And if one looks at the indentures who were brought to the Caribbean,  the Indians did much worse.  They arrived in larger numbers, too mnay for them to all escape into various economic niches, as the Chinese and the Portuguese were able to do. So armed with reserves of unemployed black in Guyana, and when needed, Barbados, the plantocracy was able to use the weak economic positions of BOTH the Africans and the Indians to keep both in poverty.

So really what is baseman's issue?

He believes Indians are superior to blacks and other races in Guyana. A true racist. The racial divide started under the Brits as you know and is with us today. Neither race is better off today (except for a few elites from both races). Traverse the country and you find Indians living in abject poverty, one bowl of rice per day, rampant alcoholism and suicide in their population. Jagan in 64 didn't help the average Indian nor did 23 years of the recent cabal. And they were discriminated against by LFS.

Black folks today, minus a few elites, are no better off after LFS rule either. So here we have both sides living in poverty in a land of rich resources while they try to perpetuate the internecine civil war that began in the colonial era.

Then here comes Baseman the Klansman to tout the mighty accomplishments of indo Guyanese while denigrating black guyanese. Completely ignorant of history or the contribution of other races, mired in his Indo KKK world where Indians are the superior lot deigned to rule over us. Defying the facts that after 23 years of indian rule the average indian is still poor and now a large majority of them are at the mercy of the govt with Guysuco in the latrine thanks to the PPP, he struts around thumping his chest about the wonders of hindutva.

No sir, it is more important to him that he establish that Indians are superior. And he is not the only one here who feels that way. And that's the real sad part.

Originally Posted by Itaname:
It was off topic, we were not addressing the ills of the colonial era, but the ills of the post-colonial era. 

Being the indo nationalist punk that you are, you want to confine the discussion to the PNC's 28 years. Dude, GFYS and quit wasting my time. You're a useless sack of shit.

Hey dunce, it's your teacher who said it was LFSB wickedly "undeveloped" the minds of Afro so they cannot compete.

Don't blame the colonials (Whites) for everything.  It was alyuh "today" leaders who initiated mo fyah slo fyah, it was alyuh "today's" PNC leaders who unleashed the Buxton FF's against the PPP [Indian] constituency in an attempt to topple the PPP.  The slaughter of Indians in the 60's was the handy work of some still "today's" PNC leaders.  It was many of the still "today's" PNC leaders who unleashed the PNC 28 year reign of terror.  All these were the conscious and deliberate actions of your "today" leaders.  Are you saying they knew not what they did/were doing?  Take ownership, it is yours to own, then you will start on the path to redemption.  You cannot talk your way out of these FACTS.

Hey dunce, it's your teacher who said it was LFSB wickedly "undeveloped" the minds of Afro so they cannot compete.

Don't blame the colonials (Whites) for everything.  It was alyuh "today" leaders who initiated mo fyah slo fyah, it was alyuh "today's" PNC leaders who unleashed the Buxton FF's against the PPP [Indian] constituency in an attempt to topple the PPP.  The slaughter of Indians in the 60's was the handy work of some still "today's" PNC leaders.  It was many of the still "today's" PNC leaders who unleashed the PNC 28 year reign of terror.  All these were the conscious and deliberate actions of your "today" leaders.  Are you saying they knew not what they did/were doing?  Take ownership, it is yours to own, then you will start on the path to redemption.  You cannot talk your way out of these FACTS.

Who's denying any of this you fcking idiot? Who is claiming that LFS did not under develop the black community? You are at war with the straw man you created. Have fun knocking him out cuz he certainly represents none of my arguments. Have fun wailing at the straw you stupid c.nt.

What's do excellent about it, it was off topic, so stop tap dancing.  YOU explain to your "student" what is it that LFSB was guilty of regarding Afros and their "preparedness" to compete.  This is YOUR position, NOT MINE.  All what Itaname wrote was beside the point. Don't blame the PPP and Indians  in general.

It is "off topic" now because it confronts your racist beliefs. You began this pissing contest by attributing positions to me that I did not hold. You further presume I'm ignorant of what LFS did. I've answered you on both accounts - both Indian and African struggles predated the PPP and PNC and acknowledging that black folks fought against Burnham because of precisely what Caribny pointed out. That sewer you call a mind has no reason left.

I've accused both the PPP and PNC of institutionalized racism. There are issues that exist in all races that cannot be laid at the feet of any political party. Nowhere did I say that the PPP is the source of all the problems confronting black Guyanese. So quit your lying and stop creating straw men to save your weak ass arguments.

And quit your lying ass shit about how many blacks you nominate for positions. We both know that were you or one like you to gain any power you would pursue with gusto the political and economic enslavement of black folks! Oh, and the "piwari drinking, cassava bread eating" Amerindians as you call them who ought to give up their land rights to you "industrious" Indians. Yeah, you're just cut like that. Too late to save you!

It was off topic, we were not addressing the ills of the colonial era, but the ills of the post-colonial era.  As I said, alyuh can jump and prance, the issues of Afros in Guyana does not lie at the feet of the PPP/Indians.  Just ask Carib, that Burnham did some sublime wutlissness according to he.  For me, if Indians had a 50% Burnham on our side, our situation in Guyana would have been very different.

I never said I nominate blacks for anything, I said i would have preferred to see more blacks as they are a large constituency in Guyana and they are qualified.  Regarding that derogatory reference to Amerindians, only one man I refer to as he loves referring to Indians as "dalits" and other such terms.  Alyuh like cuss but cry when it comes back.

The fact remains that the Burnham era was racist towards Indians, and you and numerous Indians reminded us of that during this election.

Given that what is your angst about blacks telling you that the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal were EQUALLY racist towards blacks?

Is it that Indians are allowed to discuss a govt which displays bias against them, but blacks are not?

Are you now willing to admit that the PPP was no less racist towards blacks than the PNC was to Indians in the Burnham era?

It is so good to talk about the PPP regime in the PAST TENSE!

In addition, the fact that the high suicide rate in Guyana, the HIGHEST in the world, is CONCENTRATED among the very segment who tend to support the PPP. This shows that Indians have a range of problems, which the PPP did nothing to help them with.  Happy people do not kill themselves!

Not only was the PPP just as racist towards blacks as the PNC was towards Indians. But the PPP was just as neglectful and destructive towards their grass roots base, as measured by their high suicide rates, as the PNC was towards its grass roots base.

So why your focus only on blacks and the PNC?  There is NO ONE on this board who argues that the Burnham regime helped Afro Guyanese, beyond the political elites!  Itaname does not, nor do I.

  The slaughter of Indians in the 60's was the handy work of some still "today's" PNC leaders.  It was many of the still "today's" PNC leaders who unleashed the PNC 28 year reign of terror.  All these were the conscious and deliberate actions of your "today" leaders.  Are you saying they knew not what they did/were doing?  Take ownership, it is yours to own, then you will start on the path to redemption.  You cannot talk your way out of these FACTS.

You cannot help your racist self.  Listen even Odeen Ishmael cites that BOTH Indians and Africans were violent towards each other in the 60s.  And all of those extrajudicial killings by Jagdeo offset any brutality towards Indians during the Burnham era.

BOTH Burnham and Jagdeo are drenched in blood and only a racist like you would say otherwise.

There is NO ONE on this board who argues that the Burnham regime helped Afro Guyanese, beyond the political elites!

What's wrong with you people.  The OLD PNC rigged years was an apartheid era run  from the Office of the General Secretary and Min of National Dev. (KSI, housing schemes for blacks, jobs for blacks, civil service almost entirely blacks, subsidized buses, national service and militarism, etc).

Why are we going over these again?

It's a new era, let's analyze and critique the new era.

So far we have a new Govt; several missteps; skewed representation in Cabinet and Parliament; PPP appointees fired; parliament opening next week; audits in stream... Let's see how the Coalition era develops.  Be optimistic that overall it will be a good change.

Originally Posted by VVP:

While Rodney and the portugese Father Darke were dying in the streets to remove LFS you and your clan rallied behind Jagan who was giving "critical support" to the dictator Burnham. All because Jagan was Indian!!! 

Critical support happened during this time?  Are you sure about that?  I don't think so.

Oh yes.  The USSR tolde communist parties to critically support other let wing parties, when those parties were in government.  Stupid Cheddi, enslved by Moscow and Havana, congratulated Burnham when he nationalized corporations and brought up to 80% of the economy under state control.  The idiot didnt understand that Bunrhm did that for purposes of control.  When you control a man's bread you control his brain.

To show how idiotic Cheddi was, he was even begging Burnham to set up a government of National Unity, where he Cheddi could perform the meaningless role that Sam Hinds performed.

It was the WPA and people like that, who worked to bring down the Burnham regime.  To his credit Sam Hinds was instrumental in that.  Too bad he became a toothless Uncle Tom under the PPP.

I understand why critical support was given.  I think it started around 1975 but when did it end?  Was it still in effect during the WPA struggle as Itname seems to indicate.  I remember Cheddie at the mall during one of the protest and Moses spoke at a WPA meeting in Kitty so I am not sure if critical support was still in effect.  When was the big sugar strike after 1975?

28 MPs artificially united into a payroll vote under the tent of "Cabinet collective responsibility"

I wouldn't be surprised if the remaining 5 MPs are made Parliamentary Secretaries and/or President Advisors.

No MP will be left behind

This is pretty devastating for parliamentary democracy. It's a worrisome consolidation of Executive power over the National Assembly if done for no other reason other than power for its own sake.

I don't understand.  Aren't ministers members of parliament in England, for example.  Maybe I am missing your point.

Sorry I took so long to respond to you bro.

Yes, all Ministers by convention are Members of Parliament in the UK. Almost always Members of the House of Commons with rare exception. Sometimes the occasional House of Lords Member becomes a Cabinet Minister like Baroness Warsi or British Guyanese Baroness Amos or the rare case of Baron Mandelson who was appointed Minister and then granted a peerage with a seat in the House of Lords.

Anyways, in Guyana all Cabinet Ministers are automatically MPs. However, they can only vote in the National Assembly if they are "elected MPs" not MPs by virtue of their Ministerial appointment. The revised Constitution limits such unelected Ministers to like 4. The so-called "techocrats." In other words, we have non-voting MPs sometimes. Sometimes, the Speaker is not an elected MP but is made a non-voting MP by virtue of his office.

Anyways, all of the above is not really relevant to my point. There is a political custom in the UK of maintaining support among your MPs by giving everyone some kinda Ministry or some Parliamentary Secretaryship or some other sinecure which allows them to draw a higher salary. They call this the "payroll vote." This is good for government discipline as it ensures support for the Government agenda from a wide amount of MPs as possible. Guyana  however has an additional bull whip over the head of every MP...the right of recall. Basically, any MP can be fired at the whim of the partly leader for the sin of voting the "wrong" way in parliament on any issue no matter how minor.

So what I'm saying is that Granger is leading his MPs by tying them to the Executive so he has a satisfied and happy parliamentary delegation not inclined to intrigue against him personally as Leader of the PNC/R. However, this is bad for democracy because again you have the Government MP's almost all of them personally and securely tied to the Executive. Typically "backbench" Government MP's who hold no Ministry or Executive sinecure are relied upon in a parliamentary democracy to hold the Government Party to account. The Granger Government doesn't seem to have any backbench MPs. They're all literally on the Executive/Cabinet payroll.

In sum...Granger has executed a not unusual political move. Great for ramming through the Government agenda in Parliament and preventing non-Granger based centers of power within the Government parliamentary delegation but not so good for the healthy functioning of Parliamentary oversight of the Executive.

P.S...Granger may be firming up his control of his MPs since he expects to lose the power of recall in the Constitutional reforms to come. I can't imagine the ABC Ambassadors letting him keep the power of recall over MPs. A major component of Constitutional reform will be the independence of the National Assembly. So Granger has to get a head start of controlling his MPs by other means. Money and titles are always reliable inducements. Especially for Guyanese people. "Lean and hungry" looking MPs with nothing to fear are dangerous creatures.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!!

The Shayster on a rolls.  His main man Raj Singh is now history and have a high possiblity of going to jail.

He in pain right now.  

What an ignorant jackass. Raj Singh was paid to do a job. He did the job to the best of HIS ABILITY. Ther is no allegation of theft on his part. I know Raj Singh since 1971. He will just return to the US and find a job.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!!

The Shayster on a rolls.  His main man Raj Singh is now history and have a high possiblity of going to jail.

He in pain right now.  

What an ignorant jackass. Raj Singh was paid to do a job. He did the job to the best of HIS ABILITY. Ther is no allegation of theft on his part. I know Raj Singh since 1971. He will just return to the US and find a job.

Dem AFC low lifes like to talk nuff fat sk**t. You know what's going to happen to all dem PPP tiefman like Raj Singh? NOTHING! Not one sk**t!

Dem guh bray and bray and bray but some people gone get fired as is customary in a new Administration but ain't nobody doin sk**t.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!!

He in pain right now.  

Bhai if you know Raj sing Since 1971....

and yuh saying he is not a Thief...

that says a lot about you.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!!

He in pain right now.  

You should know a thief. That's your mantra here. Raj Singh and I attended college together. When he graduated from University of Minnesota he left and attended colleges in NY. He was an honest and straight forward man. I never known him to be a thief. His family still resides in Minnesota. If you were in his position and Guysuco was failing, they would also call you a thief also.

Anyways, in Guyana all Cabinet Ministers are automatically MPs. However, they can only vote in the National Assembly if they are "elected MPs" not MPs by virtue of their Ministerial appointment. The revised Constitution limits such unelected Ministers to like 4. The so-called "techocrats." In other words, we have non-voting MPs sometimes. Sometimes, the Speaker is not an elected MP but is made a non-voting MP by virtue of his office.

Thanks for the lang explanation   I thought all the MP had to be selected from the list and thus are elected.  Are you saying that there could be 65 +4 = 69 MPs with 4 non-voters?

Isn't there a benefit in being able to reign in your MPs since parliament could bring a no confidence vote and force new elections?  This cannot happen in the USA, for example.  The Congress or Senate cannot force a new Presidential election.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!!

He in pain right now.  

You should know a thief. That's your mantra here. Raj Singh and I attended college together. When he graduated from University of Minnesota he left and attended colleges in NY. He was an honest and straight forward man. I never known him to be a thief. His family still resides in Minnesota. If you were in his position and Guysuco was failing, they would also call you a thief also.

Well with the audit they will be able to figure out if he thief or not.  If he was paid US$25,000 a month he would be extremely greedy to thief.  That salary in Guyana is like thiefing already.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!!

He in pain right now.  

Well with the audit they will be able to figure out if he thief or not.  If he was paid US$25,000 a month he would be extremely greedy to thief.  That salary in Guyana is like thiefing already.

Never knew that paid is a synonym for thief.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

There is NO ONE on this board who argues that the Burnham regime helped Afro Guyanese, beyond the political elites!

What's wrong with you people.  The OLD PNC rigged years was an apartheid era run.

And the PPP was a similarly racist regime. 

Now you are in bed with the PNC.  Why don't you go and give them your assessment of the PNC and of black people?

How heroic can your Lord Moses be, if he joined with those people, based on your assessment of them?

While Rodney and the portugese Father Darke were dying in the streets to remove LFS you and your clan rallied behind Jagan who was giving "critical support" to the dictator Burnham. All because Jagan was Indian!!! 

Critical support happened during this time?  Are you sure about that?  I don't think so.

Oh yes.  The USSR tolde communist parties to critically support other let wing parties, when those parties were in government.  Stupid Cheddi, enslved by Moscow and Havana, congratulated Burnham when he nationalized corporations and brought up to 80% of the economy under state control.  The idiot didnt understand that Bunrhm did that for purposes of control.  When you control a man's bread you control his brain.

To show how idiotic Cheddi was, he was even begging Burnham to set up a government of National Unity, where he Cheddi could perform the meaningless role that Sam Hinds performed.

It was the WPA and people like that, who worked to bring down the Burnham regime.  To his credit Sam Hinds was instrumental in that.  Too bad he became a toothless Uncle Tom under the PPP.

I understand why critical support was given.  I think it started around 1975 but when did it end?  Was it still in effect during the WPA struggle as Itname seems to indicate.  I remember Cheddie at the mall during one of the protest and Moses spoke at a WPA meeting in Kitty so I am not sure if critical support was still in effect.  When was the big sugar strike after 1975?

Critical support continued up to Burnham's death.  Cheddi was begging Fo0rbes to allow him into a National Unity gov't with Burnham as the President (absolute power under the constitution) and Jagan as President.

Burnham died in 1985.  The peak of the WPA activity was in the late 70s and early 80s.

Thanks for the lang explanation   I thought all the MP had to be selected from the list and thus are elected.  Are you saying that there could be 65 +4 = 69 MPs with 4 non-voters?

Isn't there a benefit in being able to reign in your MPs since parliament could bring a no confidence vote and force new elections?  This cannot happen in the USA, for example.  The Congress or Senate cannot force a new Presidential election.

Technically speaking the President of Guyana is free to appoint up to 4 Ministers and 2 Parliamentary Secretaries who are unelected and become non-voting Members of the National Assembly for the duration of their appointments. In addition to that the Speaker may also be elected by the MPs (elected MPs that is) from pretty much anywhere.

Strictly speaking Parliament consists of the President and the National Assembly just as in the UK, Parliament consists of the Queen and the two Houses.

Anyways, the Constitution provides for 65 elected MPs with voting rights and an additional maximum of 7 unelected MPs (4 Technocrat Ministers, 2 Technocrat Parliamentary Secretaries, and 1 Speaker) without voting rights for a total of 71. We usually hover around 67 total MPs in the National Assembly in each Parliament but always 65 voting MPs.

To call Parliament into session, one only needs like 1/3 of the National Assembly so the PPP is free to sit out the next 5 years and thereafter.

There is a great benefit in reining in your MPs but also in letting them be independent. It's this balance that makes the system work. Enough slack to let the Government get it's agenda through the House but not such a free hand that it becomes unaccountable to the House.

The problem with Guyana is that Burnham screwed us. He gave us all the powers of the Presidential system of Government but none of it's separation of powers benefits and no real checks and balances. Then he married the Presidential system to the parliamentary system of Westminster which gives the Head of Government virtually unlimited authority as long as he controls his MPs. So we have the worst of both systems. Which is why we're in the mess we're in. It's not all ethnicity in Guyana. It's ethnicity driven significantly by our strange Constitution.

Critical support continued up to Burnham's death.  Cheddi was begging Fo0rbes to allow him into a National Unity gov't with Burnham as the President (absolute power under the constitution) and Jagan as President.

Burnham died in 1985.  The peak of the WPA activity was in the late 70s and early 80s.

I kinda remember that the WPA was expecting the PPP to remove the critical support in support of the struggle but I am not sure if it happened.  I can't argue with you because I do not have the facts.  Maybe some else could chime to verify what you said.

Didn't all the cantractors get PAID bai?

Did the contractors steal or they got paid? Did they rob the bank for their money?

No bai they robbed the people when/if they were overpaid.  You know how dem cantract does wuk in Guyana right?

Technically speaking the President of Guyana is free to appoint up to 4 Ministers and 2 Parliamentary Secretaries who are unelected and become non-voting Members of the National Assembly for the duration of their appointments. In addition to that the Speaker may also be elected by the MPs (elected MPs that is) from pretty much anywhere.

Strictly speaking Parliament consists of the President and the National Assembly just as in the UK, Parliament consists of the Queen and the two Houses.

Anyways, the Constitution provides for 65 elected MPs with voting rights and an additional maximum of 7 unelected MPs (4 Technocrat Ministers, 2 Technocrat Parliamentary Secretaries, and 1 Speaker) without voting rights for a total of 71. We usually hover around 67 total MPs in the National Assembly in each Parliament but always 65 voting MPs.

To call Parliament into session, one only needs like 1/3 of the National Assembly so the PPP is free to sit out the next 5 years and thereafter.

There is a great benefit in reining in your MPs but also in letting them be independent. It's this balance that makes the system work. Enough slack to let the Government get it's agenda through the House but not such a free hand that it becomes unaccountable to the House.

The problem with Guyana is that Burnham screwed us. He gave us all the powers of the Presidential system of Government but none of it's separation of powers benefits and no real checks and balances. Then he married the Presidential system to the parliamentary system of Westminster which gives the Head of Government virtually unlimited authority as long as he controls his MPs. So we have the worst of both systems. Which is why we're in the mess we're in. It's not all ethnicity in Guyana. It's ethnicity driven significantly by our strange Constitution.

Thanks bai.  Yuh larn me something today 

Did the contractors steal or they got paid? Did they rob the bank for their money?

No bai they robbed the people when/if they were overpaid.  You know how dem cantract does wuk in Guyana right?

They did not steal. Somebody had to pay them. You cannot say that the payor stole them; you said they got PAID(regardless if they were OVERPAID).

Yes bai that is how they fleeced Guyana and might be able to legally get away with it.  But thieves tend to slip up and make mistakes.

Guyanese politicians and their associates take care of themselves well first. Regardless how they acquire wealth, they do get rich or live in luxury as time goes on...it's not just the PPP.

Originally Posted by Prashad:
You will see how coolie will get kick now. Back to the bottom of society we go once again with the.Amerindians.

Let us assume you are correct.

WHO PUT THEM THERE?  The PPP has 23 years to do their thing, but rather than looking after Jagan's people - the working class - the helped IRFAN and KWAME and BHARAT and PRIYA.

Not fair comment.

Granger cannot be blamed for the plight of the working class.

You will see how coolie will get kick now. Back to the bottom of society we go once again with the.Amerindians.

hmmmmm? u were always a weird fellow

your only (odd) constant is a childish longing for re-institution of a Jagan Raj . . . that never was

Joey is now with the coalition, so all you have left is a hollering that destruction of "coolie" people is at hand

always knew u were deeply ignorant and primitive. . . watching the evil pour forth as your racist demagogic instincts take over is new to me though

Let us assume you are correct.

WHO PUT THEM THERE?  The PPP has 23 years to do their thing, but rather than looking after Jagan's people - the working class - the helped IRFAN and KWAME and BHARAT and PRIYA.

Not fair comment.

Granger cannot be blamed for the plight of the working class.

Bai, this talk getting you the wrong attention.  For what you after, you need to be more "professional".

The Alliance promised to give us good governance.

They promised many Indians  jobs and now they backtrack on their promises.

Moses and Ramjattan will kick Indian butts to fit in nicely with the Ravans..

What the hell is a Ravan? Or do you mean Raven? I don't get it.

Some Hindi word. Quite common on this site.  They use this when they don't want the rest of us to know what is going on.

LMFAO . I'm guessing it doesn't mean anything good.

Curse me. In a few years you will see I was right

ignoramus! u curse yourself

you loved Cheddie . . . go check his writings and utterances on the subject and give yourself a much-needed education klown

Calm down your panties. You need Duluth Trading Buck Naked underwear.

This is funny.  It means devil or in Guyanese case "Black man." 

Yes I know it is something racist against blacks.  Yet caribj is a racist to suggest that Indian racism does exist, and that it should be acknowledged just as all the ills that blacks have done to Indians is poured out here almost daily.

The only narrative on racism which is legitimate in the eyes of most of GNI is one where the black brute is savaging the poor Indian.

Jay Bharrat screams that there was no racism under the PPP and that under the PPP blacks controlled Guyana.   This is the piece of nonsense that I will confront when I see it and I do not care who has a problem with it.