Black Bush Polder is not an isolated case

Kaieteur News – A young woman wrote a very distressing Open Letter to the First Lady of Guyana, Mrs. Arya Ali. In that letter she detailed her frustration at the lack of opportunities for persons in her community, Yakusari, Black Bush Polder (BBP). She highlighted her own challenges in attending school, in deferring her dream career and in finding employment.
Her story got the attention it sought. An obviously embarrassed Minister indicated in a Facebook post that her Ministry will find the girl.
However, the struggles of this one young lady are symptomatic of a national malaise and one which disproportionally affects not a few individuals but tens of thousands of school leavers. This is a rural problem not an individual problem. Finding that young lady and providing that young lady with a scholarship will not resolve the plight of the tens of thousands of young rural school-leavers who lack similar opportunities.
The Office of the First Lady responded with a statement. It thanked everyone who had brought the young lady’s plight to the First Lady’s attention and indicated that she and the Minister had discussed how they can bring meaningful change to BBP.
BBP is not an isolated case. How many interventions will be needed? This is a national problem which cannot be solved by selective interventions. Each year thousands of teenagers leave school and encounter limited opportunities for further education and employment. The problem is most acute in rural areas, and it has generally gone unnoticed.
BBP has its own deep-seated problems. It is one of the areas which is most prone to suicides and the authorities have not found out why this is so.
One month ago, a letter writer pointed out that given the wealth which this area generates, the communities in the Polder should have had better lights and roads. They should also have had better opportunities for the school-leavers.
Instead, suffering and suicide blights the communities of BBP. Many parents cannot afford to send their children to school. Many parents cannot afford to send their offspring to the Tain Campus to further their education after secondary school. Many of those leaving school cannot find employment. Some people cannot afford a decent meal every day.
The news which comes out of the Polder is problem-riddled. If it is not floods and drainage, it is bad roads, lack of internet, landlines and poor water supply. If it is not murder and suicide, it is streetlights and robberies or the loss of cattle. BBP is a list of tragedies.
The only escape is migration. This often means trying to get abroad by any means possible, including arranged weddings. There is a lot of heartbreak in the BBP area because many young men are forced to leave their girlfriends and seek jobs outside of the Region. Some of them end up in Suriname. Many never go back.
And yet, BBP is one of the top-producing agricultural areas in the country. The area produces rice and cash crops, which feed large sections of the country’s population. So why then should there be this problem with lack of opportunities?
Rice has been the backbone of BBP. But there are still feudal relations within the rice-growing sector in Guyana, and this includes BBP. And land ownership is skewed.
The problem with BBP is not unique to rural Guyana. It is a problem of economic inequality.
If the First Lady and the Ministry of Education intend to make interventions in that area, they should examine the economic inequalities in the Polder. They should examine who has the land and who benefits from government services the most and the extent to which those persons plough back their wealth into the community.
But the problem is also one of economic policy. Since Cheddi Jagan died, the PPP/C has pursued an economic model that promotes inequality. The trickle-down effect of the neo-liberal did not trickle down to BBP. The PPP/C should be asked what it did for BBP in terms of creating jobs outside of rice and sugar for the people of BBP.
BBP has been left behind also in education. If the Minister of Education is serious about intervening to assist neglected communities, she should look at the pass rates of students leaving school in rural communities. She will find that the majority of these students fail to obtain five subjects. So even if there were jobs outside of sugar and rice, how many school-leavers would be able to qualify for those jobs without the requisite subjects?
And this is not just a failure of Region Six. It has been a national failure because of the trickle-down model of development pursued since 1999.

Source:

Get rid of the "List System" and allow the populace to send Representatives of their areas with the power of recall to represent their interests in Parliament.

The problem that the young lady mentioned is not unique to Yakusari, BBP.

@Mitwah posted:

Get rid of the "List System" and allow the populace to send Representatives of their areas with the power of recall to represent their interests in Parliament.

The problem that the young lady mentioned is not unique to Yakusari, BBP.

How do you get rid of the "List System"? The only way I know is to change the constitution and that wouldn't be easy.  How would that help the tens of thousands of school leavers find jobs?

Obviously, the 20,000 online scholarships the PPP is providing with the help of the Jamaicans would not benefit the school leavers.

Guyana's education system is designed for jobs in the Civil Service, Teaching  Profession, commerce, Police Force, and the army.

Boy, PPP cannot help Indo. Indo will always vote for we. We can ignore Indo and let them commit suicide. They will always vote for awee PPP. We need to get blackpeople vote. We are giving them what they want. We PPP make black people rich. We give Amerindian much good gifts too.

Guyanese are not caring people, ONLY WHEN DEM COME ABROAD.

The PPP doan care bout progress, they really do not know how to. Even the great Jagans did not have a clue. Their mantra was get rid of the Limeys. And then WHAT?

Whatever, jobs falls upon the country, ends up in  GT.

@seignet posted:

Guyanese are not caring people, ONLY WHEN DEM COME ABROAD.

The PPP doan care bout progress, they really do not know how to. Even the great Jagans did not have a clue. Their mantra was get rid of the Limeys. And then WHAT?

Whatever, jobs falls upon the country, ends up in  GT.

They become saints when they leave Guyana, EH!  They buy color Television and think that they are smart. They work in factories and then write home and tell their parents that are managers. They go back home and sponge off their relatives.

To say that the PPP does not care about progress is ludicrous.

My question to you is "do you have a clue??

@Ramakant-P posted:

How do you get rid of the "List System"? The only way I know is to change the constitution and that wouldn't be easy.  How would that help the tens of thousands of school leavers find jobs?

Obviously, the 20,000 online scholarships the PPP is providing with the help of the Jamaicans would not benefit the school leavers.

Guyana's education system is designed for jobs in the Civil Service, Teaching  Profession, commerce, Police Force, and the army.

Not that I want to bring family into the discussion, but Yakusari, where your wife comes from is probably the suicide capital of Guyana. What is the PPP doing to help the farmers to market their produce for a sustainable income?

Since Cheddi Jagan died, the PPP/C has pursued an economic model that promotes inequality. The trickle-down effect of the neo-liberal did not trickle down to BBP. The PPP/C should be asked what it did for BBP in terms of creating jobs outside of rice and sugar for the people of BBP.

I don't think BBP produces sugar but vegetables, fish and meat.

Where is Armagon?

He should create his own office for investment. Berbicians gat all kinds of skills at home and abroad.

As Muddwata would cuzz up, "dat chap at Go-Invest is a hand picked dummy by President Jagdeo." He knows zilch, hotels is him and Jagdeo fancy.

Armagon should build up Berbice and let the PPP bargain fuh dem votes. THrow dem azzez out when dey doan give Berbicians wah ever dey want.

@Mitwah posted:

Not that I want to bring family into the discussion, but Yakusari, where your wife comes from is probably the suicide capital of Guyana. What is the PPP doing to help the farmers to market their produce for a sustainable income?

Since Cheddi Jagan died, the PPP/C has pursued an economic model that promotes inequality. The trickle-down effect of the neo-liberal did not trickle down to BBP. The PPP/C should be asked what it did for BBP in terms of creating jobs outside of rice and sugar for the people of BBP.

I don't think BBP produces sugar but vegetables, fish and meat.

My wife is from DeHoop, not BBP.  I only got married at Lesbeholden because that's where her father was living.  If you want to talk about my wife then you must first talk about yours.

@Ramakant-P posted:

They become saints when they leave Guyana, EH!  They buy color Television and think that they are smart. They work in factories and then write home and tell their parents that are managers. They go back home and sponge off their relatives.

To say that the PPP does not care about progress is ludicrous.

My question to you is "do you have a clue??

Your uncle had special utensils for poor ass indians to use when they worked at his house. He was high up in the PPP and proof of not having a clue existed with him. And now, as the way PPP operates, his daughter is a Minister in the government. She does not possess the clue either.

I do not think the people who can do something gets to the PPP.

I have a clue alright, create a regional organization that shows progress.

@seignet posted:

Your uncle had special utensils for poor ass indians to use when they worked at his house. He was high up in the PPP and proof of not having a clue existed with him. And now, as the way PPP operates, his daughter is a Minister in the government. She does not possess the clue either.

I do not think the people who can do something gets to the PPP.

THAT's YOUR PROBLEM. YOU CAN'T THINK!

I have a clue alright, create a regional organization that shows progress.

Region 4 is governed by the APNU/AFC coalition. Are they showing any progress? If so, what are they?

Did the Coalition show any progress while they were in the Government?

Apparently, you don't read the papers or you would have seen the great progress that PPP is making clearing up the Mess that the Coalition left the country in.  The Coalition had a great infrastructure in 2015 to start with. They were the ones who didn't have a clue of what to do.

Now that the PPP is rebuilding, you are jealous of their progress and prosperity.  The job isn't done yet. We still have more to do.

@cain posted:

This will still be their promise in future elections....keep on waiting for a miracle.

We will continue from where we left off. The Coalition will not have a chance to destroy again what we have built.

You have seen the Coalition governance between 2015 and 2020 and yet you think that they can do better than the PPP. I am shocked.

@Ramakant-P posted:

We will continue from where we left off. The Coalition will not have a chance to destroy again what we have built.

You have seen the Coalition governance between 2015 and 2020 and yet you think that they can do better than the PPP. I am shocked.

Again, where did you see that? Stop making up crap banna.

What did the PPP build that was destroyed by the Coalition other than their(PPP)mansions, which were not touched?

@Ramakant-P posted:

Region 4 is governed by the APNU/AFC coalition. Are they showing any progress? If so, what are they?

Did the Coalition show any progress while they were in the Government?

Apparently, you don't read the papers or you would have seen the great progress that PPP is making clearing up the Mess that the Coalition left the country in.  The Coalition had a great infrastructure in 2015 to start with. They were the ones who didn't have a clue of what to do.

Now that the PPP is rebuilding, you are jealous of their progress and prosperity.  The job isn't done yet. We still have more to do.

After 23 years, the PPP destroyed the country. In 2015, the people were fed up and lost confidence in them. Charandas was the catalyst to topple the coalition Government. The PPP rigged the last election and was declared the winner by a slim margin. The  election petitions are still in the courts.

The PPP has its knees on the APNU/AFC coalition for Region 4. They can't breathe.

The PPP is back at its old nepotic game by giving top jobs to its cronies.

@Mitwah posted:

After 23 years, the PPP destroyed the country. In 2015, the people were fed up and lost confidence in them. Charandas was the catalyst to topple the coalition Government. The PPP rigged the last election and was declared the winner by a slim margin. The  election petitions are still in the courts.

The PPP has its knees on the APNU/AFC coalition for Region 4. They can't breathe.

The PPP is back at its old nepotic game by giving top jobs to its cronies.

You want them to give top jobs to PNC members? Are you insane? Why don't you sue them?   Volda Lawrence said that she only hired blacks. I guess that is ok with you.  That is not cronyism.

The most that can happen in the court is that a new election is ordered. The court cannot overturn the results of the 2020 election.

Last edited by Ramakant-P
@Ramakant-P posted:

You want them to give top jobs to PNC members? Are you insane? Why don't you sue them?   Volda Lawrence said that she only hired blacks. I guess that is ok with you.  That is not cronyism.

The most that can happen in the court is that a new election is ordered. The court cannot overturn the results of the 2020 election.

Volda Lawrence never said such things. You are a liar.

@Mitwah posted:

Volda Lawrence never said such things. You are a liar.

I can't recall her actual words but she once declared she had no intention of helping any Indo! That's why I kept referring to her as the Vulgar woman! I haven't forgotten their refusal to help an Indo family return home after.the husband had been killed by robbers in nearby Venezuela, but.gave help to Afro Guyanese affected by a storm in far off.islands! Or a destitute Indo grandmother left with two orphans on her hands after their father had killed their mother, or the family left without their taxi driving father after he.had been murdered in a police lockup! I.begged them in each case to help, but in vain! My ill conceived dislike of Jagdeo must have been so great that I.kept overlooking and supporting their murderous party! The Henry boys' killing finally woke me up and wanted any trace of N blood washed.out of me!

@cain posted:

Again, where did you see that? Stop making up crap banna.

What did the PPP build that was destroyed by the Coalition other than their(PPP)mansions, which were not touched?

Huh?

It should have read..What did the PPP build (other than their mansions which were not touched) that was destroyed by the Coalition?

It's that frigen red eye thingy or perhaps CSIS changing my post around.

No! It's just you, exposing your iggerunce of the use of the English langwidge! And your laziness, of course!

Ahhhhh, I see now. No lil lil red eyed imps nor secret agents change my posts, it's only you they are after..I ketch what you sayin'...in other words you are a mental case.

But you are just stupid, cain! So how would be able to.deduce anything about me?

Yeh bai, keep on lying to yourself that everyone is stupid but you are the only intelligent person in the world. Good for you. You asked a couple times what is the colour of brains, well, I have that covered.

The very next time you pull your feet over your head, don't forget to stick your head up your arse and check to make sure your brain is still brown.

@Mitwah posted:

2018,  this would be during the rein of the APNU+AFC term.

The APNU/AFC did nothing for the People at BBP.  The progress was an overflow from the PPP era. Sat Sawh did a good job for them and you know it. 

Rama, you keep on making accusations and when asked to prove any of it, you disregard the posts. I have a feeling I know why. You are FOS comes to mind.

@cain posted:

Rama, you keep on making accusations and when asked to prove any of it, you disregard the posts. I have a feeling I know why. You are FOS comes to mind.

Prove to whom?  How many accusations have you made?  You accuse the PPP and the Presidency of crimes you cannot prove. So let me tell you take a hike.  Everything I posted was in the papers. 

@cain posted:

Yeh bai, keep on lying to yourself that everyone is stupid but you are the only intelligent person in the world. Good for you. You asked a couple times what is the colour of brains, well, I have that covered.

The very next time you pull your feet over your head, don't forget to stick your head up your arse and check to make sure your brain is still brown.

Proving my description of you does you no.good, stupid cain!

@Ramakant-P posted:

The APNU/AFC did nothing for the People at BBP.  The progress was an overflow from the PPP era. Sat Sawh did a good job for them and you know it.

The overflow here is your.BS!

cain, show me the post where I claimed to be the.only intelligent person in the world and that everyone is stupid! Your very.statement proves your stupidity! If everyone is stupid, how can I be the only intelligent person in the world?

You're only acknowledging that my  intelligence is superior when compared to.yours, stupid cain! But go complain to God, my defective and rejected 'son'! Even a shit-covered brain is superior to yours! Imagine that! And you.acknowledge it! Hahahahahaha...

@Ramakant-P posted:

Your PPP does not care about these folks. All they care about  are big buildings and hotels.

@Mitwah posted:

Now you are being silly.

The coalition had no agricultural policy. It was the PPP that made Guyana an agricultural country. 

The PNC members had jobs in the Government services and they were being paid from the earnings of the rice farmers, cane cutters, fisherman, and the business sector. 

Don't try to belittle your fellow Indians when you prove yourself to be a confirmed hypocrite.  The PPP did more for Blacks than they did for Indians and that is why you are pi$$ed off at them.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The coalition had no agricultural policy. It was the PPP that made Guyana an agricultural country.

The PNC members had jobs in the Government services and they were being paid from the earnings of the rice farmers, cane cutters, fisherman, and the business sector.

Don't try to belittle your fellow Indians when you prove yourself to be a confirmed hypocrite.  The PPP did more for Blacks than they did for Indians and that is why you are pi$$ed off at them.

Do you know how schoopid you sound? Your schoopidity has no kure.

@Mitwah posted:

Do you know how schoopid you sound? Your schoopidity has no kure.

Is that why you are still stupid?  You really don't know anything about Agriculture and what is going on in Guyana except that which you read about on this GNI as posted by your anti-coolie friends.