Dropping of Chanderpaul disgraceful” – former WIPA President

May 26, 2015 10:16 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Former West Indies Players Association [WIPA) president Dinanath Ramnarine

Former West Indies Players Association (WIPA) president Dinanath Ramnarine

[Trinidad Express] – Former West Indies Players Association (WIPA) president Dinanath Ramnarine has called the dropping of Shivnarine Chanderpaul from the West Indies squad for the Australian home series “disgraceful” while former West Indies pacer Tony Gray said people should not be too emotional about Chanderpaul’s non selection since he was not producing the runs.

“First of all, it was most unfortunate that the West Indies selectors would treat yet another great West Indies cricketer who has been a loyal servant in the most disgraceful manner,” Ramnarine told the Express.

Ramnarine said Chanderpaul had showed true commitment and loyalty to WI cricket and the manner in which he was dropped was unbecoming.

“When I saw recently the president of the WICB Dave Cameron say that Chanderpaul would be given a special send-off, I was waiting to see what would be done to celebrate his long-standing and successful career. But then I saw the team and Chanderpaul was left out, it is so consistent with the WICB, how they have treated great players in the past including Brian Lara, Sir Vivian Richards, Desmond Haynes,,” he said.

Ramnarine compared the Chanderpaul situation with how other top cricketers like Steve Waugh, Shane Warne, Sachin Tendulkar were given the opportunity to play in front of home crowds and get a proper goodbye, and also cited the example of English Premier League footballer Steven Gerrard of Liverpool whose fans got an opportunity to say goodbye recently.

UNDERSTATED  AND UNDERATED, TIL THE LAST

Andrew Ramsey   The unceremonious dumping of Shivnarine Chanderpaul looks likely to end the career of one of cricket's most enduring and complex characters

http://www.cricket.com.au/news...r-dropped/2015-05-25

And while he is likely to be lost to the West Indies as he continues his involvement with the American College Cricket competition that he has developed since shifting to mainland USA

* SHIV WILL BE OK! HOPE WI CRICKET FOREVER REMAIN IN THE DOLDRUMS

MORE ON SHIV:

Listen Mapps:

* I have followed Shiv's career ever since he made his debut at Bourda against England back in 1994----21 years ago. I saw him on TV score 62 on his debut and though to myself "this kid has a bright future in WI cricket.

* Well, 21 years later I can honestly say that Shiv exceeded all my EXPECTATIONS.

* I never expected him to play 164 tests. I never expected him to score 30 test hundreds. I never expected him to score 11,867 test runs. And I never expected him to end his career averaging 51.37 in tests.

* When Shiv made his debut in 1994 the highest runs scorer in tests was Alan Border---he had scored 11,115 runs in 154 tests at an average of 50.52 with 27 100s and 63 50s----Guess what Mappy ? Shiv surpassed all of Border's stats----AMAZING

* WAS SHIV FAILING WITH THE BAT IN HIS LAST 6 TESTS ?

* Absolutely! But surely the WICB could have given him a farewell test----even if he didn't score a single run---all his fans would have pleased to see Shiv honored in his final test.

* DROPPING SHIV WITHOUT A FAREWELL TEST EXPOSES THE NASTINESS AND THE UGLINESS OF YOUR FELLOW WEST INDIANS MAPOUI.

http://www.westindiesforum.com...rt-wi-cricket-again/

READ THIS:

* Any company or organization that treats its people like shyt will be a failed company or organization. The WICB has treated Shiv and many others with disrespect and that's why the WICB will forever be a failed organization

http://www.westindiesforum.com...rt-wi-cricket-again/

READ THIS:

The WICB has always treated its greatest assets---its players---like dog shyt. And that explains why the WICB will forever be a failed organization.

#1 ranked Test team South Africa---they allowed Kallis to retire with dignity and respect.

#2 ranked test team Australia---they allowed Ponting to retire with dignity and respect.

#4 ranked test team India---they allowed Tendulkar and Dravid to retire with dignity and respect.

BUT CHECK OUT #8 RANKED WEST INDIES

#8 ranked West Indies dropped Shiv Chanderpaul without giving him a farewell test----the WICB will always be a failed organization----and WI cricket will forever remain in the toilet.

http://www.westindiesforum.com...wi-cricket-again/25/

I HOPE AND PRAY THE AUSTRALIA GIVES THEM SUCH A TRASHING, THE BOARD PULL UP THEIR PANTIES AND RUN!!!!!!!!!!!

* I have never rooted against the West Indies team. But this is it. I will never support the West Indies team again---NEVER!

I HOPE AND PRAY THE AUSTRALIA GIVES THEM SUCH A TRASHING, THE BOARD PULL UP THEIR PANTIES AND RUN!!!!!!!!!!!

* I have never rooted against the West Indies team. But this is it. I will never support the West Indies team again---NEVER!

No wonder Guyanese Blacks think Guyanese Indians are a bunch of disloyal Indian Nationals without India citizenship. A calumny yes. But an understandable calumny nevertheless.

You people are mad, yuh know?

No wonder Guyanese Blacks think Guyanese Indians are a bunch of disloyal Indian Nationals without India citizenship. A calumny yes. But an understandable calumny nevertheless.

You people are mad, yuh know?

I agree, there are questions as to his performance.  Now that he is left out, why switch loyalty.  Baseman always backed the WI regardless of controversy.