Cheap publicity, shameless” – Chand responds to Nagamootoo

June 18, 2015 6:17 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

President of the Guyana Agricultural Workers Union [GAWU) Komal Chand

President of the Guyana Agricultural Workers Union (GAWU) Komal Chand

[www.inewsguyana.com] – President of the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU), Komal Chand is not taking too lightly recent criticisms meted out to him and GAWU by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, noting that the Prime Minister pulled off a “cheap publicity stunt.”

At the Enmore Martyrs Day event on Tuesday, Prime Minister Nagamootoo vehemently criticized GAWU over the stance it has taken on many issues over the years.

He recalled that in 2011 when the then People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) government threatened to dissolve the unions in Guyana, he was the only person to stand up in defence of the unions in the presence of the GAWU President, whom he said did nothing to oppose the move by the PPP.

However, during an interview with iNews, GAWU’s President detailed that the Prime Minister’s accounts of the events surrounding the issue are not exactly factual.

“I am not surprised…just to gain cheap publicity…we will always stand up on issues that we feel strong about and issues that have far reaching effects on our workers,” Chand told iNews.

According to the GAWU head, the meeting that Nagamootoo made reference to was held at the same that the GAWU had an emergency council meeting; hence he was unable to attend the forum.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

“To try to diminish GAWU at this point in time, they are not on good ground,” said Chand adding that Nagamootoo’s remarks were “shameless.”

When asked about his absence from the Enmore Martyrs commemoration service, Chand responded that “Our union decided that Aslim Singh will go…it is our democratic right to decide who will go…it is fitting that GAWU goes.”

Related Posts

Why is Chand the President for Life of GAWU? Why are sugar workers under the thumb of a political party? Shouldn't sugar workers be free to have leaders who only represent sugar workers alone?

Why should they be the pawns of politicians?
Why is Chand the President for Life of GAWU? Why are sugar workers under the thumb of a political party? Shouldn't sugar workers be free to have leaders who only represent sugar workers alone?

I REMEMBER GAWU BEING VERY FIRM WITH THE PPP GOVT.

In the English-speaking Caribbean, it was the trade union movement that spawned national political leaders and parties. In turn, the parties relied on unions as their support base. Up to now.

It is indeed an undesirable situation, but I don't think the PPP will grant GAWU independence. Komal Chand is a diehard PPPite who will ensure that GAWU congresses elect a compliant executive.

Another excellent observation. Time for Chand to go. He is GAWU god.

In the English-speaking Caribbean, it was the trade union movement that spawned national political leaders and parties. In turn, the parties relied on unions as their support base. Up to now.

It is indeed an undesirable situation, but I don't think the PPP will grant GAWU independence. Komal Chand is a diehard PPPite who will ensure that GAWU congresses elect a compliant executive.

Don't you see that this is yet another way to enslave Indians to the PPP Executive?

Canecutters are enslaved. Rice farmers are enslaved. Hindus are enslaved. Muslims leech off the PPP. The Muslims are about the only set of Indians that do well under the PPP aside from dem new oligarchs.

You know I once said to the deputy head of the ACG that the PPP as a party is beneath the Indians people and not above us and this bytch disagreed with me?

I REMEMBER GAWU BEING VERY FIRM WITH THE PPP GOVT.

Is it not for the workers to decide? Or do you have other suggestions.

Z
Originally Posted by Gupta:

Chand desperate, he ruined GAWU. It is time for him to get of the scene.

GAWU is not your concern, you dirty coolie..    Go back to your friends in the PNC.  They have something special for you.   Your initiation is coming up. walk with some Vaseline.

Don't you see that this is yet another way to enslave Indians to the PPP Executive?

Canecutters are enslaved. Rice farmers are enslaved. Hindus are enslaved. Muslims leech off the PPP. The Muslims are about the only set of Indians that do well under the PPP aside from dem new oligarchs.

You know I once said to the deputy head of the ACG that the PPP as a party is beneath the Indians people and not above us and this bytch disagreed with me?

Please provide facts, not wild assertions. Many would argue against these assertions that you have made. In fact assuming that the election results were accurate, over 49 percent of the Guyanese people, and a considerable section of the Hindu, Muslim, East Indian, rice farmers, cane cutters think that the PPP  has valid solutions to Guyana's problems and that it is to their benefit (material or otherwise) that the PPP governs. if you believe in democracy, then you have to respect their choice. Though you might disagree with that choice. Additionally, you use that word enslavement loosely. Does the word apply to those democrats and republicans who for generations vote for their particular party? The same can be asked about the Conservatives and labour supporters. Does the word apply to you, living and prospering in the belly of the beast, singing its Praise when they are responsible for many of the problems we currently have in Guyana? Furthermore, show evidence to prove that the Muslims are about the only East Indians who do well financially under the PPP. You may want to start by - You Guyanese mudhead ... 

Z

I think the Indians volunteered for PPP "enslavement". Some months before the election, I posted that the PPP is largely a Hindu party. I explained that Muslims and Christianized Indians aren't as fascinated with the PPP as the Hindus. Of the Muslims that make up about 10 percent of the total population, a relatively small amount are PPPites. Hinduism is steadily losing adherents to evangelical churches and dem people ent fancy PPP ideology.

Back to the issue, the PPP is "enslaving" Indians without their resistance. Voluntary "bondage".

However, during an interview with iNews, GAWU’s President detailed that the Prime Minister’s accounts of the events surrounding the issue are not exactly factual.

“I am not surprised… just to gain cheap publicity… we will always stand up on issues that we feel strong about and issues that have far reaching effects on our workers,” Chand told iNews.

Cheap publicity, shameless” – Chand responds to Nagamootoo, June 18, 2015 6:17 am Category: latest news A+ / A-, By Jomo Paul

Usual attitudes.