President David Granger, who leads the APNU+AFC Coalition heading into the March 02 elections on Wednesday declared that he has not chosen Mr Khemraj Ramjattan, the leader of the AFC as his Prime Ministerial Candidate.

“I have not named a Prime Ministerial Candidate but I know what I am going to do,” Granger told reporters Wednesday morning.

“I reserve the right to choose and nominate a Prime Minister and I will nominate all ministers, including the Prime Minister, who is my chief Minister, after the elections,” Granger stated.

The APNU and the AFC have signed an accord to contest the elections as a Coalition; the Coalition launched its elections campaign last Friday and announced MR Ramjattan not as the Prime Ministerial Candidate but as the Leader of the AFC.

The AFC has chosen Mr Ramjattan to be the Prime Ministerial Candidate, and the President had previously said that that by agreement, the AFC chooses the Prime Ministerial Candidate.

It is unclear if that agreement is included in the new accord signed between APNU and AFC. The Accord has not been released to the public.

https://newsroom.gy/2020/01/08...-so-after-elections/

President’s statement on Ramjattan confusing, contravenes Coalition Accord – AFC

The governing Coalition partner AFC Wednesday afternoon reacted strongly to President David Granger’s declaration that he will only choose and appoint a Prime Minister after elections held.

The President is head of APNU which recently signed a new accord to contest the elections as a coalition. But the President has not acknowledged AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan as his running mate or Prime Ministerial Candidate, though the agreement the two signed says AFC will choose the Prime Ministerial candidate.

“The assertion that he will choose and nominate the Prime Minister after the election is gratuitous and confusing to our supporters and the wider electorate,” said the General Secretary of the AFC David Patterson.

Patterson, in a statement released by the AFC, said the statements of the President are in direct contradiction with provisions of the recently signed Revised Cummingsburg Accord which embodies the agreements between the two political organisations.

The AFC said it is well aware of the constitutional steps regarding appointments once the election results are known. However, the party said the process did not change the fundamental agreement that the AFC names the Prime Ministerial candidate and have named its Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan.

However, the AFC referred to statements by APNU General Secretary Joseph Harmon, who was quoted as saying Ramjattan will be the Prime Minister if the Coalition wins the elections.

Patterson said the AFC remains fully committed to the APNU+AFC coalition agreement and “is not expecting any further confusion for the remainder of the campaign.”

Harmon says Ramjattan will be Prime Minister; Granger says there’s a process

FLASH BACK: President David Granger and Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan. In the background is Minister of State, Joseph Harmon.

General Secretary of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Joseph Harmon says Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Khemraj Ramjattan will be Guyana’s next prime minister if the coalition wins the general elections in March, but President David Granger said there is a process to be followed.

“After the elections are finished? After Brigadier Granger continues to be president? It will be Khemraj Ramjattan,” Harmon told News-Talk Radio Guyana 1031. FM/ Demerara Waves Online News.

Asked why the prime ministerial running mate was not stated last week when APNU+AFC launched its 2020 general elections campaign, Harmon said it was all part of a “strategy”. “Leave us, leave us let us work our strategy. We have our thing well planned out, that’s all,” Harmon added.

On Wednesday, Granger, who is also Chairman of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR)-led APNU, told News-Talk Radio Guyana 1031. FM/ Demerara Waves Online News that he has “started to campaign” with Ramjattan who has been nominated by the AFC.

“I have not named a prime ministerial candidate, but I know what I’m going to do and my partners… I reserve the right to choose and nominate a prime minister. I will nominate all ministers, including the prime minister who is my chief minister after the elections,” he said.

President David Granger and Mr. Joseph Harmon.

Sources close to the coalition have told News-Talk Radio Guyana that the coalition’s presidential candidate does not want to appear as though he has come under pressure or will be giving into the AFC’s demand to name Ramjattan as his prime ministerial candidate.

No mention was made of Ramjattan as the candidate, all of the banners only displayed Granger’s face, and the MCs always referred to him as the AFC’s leader and minister of public security.

Granger and Ramjattan signed the revised Cummingsburg Accord, a political agreement between APNU and AFC, that will provide for a 70- 30 split of parliamentarians win or lose.  The AFC had failed to convince APNU in the negotiations to stick to the wording of the original 2015 accord that had stated explicitly that the prime minister would be the AFC’s nominee and that certain ministries would be assigned to  that party. WHO IS THE BOSS---GRANGER!!!

“No comment to make” – Ramjattan on President’s PM rejection

President David Granger, this morning, told reporters that he is yet to decide on who is running mate is although the Alliance For Change (AFC) announced Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan as the Coalition’s Prime Ministerial candidate.

“I know what I am going to do. I reserve the right to choose and nominate a Prime Minister. I will nominate all ministers including the Prime Minister who is my chief minister,” the President said.

Meanwhile, when contacted, Ramjattan told the Guyana Times that he has “no comment to make” and promptly disconnected the call.

The AFC and APNU have been at loggerhead over the selection of a Prime Ministerial candidate since the 2015 Cummingsburg Accord gave the PM slot to the AFC.

However, the revised agreement was signed on December 24 but details surrounding the agreement is yet to be made public. The signing was done at State House, with President David Granger and Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon, representing APNU as the party’s Chairman and General Secretary respectively.

On the other hand, the smaller party was represented by Ramjattan (as AFC leader) and Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson (as AFC General Secretary). Harmon did confirm, following the signing of the revised Accord, that the AFC’s nominee will be the PM candidate.

Asked if the party was happy with the Accord that was signed, Harmon noted that as they signed, it was indicative of them being satisfied with the terms. According to Harmon, the Accord itself embraces principles of constitutionalism and the experiences shared over the past few years.

Ramjattan was elected at the AFC’s last National Executive Conference to be the PM candidate, effectively overthrowing current Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo.

There has been much speculation in the public domain on whether the AFC would have been able to reclaim its previous Cummingsburg Accord concessions after its showing at Local Government Elections (LGE) last year.

In October, President Granger had told reporters that Ramjattan has not been given the green light by APNU and the prime ministerial candidacy would be determined only after negotiations between the two parties.

Rumjaat cork duck, Granger waited to see the PPP hand now he needs to pull a TRUMP card. This is surprising and confusing.

Khemraj needs this position real bad. Granger knows this. And with Harmon's recent comments, Granger doesn't necessarily have to appoint him the PM position. But let's see.

Rumjaat cork duck, Granger waited to see the PPP hand now he needs to pull a TRUMP card. This is surprising and confusing.

Not surprising and confusing.  Think back and connect the dots.  Start with the visit to the US in early September.

Khemraj needs this position real bad. Granger knows this. And with Harmon's recent comments, Granger doesn't necessarily have to appoint him the PM position. But let's see.

No he doesn’t need any position.  He will retire into the sunset with his millions and live happily ever after.  Ramjattan is not a stupid man.  

He already Bank his money in Valley Stream NY at Capital 1 Bank.

Bingo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Deal maker of the year!!!!!!

Nehru watch out.  He might be your neighbor soon.  Landlord extraordinaire.

No he doesn’t need any position.  He will retire into the sunset with his millions and live happily ever after.  Ramjattan is not a stupid man.  

Then he should stop sucking up to Granger. His actions are too obvious.

He already Bank his money in Valley Stream NY at Capital 1 Bank.

Bingo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Deal maker of the year!!!!!!

Nehru watch out.  He might be your neighbor soon.  Landlord extraordinaire.

Bibi ,how easy is that in the US ?

Sheik, is Rumjhaat related to DJ?

Bai, leff we brand new moderator alone nah. De man gat e haan full dis owa.

You better staan easy before he delete you comment.  

Lol. Is true.

Why dont you KNUCKLEHEADS behave yourselves before you hit your dumb-arse heads on the ceiling jumping like idiots.

The President is saying that there is a "PROCESS"...the man dont want to violate the Constitution like dem FREEDUMB HOUSE sychophants.

The Honorable Ramjattan will be the Prime Ministerial candidate for the coalition.

There is real unity in this coalition of different forces...the PPP is a ONE MAN show...the very thing Guyana does not need.

“No comment to make” – Ramjattan on President’s PM rejection

President David Granger, this morning, told reporters that he is yet to decide on who is running mate is although the Alliance For Change (AFC) announced Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan as the Coalition’s Prime Ministerial candidate.

“I know what I am going to do. I reserve the right to choose and nominate a Prime Minister. I will nominate all ministers including the Prime Minister who is my chief minister,” the President said.

Meanwhile, when contacted, Ramjattan told the Guyana Times that he has “no comment to make” and promptly disconnected the call.

Heee heee heeee ...

Dee Jhaattt left picking/digging his nose -- usual manner perhaps ...

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/granger-an-ramjattan.jpg

Wait wait Granger got the AFC to agree on giving them less MP’s and now looks like he outsmart them again on the PM position.  Who in the world goes into an election without announcing who the PM/VP would be.  Shameless pricks!’

Why dont you KNUCKLEHEADS behave yourselves before you hit your dumb-arse heads on the ceiling jumping like idiots.

The President is saying that there is a "PROCESS"...the man dont want to violate the Constitution like dem FREEDUMB HOUSE sychophants.

The Honorable Ramjattan will be the Prime Ministerial candidate for the coalition.

There is real unity in this coalition of different forces...the PPP is a ONE MAN show...the very thing Guyana does not need.

It look like your ead hit the floor when you was born. 
You know the process was followed in 2015... so who changes that format. 

Come July, he will delete himself.. when he will be the only one on this site. 

AFC says Ramjattan is PM candidate based on `fundamental agreement’

Khemraj Ramjattan

In the aftermath of comments attributed today to President David Granger, the Alliance For Change today said that there is a fundamental agreement with APNU that the AFC names the Prime Ministerial candidate and it has named its Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan as the candidate.

A statement by AFC General Secretary David Patterson follows:

AFC reiterates its position on APNU+AFC 2020 Prime Ministerial Candidate

Reports in the media of statements attributed to the President of Guyana and head of the APNU+AFC coalition regarding the naming of a Prime Ministerial Candidate are in direct contradiction with provisions of the recently signed Revised Cummingsburg Accord which embodies the agreements between the two political organisations.

“The assertion that he will choose and nominate the Prime Minister after the election is gratuitous and confusing to our supporters and the wider electorate,” said the General Secretary of the AFC David Patterson.

In responding to comments attributed to the President, published by the Guyana Newsroom this morning, the AFC said it is well aware of the constitutional steps regarding appointments once the election results are known. However, the party said the process did not change the fundamental agreement that the AFC names the Prime Ministerial candidate and have named its Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan.

Consequently, the AFC is not confused by the comments, which we notice has subsequently been clarified by the General Secretary of APNU.

The AFC said it hoped clarity has been brought to the issue, which was carefully considered and agreed during the Cummingsburg Accord discussions.

The General Secretary said the AFC remains fully committed to the APNU+AFC coalition agreement and does and is not expecting any further confusion for the remainder of the campaign. The AFC continues to do all in its power to work towards electoral victory, as the APNU+AFC remains the best choice for the Guyanese people.

There is NOTHING in the constitution on the process to select a candidate for Prime Minister during the election process.

However, it is absolutely clear that each political organisation approved for election MUST have a candidate for President.

Parties do name a person who is their Prime Minister candidate as they proceed in the election process.

==================================

Guyana Constitution - Section 101(1) & (2)

http://www.oas.org/juridico/sp...guy_constitution.pdf

101.(l) The President shall appoint an elected member of the National Assembly to be Prime Minister of Guyana;

Provided that a person who is not eligible to be elected as President shall not be eligible for appointment as Prime Minister.”

(2) The Prime Minister shall be the principal assistant of the President in the discharge of his executive functions and leader of Government business in the National Assembly

The AFC has nothing to offer in terms with an Indo support base, so an Indo PM is eqivalent to a PPP Negro PM who has no negro support base for the PPP. It is sort of trying to be inclusive, a nice thing to do. Granger doan think the PPP model is something he will honor. Negro AFC members cord duck if Ramjattan is not selected, he is the main card for them to have key government positions. With him sidelined dey too will be sidelined. The PNC has lots of ppl waiting to be rewarded.

Granger is devious, not bcz of Ramjattan. The man is very bad for a tribalized Guyana. He looks like an Idi Amin waiting to happen. 

Harmon let the secret out when he said the PPP Prime Minister is tokenism. Just as how Granger renamed ministeries, created the Office of the President, Harmon and Granger already know how dey going to shaft Indians. Jagdeo better get a head start on dem. 

alena06 posted:

Wait wait Granger got the AFC to agree on giving them less MP’s and now looks like he outsmart them again on the PM position.  Who in the world goes into an election without announcing who the PM/VP would be.  Shameless pricks!’

Yes Alena, tell dem rass deh. Call a spade a spade.

PNC don't want any Kulie to rule dem.

Some "Coolies" will do anything for Fame and wealth!! And I mean anything. Look at ruhhjaaaat and the Nee Nee Neemack Nee Mackaram Crabdaag!!!!!

Bai relax yuhself.  Ramjattan will deliver the Haitian votes!

Come July, he will delete himself.. when he will be the only one on this site. 

When the time comes ,it will be figured out. Any label towards Django will be gone.

I do remember the attacks on Ray.