as a stiff deterrent to crime. Specifically:

1) Drug imports/exports - Any person caught importing or exporting more than X grams/ounces of Y types of drugs faces a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

2) Drug dealing - Any person with possession of X grams/ounces of Y types of drugs faces a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

3) Gun running - Any person caught importing guns illegally meeting X criteria gets a mandatory death sentence upon conviction. Same for those caught selling guns illegally. Before going into effect allow a grace period for people to return their guns.

4) Any person found guilty of murder, kidnapping, ransom, receives a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

Just to start. You legal scholars can fill in the details. We need a deterrent and to send a message to hardcore, violent criminals that they will pay with their lives if caught. For example - the ring leader who master minded the murder of businessman Ramlall should hang in Lot 12 Camp Street.

Are you trying to get rid of the Indian population with the first 3   I favor the death penalty for criminals taking an innocent life.

Guyana, as a commonwealth member state is under tremendous pressure for capital punishment. Killing a person for an ounce of cocaine is most ridiculous.

How stupid are you? Only a sheer dunce won't understand this in my original post:

where X is the amount the legal folks in Govt thinks is necessary and Y the type of drug. Go back to screaming about Indians getting killed. NO solution proposed by a black man will be accepted by a racist clown like you, no matter how many indian lives it saves.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Are you trying to get rid of the Indian population with the first 3   I favor the death penalty for criminals taking an innocent life.

Nah bai VP. The first 3 are what I think are responsible for the bulk of the crime. The proliferation of drugs and guns have a tremendous impact on the social fabric. We have rival drug gangs, drug lords who command personal armies and so on. Send the message - anyone caught in these or murdering anyone faces the death penalty.

Mind you, strategic initiatives to reform the police force, root corruption, training, public relations and so on are still needed. Last I read Granger had approached Scotland Yard to help. The PPP rebuffed the same aid while in power citing some "sovereignty" concerns.

You think Granger would whip his mattie, Blackman?

What a truly dumb statement as usual....crimes are committed buy every race at the moment with the fuel being the drug trade and its capacity to be productive of junkies. Junkies are found everywhere and they will be the harbinger of street crimes, your stick up boys and violent enforcers for crime gangs. Indians control that trade. Black kids are the bottom feeders to Indian pelagic species.

I agree with strict gun laws and stiff sentence for crimes committed with a gun.

I disagree with any form of death sentence.

Criminals are opportunistic. Shut down the opportunities. That can be done in many way ie racketeering and king pin laws; tax law enforcement and forfeiture of assets linked to criminal enterprises.  Of course we need good police, criminologists, crime labs, evidence protection protocols and speedy trials.

I agree with strict gun laws and stiff sentence for crimes committed with a gun.

Criminals are opportunistic. Shut down the opportunities. That can be done in many way ie racketeering and king pin laws; tax law enforcement and forfeiture of assets linked to criminal enterprises.  Of course we need good police, criminologists, crime labs, evidence protection protocols and speedy trials.

I would also agree with racketeering laws, forefeiture of assets and so on. But I would still reserve capital punishment for certain crimes. There is large scale murder and mayhem, much on innocent people. If this gets out of hand then we become Mexico.

I have given up on Ramjattan. Granger needs to use his military background to go after these paramilitary outfits and their sponsors. This is well within his area of expertise and should be a top priority.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Naw, death penalty is not a deterrence to crime.

I have to agree.

Crime will be reduced when we have a more even distribution of wealth in Guyana and assist our youths with job and business opportunities.

PPP must take a major part of the blame for the crime situation and should work with APNU in reducing crime.

These criminals should be placed on work gangs to do any work needed for the betterment of the community.

Trenches/gutters clogged? There we go, problem solved. Give em a piece ah stick and couple gloves, baddam, problem solved..No?

Work their asses so hard they won't have the time to plan and study crap while in prison, they'd be too tired after work and can't wait to get out and become a better member of society.

I would also agree with racketeering laws, forefeiture of assets and so on. But I would still reserve capital punishment for certain crimes. There is large scale murder and mayhem, much on innocent people. If this gets out of hand then we become Mexico.

I have given up on Ramjattan. Granger needs to use his military background to go after these paramilitary outfits and their sponsors. This is well within his area of expertise and should be a top priority.

There is no rational basis for a socity to legalize murder of its citizens as crime prevention.

Crime prevention are not best addressed by soldiers. Soldiers are not trained to be thinkers but followers. Granger may be a bright man but he has to shuck his military inclinations and address crime for what it is, opportunism.

These criminals should be placed on work gangs to do any work needed for the betterment of the community.

Trenches/gutters clogged? There we go, problem solved. Give em a piece ah stick and couple gloves, baddam, problem solved..No?

Work their asses so hard they won't have the time to plan and study crap while in prison, they'd be too tired after work and can't wait to get out and become a better member of society.

Bai, we kyant even hold a prisoner properly. You ain't see one escape yesterday and kick up a man? De prisoner in a cab with no shackles. I can only imagine what gon happen pon dem work gangs lol.

There is no rational basis for a socity to legalize murder of its citizens as crime prevention.

Crime prevention are not best addressed by soldiers. Soldiers are not trained to be thinkers but followers. Granger may be a bright man but he has to shuck his military inclinations and address crime for what it is, opportunism.

I disagree with you my friend. We need to hunt them down and if they resist and get killed in a shootout then so be it. If captured, harsh sentences. You cannot possibly shut down all opportunities for crime. A hard message needs to be sent to them NOW.

Bai, we kyant even hold a prisoner properly. You ain't see one escape yesterday and kick up a man? De prisoner in a cab with no shackles. I can only imagine what gon happen pon dem work gangs lol.

They were used to cut grass and other jobs back when I was growing up. As for escaping, nahhhh, I'm sure chain was invented for these instances.