Three suspected terrorists are being hunted today amid fears they are plotting car bomb attacks in New York and Washington D.C. on the tenth anniversary of 9/11 on Sunday.

It is the first 'active plot' timed to coincide with Sunday's sombre commemoration of the terror network's 9/11 attacks a decade ago that killed nearly 3,000 people.

The terrorists may be targeting tunnels and bridges around Manhattan, said one source, but other big cities, including Los Angeles and Chicago, are also on red alert.

Federal officials say three individuals - one believed to be a U.S. citizen - entered the country last month by air with 'intent' to carry out a terrorist plot against Washington, D.C. or New York.

Police sources told reporters the individuals are believed to have come to the U.S. via Afghanistan or Pakistan with at lease one stop in another country, possibly Iran.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...y.html#ixzz1XSkcLpEj
Sunil
HEHEHE Gal wendy yuh Prapa Funny. Wink
Originally posted by Wendy Holmes:
Originally posted by Nehru:
Rass like we gat Caste system in Merika now. yippie yippie
Originally posted by Chief:
Originally posted by Cobra:
Double agent comes to mind. dunno

When you grow up in a low caste house thats what happens.
Big Grin Chiefy is high caste, the Chief of his tribe, the chief cook and bottle washer. Big Grin Big Grin
Originally posted by Sunil:
Nothing to worry about, this plot was discovered on Bin Laden's computers. The FBI has been on this for months.

So how come we are only now hearing about it? Did the information changed between the time the computer was acquired and yesterday just before the President's speech?
Originally posted by Chief:
Good question there Kas.

There is no functional value to that announcment yesterday other than they have to say something given that the 10th anniversary is a significant milestone. And that argument is further supported when they yell you to go about your business as usual. The authorities didn't need to make an announcement. There was no announcement made when the guy was caught in Times Square. People made observations on their own and acted accordingly. Bush used to do this for every notable day in the whole damn calendar. Smile
If the terrorist threats become intolerable, peace-loving countries like USA, UK and Canada should support a law that will sanction a forceful removal of all enemies from their countries.

last time I checked, US and UK were fighting in Afganistan and Iraq...exactly how are they peace-loving?
What abour Libya, Afganistan, Iraq having laws to remove invaders from their countries?

You are an dotish imbecile...
I think that you are being over cynical and doing a great disservice to the people of the US amongst whom you have found a save haven.
The security services tend not to disclose information that could spread panic, except when they have a credible threat but have lost track of the villains. As the history prior to 9/11 has thought them: ignore credible warning signs at your peril. Elements within the US security services had information on the 9/11 terrorists, but it was given a low priority with fatal consequences. Nobody wants the same dismissive attitude to be regretted afterwards.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
I think that you are being over cynical and doing a great disservice to the people of the US amongst whom you have found a save haven.
The security services tend not to disclose information that could spread panic, except when they have a credible threat but have lost track of the villains. As the history prior to 9/11 has thought them: ignore credible warning signs at your peril. Elements within the US security services had information on the 9/11 terrorists, but it was given a low priority with fatal consequences. Nobody wants the same dismissive attitude to be regretted afterwards.

I lived through the three years following 9/11 when there was not a notable day on the calendar left without Bush's government saying the are hearing chatter. On the workday before one Memorial day my boss asked what was my plan and I told him I don't know but I was sure the threat level would get raised. They only stopped that nonsense when a congressman pointed it out years later. How about Rumsfeld plastic and duck tape suggestion? Over cynical? I think not. Plus I am not in the habit of looking over my shoulders. Smile
Bhai, there are more questions than answers from you guys. If I have to spill the beans on the lack of action from the Muslim community in the continental USA, many would jump on my throat. This problem is still a Muslim problem, and it should be solved mainly by Muslims. In this day and age, it's so wrong that the freedom given to us are being taken away day by day and its all due to the terrorist episode. We've been down this road many times and nothing fruitful came out of it. Many of you were too busy casting blame on each other rather to find a solution to the problem. You guys erecting mosques that cost millions of dollars throughout America, but no solution. You guys are seeking special holidays and prayer facilities in public places but no solution. If Muslims were defending America, we would have been able to contain the threats that are upon us 10 years later. If I was one of you, I would have hung myself in a public square with a note stick to my chest just to make my point. This is when we need suscide bombers to die for a better cause.
Also, most of the emotional roller coaster the we are/have been subjected was manufactured by our security services.

How yuh watchin dis ting fuh months and now two days before de day yuh loose it and have fuh tell de peeple to watch out. Den soon as yuh mek de announcement yuh start actin like soneting big is going tuh happen. At least dem police can/will get lil OT to help out wid dem house expenses. Smile
Originally posted by Mr.T:
No doubt the streets of the US are far more save than the streets of Guyana, but you should not be complacent about your safety. It is well known that some really crazy people have originated from US soil.

Bai, I am not complacent but I know how our govt have been wutliss. Different guy, same wutlissness. Smile
Originally posted by ksazma:
Nothing to worry about, this plot was discovered on Bin Laden's computers. The FBI has been on this for months.

So how come we are only now hearing about it? Did the information changed between the time the computer was acquired and yesterday just before the President's speech?
Washington (CNN) -- American spy networks have intercepted communications from an al Qaeda operative in Pakistan indicating plans for a terrorist strike in New York or Washington, according to a senior U.S. official.

The communications come from a source who has provided accurate information in the past, the official said, prompting intelligence officials to sift through communications from other al Qaeda cells.

No other corroborating evidence of an attack has been uncovered, the official added.

But the information indicates the plan -- thought to involve a vehicle-borne explosive device -- is meant to coincide with the 10th anniversary of the September 11 attacks. ... More
Bhai, there are more questions than answers from you guys. If I have to spill the beans on the lack of action from the Muslim community in the continental USA, many would jump on my throat. This problem is still a Muslim problem, and it should be solved mainly by Muslims. In this day and age, it's so wrong that the freedom given to us are being taken away day by day and its all due to the terrorist episode. We've been down this road many times and nothing fruitful came out of it. Many of you were too busy casting blame on each other rather to find a solution to the problem. You guys erecting mosques that cost millions of dollars throughout America, but no solution. You guys are seeking special holidays and prayer facilities in public places but no solution. If Muslims were defending America, we would have been able to contain the threats that are upon us 10 years later. If I was one of you, I would have hung myself in a public square with a note stick to my chest just to make my point. This is when we need suscide bombers to die for a better cause.

You can do whatever you want. Neither I nor any other Muslim in the US owe you or anyone else anything. I don't know anyone who is a danger to America so why should I manufacture a need to be active to satisfy your concern of a lack of action. Your problem is your problem not mine. Either solve it or live with it if you can't.
Originally posted by D2:

Washington (CNN) -- American spy networks have intercepted communications from an al Qaeda operative in Pakistan indicating plans for a terrorist strike in New York or Washington, according to a senior U.S. official.

The communications come from a source who has provided accurate information in the past, the official said, prompting intelligence officials to sift through communications from other al Qaeda cells.

No other corroborating evidence of an attack has been uncovered, the official added.

But the information indicates the plan -- thought to involve a vehicle-borne explosive device -- is meant to coincide with the 10th anniversary of the September 11 attacks. ... More

Was your post supposed to address the observation I made? I am afraid it sadly didn't.
Originally posted by D2:

Was your post supposed to address the observation I made? I am afraid it sadly didn't.
you cannot overcome willful ignorance with facts.