Beware, the Brigadier!

WHEN the PPP, in 2011, first accused Brigadier (ret) David Granger of having blood on his hands, I assumed it was politics as usual. I thought the APNU Presidential Candidate had dealt adequately with the matter when he explained that he was a junior GDF officer at the time; he was in no way connected with the Corentyne incident; the Justice Dhan Jappan report exonerated Lieutenant Henry, the GDF officer who had command of the troops on the ground who opened fire on a hostile crowd.

I also did not pay much attention to the warning a few weeks ago by PPP leaders against the “militarised state”, pointing to the number of ex-senior military persons who joined or endorsed APNU/AFC. I felt these persons, now civilians, were only exercising their democratic right to choose which political party to support.

I was very shocked to read the following in ‘Guyana Times’ on Sunday April 12th, 2015: “The justice’s report says nothing about political education, but Granger says that, the soldiers saved the day from the PPP and its supporters because of the political education they received, as early as 1971.”

What Granger referred to as political education was the politicisation of the army from 1971, by an Education Unit headed by no other person that Granger himself. Mouth open, story jump out. The period of politicisation of the army marked one of the most sordid chapters in its history. Would it not have been enough for Granger to say the soldiers did their duty by acting within the scope of their orders?

Most Guyanese would prefer to have a professional rather than a politicised army. Since Granger is now claiming that his political work with the GDF is responsible for the army action on the Corentyne which unfortunately resulted in the loss of life, one is left to wonder if the PPP is justified in placing the label on him. Did this political education prepare the army to be loyal to the PNC rather to the State and did it embolden the decision to transport ballot boxes to GDF Headquarters where they were staffed in 1973?

Is Granger a fit and proper person to be Commander-in-Chief of the Army after admitting that “political education” saved the day? This alarming claim by Granger should be pondered upon by every voter for the May 11th, 2015 election.

The nation has been warned. The power hungry AFC has been warned. Beware, the Brigadier!

FARUK MOHAMED

Originally Posted by alena06:

Beware, the Brigadier!

WHEN the PPP, in 2011, first accused Brigadier (ret) David Granger of having blood on his hands, I assumed it was politics as usual. I thought the APNU Presidential Candidate had dealt adequately with the matter when he explained that he was a junior GDF officer at the time; he was in no way connected with the Corentyne incident; the Justice Dhan Jappan report exonerated Lieutenant Henry, the GDF officer who had command of the troops on the ground who opened fire on a hostile crowd.

I also did not pay much attention to the warning a few weeks ago by PPP leaders against the “militarised state”, pointing to the number of ex-senior military persons who joined or endorsed APNU/AFC. I felt these persons, now civilians, were only exercising their democratic right to choose which political party to support.

I was very shocked to read the following in ‘Guyana Times’ on Sunday April 12th, 2015: “The justice’s report says nothing about political education, but Granger says that, the soldiers saved the day from the PPP and its supporters because of the political education they received, as early as 1971.”

What Granger referred to as political education was the politicisation of the army from 1971, by an Education Unit headed by no other person that Granger himself. Mouth open, story jump out. The period of politicisation of the army marked one of the most sordid chapters in its history. Would it not have been enough for Granger to say the soldiers did their duty by acting within the scope of their orders?

Most Guyanese would prefer to have a professional rather than a politicised army. Since Granger is now claiming that his political work with the GDF is responsible for the army action on the Corentyne which unfortunately resulted in the loss of life, one is left to wonder if the PPP is justified in placing the label on him. Did this political education prepare the army to be loyal to the PNC rather to the State and did it embolden the decision to transport ballot boxes to GDF Headquarters where they were staffed in 1973?

Is Granger a fit and proper person to be Commander-in-Chief of the Army after admitting that “political education” saved the day? This alarming claim by Granger should be pondered upon by every voter for the May 11th, 2015 election.

The nation has been warned. The power hungry AFC has been warned. Beware, the Brigadier!

FARUK MOHAMED

The new PNC = The old PNC.  Granger will re-introduce militarize politics in Guyana, a surrogate for military rule.

We should beware of Granger but dem ***** hole who running the police force that have police pulling we over daily demanding 2000 dollars fuh box hand and who extorting money from citizens before they do their job lets not worry about dat.

Lets not worry about rohee that ***** hole who has failed every Guyanese and he still refuses to resign from Home affairs.

Lets be afraid of granger because the PPP who has been in office for 23 years has done an amazing job protecting indians. Baseman Haul yuh *****.

Vote PNC!!

Granger says that, the soldiers saved the day from the PPP and its supporters because of the political education they received, as early as 1971.”

Hey hey hey. Look how Dolly hug up be Brig. Hey hey hey .

alena06 gurl, this posting of yours bring to mind what Obama told Romney in one of their debates - we don't use muskets any more. Your Granger story is so yesterday.

Here's what should allay your fears of the black bogeyman:

• The AFC 12 seats can be pulled from the coalition and thus new elections
  • Indians are packing in Guyana - no more mo fiah slo fiah
  • Social media and the Internet make things so transparent that all the 1970s PNC acts with black soldiers doing their stuff won't be the deal you make it out to be.

Guyana 2015 is a different world from the Guyana you think of. Liberate yourself from that bubble. Come join the real world. You live in North America, you should have different sensibilities. Or are you part of the Fox News demographic?

Last edited by Kari

alena06 gurl, this posting of yours bring to mind what Obama told Romney in one of their debates - we don't use muskets any more. Your Granger story is so yesterday.

• Social media and the Internet make things so transparent that all the 1970s PNC acts with black soldiers doing their stuff won't be the deal you make it out to be.

Guyana 2015 is a different world from the Guyana you think of. Liberate yourself from that bubble. Come join the real world. You live in North America, you should have different sensibilities. Or are you part of the Fox News demographic?

It might sound so yesterday but it is the TRUTH.  Vote PNC.

And you live in North America and have a low self esteem.

Bottom line GRANGER IS EVIL!!

It might sound so yesterday but it is the TRUTH.  Vote PNC.

And you live in North America and have a low self esteem.

Bottom line GRANGER IS EVIL!!

The biggest gong-ho PNC supporters and like Mr Big Mouth who ran from Guyana due to PNC racism and now chant he mantra for PNC.  They rass live safe in the USA well away from the reality of PNC rule in Guyana. 

baseman, don't u have to take care of some big, bad leather & chain wearing blackman in steel boots knocking at your door, per your request?

we doan need all the sordid details . . . just take care of your business

Incorrect, should David Granger becomes the president.

1. It will be David Granger's sole choice to name and indeed cancel the appointment of any Minister including the Prime Minister.

2. The stated 12 AFC seats, should APNU wins the election, are simply an internal arrangement between the PNC and AFC which has no attachment and bearing on the constitution of Guyana.

3. AFC is not forming a coalition government with the PNC where each party has its members and can do things independent of each other.

4. Botton line -- President appoints and can recall members of the cabinet.

When Guyana's constitution is changed to allow parties to run independently and after the election to decide on merging to form the  government, then parties can withdraw from a coalition. For that to occur, however, changes to the present constitution, which requires the approval of at least two thirds of the elected members, must be made.

1. It will be David Granger's sole choice to name and indeed cancel the appointment of any Minister including the Prime Minister.

2. The stated 12 AFC seats, should APNU wins the election, are simply an internal arrangement between the PNC and AFC which has no attachment and bearing on the constitution of Guyana.

3. AFC is not forming a coalition government with the PNC where each party has its members and can do things independent of each other.

When Guyana's constitution is changed to allow parties to run independently and after the election to decide on merging to form the  government, then parties can withdraw from a coalition. For that to occur, however, changes to the present constitution, which requires the approval of at least two thirds of the elected members, must be made.

Dat is a clever scare c00lie strategy there DG .

Imagine even uncle DG implying he wants constitutional reform.

Originally Posted by TK:

Those five points are the facts of the current issues.

Strategy is a completely different topic.

Originally Posted by TK:

Those five points are the facts of the current issues.

Strategy is a completely different topic.

I was expecting to see de word issues.