“Best lawyers,” needed to renegotiate agreement with ExxonMobil – Dr. Jagdeo

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo on Wednesday urged the Guyana government to hire the best legal brains to renegotiate the profit sharing agreement with ExxonMobil.

“The government should hire the best lawyers in the world to make sure we engage. Get some advisers who can help with this sector,” he told a news conference. He said countries with oil sector experience  like Norway should be asked to assist Guyanese negotiators “so that we get the best deal” from ExxonMobil.

Jagdeo said it would make no sense just renegotiating the pact with that American oil giant and merely tabling it in the National Assembly because that law-making body would be unable to make any changes.

Instead, he wants the contracts to be made public before they are signed and that they can withstand scrutiny.

He argued that it was important for Guyana’s legal team to get the best deal from Exxon-Mobil, a globally powerful and influential oil company, that would survive any party in government. “It is absolutely important that we get the best agreement for the country given that we are negotiating with a company that is massive, massive by US standards. They have the best technical people in the world working for them,”  said Jagdeo, a former President.

Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman has been quoted by Oil and Gas Year as saying that government has to “ensure that we have lawyers that can advise on production-sharing agreements (PSAs).

He was also quoted as saying that the PSA with ExxonMobil was signed in the 1990s and it was now time to relook that agreement to ensure that the country extracts the best benefits.  Naturally, yes. For example, the PSA agreement with ExxonMobil was signed in the 1990s. Looking ahead, we want to make sure that Guyana gets a good share – 50% minimum. We would also like to ensure that royalties are in place, and we have to look at the issue of taxation again. Some countries favour paying taxes themselves,” he said.

The Minister of Natural Resources said government would like the PSA to take account of adjustments based on the price of oil and the cost of production. “As price goes up, you would expect to see increases in revenue rather than just have a base take. These are features we want to improve on,” he was quoted by the publication as saying.

Trotman said Guyana prefers long-term contracts with credible international companies. “We do not want to send a message that we are interested in short engagements. We want to build strong credibility and a sense that companies can come and feel secure here, develop their resources and function.”

The APNU does not need advice from him. If there is a need for lawyers there are many specialists in the business of oil who will willingly come in and fill the gap. I wonder who was the lawyer with experience he used.

Danyael posted:

The APNU does not need advice from him. If there is a need for lawyers there are many specialists in the business of oil who will willingly come in and fill the gap. I wonder who was the lawyer with experience he used.

Will you be offering your services for free seeing that you know it all?

Danyael posted:

Will you be offering your services for free seeing that you know it all?

I can if asked recommend quite a few since I do know a few who work in the area.

Danyael posted:

Let me give you a clue. He didn't need a lawyer when the PNC was witch hunting for corruption charges against him. Today, he is free of all charges laid against him. He challenged the PNC to declare their assets, local and abroad, and he will do the same. They refused. He said to jail any PPP members found guilty of corruption. So far nothing have surfaced. Dr, Jagdeo has a knowledge base in that bald head of his that supersedes all of the incompetents in the coalition. He offered his expertise to the incompetents, but they are ashamed to ask him for advise. You're as incompetent as they are to give credit to grade "C" leadership.

Danyael posted:

Let me give you a clue. He didn't need a lawyer when the PNC was witch hunting for corruption charges against him. Today, he is free of all charges laid against him. He challenged the PNC to declare their assets, local and abroad, and he will do the same. They refused. He said to jail any PPP members found guilty of corruption. So far nothing have surfaced. Dr, Jagdeo has a knowledge base in that bald head of his that supersedes all of the incompetents in the coalition. He offered his expertise to the incompetents, but they are ashamed to ask him for advise. You're as incompetent as they are to give credit to grade "C" leadership.

Who knows what is coming down the pike. Jagdeo has immunity so he can call for others to go to jail.

Crade C for crook is reserved for the PPP> These fellows are doing just fine.

Danyael posted:

Let me give you a clue. He didn't need a lawyer when the PNC was witch hunting for corruption charges against him. Today, he is free of all charges laid against him. He challenged the PNC to declare their assets, local and abroad, and he will do the same. They refused. He said to jail any PPP members found guilty of corruption. So far nothing have surfaced. Dr, Jagdeo has a knowledge base in that bald head of his that supersedes all of the incompetents in the coalition. He offered his expertise to the incompetents, but they are ashamed to ask him for advise. You're as incompetent as they are to give credit tograde "C" leadership.

Bul.......st the Coalition Government have lots of highly qualified individuals,look in the camp you are supporting and compare,take off your blinders.

Danyael posted:

Let me give you a clue. He didn't need a lawyer when the PNC was witch hunting for corruption charges against him. Today, he is free of all charges laid against him. He challenged the PNC to declare their assets, local and abroad, and he will do the same. They refused. He said to jail any PPP members found guilty of corruption. So far nothing have surfaced. Dr, Jagdeo has a knowledge base in that bald head of his that supersedes all of the incompetents in the coalition. He offered his expertise to the incompetents, but they are ashamed to ask him for advise. You're as incompetent as they are to give credit tograde "C" leadership.

Bul.......st the Coalition Government have lots of highly qualified individuals,look in the camp you are supporting and compare,take off your blinders.

Tell us what they have achieved after one year in office?

The Mother of all Corruption will emerge with the fortunes of oil.  Be careful what you wish for.

Billy,the people have the power they have to watch them and speak up.

Danyael posted:

Discard the negativity,you will see the welfare of the people are improving gradually,the power is in their hands to make their communities a better place,that there is the biggest achievement,is that not good or you prefer hand picked cronies.

Danyael posted:

Discard the negativity,you will see the welfare of the people are improving gradually,the power is in their hands to make their communities a better place,that there is the biggest achievement,is that not good or you prefer hand picked cronies.

Let me rephrase the question. Tell us what they have achieved after one year in office?

Danyael posted:

Kicked the PPP out and turned off the soup spigot and that alone is one half of the budget savings!

Danyael posted:

The worse is yet to come.  You keep overdosing on you PNC Kool Aid.

Prince posted.

The worse is yet to come.  You keep overdosing on you PNC Kool Aid.

The milk used to taste gud nuh,the trough is dry...hurting eh.

The PPP was not made to rule Guyana continuously,the people boot them out.

They struggling ta......rs to find faults with the Gov't.

You keep overdosing on PNC Kool Aid.  And by the way, I am lactose intolerant.

No Ma'am,i mentioned that many times.

Same here,i does take a little to color my tea or coffee.