BREAKING | Second Coronavirus death recorded

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

Reports are that one of two patients who was hospitalised at Coronavirus Intensive Care Unit (ICU) has passed away.

According to reports, the 38-year old man worked in the past at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) as an emergency medical technician and runs a private health care entity which does home care services.The man, who lived at South Ruimveldt Gardens with his family, was admitted to the GPHC over a week ago after complaining of feeling unwell.

He was hospitalised and as his condition deteriorated, he was taken to the Intensive Care Unit. He died on Tuesday morning. Reports from staff at the hospital are that the man’s wife, who is pregnant, was collected by health officials on Monday night and placed in isolation.

Guyana had confirmed its first imported case of COVID-19 in Georgetown on Wednesday, March 11, 2020.

That patient, a 52-year-old Guyanese woman who had travelled from the United States of America to Guyana on March 5, 2020, was presented to the public health system on March 10. She died at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation on March 11. Since then, four of the woman’s relatives have tested positive for the virus.

The total number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Guyana increased to eight, inclusive of the two deaths.

No curfew or lockdown of Georgetown in coronavirus battle – Mayor

Ubraj Narine

Mayor Ubraj Narine yesterday announced that the council will not lock down Georgetown nor institute a curfew on non-essential services; instead the City will work with stakeholders such as the Ministry of Public Health to implement recommendations on social distancing and hygienic practices to battle the coronavirus.

β€œThe city is not a light bulb where you can flick a switch and lock it down, we will not lock down the city… we will maintain our daily operations but we call on citizens to be very cautious in how you are dealing with yourself out there”, Narine told a press conference at City Hall yesterday.

He announced that Georgetown will work closely with the Ministry of Public Health and other stakeholders including the Private Sector Commission and the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry but since the Capital City serves as the heart of the country a directive which locks the City will have to come from Central Government.

Or

This virus is serious so people in Guyana needs to take heed. Unfortunately because of the wicked ways of the PNC there is another existential threat which needs to be staved off so there are still many patriots putting their health and lives on the line to protect the country from becoming a totalitarian and police state. This could have been avoided had the PNC exercised enough decency and properly counted the votes and Dr. Ali could have sworn in and providing sensible leadership during the current pandemic.

That lady travelled on a CAL from NY. Locked away in a steel tube at 35 thousand feet for at least 5 hours breathing the same air, who knows who else got infected on that flight.

Some people can contract and infect others without feeling unwell or demonstrating any symptoms.. Sorry to say, I don't think Guyana is prepared to handle this virus.

It will pass with not much serious spread in Guyana.

Why is this virus not attacking animals other than humans. Seems to be very intelligent. 

Hope you are right.

Some  animals can be carriers. On the other hand, you are correct as it seems not to affect house pets.

If they were to test everyone who gets touched by the normal flu virus, it’s more than we see here.

But one should take reasonable precautions.

This was engineered by the Chinese and exploited by the Democrats to break the stock market, break the economy and destroy Trump’s chances of re-election.

It will pass with not much serious spread in Guyana.

Yuh hoping bai. That's the spirit. Sadly I don't agree with u.

This is the time for lemon grass, fever grass, wild daisy an all the rest yuh might need...

Bai, you prove my case. Since a lil bai in Guyana, when you kech flu exactly that was the treatment!

However, one should take reasonable precautions as with any transmissible disease.

This was engineered by the Chinese and exploited by the Democrats to break the stock market, break the economy and destroy Trump’s chances of re-election.

Lay off the heavy drugs, you are getting real bassidy now. So the Chinese and Democrats spreading this thing worldwide jus fo overthrow trump. You dam stupidy for someone "supposedly"intelligent.

Second COVID-19 fatality identified as Director of Reliance HealthCare

Jermaine Ifill

The second patient who succumbed to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) this morning has been identified as the Executive Director of Reliance HealthCare, Jermaine Ifill.

β€œCan’t believe covid got me typing RIP…I tried to call you when you were first admitted and you cut off the phone because you said when you talk you (can’t) breath so i must text you. I texted you this morning asking you how you feel….it hurt me when I understand why you didn’t reply .So these texts are my last memories of you,” a post by Joel Bancroft stated.

Bancroft also uploaded screenshots of the conversations he had with Ifill via WhatsApp after Ifill was diagnosed with the virus.

Meanwhile, the Chief Executive Officer of the Georgetown Public Hospital Brigadier (Ret’d) George Lewis disclosed that the person who died was not assigned to take care of COVID-19 patients. He did not disclose the identity of the patient saying that it is sensitive information and family members are in mourning.

Deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr. Karen Gordon-Boyle today announced that a second person had died  while the number of confirmed cases had risen from eight to twelve. She provided no information on the second fatality.

The first recorded death linked to COVID-19 was announced on March 11th after a 52-year-old woman who travelled from the United States to Guyana died at the Georgetown Public Hospital.