GNBS hosts consultations for construction of VIP latrine

In accordance with its mandate to promote and implement standards in key sectors within the country, the Guyana National Bureau of Standards (GNBS) on Tuesday commenced consultations with key stakeholders in the construction sector, on the development of a code of practice for the design and construction of Ventilated Improved Pit (VIP) latrines.

Mariella Seepaul, member of the National Standards Council

A draft standard document for the latrine’s construction was developed by the Technical Committee of the National Standards Council and was presented during the consultancy exercise at the National Library.
Member of the National Standards Council, Mariella Seepaul in presenting the draft conveyed that the code gives recommendations for the design, location, construction, and maintenance of the VIP latrines which are most applicable for households and institutions in rural areas.
On this note, Seepaul explained that not only does the VIP latrine differ in design compared to traditional ones, but there now exists a requirement which includes the gathering and submittal of information to the relevant authority before such a structure can be erected.

Illustration of a single pit Ventilated Improved Pit latrine

This is, by far, the most important guideline to be followed.
“In order to design the VIP latrines, information should be obtained including site conditions, number of users and information to be given to the authorities…before the commencement of any work, plans of the proposed sanitation facility, in such form as may be prescribed by the Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) or Town Council shall be submitted to the relevant authority” she explained.
Additionally, information that should be obtained includes the nature of the soil and subsoil conditions. This entails the approximate height of water table and any available record of flood levels or information as to the variation, seasonal or otherwise, in the high water table.
The standard document states that proposed structures must be built on sites that are “well drained”, above flood levels and should also be at least 30 metres away from water sources such as wells and springs.
The VIP latrine is described as an improved sanitary household solution for human excreta, which has a tall vertical vent pipe and a fly screen fitted at its top. It can either be single (one pit) or alternating (two pits).

Consultations begin on construction of VIP latrines

A consultation session has begun among stakeholders in the construction sector regarding the developing of Ventilated Improved Pit (VIP) latrines.

https://i0.wp.com/www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/latrine.png?w=606&ssl=1

VIP latrines are an improvement to overcome the disadvantages of simple pit latrines, e.g. fly and mosquito nuisance and unpleasant odors.

The Guyana National Bureau of Standards (GNBS) has compiled a draft standard document for the construction of such latrines.

It was presented for feedback during a consultation exercise held at the National Library on Tuesday.

Member of the National Standards Council, Mariella Seepaul explained that VIP latrines are most applicable for households and institutions in rural areas.

There are two basic types of VIP latrine: the single-pit latrine and one with two pits, known as the alternating VIP latrine or twin-pit latrine.

According to the draft code, the site of the latrine should be well drained and above flood level. Latrines should also be constructed at a minimum safe distance from water source.

It was also recommended that the latrines should be located at least 2 meters away from overhanging branches and any other obstacle that might impede the action of the wind across the top of the vent pipe.

Also, the doorway of the VIP latrine should face the wind.

The full draft code is available for review on here.

A consultation session has begun among stakeholders in the construction sector regarding the developing of Ventilated Improved Pit (VIP) latrines.

https://i0.wp.com/www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/latrine.png?w=606&ssl=1

VIP latrines are an improvement to overcome the disadvantages of simple pit latrines, e.g. fly and mosquito nuisance and unpleasant odors.

The Guyana National Bureau of Standards (GNBS) has compiled a draft standard document for the construction of such latrines.

It was presented for feedback during a consultation exercise held at the National Library on Tuesday.

Member of the National Standards Council, Mariella Seepaul explained that VIP latrines are most applicable for households and institutions in rural areas.

There are two basic types of VIP latrine: the single-pit latrine and one with two pits, known as the alternating VIP latrine or twin-pit latrine.

According to the draft code, the site of the latrine should be well drained and above flood level. Latrines should also be constructed at a minimum safe distance from water source.

It was also recommended that the latrines should be located at least 2 meters away from overhanging branches and any other obstacle that might impede the action of the wind across the top of the vent pipe.

Have they consulted you since you were Burnham’s Specialist Engineer in charge of Latrine Building? You have a lot of experience in this field and can give some valuable advice.

Yugi would be real pissed to read this. Speaking of yugi @ piss, seems he still deh ah lockup, maybe six months he got.

?????

Me thinks he quits GNI.

Good riddance if he did although he was good for an occasional laugh.

Government is a disgrace.  Oil money will come in and this what government telling its citizens to do - build latrines.  The Good Life promised will be for the elites. The masses can suck salt and defecate in a dirty pit that reminds us of hardships and all sorts of deprivation.

That is a great design. Indeed it is what should be part of the standard sanitation and  health care PSA protocol. Guyanese need to know how to build sanitary latrines especially since one half of the country still depend on them

Yugi would be real pissed to read this. Speaking of yugi @ piss, seems he still deh ah lockup, maybe six months he got.

?????

Me thinks he quits GNI.

You wish!

Until the oil money is available for the budget, what would you suggest instead? 

Shit in the PPP cup as long as BJ in deh leading.

?????

Me thinks he quits GNI.

You wish!

He is not here, check Membership  for  "yugi22" profile.

?????

Me thinks he quits GNI.

You wish!

Probably reincarnated like many here.

?????

Me thinks he quits GNI.

You wish!

Ah got a feeling, soon as we hear of election he gon show up under another nic talking about various sexy outfits, expensive shoes an lotsa faggy shit

Have they consulted you since you were Burnham’s Specialist Engineer in charge of Latrine Building? You have a lot of experience in this field and can give some valuable advice.

You have tremendous experience sitting inside the latrine with your mouth opened to absorb every drop that comes that way.

Unlike you, I was born in GT and grew up shitting in a toilet. 

Have you been stalking any younger women on the internet lately you ole sicko? 

You still sending them your pictures from 1964? 😂🤣😂

Guyanese have been building septic tanks and indoor plumbing on more than 90% of the news homes.  Why should people be told to go back to that dirty and unhealthy latrine pit?

.....recommendations for the design, location, construction, and maintenance of the VIP latrines which are most applicable for households and institutions in rural areas.

Guess you missed this......

Unlike you, I was born in GT and grew up shitting in a toilet. 

Have you been stalking any younger women on the internet lately you ole sicko? 

You still sending them your pictures from 1964? 😂🤣😂

Your choice to continue and be focused with your fabrications.

Periodic flooding still plague septic tank builders. Hardly any home on the coast is not suspect to at least two floods a year. It is one of the reasons we build on stilts.