Black people want to look light-skinned too
DECEMBER 20, 2015 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS
Dear Editor,
Freddie Kissoon forages the media (including the internet) day after day to see how he could bash Hindus (make that ‘Indians&rsquo in Guyana. God knows his motive but one senses the incentive to beckon his fans during. His Dec. 13 column, “Coca-Cola withdraws advertisement that Guyanese would find acceptable” is a case in point. Kissoon has brought up the question of Hindu casteism and the Bollywood skin-whitening phenomenon ad nauseum to castigate Indians on the dark side. The columnist has written at numerous times on the topic to which I have replied; (see my last letter on the discussion, “People in many parts of the world like to look lighter” (KN, 15-10-2013).
It is true that Bollywood has a preference for light-skinned actors. (I have seen actors in action while being filmed) whose faces were caked with the whitening stuff). Nevertheless, a seasoned journalist like Kissoon committed a gross faux pas by not mentioning the same syndrome being present in the African film industry – Nollywood (in Nigeria), for example. Darker actors have a torrid time finding a lead role in that country. That is because more Nigerians gravitate towards the white skin more than any other nationality in the world; (more than 77% of Nigerian women use skin whitener; many men also get into the act!) Most of the beauty queens chosen in the African countries all over the continent have a lighter skin. Indeed, Africa is a continent where Black is not regarded as being beautiful; skin bleaching in that continent is much greater than that of Asia. The malaise also strikes blacks right here in the Caribbean. Jamaicans are known for their preference for the ‘lighter’ skin. VybzKartel(now in jail) used a whitener that dramatically lightened parts of his body, for example. His ‘Look Pon Me’ contains the lines: “Di girl dem love off mi brown cute face, di girl dem love off mi bleach-out face.” On 13-01-13, the Stabroek News carried an article, “Fly Jamaica inaugural flight delayed”, and showed a photo of the attendant crew. There were eight women shown in the photo; except for one, all of them were light skinned, most with dyed hair! The bottom line is people in many parts of the world like to look lighter, and advertisers hone in on that axiom. The question then begs, why does Kissoon not highlight such social problems in the Black community?
Devanand Bhagwan

Here is the deal with blacks.  Generations of slavery and colonialism are to blame.  Nigerians and other Africans look at Essence magazine and associate lightness with wealth, this inheriting the attitudes of the former slaves.

Indians had a color problem LONG before colonialism.  They also do not condemn these practices. Freddie K talks about whites being portrayed in ads in Guyana. This is NOT true in other parts of the English speaking Caribbean.

Here is the deal with blacks.  Generations of slavery and colonialism are to blame.  Nigerians and other Africans look at Essence magazine and associate lightness with wealth, this inheriting the attitudes of the former slaves.

Indians had a color problem LONG before colonialism.  They also do not condemn these practices. Freddie K talks about whites being portrayed in ads in Guyana. This is NOT true in other parts of the English speaking Caribbean.

Stop blaming others for your problem. Deal with it you racist crab dawg.

Skin colorism is a much greater problem among Indians than it is among blacks. Indians worship whites way more than do blacks, and one only has to look at the strong adherence to Trump that we see among many Indians on GNI.

YOU all have a problem and should stop blaming Forbes Burnham, when the man died THIRTY years AGO!

Skin colorism is a much greater problem among Indians than it is among blacks. Indians worship whites way more than do blacks, and one only has to look at the strong adherence to Trump that we see among many Indians on GNI.

YOU all have a problem and should stop blaming Forbes Burnham, when the man died THIRTY years AGO!

Racism has blinded you. Where did I mention your god Burnham ?

You always do.  In fact your whole ideology is based on blaming Burnham for all that ails Guyana.

HUH?? Banna where do you come up with this nonsense.?

If you referring to the caste problem, its not a skin color thing. It is based on occupation. If anything, its Burnham and the PNC who made sure we see things in Black vs Indian ways. 

Only a fool who do not understand the Indian culture will make such a ridiculous statement. Based on your position, Blacks cannot be racists, only Indians are racists....you out of your friggin nuggies...unless you trying to mess with people minds here....you starting to sound like Warria

The reverence which Indians have, and have always had for light skin color, pre dating colonialism, is well documented.  Don't be a jackass and pretend otherwise.

As to the rest of your dishonest asinine behavior.  As often as I have mentioned African racism towards Indians, YOU wish to pretend that I haven't said this.  I have said this. Redux, has said it, as did Itaname and Stormborn.  Our point is that people like you deny the existence of an equally obnoxious Indian racism towards blacks.

YOU do not wish to hear it, as you wish to deny the existence of Indian racism towards blacks. So you try to justify your denials by inventing nonsense that blacks in Guyana deny the existence of black racism.  Rodney spoke on it, as did David Hinds, as did Andaiye, as did Nigel Hughes.  FACT.  NONE have been condemned as self hating blacks by Afro Guyanese.

Jagdeo has proven himself a racist and yet you scream that he isn't.

Speaking as an Indo-Guyanese, I must admit that skin color [not to be confused with racialism] was an issue among many Indos up to my migration abroad. Some relatives and friends snubbed darker-skin Indos and refused to marry them.Even the dark-skin ones steered clear of their type and married fair.

In high school, I once tried to put in a nice word for one of my friends. The girl put her arms akimbo, sniffed with contempt and told me: "Who? Ramesh? Who in their right sense go want him? You got to use tarchlight to see he. Sorry." And she flounced away.

Po Ramesh, I hope the man get laid since.

Ramesh is not his real name. The guy advanced himself academically and went on to teach in Queen's College. He married a brilliant and beautiful woman.

The schoolgirl who scoffed at him married an accounts clerk.

All of them emigrated eventually, like myself.

Check out the skin tone of the girls on the Cosby Show. Look at Shananah on Martin vs. the light-skinned one. Light is Right for many people.

Like I said 300 years of slavery and some negroes suffer from PTSS (Post Traumatic Slave Syndrome).

Indians didn't under go this, nor did they have as harsh a system of colonialism, as they were allowed to retain more of their culture, as they were seen as less of a threat.  White planters didn't go to bed fearing Indo rebellion as they did that of blacks, so felt less of a need to destroy them.

So why all the color complexes.  Based on reports, in a land with virtually no whites, many of the ads in Guyana feature white models. NOT true in most of the English speaking Caribbean, so it cannot be because of blacks.  I also don't recall this being the case in the 70s and 80s.

oh **** pot calling his mattie black 

HUH?? Banna where do you come up with this nonsense.?

If you referring to the caste problem, its not a skin color thing. It is based on occupation. If anything, its Burnham and the PNC who made sure we see things in Black vs Indian ways. 

******* both of you is racist in fact you is a stupid racist 

When Warrior is ready to get married Mitwah will rub dye or turmeric on him to brighten up or lighten up. Change is coming. Change is here.

It will be another 20+years before the PPP/Cockroaches are back in power. Right now they are a very weak opposition.

You AFC comics are now just window dressing in the APNU dominated gov't. You will never again enjoy the support of the people of Berbice. You can kiss this coalition good bye now since it's your first and last. The opposition's support has been growing since the incompetence and corrupted nature of the PNC have opened up the eyes of the younger people who don't know the real PNC. 

Speaking as an Indo-Guyanese, I must admit that skin color [not to be confused with racialism] was an issue among many Indos up to my migration abroad. Some relatives and friends snubbed darker-skin Indos and refused to marry them.Even the dark-skin ones steered clear of their type and married fair.

In high school, I once tried to put in a nice word for one of my friends. The girl put her arms akimbo, sniffed with contempt and told me: "Who? Ramesh? Who in their right sense go want him? You got to use tarchlight to see he. Sorry." And she flounced away.

Maybe, until Ramesh went and got a good education, then she flounce back!  Money and education does make dark look shine!

The reverence which Indians have, and have always had for light skin color, pre dating colonialism, is well documented.  Don't be a jackass and pretend otherwise.

As to the rest of your dishonest asinine behavior.  As often as I have mentioned African racism towards Indians, YOU wish to pretend that I haven't said this.  I have said this. Redux, has said it, as did Itaname and Stormborn.  Our point is that people like you deny the existence of an equally obnoxious Indian racism towards blacks.

YOU do not wish to hear it, as you wish to deny the existence of Indian racism towards blacks. So you try to justify your denials by inventing nonsense that blacks in Guyana deny the existence of black racism.  Rodney spoke on it, as did David Hinds, as did Andaiye, as did Nigel Hughes.  FACT.  NONE have been condemned as self hating blacks by Afro Guyanese.

Jagdeo has proven himself a racist and yet you scream that he isn't.

West Indian Blacks are some of the most racist people on this planet.  Guyanese Blacks are in a class by themselves.  Black people on the whole are racist, why you think Obama, even as a failure, still pulled 98% blacks in 2012!

Check out the skin tone of the girls on the Cosby Show. Look at Shananah on Martin vs. the light-skinned one. Light is Right for many people.

Like I said 300 years of slavery and some negroes suffer from PTSS (Post Traumatic Slave Syndrome).

You have some unknown syndrome, even Burnham Afro-Centric racist policies could not help you.

You AFC comics are now just window dressing in the APNU dominated gov't. You will never again enjoy the support of the people of Berbice.

Actually the last election showed that the AFC did NOT get the support of Indians in Berbice. What Indian support they got was heavily a G/town vote, and to a lesser degree the rural Demerara regions.

So your screams are without merit, and show your impotence.  Until the PPP stops being a "coolie people party" their prospects for victory are dim.

You AFC comics are now just window dressing in the APNU dominated gov't. You will never again enjoy the support of the people of Berbice.

Actually the last election showed that the AFC did NOT get the support of Indians in Berbice. What Indian support they got was heavily a G/town vote, and to a lesser degree the rural Demerara regions.

So your screams are without merit, and show your impotence.  Until the PPP stops being a "coolie people party" their prospects for victory are dim.

You must have believed when the PNC won rigged elections claiming a majority in every election.

And yet the PPP screams that the election was rigged because they lost. If the PNC had the ability to rig elections in the post 1992 era, the PPP would have been out of power since 2001.

You scream that you are the "coolie people party".  Well the vast majority of non Indians voted and tossed the PPP out.

Next time you will learn that elections aren't decided only by Berbice Indians.

CaribJ must be in denial, the apnu supporters were heavily stacked as "election officials".  They used this majority to rig the elections. The PPP protested but Granger et ad refused to give a recount. When PPP was in power they gave recounts as well as access to all voting documents as they had nothing to hide. The afc/apnu were involved in rigging on May 11th and had much to hide so no recount or examination of voting documents are forthcoming form this corrupt administration. 

Druggie why did the PNC not rig elections since 2001.  Based on your drug addled thinking the PPP would have been tossed out of power as soon as Jimmy Carter tired of Guyana.

The PPP calls itself the "coolie people party" (so said Rohee) and now that Indians are no longer the majority, THEY LOST!

The election was rigged. It was rigged by the PPP, which is why they were shocked that they still lost. The fake ballot boxes that Kwame had arranged to be swapped over with the genuine boxes were however not enough to keep the PPP in power.

Druggie why did the PNC not rig elections since 2001.  Based on your drug addled thinking the PPP would have been tossed out of power as soon as Jimmy Carter tired of Guyana.

The PPP calls itself the "coolie people party" (so said Rohee) and now that Indians are no longer the majority, THEY LOST!

Nah, the PPP grew arrogant and self serving, much more than they were corrupt.  Many Indians [and others] also felt it was time for change and voted AFC.  That gave Granger the margin of victory.  Even back in the day (60's) and after 1992, PPP always won with 50 something.  If not for the arrogance and disconnect of the PPP and the AFC offering that "on-ramp", the PNC would be in opposition today!

However, i agree the PPP faces need to reflect more diversity.

Prior to 2015 the elections were not close. This type of rigging only works in close elections.  Rohee never used these words and it is not ok for you to keep using this derogatory word to describe indians.  You don't like it when the n word is used to describe your people. 

If Caribj can be criticized for anything is his ardent advocacy for his ethnic cause. Never once has he said he is better than or others are lesser than he.

You on the other hand has. As an ignorant bigot, lying is easy. Here you are calling another racist on no evidence but their advocacy for ethnic cause and you deny the lable for yourself when you are on record saying black people are lesser than you.

If black people want to be light skinned, they can use dye(tumeric). It might help a little bit unless they took a charcoal tan.

Is that what you do? Note the dye is indian and not African. You cannot help yourself given that dalitdom is almost entirely dark and designated so even by the caste color structure. That is some 600 million people. Tamil Nadu is not populated by light skinned folks nor is Behar or Madras. That is the source pool of tribals that came to Guyana.....their names tell you that....lohars, pillars, dossas, chamars, doms, etc...some 20 versions of dalitdom.

If black people want to be light skinned, they can use dye(tumeric). It might help a little bit unless they took a charcoal tan.

Is that what you do? Note the dye is indian and not African. You cannot help yourself given that dalitdom is almost entirely dark and designated so even by the caste color structure. That is some 600 million people. Tamil Nadu is not populated by light skinned folks nor is Behar or Madras. That is the source pool of tribals that came to Guyana.....their names tell you that....lohars, pillars, dossas, chamars, doms, etc...some 20 versions of dalitdom.

My father was blue eyed and fair skinned. So I inherited some of his traits. On the other hand, you inherited the buckman trait..piwari and cassava bread. I am glad my forefathers left India when they did.

your mother was playing around,no collie have blue eyes 

Mr.T posted:

The election was rigged. It was rigged by the PPP, which is why they were shocked that they still lost. The fake ballot boxes that Kwame had arranged to be swapped over with the genuine boxes were however not enough to keep the PPP in power.

Also PPP operatives tried hard to encourage rioting in G/twn when they saw how high voter turn out in PNC strongholds was. This to create an excuse to cancel the election.

It was sharp action by Granger who ensured that the leadership was deployed in places where people were being provoked into violence.  In fact Kwame was saved by him when he went to a polling station in a vain attempt to create confusion.

baseman posted:
.  Even back in the day (60's) and after 1992, PPP always won with 50 something.  If not for the arrogance and disconnect of the PPP and the AFC offering that "on-ramp", the PNC would be

Back in the day Indians were more than 50% of the population.  Given that Amerindians didn't vote, it meant that their representation among the actual voting population was even higher.

With heavy migration, and growing douglarization, the Indian population is now shrinking. In addition a growing % of the younger population isn't as tribal.

Let the PPP continue to be the "coolie people party" and they will remain losers.

I do not know what is a buckman's trait but you very brilliant folks are the only one who can grasp that. Here you are arguing the preference of color and then emphasizing your so called blue eyed gene. What nonsense! The majority of people who came were dark and that is mainly because there is a cultural backwardness that deem dark people lesser than. I know you are glad your forefathers left India and came to the bounty of my ancestral home. It is only here that you can see your humanity rise from the arbitrary status of dalit imposed by brahamins. I guess you will tell me you are a brahamin now!