Originally Posted by VVP:
Originally Posted by Itaname:

The Alliance promised to give us good governance.

They promised many Indians  jobs and now they backtrack on their promises.

Moses and Ramjattan will kick Indian butts to fit in nicely with the Ravans..

What the hell is a Ravan? Or do you mean Raven? I don't get it.

Some Hindi word. Quite common on this site.  They use this when they don't want the rest of us to know what is going on.

This is funny.  It means devil or in Guyanese case "Black man." 

Yes I know it is something racist against blacks.  Yet caribj is a racist to suggest that Indian racism does exist, and that it should be acknowledged just as all the ills that blacks have done to Indians is poured out here almost daily.

The only narrative on racism which is legitimate in the eyes of most of GNI is one where the black brute is savaging the poor Indian.

Jay Bharrat screams that there was no racism under the PPP and that under the PPP blacks controlled Guyana.   This is the piece of nonsense that I will confront when I see it and I do not care who has a problem with it.

You are a strong advocate for Africans.  I do not think you are a racist.  I think sometimes the Indians guys are just trying to bust your pipe.  They lead you on and you bite.

t.

You are a strong advocate for Africans.  I do not think you are a racist.  I think sometimes the Indians guys are just trying to bust your pipe.  They lead you on and you bite.

No they are not.  They sincerely cling to the Indo as a victim narrative.

You see they fear that Indians being reduced to being no better than blacks reduces their ability to make special claim as being Guyana's biggest victims.

Look at the reaction that Itaname, a new poster is getting.  No different. Nuff left long ago with other blacks for this same reason.

Anyways, in Guyana all Cabinet Ministers are automatically MPs. However, they can only vote in the National Assembly if they are "elected MPs" not MPs by virtue of their Ministerial appointment. The revised Constitution limits such unelected Ministers to like 4. The so-called "techocrats." In other words, we have non-voting MPs sometimes. Sometimes, the Speaker is not an elected MP but is made a non-voting MP by virtue of his office.

Thanks for the lang explanation   I thought all the MP had to be selected from the list and thus are elected.  Are you saying that there could be 65 +4 = 69 MPs with 4 non-voters?

Isn't there a benefit in being able to reign in your MPs since parliament could bring a no confidence vote and force new elections?  This cannot happen in the USA, for example.  The Congress or Senate cannot force a new Presidential election.

Technically speaking the President of Guyana is free to appoint up to 4 Ministers and 2 Parliamentary Secretaries who are unelected and become non-voting Members of the National Assembly for the duration of their appointments. In addition to that the Speaker may also be elected by the MPs (elected MPs that is) from pretty much anywhere.

Strictly speaking Parliament consists of the President and the National Assembly just as in the UK, Parliament consists of the Queen and the two Houses.

Anyways, the Constitution provides for 65 elected MPs with voting rights and an additional maximum of 7 unelected MPs (4 Technocrat Ministers, 2 Technocrat Parliamentary Secretaries, and 1 Speaker) without voting rights for a total of 71. We usually hover around 67 total MPs in the National Assembly in each Parliament but always 65 voting MPs.

To call Parliament into session, one only needs like 1/3 of the National Assembly so the PPP is free to sit out the next 5 years and thereafter.

There is a great benefit in reining in your MPs but also in letting them be independent. It's this balance that makes the system work. Enough slack to let the Government get it's agenda through the House but not such a free hand that it becomes unaccountable to the House.

The problem with Guyana is that Burnham screwed us. He gave us all the powers of the Presidential system of Government but none of it's separation of powers benefits and no real checks and balances. Then he married the Presidential system to the parliamentary system of Westminster which gives the Head of Government virtually unlimited authority as long as he controls his MPs. So we have the worst of both systems. Which is why we're in the mess we're in. It's not all ethnicity in Guyana. It's ethnicity driven significantly by our strange Constitution.

Thanks bai.  Yuh larn me something today 

Granger has today decreed himself an additional 3 MPs with the addition of 3 nonsensical "technocrat" Ministers. It seems we are ahead of the game chap.

Some Hindi word. Quite common on this site.  They use this when they don't want the rest of us to know what is going on.

Yes I know it is something racist against blacks.  Yet caribj is a racist to suggest that Indian racism does exist, and that it should be acknowledged just as all the ills that blacks have done to Indians is poured out here almost daily.

The only narrative on racism which is legitimate in the eyes of most of GNI is one where the black brute is savaging the poor Indian.

Jay Bharrat screams that there was no racism under the PPP and that under the PPP blacks controlled Guyana.   This is the piece of nonsense that I will confront when I see it and I do not care who has a problem with it.

No, he is a racist, that Caribj.  Stop patronizing.  He, and many like him hate the thought and sight of "Indians" holding political power in Guyana.  Baseman followed him for over 10 years.  For him, Indians need to go home!!

baseman, of all people, you are in NO position to cast any stones

i have been on this BB a little over 5 years and even though, from all accounts, your hateful, outrageous, racist screeds are now tempered (somewhat) with diplomatic language, you remain a horrible, racist creature

unlike many here, i have no illusions about convincing you and your kind about anything decent; i post here to expose bogus people and shed light on things as i see them  . . . nothing more

just so we do not misunderstand each other

you, of all people, are in NO position to cast any stones

i have been on this BB a little over 5 years and even though, from all accounts, your hateful, outrageous, racist screeds now seem tempered somewhat with diplomatic language, you remain a horrible, racist creature

unlike many here, i have no illusions about convincing you and your kind about anything decent; i post here to expose bogus people and shed light on things as i see them  . . . nothing more

Hey, I was not responding to you.  So you came the 2nd half after the slaughter of Indians by your Buxton FFs and cast judgement.  Go to hell man.  Your PNC have a long way to recon banna.

you, of all people, are in NO position to cast any stones

i have been on this BB a little over 5 years and even though, from all accounts, your hateful, outrageous, racist screeds now seem tempered somewhat with diplomatic language, you remain a horrible, racist creature

Hey, I was not responding to you.  So you came the 2nd half after the slaughter of Indians by your Buxton FFs and cast judgement.  Go to hell man.  Your PNC have a long way to recon banna.

so, . . . 'Buxton FFs made me the diseased racist creature i am today' is now your go-to excuse

ahmmmm, ok

Originally Posted by Tola:

What is the shit matter with you people....

You think you will be able to resolve any thing with your hate...

with all due respect, i am NOT the one spreading hate and division on this BB

i will not stand idle while belly crawling creatures like baseman spend their days and nights doing everything in their power to widen the already wide chasm between Black and Indian in a Guyana badly needing respite from hate and hatefulness

i am tired of these people

yes, beginning with seignet with his lies and provocations, i am pretty pissed off today

i will not stand idle while belly crawling creatures like baseman spend their days and nights doing everything in their power to widen the already wide chasm between Black and Indian in a Guyana badly needing respite from hate and hatefulness

yes, beginning with seignet with his lies and provocations, i am pretty pissed off today

I am really surprised at Baseman comments. I know of his assistance  in Bangalore and other help in Guyana, but he comes here like a  different person.

Something does not seem right with him.   

I am really surprised at Baseman comments. I know of his assistance  in Bangalore and other help in Guyana, but he comes here like a  different person.

Baseman always stand ready to help human kind however, I will never stand by and let racism slip by.  Caribj is one of the most racist posters on this board.  Baseman is always ready accommodate political diversity.  I just commented on the fact that this new PPP needs to show more Afro faces.
Baseman was one of the first to wish the new Prezzy luck and success.  Baseman said this "Afro-Guyanese" leader could make a huge difference in the lives of all Guyanese.  Baseman however, pointed to the reception which greeted the PPP in 1992 vs the PNC in 2015.  TK (an Indian) said the PPP and Indians deserved that treatment in 1992,cannot figure the logic of his position, Caribj said, oh, Green was not a nice guy.  Seems he is now!

I followed that Caribj and some others for 10 years, and have never heard any acknowledgement or "acceptance" of any Indian as an appropriate and worthy leader for all of Guyana.  The problem with many Indians, when an Indian tells it like it is, alyuh run and try to cover their mouth.  When an Afro spews racism cuss alyuh, you run quick and offer a candy bar and hope he happy and stop cussing alyuh.

Baseman believes there are good and worthy leaders in all races.  The likes of Caribj believes this is the domain of Afros only.  Just look at his position regarding the AFC in the Govt, he bifurcates between the "Georgetown faction" and the rest.  Of course, we all know exactly what he is getting at, but chose to "turn the other cheek" and pretend we did not hear.

Baseman always stand ready to help human kind however, I will never stand by and let racism slip by.  Caribj is one of the most racist posters on this board. .

And yet you cannot cite what I say that is racist.  Demanding the INCLUSION of Africans is not racist.  Saying that Indo racism=Afro racism isn't racist.  Saying that the PPP was thoroughly corrupt, incompetent, racist and unfit to run Guyana isn't racist.

I suggest you re read all of my posts to Shaitaan, you and others where I was claiming that no political entity which isn't multi ethnic in nature is going to win.

Now how you can extend that to wanting "Afro domination" is nonsense.  Doesn't that seem silly when the African population is even SMALLER than the Indian, and therefore even more in need of multi ethnic alliances, especially with the fast growing mixed population?  In fact voting patterns do suggest that this alliance is already in place.

BTW your idea of African inclusion is black tokenism, within the context of Indo domination.  When Indians don't dominate, you resort to screams of Indo Holocaust, Indians becoming slaves, etc.  Your "support" for Granger is hollow, when we see how you have already crowned him as an African militaristic dictator.

You are the #1 peddler of the "black man baad, Indian good" mythology.  Any suggestion that the PPP and Indians have played a role in our ethnic tensions is considered racist by you, which is the REAL reason why you claim that I am racist.  You then manufacture a whole range of lies to fool yourself.

As to 1992 and 2015.  Both the PNC and the PPP took their losses badly, the PPP leaving Guysuco insolvent, and are reportedly encouraging Maduro to make loud noises to give the new government a hard time.  Has the PPP condemned the Venezuela move, and attempted to assist in mobilizing Guyanese to deal with this new crisis?

Hammie and his hooligans behaved badly and then Janet embraced them and rewarded their good behavior, so your screams are silly, because clearly Hammie and his goons weren't seen as a problem by the PPP.

Baseman always stand ready to help human kind however, I will never stand by and let racism slip by.  Caribj is one of the most racist posters on this board. .

And yet you cannot cite what I say that is racist.  Demanding the INCLUSION of Africans is not racist.

I suggest you re read all of my posts to Shaitaan, you and others wjere I was claiming that no political entity which isn't multi ethnic in nature is going to win.

Now how you can extend that to wanting "Afro domination" is nonsense.  Doesn't that seem silly when the African population is even SMALLER than the Indian, and therefore even more in need of multi ethnic alliances, especially with the fast growing mixed population?

BTW your idea of African inclusion is black tokenism, within the context of Indo domination.  When Indians don't dominate, you resort to screams of Indo Holocaust, Indians becoming slaves, etc.  Your "support" for Granger is hollow, when we see how you have already crowned him as an African militaristic dictator.

You are the #1 peddler of the "black man baad, Indian good" mythology.  Any suggestion that the PPP and Indians have played a role in our ethnic tensions is considered racist by you, which is the REAL reason why you claim that I am racist.  You then manufacture a whole range of lies to fool yourself.

As to 1992 and 2015.  Both the PNC and the PPP took their loss badly, the PPP leaving Guysuco insolvent, and are reportedly encouraging Maduro to make loud noises to give the new government a hard time.  Has the PPP condemned the Venezuela move, and attempted to assist in mobilizing Guyanese to deal with this new crisis.

Hammie and his hooligans behaved badly and then Janet embraced them and rewarded their good behavior, so your screams are silly, because clearly Hammie and his goons weren't seen as a problem by the PPP.

How yuh think you smart, dozz mek mi laff.

Regarding Venez, I remember both the PPP and WPA were suspicious of their claim in the late 70's as a way for LFSB to crush the opposition as "traitors".  True or lie, we will never know, but LFSB got very brutal after that.

Venezuela did have some small invasions, did mount strenuous diplomatic initiatives to defend their claim, and did try to mobilize Venezuelans against Guyana.

Venezuelans viewed this as a prank by a corrupt elite to divert from their failures.   They will think the same of Maduro.

Guyana is the soft spot.  They dare not try anything on Colombia, where they also have boundary claims, and where Colombia is now drilling oil.  They dare not trying anything on the ABC islands as the Netherlands will get a grip on them. Trinidad is seen as a more serious nation than Guyana, so again they will not advance any boundary claims against them.

Only Guyana, and its a pity that the PPP might be egging on Maduro out of their sour grapes of being rejected.

Venezuela did have some small invasions, did mount strenuous diplomatic initiatives to defend their claim, and did try to mobilize Venezuelans against Guyana.

Venezuelans viewed this as a prank by a corrupt elite to divert from their failures.   They will think the same of Maduro.

Guyana is the soft spot.  They dare not try anything on Colombia, where they also have boundary claims, and where Colombia is now drilling oil.  They dare not trying anything on the ABC islands as the Netherlands will get a grip on them. Trinidad is seen as a more serious nation than Guyana, so again they will not advance any boundary claims against them.

Only Guyana, and its a pity that the PPP might be egging on Maduro out of their sour grapes of being rejected.

They felt screwed by Russia and UK in the league of nations in 1899.  This needs to go to arbitration.  I believe that Venez were willing to do a deal with the PPP i.e. allowing exploration without giving up their claim.  On the other hand Venez is an OPEC hawk ans prefer to see less production so this could be that play or maybe they simply believe Guyana just had a coup d'etat.

Now, why do you think somehow the PPP is responsible?

Sour grapes.  They would rather destroy Guyana than to admit that they lost more than 50% of the votes in both 2011 and 2015.

They have destroyed Guyana...financially.

This is also why I said in another thread, the PPP are traitors to Guyana and its people.