Page One Comment

The monstrous murders of cousins Isaiah and Joel Henry over the weekend must be rapidly investigated by the police  and the perpetrators brought swiftly to justice. The only way in which this can be done is if investigators are permitted to carry out their work unhindered. The Guyana Police Force must also employ the full array of its investigative repertoire including DNA testing and other forensic tools to ensure that an iron-clad case is built.

In the meanwhile, and as a mark of ultimate respect for the grieving families, those seeking to make political hay from these heinous killings should desist from doing so. Those who feel aggrieved and are protesting must do so without breaking the law and trespassing on the rights of others. It is important that the rule of law prevails at all levels in this matter.

PNC activists from other parts of the country are there creating a major problem. Why don't they allow the authorities to carry out their investigations?  

That is too much to ask for and still, they want justice. How can you get justice if you can't let authority do its job? I can say the people who indulged in this behavior are just as uncivilized as their leaders.

Murder of West Berbice youths: Police to dispatch samples to forensic lab for testing; no political motive for killings- Crime Chief

The Guyana Forensic Science Laboratory located at Turkeyen, East Coast Demerara.

With seven persons now in custody concerning the killing of two youths at a coconut estate at the back of Cotton Tree Village, West Coast Berbice, police Tuesday afternoon said they were preparing to dispatch crime scene samples to a laboratory for testing.

“We have recovered some evidence from the crime scene and we are in the process of packaging them and we will be submitting those evidence to the Guyana Forensic Laboratory at the earliest opportunity,” Head of the Criminal Investigations Department, Senior Superintendent Wendell Blanhum said at a joint press conference hosted by Police Commissioner Nigel Hoppie and Chief-of-Staff of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF), Brigadier Godfrey Bess.

Mr. Blanhum assured that a thorough and “comprehensive” investigation was underway to bring the perpetrators to justice. He ruled out the killing of the youths was politically motivated, contrary to suggestions from pro-Afro-Guyanese stakeholders. “There is no absolutely no evidence whatsoever to support that contention,” he said. However, he declined to say what was the motive behind the hacking to death of Joel Henry and Isaiah Henry. “At this point in time, we would not disclose anything pertaining to motive to the public. We have a very tense situation and I will want to appeal to members of the public to allow the investigators to conduct the investigation,” he said.

Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum

The Henrys, who were cousins, left their homes early last Saturday morning to pick coconuts to sell but a search was launched after they did not return home. A search party and police Sunday afternoon located their bodies aback Cotton Tree with chop and stab wounds.

The Crime Chief said the seven persons include persons from Number 5 Village, West Coast Berbice. The others are the owner of the coconut estate where the bodies were found, his son and a handyman.

Meanwhile, Mr. Blanhum told a joint press conference by police and army chiefs that police were searching for two masked men who robbed one of three persons at gunpoint. “That matter we are treating with priority and we will make sure we that we make earnest efforts to arrest those individuals,” he said.

The Guyana Police Force confirmed that several persons were robbed and vehicles burned, but the Joint Services would not tolerate this for much longer. “The Joint Services will take all legal action necessary to ensure that law and order remain in this beloved country.. so we call on the people of Guyana to engage in peaceful protest action, Brigadier Bess said.

Granger and Harmon should listen carefully that the double murder is not politically motivated. Well, since they defy all the court rulings, this will fall on deaf ears. That's the confidence they gave me as a Guyanese.

Indians must also protest and demand justice for their losses. All lives matter. Fair is fair. 

Granger and Harmon should listen carefully that the double murder is not politically motivated. Well, since they defy all the court rulings, this will fall on deaf ears. That's the confidence they gave me as a Guyanese.

Indians must also protest and demand justice for their losses. All lives matter. Fair is fair. 

I thought with you, Black lives did not matter. Like you drank some Lake water and ketch sense?

Mitwah and KP ...

The focus of this thread is ...

"Bodies of two missing West Coast Berbice youths discovered"

Cease with your unrelated posts on this thread.

Thank-you.

Demerara_Guy = Moderator

Why is KP responding to my questions that were not directed to him?

Can you not see how he is trolling me?

I extended the Olive branch to him via PM and he told me  to go F*** myself.

Mitwah and KP ...

The focus of this thread is ...

"Bodies of two missing West Coast Berbice youths discovered"

Cease with your unrelated posts on this thread.

Thank-you.

Demerara_Guy = Moderator

@Mitwah posted:

Why is KP responding to my questions that were not directed to him?

Can you not see how he is trolling me?

I extended the Olive branch to him via PM and he told me  to go F*** myself.

Mitwah ...

1. If you continue with such matters; You will be suspended.

2. I have given you far more than adequate warnings in the past on your uncalled-for mannerism on the forum.

3. Unconcerned about your private messages.

Be advised. Conduct yourself accordingly.

Demerara_Guy = Moderator

Mitwah ...

1. If you continue with such matters; You will be suspended.

2. I have given you far more than adequate warnings in the past on your uncalled-for mannerism on the forum.

3. Unconcerned about your private messages.

Be advised. Conduct yourself accordingly.

Demerara_Guy = Moderator

You and I have a history. I don't expect you to be fair to me. 

Why are you not asking KP to stop trolling me? 

Seven now in custody over murders of cousins

-Crime Chief says no evidence crime was politically-motivated as protests intensify

The torched bus of a Bath resident

September 9 ,2020

Seven persons are now in custody and police are searching for three others in connection with the gruesome murders of teenage cousins Isaiah and Joel Henry.

Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum yesterday con-firmed the arrests during a virtual press briefing, where he also said there was no evidence to suggest that the crime was politically-motivated, even as protests in Region Five over the killings intensified.

Initially, police arrested the owner of the coconut estate where the suspected crime scene was found, as well as the owner’s son and his handyman. However, they later arrested two of his labourers and yesterday two coconut vendors who also work with the farmer were taken into police custody.

One of the beaten persons

https://s1.stabroeknews.com/images/2020/09/paddytruckfire.jpg

Paddy truck on fire

Road users stuck due to the protest along the number 1 Public Road ,Corentyne yesterday morning.

The persons in custody reside in Cotton Tree Village, West Coast Ber-bice, and Number Five Village, West Coast Ber-bice, the Crime Chief said yesterday.

Blanhum added that no murder weapon/s were located as yet. 

While he said there was no evidence to suggest that the crime was politically-motivated, Blanhum refus-ed to give any details about the suspected motive. 

Meanwhile, a senior police source yesterday told Stabroek News that one of the primary suspects was transported to George-town for further ques-tioning.

According to the source, the two coconut vendors were arrested after ranks from the Major Crimes Unit received information that they would often visit the coconut estate in the backlands.

The source said, that they were told, that two of the suspects were seen in the area on the day that the teens went missing. 

Blanhum yesterday took the opportunity to appeal to protesters to desist from obstructing investigators.

He noted that when ranks from the Major Crimes Unit arrived, they were denied entry to the suspected crime scene, while crime scene ranks were stuck in the region overnight on Monday. 

‘No peace’

What started out as peaceful protesting on Sunday over the murders degenerated yesterday when road users were attacked.

The main access road in the region was blocked with old machinery, pieces of wood and tyres at several locations, includ-ing at Number 5, Bellevue, Number 28, Number 40 and Hopetown, resulting in the disruption of traffic for the entire day.

Hours after news broke on Sunday evening that the teens’ bodies were dis-covered, residents took to the streets to call for swift justice. There were chants of “No justice, no peace.” 

A fire was first started at the bridge separating Number Four Village and Number Five Village, West Coast Berbice, resulting in a total shut down in traffic on Sunday evening also.

The protest on Monday quickly spread across the region, with persons taking to the streets to support the call for justice. However, yesterday the situation deteriorated after Joint Services members – including soldiers and firemen – were deployed on the ground to clear the road. This infuriated those gathered at various loca-tions, which resulted in a further attack on the persons who were caught in the protests.

Several trucks, cars and other vehicles were emptied, damaged or set ablaze, while some drivers and passengers were attacked and robbed. 

At Number Five Village late Monday evening, some of the persons gathered set a truck afire in the middle of the road. The owner, Lakeram Persaud, of Number 36 Village, Corentyne, said, they last spoke with the truck driver around 2 pm on Monday, when he informed them that he was stuck in the traffic. 

However, the driver has since related that around 7 pm, in Number Five Village, he was ordered out of the truck. “He still deh over deh trying to come over but he tell we how them people say because an Indian name deh on the truck them got to burn it down. Me lil son name deh on we truck. He say them take he out and put one cutlass on his neck and he tried to get away in somebody yard and the truck left middle the road and them light it,” Persaud explained.

Persaud, said he was told that before 8 pm, the truck, GXX 3749, was destroyed.

According to the devastated man, he bought the truck last year for $5.5 million to transport rice from Berbice to Georgetown. He said he was still paying in installments for the truck. 

As of yesterday afternoon Persaud was unable to head over to Region Five to have a view of what was left of his truck, while the driver had not yet returned home.

Meanwhile, in Hopetown Village, West Coast Berbice, several trucks transporting paddy were emptied and then set on fire in the presence of the Joint Services on the ground. 

According to a resident, three paddy trucks were seeking to pass after the blockage was cleared by soldiers on the ground. 

However, the protesters demanded that the trucks empty their consignments then pass. Stabroek News was told that the drivers agreed to empty their trucks, after which the protesters set them ablaze one at a time.

Meanwhile, according to information gathered, the trucks belonged to a rice farmer of Number 3 Village, West Coast Berbice. 

Recess

In Recess, Mahaicony, a mechanic was attacked by a group of young men while on his way home from his sister’s shop in his village. His daughter, Dr. Anesa Kandhai, said one of the persons was armed with a hammer, while the others were armed with wires, which they used to hit her father.

According to Kandhai, her father after leaving the shop was confronted by about 15 young men on bicycles at the head of his street, which caused him to slow his car, “Then they dragged him out and started beating him with the hammer and wire. He had a scuffle with them and they ended up hitting him in the head,” the woman said.

After the man was struck in his head, a resident then intervened and rescued him.

The man was rushed to a nearby hospital, where he was treated before being discharged. 

At least three other persons were assaulted in the same area, while a bus was set on fire. 

Stabroek News was told that a large number of residents from Region Six were stuck in the middle of the protest since Sunday. One young woman said, “The soldiers came and cleared and some people got out but we were so far back in the traffic that we are still here.” 

The young woman, who is with her husband and in-laws, sought refuge at a relative’s house. 

Stabroek News was told that there was a standoff between residents and army ranks at Bush Lot Village, West Coast Berbice yesterday also. 

Additionally, residents of New Amsterdam yesterday also held a peaceful protest supporting the call for justice the Henry cousins. 

The bodies of Isaiah, 16 and Joel, 18, were found on Sunday with multiple wounds, one day after they went missing after they left home to head to the backlands to pick coconuts. Residents of Region Five subsequently began a protest along the main public road in Number 5 Village, West Coast Berbice, over the murders.

West Coast Berbice protests turn violent; drivers, passengers robbed, beaten and stripped

– Joint Services urge residents to remain calm or face escalation in response

What started out as a protest for justice to be served for 16-year-old Isaiah Henry and 18-year-old Joel Henry, the cousins whose butchered bodies were found in the Cotton Tree, West Coast Berbice backdam, turned out to be absolute chaos and horror for drivers, passengers and people living in Region 5 yesterday.
Roads throughout Bellevue, Number 40 Village, Number 28 Village, Number 30 Village, Hopetown, Burma, Number 3, 4 and 5 Villages were blocked since Sunday night and hundreds of persons who were either heading to Region 6 or heading to Georgetown were stuck in traffic. However, despite heavy police presence, people who were stuck in the lines waiting for the road to clear became victims of robbery and racially fuelled attacks. Several reports reaching Kaieteur News have since revealed the extent of the attacks as many are now suffering from injuries about their bodies including chop wounds. There were also multiple reports and pictures that surfaced showing car windscreens smashed in, vehicles hijacked, and paddy trucks set alight. This publication was told that people were attacked physically and verbally with racial remarks thrown at them, including several who were stripped of their clothing, beaten and robbed before being set free.
According to a 30-year-old truck driver from Bushlot Village, West Coast Berbice, he was stuck

in traffic with his truck on Sunday while his uncle who was driving a Toyota Voxy was also in the line. He stated that his uncle was pulled out from his car at Belladrum Village and beaten. He disclosed that his uncle’s car was then taken away from him and until now, they do not know where the vehicle is. The truck driver stated that up to late yesterday afternoon, they received reports that a car was burning in the Number 28 backdam, but they could not go since the situation was hostile and the roads were still blocked with debris and fires. He added too that while the Guyana Defence Force soldiers arrived to assist the police, “they were driving fast and clearing the road but no soldier or police stayed behind to ensure everyone pass so when they drive up ahead, the people start blocking back the road and people were trapped in between again.”
He stated that the roads had blockades at Burma, Eldorado, Belladrum, Paradise, Seafield, Litchfield, Kingly, Ross Village, Number 30 Village, Number 28 Village, Lovely Lass Village, Number 22 Village, Hopetown and Numbers 5, 3 and 4 Villages.
Meanwhile, three persons who were attacked in the vicinity of the Burma blockade had to be rescued by a public spirited citizen and given shelter and clothing. A woman who wanted her identity sealed stated that an old man who was heading home from work with his bag was stripped of this clothing and beaten about his body and head. His bag and wallet with money were stolen the woman said, adding that “this man was rescued naked because they stripped all of his clothes, robbed him and beat him so bad and then they told him to walk, so our lives don’t matter anymore.” The woman stated that shortly after another man had to be rescued, after he was beaten about his head with a hammer and gashed on his arms with cutlass, with blood all over his face and body when he was rescued. Another man who was in a bus with other passengers was said to be returning to Berbice from an interior location and he had with him a large sum of cash, all of which was stolen.
One driver told this publication that the protestors smashed the windows of vehicles that were parked since Sunday night and pulled out occupants from the cars and buses. They then proceeded to beat the passengers and the drivers and take whatever they could from them.
In addition to the string of attacks on people, at least three paddy transport trucks were set on fire. One of the owners told this publication that she only bought her truck last year at a cost of $5.5 million and was paying monthly instalments for it, but all of her hard-earned money and investment went up in flames yesterday. Her truck was set on fire leaving just the burnt out shell; the driver and porter had to be rescued. According to the truck driver, he had a cutlass to his neck and a hammer placed on his head and was directed to park the truck across the roadway and hand over the keys. He stated that he complied, “until I turn the truck and jump out the truck, they demanded for the keys. They told me because I am a black man, they na gon do me nothing but this is a coolie truck. They lit the truck first, out it and break it up and burst the fuel tank so the fuel can drain out and then light it back.”
He said he was given money by the persons who rescued him so that he could catch public transportation and return home to Region 6.
“I felt bad that I was attacked by my own,” he said, “They are depriving me of my money; we all are doing this thing wrong. I tried to run from these people, but it didn’t work. Cars were destroyed, Indians’ car. I slept at the people that rescued us and they gave us passage, I saw police and I ask that they give us a lift at Cotton Tree, and I went and made a report about the truck burning.”
Meanwhile, the other two trucks that were burnt, were set alight in the presence of GDF and GPF ranks who did not attempt to stop the protestors from setting it on fire. During a live video streamed on Facebook, a resident was seen trying to extinguish the blaze. The trucks were transporting paddy and according to an eyewitness, the truck drivers were told to empty the paddy on the roadway before they set the truck on fire. Protestors were seen bagging the paddy on the roadway for themselves.
The driver of a Bakewell truck was also attacked. He said in a Facebook post, “I can understand that justice is needed, but ain’t there another way to get it done. [D]o we really need to be this stupid, the truck that brings the bread to the Berbician, one of the best breads that the whole country is familiar with, y’all going to damage and destroy the property? [A]nd call that seeking justice. The same bread that everyone buys to eat, the truck that delivers the bread, we will damage the truck. Is this justice? Is this wise to do? Come on people, we are better than this.”
Police in a joint statement with the Guyana Defence Force yesterday said that they continue to view with serious concern on the ongoing “illegal protest action” being carried out by residents. They made it clear that the protests are illegal and represent a threat to the public safety of Guyanese traversing the roadways and “the robbing of citizens and damaging public property will not result in a solution to the problem but rather cause unnecessary and unwanted tension and anger. This will most certainly distract attention from a proper and professional investigation intended to bring those responsible for these heinous crimes to justice.” They also noted that the gatherings are in breach of the COVID-19 guidelines and as such are reminded that should the situation persist further, “the GPF will have no alternative but to escalate its response to have the roadways cleared and ensure the return of law and order in the affected communities”. They are calling on residents to remain calm as the investigations intensify into the deaths of the two boys.

Naomi Waddell and friends displaying their placard at the protest.

September 9 2020

Hundreds of persons yesterday assembled at the Square of the Revolution in Georgetown as a show of solidarity for the families of cousins Isaiah and Joel Henry, who were found dead at Cotton Tree Village, West Coast Berbice on Sunday.

Eden Corbin, an executive member of the Black Lives Matter Guyana movement, told Stabroek News that the silent protest was organised to take a stand against the injustices done to the Henry teens.

Corbin said as a group they wanted to do more than just express how they felt on social media, hence their decision to take a bigger stand and show Guyana that they stood in solidarity with and supported the persons in Berbice who took to the streets in protest.

He added that he was heartened by the turnout in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic and was happy to see persons from diverse ethnic backgrounds coming out to show support.

Corbin estimated that close to 500 hundred persons assembled for the one-hour protest, which began at 12pm.

Shenica Haynes, another member of the Black Lives Matter Guyana movement, stated that it was impossible for any rational thinking human being not to understand the injustices that took place in regards to the killing of the teens.

She explained that the representatives present at the protest were there to show that they will no longer stand by and let injustice continue.

Haynes said Black lives were being increasingly disrespected.

She noted that the organisation’s intention is to gain additional information and address similar issues that took place.

She concluded that the protest was a peaceful one, where people from all walks of life came out to provide support because they understood the importance.

She called on all Guyanese to stand in solidarity to ensure a similar situation never happens.

Meanwhile, People’s National Congress Reform Chairperson Volda Lawrence, who was also present, told Stabroek News that she turned out to be a part of the protest because she was hurt by what took place.

She also charged that the parents of the teens killed, community members of West Coast Berbice and citizens of Guyana were not seeing the type of leadership that she believe should be shown coming from the administration

Lawrence also said Police Commissioner Nigel Hoppie needed to be more transparent about the police force’s investigation.

She said in prior investigations more information was shared with the public as it relates to releasing the identities of the suspects involved and added that the public wanted to know what was happening as she called for the matter to be treated the same way as other high profile cases.

Lawrence also called for that the Commissioner to withdraw the Joint Services “and stop militarising black villages,” as she urged that they understand that people are hurt and scared.

“Will it be my son next? My nephew? My neighbour?” she asked as noted that persons are seeking justice.

Naomi Waddell, a teen who came out to join the protest, told Stabroek News that the protest was a peaceful one to show support for the Henry teens and Orlando Jonas. Jonas, a 26-year-old labourer of Lot 500 Number 1 Road, Corentyne, was fatally attacked by two armed men along the Albion Public Road on Saturday evening while returning home from work.

Colson Roberts, a young man who also joined the protest, told this newspaper that it felt great coming out but he believed that the one-hour allotted for the demonstration was not enough.

Roberts explained that while being stationary gets the message across, he believe a walk would have allowed more persons to be informed and understand that they were passionate and serious about the situation.

He added that racism was a prominent issue in Guyana, and explained that being a part of the demonstration gave him a feeling that suggested the beginning of change.

He also noted the diverse set of persons who came out to show their support.(Readawne Henery)